Originally posted by Niteguyz@Mar 4 2005, 01:57 AM

I have my black belt 1st Dan for 2 years and 2 mths now but have not been training ever since...... Want to go for 2nd dan but no time and I forgot all my patterns le..... sianz..... :sian:

just go back to train for 3-6 months, you will be ready for 2nd dan provided your stamina is fit. :smile:

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

Warcraft 3 Singapore Clan BALA homepage

Warcraft 3 Singapore Clan BALA Forum

My Computer

My Photo Album

http://www.geocities.com/sean_toh/signature1.JPG

• Replies 392

got my 1st dan TKD ten years back and personnally feel that the TKD is too restricted to the legs only. Instructors dun encourage the uses of punches. The best is combine TKD kicking & karate hand techniques. perfect liao. :smile:

anyone practice flying eagle hapikido??

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

Indeed the history of TKD is complicated...

Most of you do not know the complication of TKD in Singapore, lotsa fighting in the old days 1970s. People going ard "taking over" other people's club and students as they wish by force is just one example...

Glad that now it's not that bad...but sad to say, still involve lotsa "politics"...

Guys, pls dont be so eager to "upgrade" your dan/belt when you are learning. The belt is merely a signature of what you have learned and perhaps understand, not how "good" you are at the art.

Within the dans, there are different levels of perfection. This "levels" can only be perfected thru constant practice and researched.

Whatever sport or martial art anyone wishes to learn, just go ahead and do it. If you think it is not suitable for you, or the instructor is not knowledgable enough to lead you far, just move on to another. Good luck and happy training.

Originally posted by BaKa@Mar 8 2005, 10:24 PM

got my 1st dan TKD ten years back and personnally feel that the TKD is too restricted to the legs only. Instructors dun encourage the uses of punches. The best is combine TKD kicking & karate hand techniques. perfect liao. :smile:

As I mentioned before, TKD do use hands as much as legs, and yes, there are techniques similiar to Karate.

All these are taught in the 70s and there are not many who learn that from the Koreans. There are a pioneer group of about 7 in Singapore, of which, to my knowledge, only one is still active in TKD.

TKD is not just about kicking. Some instructors focus more on different techniques. A good instructor will know what to focus on his/her students, be it patterns, kicking or sparring. A good instructor also will not "hide" and not reveal his knowledge of the art, but instead teach all he knows to the students, when the student is ready to learn it.

Nuff said. Happy training. :smile:

Originally posted by Dragstar@Mar 8 2005, 02:42 PM

just go back to train for 3-6 months, you will be ready for 2nd dan provided your stamina is fit. :smile:

yeah i think i will. Just happened to meet my tkd instructor few days ago. Hmmm..... I had quite a hard time taking 1st Dan, wont be easy for 2nd too. Nva train for so long, legs too stiff le.......... paiseh to wear black belt also.......

Originally posted by madman@Mar 10 2005, 03:32 PM

As I mentioned before, TKD do use hands as much as legs, and yes, there are techniques similiar to Karate.

All these are taught in the 70s and there are not many who learn that from the Koreans. There are a pioneer group of about 7 in Singapore, of which, to my knowledge, only one is still active in TKD.

TKD is not just about kicking. Some instructors focus more on different techniques. A good instructor will know what to focus on his/her students, be it patterns, kicking or sparring. A good instructor also will not "hide" and not reveal his knowledge of the art, but instead teach all he knows to the students, when the student is ready to learn it.

Nuff said. Happy training. :smile:

madman .. the one you refering is the one who used to have the training center above the DUCATI showroom right? :cheeky:

you seems like a "hardcore" to martial art too... mind to meet? :smile:

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

My Computer

My Photo Album

ermm...wanna meet ah...I paiseh leh...:sweat:

Cannot say I hardcore, just say got interest lah...

And nope, not that one, it's at YMCA in the 60s - 70s.

I prefer not to mention Name and Club to avoid conflicts and gossip. You know what I mean...

He is currently the only Grandmaster in SG, perhaps Asia even, excluding the koreans...

Originally posted by madman@Mar 14 2005, 02:16 PM

ermm...wanna meet ah...I paiseh leh...:sweat:

Cannot say I hardcore, just say got interest lah...

