Originally posted by honam24@Dec 20 2005, 12:52 PM

hi all, juz some question ... i wonder compare k5 600 and cbr 600, in term of handling i think honda is the best.. but how about pick up and horse power...... overall which i better...

plan to get it after chinese new.....

thank...

i can confirm for u the K5 is more powerful and faster, BUT its advantage onli appears when u max out the 2 bikes, like a drag race from stop. otherwise, for normal road riding, u wont see any diff. this is because normal road riding is child's play for bikes of such calibre, so either bike will appear equally powerful and fast. but make no mistakes, the K5's advantage will reveal itself in a maxed-out situation in the hands of a skilled rider. i saw glimpses of this, nothing more than glimpses precisely because u cant max these bikes out on local roads.

i will tell u why i am not bothered:

1)u rarely max out the bikes on local road riding.

2)despite the K5 600 being faster and more powerful, it'll still get butchered by any 1L bike just like any 600cc. its faster than the cbr, yes, but not so much faster that it approaches the capabilities of a 1L is wat i mean.

handling-wise, the K5 comes with a steering damper as stock. this is neither 'better' or 'worse', just different. u get slightly heavier steering but its insurance against tank slap.

the K5 has got underseat storage. one realises how much he takes that for granted when he rides a cbr600rr.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

• Replies 17.1k

Originally posted by mechwira@Dec 20 2005, 12:41 PM

but i think 1L the magic zone starts much earlier in the rpm range, and exists even at lower speeds. thats why more fun.

well....for the 600...aint that the "fun" part of it..... ride it softly & it feels like a superfour....ride it hard...and it turn into a monster.:bouncefire:

of course 1L bike will eat it for breakfast/lunch/dinner/supper la.

but....riding is about the "fun factor"....on the 1L bike...i "feel" like i'm just a operator....and always have to watch out for "alot" of things...range from WHITE uncle to road surface to other road-user...and also the "state of mind" of de rider.

anything "went wrong"...can go VERY wrong.....my ex-riding-mate "kiv" on a 1.3L bike coming back from KL few years back.it "painful".....:nono: :faint:

and i was JUST behind him when the whole thing happens......!(stop riding for 1mth after de inccident....:cry: )

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/7007/sbfs101.jpg

RIDE it while u can.....NOT when u want !.

Originally posted by hockie69@Dec 20 2005, 06:52 PM

well....for the 600...aint that the "fun" part of it..... ride it softly & it feels like a superfour....ride it hard...and it turn into a monster.:bouncefire:

yah, depends on how one looks at its gentle nature, whether wanna view it a 'gentle' or wanna view it as 'no power'.

most of the time this gentle nature to me is welcomed coz it means the bike never feels like its too much of a handful.

those very rare occasion when a car tailgate me at 110kmh, though, usually i'm at the lower range of the rpm in 6th gear. twist the throttle and i realize the bike like asleep. of coz, i still easily make the car eat my dust despite twisting the throttle at the wrong end of the rpm range.

i wish those japs would make top-of-the line middleweight sports with a v-twin engine.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Dec 20 2005, 01:21 AM

Hugger, biketech21 or motoworld.. not cheap.. >$150, superbike has 1 :thumb:

Hi BuZZBeaM.

You mistaken me for somebody leh.

My bike standard one.

Soon need to change tyre after or before Hatyai trip.

Eat centre only cause I never play corner.

Now days see corner my balls shrink leh.

Old liow...........................

Heheheheh

FYI older than hockie69.

Hahahahah

There Can Only Be One ................

Originally posted by mechwira@Dec 16 2005, 01:00 AM

i believe regina's has it. almost everybody buys it from there.

the one regina's has is reflective, more so than the usual glossy finish, but its not until the p-plate kind of reflective.

specify 'rim stickers', it'll cost $1 per yard, aunty recommend 8 yards for $8 enuff for front/rear left/right.

be warned tho, i gave up on them. they're not as stretchable as vinyl, so i had a dam hard time trying to trace the circular path of the rim with the straight strip of sticker. i willing to admit i'm a screw-up with these kinda art stuff, but for the life of me i donno how others do it. i try tracing the circular path and it keeps folding, ending up very unsightly.

i decided to take out, and thats when i discovered the bad thing about the sticker. peel it off, and u end up peeling off only the top cellophane layer. the white paint layer is underneath the cellophane layer, and remained stuck on my rim surface. its like a layer of paint. i had a hard time rubbing it off without scratching my rims.

i ave just used vinyl instead. will post pic once i get them.

I see, thanks!

Originally posted by superbike@Dec 20 2005, 08:20 PM

FYI older than hockie69.

