• Replies 5.1k

sounds so fun... :weep:

haha.. i also saw u at planet and the kopitiam behind what.. not fun meh???

http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t286/modenaboi/signature.jpg

Practical Test Checklist:

√ Sudden and late braking

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Assume road belongs to father

√ Never at fault no matter what happens

√ Tailgating confidence

Result: YES! You qualify to become a Singapore car driver!

Heh heh heh! We saw you too! :p

yah! eating together too! :cheeky:

sounds so fun... :weep:

haha.. maybe to him more fun meeting pple at other places rather than planet..

that was monday... they met yesterday... :weep:

anyway... how is the battle plan for saturday...? :clap:

yah! eating together too! :cheeky:

haha.. maybe to him more fun meeting pple at other places rather than planet..

planet is fun! had my dinner there twice this week so far... :cheeky:

haha.. had a few meals at the nearby coffeeshops there last week as well..

that was monday... they met yesterday... :weep:

anyway... how is the battle plan for saturday...? :clap:

planet is fun! had my dinner there twice this week so far... :cheeky:

u mean the photo-taking? did u see my facebook and identify the place? this sat i got dinner.. think can only meet at SNM le..

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Tailgating confidence

u mean the photo-taking? did u see my facebook and identify the place? this sat i got dinner.. think can only meet at SNM le..

yes... that is the place... ha if you are not free this saturday its ok... I am planning to go to sg selai on sunday morning... :cheeky:

Live reporting from pl@net: didn't see anyone here. So sad. And bored lol.

"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing." Helen Keller

www.kruzer.sg

didnt see any1? ghost town? :cheeky:

awww... :cheeky:

lol I think she only meant us... :sweat:

Wait a while more.. someone with the letter 'D' might turn up, duno who you are, and start talking to u?

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Tailgating confidence

Wait a while more.. someone with the letter 'D' might turn up, duno who you are, and start talking to u?

she would probably have left the area already...

LOL rephrase. I didn't see anyone FAMILIAR :D

awww... :cheeky:

lol I think she only meant us... :sweat:

Yup you are right :p

Hmmm? D for Dear? Doctor Chong? Derek? Doggy?

she would probably have left the area already...

HAHA yes I'm at home!

www.kruzer.sg

HAHA yes I'm at home!

ok accepted. lol. and i think i know who chaoz is referring to.

To:

Honda Phantom with large low-mounted silver box at Yishun Avenue (dunno which one) going past McDonald's drive thru outlet around 8pm this evening:

Pls note your taillight is blown :)

--

I got my "fully renovated" Phantom this afternoon after waiting 3 weeks (I literally purchased a bare TA200 frame with 2 wheels and nothing else as you can see from below pic.

She is such a beast. I was riding Kups for all 6+ years of motorcycling and suddenly I have a huge, long wheelbase monster to contend with. I would be lying if I said I wasn't afraid of the machine, just like I felt when I first touched my father's motorcycle in 2003!

With lightweight modern Kups, the rider is practically "wearing" the machine. With a classic-styled bike like the Phantom, it practically drives itself due to the huge tyres, long wheelbase, and cruiser-type suspension geometry.

I just had to pluck up the courage to engage 1st gear, bring up the power, and release the clutch. After what seemed to be an eternity of gently releasing the clutch, the giant donut behind me started receiving torque... and it was smooth sailing ever since. It can balance itself automatically at ah pek walking speed!

The ripped-apart-and-painstakingly-rebuilt engine was very rough, with significant gaps in the power curve at first... but with some great advise in performance oriented engine break-in technique, "FX-5L" soon became an instant head turner.

I rode her across Singapore taking kopi breaks every 25 minutes to let the engine cool between break-in sessions first around Clementi and the industrial estates near Jurong Island then hitting the BKE through Clementi Ave 6, avoiding the traffic jam by diverting to Old Woodlands road via Bk Timah, intercepting the KPE, exiting once again at Mandai, doing a loop of Yishun then south again to Old Thomson Road.

