effina said:
since when if you engage 1st gear and off engine then bike can't move? Engine off no need clutch in also can go in 1st gear. Engine off also from 1st gear can go neutral.

Engaging 1st gear when off engine is meant for sloping terrains.. to prevent the bike from slipping down slope..

i tink the key point is not abt when can we change frm neutral to 1st gear or from 1st gear back to neutral.

u r right abt the part on engaging gear to prevent a parked vehicle frm rolling down slopes. but this doesnt mean u cannot use the same method to prevent pple from pushing a bike which is parked stationary.

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

  d0n^ said:
i tink the key point is not abt when can we change frm neutral to 1st gear or from 1st gear back to neutral.

u r right abt the part on engaging gear to prevent a parked vehicle frm rolling down slopes. but this doesnt mean u cannot use the same method to prevent pple from pushing a bike which is parked stationary.

ya that very true if they want to move the bike they cluch in can move liao ma i thinkl he din haddle lock lah let wait for his reply i think he just off the switch then move off liao

  Wankidal said:
Just a word of caution if you are using this brake lock.

Make sure you lock it behind your brake casing and not in front. I've heard of people who forget to unlock then when they move off the thing rams their brake case and omg they have to buy new brake disc and stuffs. If you put behind the brake case even if forget the impact not that much.

Hope you get what i mean :cheeky:

ya this is very important man my friend waste a sum of money b4 to replace the brake cos he forget to take out the disk lock and the thing ram into the brake

  Aman47 said:
hey guys, currently im having some discomfort while riding my bike. my handlebar tend to vibrate more and whenever i reach my destination, my hand will feel numb. any suggestions or reasons? anything tt i need to check?

hi i do have this problem too and i went to the bike shop to ask liao they say is the problem of the body and handle bar or something which is losse must tighten and i am going to let them help me to service on monday ba and also change to a new tyre on monday at bikeworks that wat the boss ah beng told me one

  lazy1000 said:
  STAP said:

would love to get some pointers from all the bros out here as i really know nothing about our bikes..

so how only four of us is it any one have not put the name up

  Aman47 said:
hey guys, currently im having some discomfort while riding my bike. my handlebar tend to vibrate more and whenever i reach my destination, my hand will feel numb. any suggestions or reasons? anything tt i need to check?

wah same here esp after long distance travelling. wear glove also the same. but with Shell V POWER vibration lesser that was what i felt la but can't afford :)

Does changing the balancer helps?

To have a normal life, you work for what you need.

To have a great life, you work for what you want.

  effina said:
since when if you engage 1st gear and off engine then bike can't move? Engine off no need clutch in also can go in 1st gear. Engine off also from 1st gear can go neutral.

Engaging 1st gear when off engine is meant for sloping terrains.. to prevent the bike from slipping down slope..

Just don't forget to remind yourself that you parked in gear 1. There was this once i asked my friend to help me park my bike. Then i told him to engage gear 1 cause we were on a slope. After makan wanna start bike kan chiong. On the bike, press start button bike never start. No neutral light. Wah so damn stressed liao thought battery flat. Then my friend reminded me that he parked the bike with the bike engaged in gear 1. lol.

Kan chiong for no reason. :cheeky: :cheeky:

Hi CBR 150 riders.

I'd like to introduce myself to all of you. I've just got my 2B in June 07, after driving for many years, finally succumbed to the temptation to ride a bike, and now I've been a CBR 150R rider for all of 3 months and a half. I'm 33 now, living in the East and what can I say, I sure enjoy the sensation of riding more than driving a car. (Plus it's much cheaper to own a bike than a car):cool:

Anyway, my bike's a 2002 model (red and black) bought from a motorshop in Ubi, and so far it's been a great bike. I was searching the web for a forum to read up on this bike and stumbled on SBF. I am slowly working my way through the posts (now at pg. 101, I can only take about 2-6 pages at a time before my eyes get tired of reading and I give up, plus you guys sure love to chit chat) and wow, this is one active thread. Great job fellas!:thumb:

And I'd also like to add that the whole forum is awesome. You can really learn so much by reading the different sub-forums and threads.

