Hi everybody..need to ask this issue abt the visibility of visor...

Just yesterday i was stopped by a TP regarding my visor..To my understanding, you can use any helmet with visor of at least 70% light transmittance at any time. However, after addressing with this issue on the spot with the TP, he only told me that there is no such laws and that if there are the TPs would have used it. He did not even conduct any test using the tint meter. Nothing.

As I am very sure that my visor is lightly tinted with 70% if not more light transmittance, I'm just wondering how to solve this when i appeal?

Thanx guys!

• Replies 29

eh thanx man..

but when i ask the TP whether shouldnt there be a test on the spot with a tint meter to see the visibility..he said that he have to issue coz its procedure on the ground and that if i want, can go appeal. And u know lah..their standard answer, "..i just saman one guy a few minutes ago..so hope u understand i'm doing my job..if not, not fair.."

To me it is not fair lah..seems to me the TP realise i ask him questions he cannot give a proper answer..his explanation sounds like an excuse just to saman me..no test, just assume, then kana saman..hah!..

so can go their TP HQ to test out with them my visor rite?..

anyone else experience the same situation too?..

last time I kanna summon at road block then appeal. they waived off. but in your case, there shouldn't be any summon in the 1st place if you're so sure that yours is lightly tinted. maybe can bring the visor to TP, ask them to check?

some clarification:

1) You can use any helmet with visor of at least 70% light transmittance at any

time.

2) Coloured tinted visors are fine if they meet the 70% light transmittance...

However visors with reflective surfaces are not allowed.

3) ...the officer will be able to determine on the spot the light transmittance of

the visor using a tint meter.

more here: TP FAQ

mods done:

powerplant device, fuel injector venturis,

underseat cylindrical air filter, bassy stock cans,

super-sensitive in-built gyroscope, inertia-based accelerometer,

streamlined panniers (zero drag),

taped up wires, exposed grounding wires,

TBC mounted, custom tire pressures.

litre bikes watch out! :gun:

Where can I get this tinted visor with more than 70% light emittance? Even my normal clear visor can hardly have emittance of more than 80%..

Kena this b4.. The Tp just tell me this wit the meter in her hand, "if the meter reading is less than 70%, ur visor is not approve by law".. In the end, $50 fine..

At least 70% Light Emittance. 30% Tinted Visors are barely even of any difference. So why not get the fully clear one? It might just save all the trouble.

And the webpage of the TP FAQ is a good to know.

Although without the meter, they can still fine you if they need to.

Pointer No. 7: No, the officer will be able to determine on the spot the light transmittance of the visor using a tint meter.

He will be able to, but he doesn't necessary have to.

200 Miles Per Hour, No Hands... Damn That Would Be Cool Right Before The Part Where You Die...

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

2007 - Daelim Daystar 125

2008/2009 - Piaggio X9 500

2017 - Triumph Speed Triple 1050

wah..means like tat..i kena alrd lor..he didnt test, den say gonna saman..

but here's sumthing i forgot to add...

he didnt issue me anything on the spot..he wrote it down my particulars on a

note pad..i onli scared i kena screw in the ass if the TP anyhow claim tat my visor is VERY tinted..wen i noe its not, and tat i kept asking him to test it out on the spot, he say tat "theres no such law of wearing tinted visor at all if not TP wud have worn it"...excuses to saman!

i feel like a victim to his assumptions..now make me look bad...but still..

i dun care..i will still wear it until proven wrong..plus..i wun pay a single cent..

sure appeal one..coz it doesnt justify the saman..

riding dirty..hah!