I had considered taking a break at my workplace in Toa Payoh but the thrill of the LOUD thumping engine was as such that I simply continued to Lornie Road, hitting the PIE and heading due east to Jurong East, pausing at JTC area for a photoshoot then running down the MRT line to SAFTI MI, up the KJE again to my night objective - Old Lim Chu Kang Road -> Kranji Dam a.k.a. "Hell's Highway" as I term it.

This was the PERFECT place to run in my engine for good, with uphills, downhills, double hairpin turns, "death traps" and even a TP ambush! (They dashed out of a dark unused junction at POINT BLANK RANGE in front of me but saw a Phantom with a long-haired rider and pretended not to see me :) )

By the time I'm done I covered over 200km excluding the first 30km with less than 1 litre in the main fuel tank! It's now 11am and I had a hell of a time, for the past 6 hours, piloting my "B-17 bomber" all around Singapore (or part thereof).

The "performance" break-in techniques really worked and my 7 year old TA200 was, from 8pm onwards, dashing off to a flying start at every green light. Heads turned everytime people heard my LOUD and powerful TA200 and I would indulge them by switching to a higher gear, letting the RPM drop and then applying power for the "thump! thump! thump!" mini-HD effect then high RPM engine braking with Subaru WRX style burbling exhaust LMAO!! I haven't seen a TA200 with that special effect in all 6 years of staring at passing Phantoms!

I expected the TA200 to be a slouch, after transferring from the 125Z which is like an F-16 fighter - super agile like a fly. But with the huge torque and wildly satisfying exhaust note of the Phantom... I think I'm in love :3

And she's no slouch in the corners either, though I have to literally lean off the bike to get my "Memphis Belle" to pull enough Gs to make it through! Well yes, it was exactly like in the movie when the 2 pilots wrestled the huge bomber in each and every maneuvering-related scene. But the Phantom is surprisingly agile in city traffic and I was in a handful of VERY close calls that my "bomber" sashayed past without even looking.

Btw, I didn't buy this TA200 for cheap. With insurance for a hell-rider in the mid-twenties, full overhaul, accessories, and chrome & paint respray, she tops the scales at over $3500.

But she's worth every cent, because I want this bike to see me through to my mid-life crisis years.

And I do solemly swear that the amount of torque, and throttle response I'm getting from this engine is incredible. To cruise at a constant velocity, I just need to whip her in top gear and open the throttle by 1-2mm. Yes, ONE milimetre.

To launch from the stop lights, I simply feed in the power smoothly with no more than a gentle twist of the throttle, do 5x 0.2 second gear changes in 10 seconds and I'm at cruising velocity :)

The key is to not swamp the motor with fuel by opening the tap wide but let the engine gain momentum by itself (see it to believe it :) ) and oh man, I wonder why I waited 7 years to buy a Phantom.

The 125Z though was a prime choice for a new rider. The Phantom might be my "dream" bike but fresh out of class 2B in 2004, would I have appreciated my "Memphis Belle" as I do now?

The most amazing part is how comfortable the bike is - I can't stand the 125Z after more than 45 minutes of riding. This one, 6 hours? No sweat. And no need to refuel every 2 days!

Disclaimer: There are likely a lot of "plot holes" as I'm not as good or knowledgeable a rider as you gentlemen.

But I swear by making heads turn with my Phantom (oh man the sound! Just like a WW2 warbird). When I reach 60kph everyone else still haven't entered the yellow box :3 That's the "stun" effect. The Phantom can never drag race for real and win!

Okay enough playing, must pray no one touches my "beloved" when I sleep :)

Hope you enjoyed the little Phantom short story.

18032010(021).jpg

Fxl3.jpg

Edited by Pandora's Kitten :3
To:

Honda Phantom with large low-mounted silver box at Yishun Avenue (dunno which one) going past McDonald's drive thru outlet around 8pm this evening:

--

I got my "fully renovated" Phantom this afternoon after waiting 3 weeks (I literally purchased a bare TA200 frame with 2 wheels and nothing else as you can see from below pic.