I used to be a car person. Then one day, I woke up and became a biker.

Ex rides:

Nissan Sunny 1.6

Nissan Cefiro 2.0

Honda CBR 150 R

Honda CBR 400 RR Fireblade

Current rides:

Yamaha 2008 YZF-R1

KIA Cerato Forte 1.6 Well OK sometimes a car comes in handy.

  thisisme said:
hi i do have this problem too and i went to the bike shop to ask liao they say is the problem of the body and handle bar or something which is losse must tighten and i am going to let them help me to service on monday ba and also change to a new tyre on monday at bikeworks that wat the boss ah beng told me one

Ah Beng's not the boss but the chief mech there. Most of the time, when the boss not in, Ah Beng takes charge..

http://blog.corporatelogos.ws/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/honda.jpg
  thfc74 said:
Hi CBR 150 riders.

I'd like to introduce myself to all of you. I've just got my 2B in June 07, after driving for many years, finally succumbed to the temptation to ride a bike, and now I've been a CBR 150R rider for all of 3 months and a half. I'm 33 now, living in the East and what can I say, I sure enjoy the sensation of riding more than driving a car. (Plus it's much cheaper to own a bike than a car):cool:

Anyway, my bike's a 2002 model (red and black) bought from a motorshop in Ubi, and so far it's been a great bike. I was searching the web for a forum to read up on this bike and stumbled on SBF. I am slowly working my way through the posts (now at pg. 101, I can only take about 2-6 pages at a time before my eyes get tired of reading and I give up, plus you guys sure love to chit chat) and wow, this is one active thread. Great job fellas!:thumb:

And I'd also like to add that the whole forum is awesome. You can really learn so much by reading the different sub-forums and threads.

Hi bro.. 1st of all, congrats on ur ride. Nobody's too 'old' to ride a bike. Most of my club mates are around ur age..

But U sure are 1 funny guy! Most of us will some day give up riding at a ripe age and succumb to the 4-wheelers (I do both anyway).. For me, I just surf around and try to give my opinions where possible..

Well hopefully, you'll enjoy ur ride and most importantly, ride safely!

  effina said:

the person who ask that question dun wan bike to be easily lift straight n wheel the bike out to other parking side.. thus engaging first gear u cant juz move from manuovering the bike wat base on wat i tried before as on slope..

can it be move since u say so? on slope i try forward backward also cant move, unless u say on straight road it can?

if it cant its also a way of detering people to move ur bike unless they carry.. seems u should be more knowledge yet u ask the question?

  effina said:

hmm as for this part then i duno nv really tried before cos to my knowledge dun seem to be able to neutral to 1st or 1st to netural during engine off..

but the person wan to move ur bike.. unless he go into explore y hes unable to move ur bike too though..

  thisisme said:
ya that very true if they want to move the bike they cluch in can move liao ma i thinkl he din haddle lock lah let wait for his reply i think he just off the switch then move off liao

wow if pull clutch while engage in gear n the bike can be move, mean bikes r much less safer on slope sia.. duno the above can or not, if can ppl can sabo bike sia =x..

  Aman47 said:

most of the time will also have bits of hand numb or whole right hand.. normally go on a 30min trip..

  NaRuTo13 said:
the person who ask that question dun wan bike to be easily lift straight n wheel the bike out to other parking side.. thus engaging first gear u cant juz move from manuovering the bike wat base on wat i tried before as on slope..

can it be move since u say so? on slope i try forward backward also cant move, unless u say on straight road it can?

if it cant its also a way of detering people to move ur bike unless they carry.. seems u should be more knowledge yet u ask the question?

Hi NaRuTo, I do not want to question your knowledge nor mine.. but based on the many years and no. of bikes I have ridden, I know that it is simple to move the bike when it's parked in gear 1. Just clutch in and U can move.. OR, just kick it back to neutral. How to know whether neutral already or still in gear 1? Just move it a bit..

My point being, 1st gear parking is MOSTLY meant for sloping terrain. It somehow acts as a car's handbrake. I believe you know what's in a car for me to not explain..