And nope, not that one, it's at YMCA in the 60s - 70s.

I prefer not to mention Name and Club to avoid conflicts and gossip. You know what I mean...

He is currently the only Grandmaster in SG, perhaps Asia even, excluding the koreans...

i do understand sia...

actually i am looking for a club to continue to take my 3rd dan, however, i yet to find one suitable one in Singapore... besides, my stamina not as good as last time.. kick strengh and punch strenght oso limited liao.. further more.. many patterns already forgot... sigh :weep:

The reason i learn aikido now mainly considering my age getting older.. wondering i can kick a jumping-reverse-hooking-kick as good as when i am 25 years old....if i reach 40 years old.. :cheeky:

what ur advise... ??? actually i missed TKD, just worry that i am not as good as last time and when gettign older, then worse..

I notice aikido did not emphsize on power.. which suitable even when i am uncle ... however, aikido cannot perform sparring.. coz is deadly.. hence, i just feel like no chllenging and very demoralized when i learn it... (you should understand if you are from TKD.... the moment waiting for sparring and tournament and wanna try out something new when you watch it from TV) .. :cheeky:

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

My Computer

My Photo Album

I had ever taught a 40 yr old man, who is not flexible, cannot jump etc...but does it matter? It doesnt, and with his own determination and will, he managed to pass his beltblack grading.

Just remember that all those fancy kicks are no use in actual combat and defense. Why need to do a jumping-reverse-hooking-kick when all it takes down the fella with a punch to the vital points, you shd know where...

To me, these are not important. You may not be able to perform these kicks like youngsters, but I'm sure you can exceed them in other areas, such as your techniques and it's execution.

People grow old each day, and even if you are a 9th dan, upon reaching 70, do you tink you can do a better looking spinning kick then a youngster 20yrs old?

Answer is no, but I'm sure your that "not so good looking" kick can take down anybody better than that youngster, that is if you are in constant training...:cheeky:

Regarding sparring, it is exciting as it can really put what you learn to test, but losing doesnt mean you are no good. Everytime you spar, you learn something new.

My students used to be afraid to spar with me, who doesnt fear their instructors?

But now, most of them is not afraid to take me on now, becos I keep telling them that there is nothing to be afraid of, I'm your instructor, and am teaching you to spar, not going to injure you or hamtam you, unlike many others... It is better to spar with someone you consider better and faster, so that you can improve, and most important, not getting injured while doing that. Safety is always my no.1 consideration.

BTW, you can even learn when sparring with a 6-7 yrs old, their determination and courage, not afraid of pain, regardless of who they are sparring with, unlike the older ones...

I've learnt what I can, and I pray that I do not have the need to use my knowledge in the art. But if I do, it will always be, fight to win. Otherwise, dont fight....walking or talking your way out is always the better option.

Originally posted by madman@Mar 14 2005, 07:30 PM

I had ever taught a 40 yr old man, who is not flexible, cannot jump etc...but does it matter? It doesnt, and with his own determination and will, he managed to pass his beltblack grading.

Just remember that all those fancy kicks are no use in actual combat and defense. Why need to do a jumping-reverse-hooking-kick when all it takes down the fella with a punch to the vital points, you shd know where...

To me, these are not important. You may not be able to perform these kicks like youngsters, but I'm sure you can exceed them in other areas, such as your techniques and it's execution.

People grow old each day, and even if you are a 9th dan, upon reaching 70, do you tink you can do a better looking spinning kick then a youngster 20yrs old?

Answer is no, but I'm sure your that "not so good looking" kick can take down anybody better than that youngster, that is if you are in constant training...:cheeky:

Regarding sparring, it is exciting as it can really put what you learn to test, but losing doesnt mean you are no good. Everytime you spar, you learn something new.

My students used to be afraid to spar with me, who doesnt fear their instructors?

But now, most of them is not afraid to take me on now, becos I keep telling them that there is nothing to be afraid of, I'm your instructor, and am teaching you to spar, not going to injure you or hamtam you, unlike many others... It is better to spar with someone you consider better and faster, so that you can improve, and most important, not getting injured while doing that. Safety is always my no.1 consideration.

