yes confirmed!! i'll whacked him with my helmet which my gf insisted that i carry along when in Geylang, in case i have to use it for other purposes. :cheeky: :cheeky:

fierce sey:angry:

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

i supposed when u say the needle move up and down, you r referring to RPM meter needle.

i suggest u try letting the bike run idle w/o any throttling. does the bike engine die off?

if yes, let me throw in one more possibility for the problem u r facing - it could be the fuel suction pump found below the fuel tank. when the suction pump is faulty, you will encounter symptoms as follow:

- bike engine dies off when left to idle

- fluctuating RPM needle

- no amount of adjustments made to the idling knob of the carburettor seems to solve the above 2 symptoms.

if no, then perhaps yr mech may be right about the carburettor.

list of other possible items to check:

- choke cable working well

- throttle cable working well

- air filter + cleaner are in good condition

- no air leakages from the thick rubber hose leading from airbox to carburettor

erm chances of RPM up n down is much lower compared to speedo.. lets say i cruising at 110km/h.. suddenly the needle can go into the mode of fluctuating.. like constantly needle is up n down between around 100-110 n such.. so quite irritating to see lor.. sure confirm somewhere problem..

cleaner they always say clean dun need change de lei.. juz change fliter/plug few days back.. maybe i should change cleaner but normally i ask them change de so wont be anytime soon since i juz change EO..

o side note choke cable.. well normally let say u idle at 1.5.. when u choke it up it will go to higher rpm.. mine now cant really go alot nor stable at a higher point.. so all along after somewhere got problems many many months back. i can feel my throttle is not as strong as uncle lim bike..

actually i'll go more towards the former than the latter. i always felt that CBR150R has an issue with fuel and air intake system rather than the carb giving problem.

a good example will be the common problem that we all face when caught in the rain, sometimes the bike just loses power and sometimes it'll just die off.

i suspect it's due to water getting into system, either the fuel line system or the air intake system. of course the problem might be due to the carb as well so we can't rule out that possibility.

my gut feeling is that it's probably not the carb but his mechanic's probably the one with more experience so he might be right. or maybe with the knowledge that a carb will earn him more $ than the fuel line. :cheeky:

as for the fluctuating RPM, i have no idea man, RPM needle? :confused:

the lost of power is juz like wat u said under the rain kind.. but i always ride in rain but the bike no issue.. mean the rain issue is applicable to me without rain and on normal riding instead. haha.. as for the carb / fuel line u say.. actually that bike shop is ex planet de worker ba..

hmm their price is not really ex either.. not those chopping board kind.. plus its juz like it can still use they wont ask u to change de.. as such they didnt ask me to change the carb either =D..

hmm, i'm confused, so it's the RPM or the speedo fluctuating? :confused:

not really already then, let's see what Don feels ba. :smile:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

hmm, i'm confused, so it's the RPM or the speedo fluctuating? :confused:

not really already then, let's see what Don feels ba. :smile:

both speedo and rpm will flucatuate.. but mostly is speedo so normal travelling see liao veri sian mah.. rpm de hardly but happen before..

say only mah, talk is cheap. :cheeky: :cheeky:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

i tink he meant using the helmet to chope seats when enjoying the good food at the kopitiams!

or when there are no seats available, can sit on the helmet (machiam SAF helmet)

both speedo and rpm will flucatuate.. but mostly is speedo so normal travelling see liao veri sian mah.. rpm de hardly but happen before..

speedo needle can fluctuate but when this happens, do u feel that the bike is actually slowing down or accelerating together w/ the speedo?

just wan to confirm if its a cosmetic or performance issue.

speedo needle can fluctuate but when this happens, do u feel that the bike is actually slowing down or accelerating together w/ the speedo?

just wan to confirm if its a cosmetic or performance issue.

my bike confirm have performance/power issue.. hmm dun really slow down during the fluctuate..

like uncle lim say this bike need to clear carbon n such.. i duno how u all do it or i duno when then need.. but i did try to full throttle everything on 3rd gear.. so rev is in abt 11k or even higher didnt really rmb but confirm inside red line.. then i will get smth like the peak throttle of the gear wif high rpm.. as such my bike tend to have power n no power kind of feeling.. ie top rpm at let say 11k and 11.5k so power on n off during that rpm level(seem abit hard to explain unless u all try before too).. juz like how speedo fluctuate..