Sometimes he might just meant to scare you. Because there's paperwork to do and that's something he might be trying to avoid. Lol! :cheeky:

200 Miles Per Hour, No Hands... Damn That Would Be Cool Right Before The Part Where You Die...

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

2007 - Daelim Daystar 125

2008/2009 - Piaggio X9 500

2017 - Triumph Speed Triple 1050

want to save the trouble of being stopped? and save the hassels of appealing? hmmm dont wear tinted visor. THE END.

the tint o meter is not accurate cos i kena both times at nite. day time my visor is as good as transparent.

wah..means like tat..i kena alrd lor..he didnt test, den say gonna saman..

but here's sumthing i forgot to add...

he didnt issue me anything on the spot..he wrote it down my particulars on a

note pad..i onli scared i kena screw in the ass if the TP anyhow claim tat my visor is VERY tinted..wen i noe its not, and tat i kept asking him to test it out on the spot, he say tat "theres no such law of wearing tinted visor at all if not TP wud have worn it"...excuses to saman!

i feel like a victim to his assumptions..now make me look bad...but still..

i dun care..i will still wear it until proven wrong..plus..i wun pay a single cent..

sure appeal one..coz it doesnt justify the saman..

riding dirty..hah!

omg I had the exact same experience! Tp stopped me near simpang bedok saying that he's stopping me for wearing a tinted visor. He didn't do any checks using a meter or whatever. In fact, I don't even know how he could tell if my visor was tinted because 1)in was nighttime and, 2)the visor was up and my helmet is matt black. Tp just wrote down my particulars, returned my license and I rode off immediately. No receipt or summon papers, just said the letter will be sent to my house. It was only after I reached simpang bedok did I realise, eh he didn't check for the amount of tint.

A friend of mine said that the Tp could have just stopped me because I am a lady rider (and my pillion that evening was a girl too, in a low-cut [but very cute] dress) since he did not issue any receipt... but it could be that he may not do a follow-up if he has reached his quota for that night. Or perhaps he did not bring his pda thingy that Tps are issued with and thus had to go oldschool with note-writing. I would like to be hopeful that it was just a gungho moment for the Tp (he's a young one, 20-something my guess) but I should not get my hopes too high.

I had wanted to appeal, but I slept on it, woke up and decided that I couldn't be bothered. :cheeky:

I actually went down to the Tp office the next day to see whether I could get my visor checked for the amount of tint... apparently, they don't have the meters lying around at the building and that all were mobile (with the tps). Which I think is ridiculous because it is a service that they should provide. Standardized tint metering should be the way to go not only to protect the consumers (and riders) but tps alike.

Anyway, I prefer the tinted visor because it's more gentle on my eyes when the sun is up. And I'm not affected by it at night. It's not like my visor was the totally black-out ones... Still undecided as to whether I should get a clear one anyways since I have to remove the tinted visor when I go for 2A lesson. =(

COMEBACK KID was awesome!!!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v512/tacamam/catwalk.gif

omg I had the exact same experience! Tp stopped me near simpang bedok saying that he's stopping me for wearing a tinted visor. He didn't do any checks using a meter or whatever. In fact, I don't even know how he could tell if my visor was tinted because 1)in was nighttime and, 2)the visor was up and my helmet is matt black. Tp just wrote down my particulars, returned my license and I rode off immediately. No receipt or summon papers, just said the letter will be sent to my house. It was only after I reached simpang bedok did I realise, eh he didn't check for the amount of tint.

A friend of mine said that the Tp could have just stopped me because I am a lady rider (and my pillion that evening was a girl too, in a low-cut [but very cute] dress) since he did not issue any receipt... but it could be that he may not do a follow-up if he has reached his quota for that night. Or perhaps he did not bring his pda thingy that Tps are issued with and thus had to go oldschool with note-writing. I would like to be hopeful that it was just a gungho moment for the Tp (he's a young one, 20-something my guess) but I should not get my hopes too high.

I had wanted to appeal, but I slept on it, woke up and decided that I couldn't be bothered. :cheeky:

I actually went down to the Tp office the next day to see whether I could get my visor checked for the amount of tint... apparently, they don't have the meters lying around at the building and that all were mobile (with the tps). Which I think is ridiculous because it is a service that they should provide. Standardized tint metering should be the way to go not only to protect the consumers (and riders) but tps alike.