BTW, you can even learn when sparring with a 6-7 yrs old, their determination and courage, not afraid of pain, regardless of who they are sparring with, unlike the older ones...

I've learnt what I can, and I pray that I do not have the need to use my knowledge in the art. But if I do, it will always be, fight to win. Otherwise, dont fight....walking or talking your way out is always the better option.

ok, so you are the instructor too sia.. mind to pm me your club and training cneter and time.. wish to pay you a visit...

ITF or WTF?

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

My Computer

My Photo Album

none. :smile: you can come and see if you want...I confirm you wont see so many dans gathering b4...from 8th dan - 1st...

You got PM.

Originally posted by Alex31@Feb 28 2005, 10:17 PM

You should be ashamed of yourself.....hitting small kids. You should know that they don't think like adult. :mad:

Try someone you own size.

Hello dat time im also a kidz ok...........

Thai Amulets do not produce instant miracles. Wear it with faiths and a good heart. Eventually you will see the effect.

Im letting go some of my thai amulets which I had collected throughout the years when I go to Thailand. Do PM me if you are looking for something which u cant find in my post, I might have it. Thanks :)

Originally posted by 13randon@Mar 20 2005, 11:33 PM

Hello dat time im also a kidz ok...........

:lol: :lol: :lol: ....he tot you old man liao mah....

Originally posted by madman@Mar 21 2005, 07:42 PM

:lol: :lol: :lol: ....he tot you old man liao mah....

maybe haha :sweat: :faint:

Thai Amulets do not produce instant miracles. Wear it with faiths and a good heart. Eventually you will see the effect.

Im letting go some of my thai amulets which I had collected throughout the years when I go to Thailand. Do PM me if you are looking for something which u cant find in my post, I might have it. Thanks :)

Originally posted by 13randon@Mar 22 2005, 11:36 PM

maybe haha :sweat: :faint:

My apologise...:sweat:

http://www.bikeland.org/images/articles/2006-ZX10R/0610R02.jpg

2006 ZX10R

Only those who are in this field will appreciate the true spirit of Kyokushin Karate..

Most of them find it a boring movie without special effect like others action pack film. But they never consider how hard to master a simple move in the movie....

Osu!

http://www.bikeland.org/images/articles/2006-ZX10R/0610R02.jpg

2006 ZX10R

indeed, it's a nice show. bought the DVD, but too bad dont have the "making of" etc...

I find the training part abit too fast paced, they didnt really show much of the training and did not portray the hardships of training good enough. I believe it's worse then they show...

If only he's still alive, then perhaps, they'll have an interview with the man himself included...

So when going to make one for TKD, TKD also really jialat last time, lots of fighting and challenges in the initial stage of spreading... :cheeky:

ahh...

brings back old memories...

i wanted to practise back...

guess will be quite hard for me now...oops...

hehe.. no stamina...

gota train back...

Hatred do not ever cease in this world by hating but by love.

This is an eternal truth...

Overcome anger by love.

Overcome evil by good.

Overcome the miser by giving.

Overcome the liar by truth.

http://ist1-1.filesor.com/pimpandhost.com/2/3/5/1/23516/s/H/k/S/sHkS/funny-gifs-better-world.gif

Originally posted by madman@Apr 14 2005, 03:34 AM

indeed, it's a nice show. bought the DVD, but too bad dont have the "making of" etc...

I find the training part abit too fast paced, they didnt really show much of the training and did not portray the hardships of training good enough. I believe it's worse then they show...

If only he's still alive, then perhaps, they'll have an interview with the man himself included...

So when going to make one for TKD, TKD also really jialat last time, lots of fighting and challenges in the initial stage of spreading... :cheeky:

ya, since General Choi also passed away liao :weep:

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

My Computer

My Photo Album

so, story about the start of TKD will be interesting, how it started out in the military to spreading outwards in asia, and us and europe eventually.

I believe the fighting (challenging each other) part is no less than the oyama movie. dont know about other countries, but in singapore, confirm have lots...

karate fight taekwon-do etc...lots of real life stories that can be made into movies...