i use both open and full face. usually i'd let my pillion wear the ff cos i dont want her to get injured in case anything happens. but i've gotten another full face, an old agv one my dad used to use, but passed it to me since he stopped riding. now i dont wear the open face one anymore cos ff does feel alot safer and more comfortable too. i've heard the bullsh*t comments like 'ride sp use full face?' but i cant be bothered with stuff like that. buy a ff, you wont regret it. plus, it makes me feel like andy lau in full throttle hahaha.

abt weight, i have a nolan n101, and i feel its a lil heavier then another ff helmets. just a note to those concerned abt helmet weight issues.

http://img105.imageshack.us/img105/3778/both1kk2.jpg

spark :D

• Replies 148

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/25/79/10089752/392904821l.jpg

So, any of you still want to laugh at people who's wearing Full Face and Body Armour and etc even for a 125z and NSR 150 RR like me? Hehehehehe, think again, its not about the bike, its the RIDER.

By the way, to make thing look more worse or more courageous, here's how my bike looks like now and believe it or not, I still ride to Kelantan Lane Ah Boy's with Full Face and Alpinstar Racing Boots but with this bike. Think again for those laughing Dumb F***S!:sian:

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h217/Barrenwizard/My%20Bike/NakedNSR150RR9701.jpg

Muahahahaha!!!

I have to admit, I am one of those people who laugh (not really laugh lah.. more like snigger..) at people who ride smaller bikes with full-face helmets. However, it doesn't mean that I am ignorant to the safety aspects to the different helmets. It just looks funny while u see it on the move, but safety is still definitely the main issue.

However, I have to say that the biggest problem with full face helmets is the cost of it. All above $100? Some may say that since u have the money to buy the bike, you should spend a bit more on the helmet for your safety. But it might be a lot for some people to fork out $150-200 for a full face helmet. But I do support the use of full-face helmets for maximum protection, together with jackets, gloves and shoes (at the minimum).

Tell me one thing. Is it less deadly falling off a Honda cub at 60km/h, vs falling off a Hayabusa at 60km/h?

I have been wearing full face since the day it was legalised back in 1994. Never owned an open face since.

Cannot see blind spot? Just turn your head. Hot? It's bearable.

Actually, it is less deadly to fall off a cub compared to a hayabusa at the same speed. But it will affect the legs more than it affects the head. With the heavier body of the hayabusa, it will definitely inflict more damage to your legs compared to a cub. Newton's law.. F=ma, with greater mass, higher force. Also depends on how you fall though..

i was wearing a cheap mhr full face when i was riding sp cos that time ns no money. then i change bike to a kup , i still wears that mhr full face. now riding a scrambler with some enough cash flow, i bought myself 2 arai full face.

safety comes first. and looks nice too no matter what bike u are riding =)

y some fools laughs at those riding small bike and wear a full face?

1) they don have money to buy a full face so they are jealous

2)their head is as cheap as a 20 dollar cheap helmet.

if one day, if u quit riding, your full face still has it's re-sale value:thumb:

last time i went to thailand for overseas exercise, those thai guys wears a full face helmet even they ride a kup. this is very common on the road of thailand.

when you have lost a good friend to a 2b bike accident then you will understand the importance of full face helmet. please use the open face helmet only within the driving centre, get a full face helmet as soon as you can.

In fact, 2 weeks ago I asked one of the instructors at BBDC whether we can use full face helmet. He said NO. Then I asked another instructor at BBDC last Sunday and he said we are ALLOWED to use full face helmet in the circuit.

Anyway I think it is ridiculous not to allow full face helmet in a learning center, where they should promote safety.

c26492.jpg
In fact, 2 weeks ago I asked one of the instructors at BBDC whether we can use full face helmet. He said NO. Then I asked another instructor at BBDC last Sunday and he said we are ALLOWED to use full face helmet in the circuit.

Anyway I think it is ridiculous not to allow full face helmet in a learning center, where they should promote safety.

Might be due to the heat?

When i took my bike licenses at the centre, sweat like sh*t, esp the afternoon classes.

The worst thing is the noon classes, when the riders are jammed up and taking turns to clear the obstacles.

With a FF, you can really sweat. But this is only for for the lessons in the centres.

On the road since I started riding 5 years back, I wear FF everyday.

Fom 2B,2A to 2. I always say a good helmet + riding jacket cost like what, 10% of your bike cost? So why not?