Hahahahah

wahahahaha......i "feel" so glad.....:bouncefire:

Originally posted by mechwira@Dec 20 2005, 01:11 PM

the K5 has got underseat storage. one realises how much he takes that for granted when he rides a cbr600rr.

Haha, for sure. Especially when i swop from a HUGE underseat storage space from super4 to cbr6. Almost fainted when i first saw the storage space available on my friend's cbr6 way b4 i bought mine.

Originally posted by mechwira@Dec 19 2005, 11:22 PM

u tankslapped ur cbr6? lock to lock? wow wat happened?

on 2nd link tuas

going at 180 then sudden it tank slap

lucky i escape if not i also don know liao

Cbr600RR

05 RR with laser extreme moving around north east area~ :cheeky:

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Dec 20 2005, 01:21 AM

do u mean tank bra or hugger below ur tailboard to protect ur shock??

tank bra u can get from motoworld, ard $165, get e bag as well, gd for touring as there a plastic cover over ur fuel tank, no magnetic effect.

Hugger, biketech21 or motoworld.. not cheap.. >$150, superbike has 1 :thumb:

as for sliders, alot of places sell them, ask mechwira for recommendation, his is nicely cut and not too expensive, rem not to buy sliders tat is too short for ur bike. so far, i think motovation fits well. Been down with it before, save mi some $$ on repair :thumb:

Actually depend on ur need, i find that getting e GPR exhaust from Hikaru is a good deal.. $300 for a slip-on.. nice sound(poser value +1) :cheeky: alternatively, there are micron twin outlet, yoshi, arrow, laser(havent seen 1 on cbr600rr yet). Few months back, heard Leo Vinci & akrapovic coming up with legal slip-on, wonder is it out :confused:

If u are heading down to track, damper is a plus

Enjoy ur ride :cheer:

leo vince n aka slip are out

but i heard fitting leo vince on 600 it not straight

Cbr600RR

Originally posted by AlvZz@Dec 20 2005, 11:01 PM

on 2nd link tuas

going at 180 then sudden it tank slap

lucky i escape if not i also don know liao

U hit anything? bump? That's scary even by the thought without experiencing it. :giddy:

Originally posted by Enjoy^83@Dec 20 2005, 11:04 PM

U hit anything? bump? That's scary even by the thought without experiencing it. :giddy:

there is 1 part uneven ground

Cbr600RR

Originally posted by AlvZz@Dec 20 2005, 11:08 PM

there is 1 part uneven ground

got ur laser yet?

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

2005 Honda CBR1000RR5 FZ9xxxZ

2007 Honda Fit 1.5 Vtec SGU2xxxR

2008 Mitsubishi Colt Version R SJF9xxxG

Originally posted by mechwira@Dec 20 2005, 07:31 PM

those very rare occasion when a car tailgate me at 110kmh, though, usually i'm at the lower range of the rpm in 6th gear. twist the throttle and i realize the bike like asleep.

i wish those japs would make top-of-the line middleweight sports with a v-twin engine.

this one hor...have to look at how the "torque" workz liao lor.

from the stock dyno chart.it not hard to see that the bike is "no power" below 6.5k rpm....it "only" start to wakeup after that....and had a torque drip at 8k rpm.from 8k rpm onwards...it "kind of "pull it all de way to 13k rpm.:thumb:

seeing de chart...reminds me of the old EG/EK honda civic Vtec.....same patterm...make the torque "Drop" then shoot up....and "mislead" the driver/rider to believe there is "more" power then actual output.:sian:

but....ride this RR5 below 8k rpm....feels like a 60PS superfour(stock superfour 53PS) and dun need to drag till 11.5k rpm like the superfour..... :sweat:

but not fair to compare 600 vs 400 la.:sorry:

Torque of 2005 model 600cc

#1- Z636 : 7.2kg-m/11,500rpm

#2- K5 : 7.1kg-m/10,800rpm

#3- 05R6 : 6.78kg-m/12,000rpm

#4- RR5 : 6.22kg-m/10,750rpm

*from the above,the kawa "looks" like the king....but actually the Gixxr would have "pull" up in torque at early on rpm range liao...while the kawa "may" yet to reach peak.(we talking about laymen riding feeling la)

*same apply for the R6 & RR5 lor....:mad:

summery.....RR5 is a more EX in price yet offer lowest Torque/BHP within the 600cc cat.:sian:

http://img369.imageshack.us/img369/4572/rr5torque1ty.th.jpg

Originally posted by LastDance@Dec 20 2005, 11:16 PM

got ur laser yet?