Anyway, I prefer the tinted visor because it's more gentle on my eyes when the sun is up. And I'm not affected by it at night. It's not like my visor was the totally black-out ones... Still undecided as to whether I should get a clear one anyways since I have to remove the tinted visor when I go for 2A lesson. =(

Wow..Like composition..But a bit shorter..Ehehe..:cheeky: 2A? I wait for u la want or not? :cheeky:

I think to stop this nonsense, if I am you, I will take down the time and details of the patrol car that stop me. If I wear a approved one and he fined me for nothing and did not even bother to check it on the spot, I am gonna make sure he gets it from his superiors.

It is better to keep quiet and remain a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubts...

I think to stop this nonsense, if I am you, I will take down the time and details of the patrol car that stop me. If I wear a approved one and he fined me for nothing and did not even bother to check it on the spot, I am gonna make sure he gets it from his superiors.

TP bike for me... it was a first time so I totally forgot to do that... wanted to get away as fast as possible. =(

eh same too...i was so thinking that i was wrong bcoz at tat moment its his word against mine..so wat can i say..if he want to saman, sure he saman one wat no matter wat i said...

shud hav taken down his name and plate..use his words against him..hah!

and i oso did went to the TP HQ at ubi the following day..they tell me the EXACT same thing!.. now no choice..just wait lah..

so dyingxatheist ,

so did the letter eventually came to ur house??...so kena or not??

i think if never kena coz u babe mah..haha..give chance..

I just got fined for tinted visor last wednesday(5.30pm)..Roadblock just about 50m away from my mscp..No where to run..but i just brave on as i was riding my stock spec3..They check my lic,ic and insurance..Everything goes smooth till he asked for my helmet.

Good thing he checked the visor using the meter...For me,mine is slightly tinted but after checking,only 55% light can pass thru..Limit is 25%...In the end just ask him for the fine and move off...

Till now i'm still wondering,i have used the helmet w/tinted visor while riding my vespa for almost 2 years...Been thru many2 times road block and not a single stop but that day suay...riding my 3 weeks spec3 and kenna fine...Haiz...

Guess that everyone once in their lifetime must donate to TP Fund...

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

me got kena b4 too..tinted visor but not me wearing but my pillion ...haizz...i tink its onli a matter of how you nego wif TP to let u off in any kind of offences ...cheers

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y117/nebulaz/KTM-Pink-1.jpg

HUA Hua hua....WADEVER..AR you STOOPID OR WAD? HUA hua hua version 2.....

me got kena b4 too..tinted visor but not me wearing but my pillion ...haizz...i tink its onli a matter of how you nego wif TP to let u off in any kind of offences ...cheers

Even pillion also can't have tinted visors?

What danger does it cause for pillions to wear tinted ones?

eh same too...i was so thinking that i was wrong bcoz at tat moment its his word against mine..so wat can i say..if he want to saman, sure he saman one wat no matter wat i said...

shud hav taken down his name and plate..use his words against him..hah!

and i oso did went to the TP HQ at ubi the following day..they tell me the EXACT same thing!.. now no choice..just wait lah..

so dyingxatheist ,

so did the letter eventually came to ur house??...so kena or not??

i think if never kena coz u babe mah..haha..give chance..

hehe sorry, abit overdued... yeah the letter did come to my house (and because of that my parents found out I ride KNN)... :cheeky: but I appealed on the grounds that the TP failed to check for tint using the meter... they dropped the fine and gave me a warning instead =) (and sent another letter which my dad thought was another summons letter :faint: )

So heng for me, now I ride with clear visor... A little sad la because I prefer my tinted visor but what to do... Maybe when I feel brave enough, I'll fix back my tinted visor. hehe :cheeky:

i kena stopped b4...he checked my visor with the meter...but tink tt day my lucky day...

he juz say warning.but still got record...if not $50 fine...

2005-2006 : Yamaha RXZ 135

2006-2010 : Honda Super 4 Spec I

2010-2012 : Honda VFR 800 5th Gen

2012-current : SYM MaxSym 400i