There's nothing amusing when you crashed and lost your teeth, or half your face when a FF would have taken the impact instead of your chin.

And I'm many of us heard this before. (Also repeated by a SSDC instructor)

'If you think your head is worth $500, then get a $500 helmet. If $50, then get a $50 helmet"

End Quote.

I'm sure those who take bike license is matured/'brainy' enough to understand this phrase whithout feeling offended.

last time i went to thailand for overseas exercise, those thai guys wears a full face helmet even they ride a kup. this is very common on the road of thailand.

yup.. its a common sighting at thailand. almost everyone whom rides wears a FF... can't be that thailand doesn't sell open face? furthermore, the heat at thailand can't be any better than sg.. :)

I have tried wearing an Arai RX7 while riding my small bike,yamaha nouvo mx (cub),ppl look at me in a funny way but tat doesn't bother me,safety is something tat cannot be compromise..

My Rides

Yamaha Nouvo MX - Sep 2006

Honda CB400 Spec II - Nov 2007

Yamaha Nouvo Elegance - Oct 2008

Suzuki GSXR 600 K6 - June 2009

Gilera Fuoco 500 - Dec 2009

Honda CB1000R - July 2011

Harley Davidson Sportster Forty Eight - Dec 2012 (Current)

why is it considered the safest? because the visor is locked?

The helmet is equivalent to FF. Read their homepage you will understand.

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/shoei1.jpg

http://motoplanete.com/mv-agusta/SBR11_MVVRloop.gif

Hi my friend,

Don't care what others say. If they don't care about their heads, let them be. I see how they laugh when their face kena the tarmac. I have been wearing a FF helmet since the 1st day I got my license. I was riding a Shadow 125. It's a cruiser, not a sports bike. But so what? I treasure my head.

Go get yourself the best FF helmet you can afford (don't really have to be a $500 helmet, but don't get those no-brand $50 kind also). My OGK RGX is only ~$200 but it is a little heavy though.

You've been ripped if you bought your RGX for $200. Many places even like non-helmet/apparel shops sell it at range of 160~180.

I probably look damn funny...just got my 2B a couple of months ago...p-plate on my just bought 5yr old noisy Phantom, black gloves, leather work shoes, black full-face RJays Striker helmet...but here's why I went full face...

I was driving along AMK ave 1 at night (about 1-year ago), this ang-mo on a harley zoomed past me towards thomson...he was wearing those retro open face half-helmet...kinda like those you see in WWII movies. Anyway...I saw him again 2 major road junctions later...his nice harley flat on the road in the middle lane...he was in the middle lane also, but about 10m from his bike...face down. I had to slowly drive around him...as my car passed him, I looked at him and he was trying to look up...I saw big piece of white skin hanging off his chin...see already hair on my neck all stand.

So...I look funny on bike...p-plate and still trying to learn how to handle the phantom...with nice glossy black full face helmet...but then again, I need to answer to my wife and 3 kids!

never go and help him?

well for me, i'll never go back to OF.

but it doesn't get any funnier with a FF, jacket and gloves. on a spark. lol. *shrug* makes me feel secure anyway.

Better that people look at you funny coz you wear full face on a small bike than because your jaw and face is mangled up.

You can take off a full face helmet anytime...you cannot take out the scars on your pretty face though. Period.

Better on the chin guard than my real chin.

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o104/angelo_neo/IMG_1004.jpg

go for the full face no matter what pple say or how they laugh while looking at u. full face saved probably my nose and chin once. gonna keep wearing a full face on my KRR no matter wat pple say.

The goal is not to set a fastest lap, it is to eventually win the race.

Super Light, Super Safe :

http://www.schuberth.com/uploads/tx_pxscrollitems/mattschwarz_02.gif

what helmet is that bro? how much is it and where to get it? looks like a solid helmet for short trips out to the coffee shop. :thumb:

The goal is not to set a fastest lap, it is to eventually win the race.

what helmet is that bro? how much is it and where to get it? looks like a solid helmet for short trips out to the coffee shop. :thumb:

The brand is on the helmet. its a Wel known German Helmet with a chin guard.

Look at the pic below :

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/chinguard.jpg

FYI :

Its certainly not a helmet to go coffee shop. Its not any kinda of cheap helmet on the market.

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/shoei1.jpg

http://motoplanete.com/mv-agusta/SBR11_MVVRloop.gif