but the part on rpm will fluctuate too i mean for normal riding juz that it much much rarely compared to speedo..

i tink he meant using the helmet to chope seats when enjoying the good food at the kopitiams!

or when there are no seats available, can sit on the helmet (machiam SAF helmet)

:giddy: :giddy: haha

heres something i learnt while having a chat with a car fanatic. sounds similar to bikes, since the mechanics to the engine is the same.

scenario 1: at high speeds, lets say 80Km/H, you see the traffic light turn red. being a distance away, you clutch in and gear to neutral, allowing free wheeling, breaking near to stop line.

scenario 2: on seeing the red light, you off throttle, allowing engine breaking at gear 6 till stop line.

the mechanics of the engine is that during scenario 1, the engine consumes some petrol, since at neutral petrol is needed to keep idiling RPM. however, scenario 2 uses the momentum of the moving bike to run the engine, just like how the electric motor starts the engine when we press the start button. thus using the momentum, and the friction in the engine to cause engine breaking, little or no fuel is involved. this allows better FC.

does anyone else agree with this theory?

Sorry for being late but just need to ask something.

With regards to Scenario 2, will this method cause the Clutch Plates to wear off faster as i usually engine brake using gear my gears at rather high RPMs.

To have a normal life, you work for what you need.

To have a great life, you work for what you want.

wah tell u all something interesting. yesternight i was at Geylang for supper. when i walk past my bike, i saw this foreign indian worker standing right beside my bike, giving the "this is my bike" look on his face. :faint:

me and my friends decided to stand at a distance to observe him cuz it's so fishy. guess what? he started fondling my bike!! touching the tank, the IU and fiddling with my fuel tap. :slapforehead:

cannot take it, i think have to wash bike liao. weird people!!

I think i will stop him, call the police and ask them to check on him. Might be an illegal worker or something. Moreover, since you mentioned that he was fondling with the IU unit, he might be one of those ******* shopping for cashcard on bikes.

Anyway guys, is anyone riding a red coloured bike with reg no. FV 1814 ??

was strolling around the forums, chanced upon this Broquet fuel charger thingie. does anyone have aby experience with it?

u wanna try it out and let us know if it works? :smile: doubt anyone here using it. u can be the first :smile:

I think i will stop him, call the police and ask them to check on him. Might be an illegal worker or something. Moreover, since you mentioned that he was fondling with the IU unit, he might be one of those ******* shopping for cashcard on bikes.

cashcard thief possible i think, call police, i dun think so. i feel that they will say he didn't steal anything so nothing much to be done. :giddy: which i think is quite true. no damage done, nothing's wrong. if damage done, too bad. :faint:

u wanna try it out and let us know if it works? :smile: doubt anyone here using it. u can be the first :smile:

i did try out the product before. could be another brand. but the general broquet concept is the same i guess. didnt really have much impact on the fuel consumption.

but i did feel a smoother running engine on my 1st tank of petrol used w/ the broquet. after that, the effect either disappeared or i got used to it already. :cheeky:

Sorry for being late but just need to ask something.

With regards to Scenario 2, will this method cause the Clutch Plates to wear off faster as i usually engine brake using gear my gears at rather high RPMs.

i'll go ask Axxis what his thoughts are when i meet him for this weekend. need to be geeky.

was strolling around the forums, chanced upon this Broquet fuel charger thingie. does anyone have aby experience with it?

Zed, what does this thing do?

cashcard thief possible i think, call police, i dun think so. i feel that they will say he didn't steal anything so nothing much to be done. :giddy: which i think is quite true. no damage done, nothing's wrong. if damage done, too bad. :faint:

but intention might be there. lol.

why, rider hot chick? or the fella horn you and you want to hunt him down? =P

he looks cool on the bike. sadly, i wasn't riding my cbr 150. was riding another bike :( so cannot make friends if not can jio him to race. oops sorry jio him make friends. haha.

Zed, what does this thing do?

have not yet done full research, but from what i understand so far, it 'prepares' the fuel so that it burns more efficiently, thus allowing for better FC, more power, and smoother rides.

or so they advertise.