This is constructive explanation. Therefore, do not think I am here to bombard U or anyone else.. We are SHARING experiences and knowledge.

CBR 150 R 1st 2007 meetup. please support if u can people!!

1)thisisme

2)STAP

3)Wankidal

4)lazy1000

5)blurger (thur)

6)ozzarhomb (thur)

suggestions for venues: 1) Prata at bk Timah (opp beauty world)

date: october 1st wk wkdays. (cast ur votes ppl)

time: 2200 - ??

can always end off with a JB petrol run. :smile:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

  thfc74 said:
Hi CBR 150 riders.

Welcome Home Big Brother. Hope to see you at the meeting that we are organising.

  ozzarhomb said:
CBR 150 R 1st 2007 meetup. please support if u can people!!

1)thisisme

2)STAP

3)Wankidal

4)lazy1000

5)blurger (thur)

6)ozzarhomb (thur)

suggestions for venues: 1) Prata at bk Timah (opp beauty world)

date: october 1st wk wkdays. (cast ur votes ppl)

time: 2200 - ??

can always end off with a JB petrol run. :smile:

I like your idea of ending with a JB Petrol run. Anyway i will come any day except Wednesday nights.

thisisme if wanna go you go with me can. I dunno where the place sia. Later lost. i damn lousy with roads one. Thanks

  Wankidal said:
I like your idea of ending with a JB Petrol run. Anyway i will come any day except Wednesday nights.

thisisme if wanna go you go with me can. I dunno where the place sia. Later lost. i damn lousy with roads one. Thanks

hmm, the place quite easy de, near jalan jurong kechil. it's quite a famous place. dunno called al almeen or something liddat. if u wan go 2nd link also can. i just hope something dun cropped up that night that i can't go. :smile: :smile:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

  ozzarhomb said:
hmm, the place quite easy de, near jalan jurong kechil. it's quite a famous place. dunno called al almeen or something liddat. if u wan go 2nd link also can. i just hope something dun cropped up that night that i can't go. :smile: :smile:

I anything one. I follow only. If i not mistaken thisisme stay at TY so i he can lead me if wanna. Dun mind just give me the restaurant name. So if thisisme cannot lead me i go search streetdirectory.com

where is TY?

anyway i think bt timah is the most centralised plc le for all other then town

and its easy to go pump petrol if wan too

if u haf other suggestions, do voice out =)

hopefully this outing is successfull

CNY Resolution: Work hard and get promoted, study hard and pass all exams, Save more $$, Lose weight without cutting down on food intake, Exercise more *grinz*

  d0n^ said:
yr CBR comes with silver or black bodyframe?

if its silver, then u can try the following steps to handle lock:

1. turn handlebar all the way to the left

2. with yr key turned to the "OFF" position of the ignition switch, depress the key & then turn the key leftwards

u will find that yr handlebar is now locked and cannot be turned.

to unlock, simply turn yr key rightwards.

just to touch on more abt usage of disc brake locks.

it is more useful to lock the rear brake disc than the front.

assuming that the handlebar lock is already engaged, the only way to push/drag yr bike in a straight line will be to lift the front wheel off the ground. this will be made more difficult when the rear wheel is made immobile by the disc brake lock.

my bike is the 2007 version with black bodyframe not the silver one..

can this version do handlebar lock ah? cos i have no idea leh...

read about what u guys are talking about the engage in 1st gear when parking also to prevent ppl from moving my bike easily when parked but quite blur dun really understand also...

hopefully our gathering will be arranged successfully so perhaps bros out them can literally show me how..

btw.. this week wkday i cun make it on thurs & friday

  Wankidal said:

^5 bro!! same here.. im very lousy with roads also..

btw where do u stay?

im staying at bedok reservoir.. anyhow happens to be near me??

  lazy1000 said:
^5 bro!! same here.. im very lousy with roads also..

btw where do u stay?

im staying at bedok reservoir.. anyhow happens to be near me??

I am staying at geylang bahru. anyone wanna follow me? or lead me should i say.