the pipe is here but then they haven get the lta approval paper work yet

so i don dare to put it on first

Cbr600RR

oh...do i have to order from oversea or are there any local shop which can handle those shipping/admin issue. ;p

it looks yummy...and the "sport" sounds nice. ;p

Originally posted by hockie69@Dec 20 2005, 11:20 PM

this one hor...have to look at how the "torque" workz liao lor.

from the stock dyno chart.it not hard to see that the bike is "no power" below 6.5k rpm....it "only" start to wakeup after that....and had a torque drip at 8k rpm.from 8k rpm onwards...it "kind of "pull it all de way to 13k rpm.:thumb:

summery.....RR5 is a more EX in price yet offer lowest Torque/BHP within the 600cc cat.:sian:

yeah i noe, thats wat i talking about. the 'no-life' under 7k rpm is typical of all 600cc sports, but the CBR600RR is also the lowest in torque and power of the jap 4.

and i think the torque drop is only with the RR3 and RR4, though enjoy seems not to notice it. i think the RR5 has a smoother torque curve with no drop. for sure i dun feel any. it hits 9k and things get a little frantic :cheeky: dam shiok :cheeky: :cheeky:

and the RR isn that much more expensive than the gixx and the R6. more by 500 to 1k onli. i donno the kawa, i only looked around these 3 when i was shopping.

Originally posted by mechwira@Dec 21 2005, 12:31 AM

yeah i noe, thats wat i talking about. the 'no-life' under 7k rpm is typical of all 600cc sports, but the CBR600RR is also the lowest in torque and power of the jap 4.

and i think the torque drop is only with the RR3 and RR4, though enjoy seems not to notice it. i think the RR5 has a smoother torque curve with no drop. for sure i dun feel any. it hits 9k and things get a little frantic :cheeky: dam shiok :cheeky: :cheeky:

and the RR isn that much more expensive than the gixx and the R6. more by 500 to 1k onli. i donno the kawa, i only looked around these 3 when i was shopping.

Still getting myself to familiarise with the bike even though i have rode it for 2 months. Have very seldom chance to bring the bike up to the high med - high rev. Even if so, am busy looking out at the traffic condition. At least the drop in torque is not that obvious that can be felt instantly if there is any.

I probably need more time to 'feel' the bike......:sweat:

Originally posted by Enjoy^83@Dec 21 2005, 12:45 AM

Still getting myself to familiarise with the bike even though i have rode it for 2 months. Have very seldom chance to bring the bike up to the high med - high rev. Even if so, am busy looking out at the traffic condition. At least the drop in torque is not that obvious that can be felt instantly if there is any.

I probably need more time to 'feel' the bike......:sweat:

i've been riding this baby for 6 months and opportunities to ride in its magic zone is still few and far between, which is really a crying shame. i've only ever felt its magic zone in 1st gear; there was once i hit in 2nd gear and my balls shrunk coz the road just not meant to allow the bike to ride like that. 100kmh in 1st gear, how to ride in the magic zone in other gears man.

many a times congested traffic leaves me feeling frustrated and wondering why bother with such a bike if i dun get to ride in its magic zone (man i wanna start going PG :cheeky: ). but all it takes is that one time in a month that i finally turn the bike on when i find a clear stretch..... i get off my bike with a stupid grin on my face, i pat the tank lovingly and wonder how can i ever live with any lesser bike in future :lovestruck:

Originally posted by superbike@Dec 20 2005, 08:20 PM

Hi BuZZBeaM.

You mistaken me for somebody leh.

My bike standard one.

oops! :sorry:

i think its sportsbike who has it

power bronze rear hugger

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

Originally posted by honam24@Dec 20 2005, 12:52 PM

hi all, juz some question ... i wonder compare k5 600 and cbr 600, in term of handling i think honda is the best.. but how about pick up and horse power...... overall which i better...

pick up can be change by changing e sprockets, -1 infront +3 at e back

u can fly :cheeky: there's cons though

i dun think HP play a part in choosing a bike, how long or how many times will we be using e even 50% of the HP???

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

Originally posted by hockie69@Dec 20 2005, 06:52 PM

of course 1L bike will eat it for breakfast/lunch/dinner/supper la.

but....riding is about the "fun factor"....on the 1L bike...i "feel" like i'm just a operator....and always have to watch out for "alot" of things...range from WHITE uncle to road surface to other road-user...and also the "state of mind" of de rider.

:cheer: the fun factor!!!

I love to rev e 600's, rev rev rev :cheeky:

whereas i dun have chance to do it using a litre bike in SG (speeding big time)

I tried doing it on a busa :giddy:

speeding all e way :help:

e "kick" comes after 7k rpm for me SWEET! :lovestruck:

OH i miss riding :weep:

Enjoy : How's everything man? hope u love it like i do :smile:

Mechwira : bought ur full face??