hi i would like to ask e more experienced cbr 150 rider here. nowadays, when i throttle the engine doesn't seems to respond and get stuck at a certain speed/rpm. it feels like the throttle is stuck and e flow isnt goin to e engine. anyone can tell me y is tis happening?

• Replies 34.7k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

hi i would like to ask e more experienced cbr 150 rider here. nowadays, when i throttle the engine doesn't seems to respond and get stuck at a certain speed/rpm. it feels like the throttle is stuck and e flow isnt goin to e engine. anyone can tell me y is tis happening?

Check air filter.... check carburettor for any jams or stoppages.... check throttle cable first if its old...

my guess is spark plug due for change.

Chris, you can only make ONE guess. winner gets treat from smutu.

have u been servicing the bike regularly?

when was the last time u changed items like air filter, cleaner?

Chris, you can only make ONE guess. winner gets treat from smutu.

this is fun.

im guessing a choked carburettor.

i guess it must take an obscene amount of dirt to get trapped in the air filter/cleaner to really decrease performance by that much. so im not picking dirty air filter/clean. :D

There is something called the diaphragm inside the carburettor that is stuck resulting in the dramatic lost of engine power. usually rpm max out at 5-6k rpm. The only way to solve this problem is to change the whole carburettor to keihin or other types of carburettor with metal diaphragm.

http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/904/ouroborossigcopyzr7.jpg

http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/9746/6sz78xmg3ww1.gif

my guess ah.. Spoil la... Need to overhaul...

im guessing a choked carburettor.

There is something called the diaphragm inside the carburettor that is stuck resulting in the dramatic lost of engine power.

4 guesses, 1 winner.

who will it be?

hi, loll thx for all e advice. i will check it out ok. i,ve changed e air filter not long ago.will go check on e carb and spark plug. i guess, its a draw for all? haha. thx :) and also 1 more question, when my bike is on 1st gear, i cnt start e engine(when its off) even when i hold in e clutch. is tis normal?

no. 10 char

Ya lor. Its not normal. Not in theory nor for any bike.

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

you can't start the engine when it's off.

not everybody's bike is like Chris's bike.

I'm sure he means that the engine is not started but the bike is on lah. :sian:

you can't start the engine when it's off.

not everybody's bike is like Chris's bike.

you fool.... of course you can't start an engine when the ignition is OFF!!! :angel::cheeky:

I'm sure he means that the engine is not started but the bike is on lah. :sian:

you're making it worse.

http://myesllab.files.wordpress.com/2009/11/confusing-street-sign1.jpg

LOL this is funny. :lol:

Guys, ride safely. Road is not for playing.

CBR150R :thumb: :shades:

What's worse? My english is that bad meh?

1) turn key to "on".

2) engine is not on yet.

3) press the electric start.

4) then the engine will start mah.

That was assuming he is on neutral gear. So if its on first gear, and he clutches in, then it will still start wat. But if he lets go obviously the bike will jerk and die lah.

Am i wrong? :sian:

OK, maybe way off here, but I think most bikes wont start when in (any except neutral) gear even if clutch is pulled in when the bike is on its side stand. In my case, engine will die when side stand is pulled out and bike not in neutral gear (I think, will double check later when I get home hahaha)

Anyway, to add to this point... most bikes have a sensor for the side stand and its worthwhile to check this is still working or not malfunctioning else it may cause the bike to not start or die ..

Edited by Jenga
still look like v strom... i compare already!!

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs035.snc3/12293_10150183403825113_874490112_12544575_4054025_n.jpg

Looks like baby bike with parent or big brother hahaha... no offense to our beloved CBR150 :angel::angel::angel:

What's worse? My english is that bad meh?

1) turn key to "on".

2) engine is not on yet.

3) press the electric start.

4) then the engine will start mah.

That was assuming he is on neutral gear. So if its on first gear, and he clutches in, then it will still start wat. But if he lets go obviously the bike will jerk and die lah.

Am i wrong? :sian:

if u read again but assuming thats not what u wrote, u will get the funny part. try the 1 i quoted earlier.

OK, maybe way off here, but I think most bikes wont start when in (any except neutral) gear even if clutch is pulled in when the bike is on its side stand. In my case, engine will die when side stand is pulled out and bike not in neutral gear (I think, will double check later when I get home hahaha)

Anyway, to add to this point... most bikes have a sensor for the side stand and its worthwhile to check this is still working or not malfunctioning else it may cause the bike to not start or die ..

i dont think our cbr has that function.

do u feel any jerk when u go to the first gear after u started ur engine?

no i dun. my bike could not start when it is in gear 1 or any other gear other then neutral. even if i clutch in the clutch. but once i kicked e gear to neutral, i can start my bike. so i was wondering, is this normal to all cbr for safety purposes but upon reading the replies, i dun tink its normal huh? thx for helping ya.

mine was manufactured in 2006 and on the road in 2007.

any gear other than neutral, the bike wouldn't start. but it can if i clutch in.

ask ur bike shop to tighten ur clutch cable first. who knows that solve the prob. :angel:

as for the earlier prob, try change the spark plug first as recommended by Zed. nvr touch ur carb unless necessary.