She is such a beast. I was riding Kups for all 6+ years of motorcycling and suddenly I have a huge, long wheelbase monster to contend with. I would be lying if I said I wasn't afraid of the machine, just like I felt when I first touched my father's motorcycle in 2003!

With lightweight modern Kups, the rider is practically "wearing" the machine. With a classic-styled bike like the Phantom, it practically drives itself due to the huge tyres, long wheelbase, and cruiser-type suspension geometry.

I just had to pluck up the courage to engage 1st gear, bring up the power, and release the clutch. After what seemed to be an eternity of gently releasing the clutch, the giant donut behind me started receiving torque... and it was smooth sailing ever since. It can balance itself automatically at ah pek walking speed!

The ripped-apart-and-painstakingly-rebuilt engine was very rough, with significant gaps in the power curve at first... but with some great advise in performance oriented engine break-in technique, "FX-5L" soon became an instant head turner.

I rode her across Singapore taking kopi breaks every 25 minutes to let the engine cool between break-in sessions first around Clementi and the industrial estates near Jurong Island then hitting the BKE through Clementi Ave 6, avoiding the traffic jam by diverting to Old Woodlands road via Bk Timah, intercepting the KPE, exiting once again at Mandai, doing a loop of Yishun then south again to Old Thomson Road.

I had considered taking a break at my workplace in Toa Payoh but the thrill of the LOUD thumping engine was as such that I simply continued to Lornie Road, hitting the PIE and heading due east to Jurong East, pausing at JTC area for a photoshoot then running down the MRT line to SAFTI MI, up the KJE again to my night objective - Old Lim Chu Kang Road -> Kranji Dam a.k.a. "Hell's Highway" as I term it.

This was the PERFECT place to run in my engine for good, with uphills, downhills, double hairpin turns, "death traps" and even a TP ambush! (They dashed out of a dark unused junction at POINT BLANK RANGE in front of me but saw a Phantom with a long-haired rider and pretended not to see me :) )

By the time I'm done I covered over 200km excluding the first 30km with less than 1 litre in the main fuel tank! It's now 11am and I had a hell of a time, for the past 6 hours, piloting my "B-17 bomber" all around Singapore (or part thereof).

The "performance" break-in techniques really worked and my 7 year old TA200 was, from 8pm onwards, dashing off to a flying start at every green light. Heads turned everytime people heard my LOUD and powerful TA200 and I would indulge them by switching to a higher gear, letting the RPM drop and then applying power for the "thump! thump! thump!" mini-HD effect then high RPM engine braking with Subaru WRX style burbling exhaust LMAO!! I haven't seen a TA200 with that special effect in all 6 years of staring at passing Phantoms!

I expected the TA200 to be a slouch, after transferring from the 125Z which is like an F-16 fighter - super agile like a fly. But with the huge torque and wildly satisfying exhaust note of the Phantom... I think I'm in love :3

And she's no slouch in the corners either, though I have to literally lean off the bike to get my "Memphis Belle" to pull enough Gs to make it through! Well yes, it was exactly like in the movie when the 2 pilots wrestled the huge bomber in each and every maneuvering-related scene. But the Phantom is surprisingly agile in city traffic and I was in a handful of VERY close calls that my "bomber" sashayed past without even looking.

Btw, I didn't buy this TA200 for cheap. With insurance for a hell-rider in the mid-twenties, full overhaul, accessories, and chrome & paint respray, she tops the scales at over $3500.

But she's worth every cent, because I want this bike to see me through to my mid-life crisis years.

And I do solemly swear that the amount of torque, and throttle response I'm getting from this engine is incredible. To cruise at a constant velocity, I just need to whip her in top gear and open the throttle by 1-2mm. Yes, ONE milimetre.

To launch from the stop lights, I simply feed in the power smoothly with no more than a gentle twist of the throttle, do 5x 0.2 second gear changes in 10 seconds and I'm at cruising velocity :)

The key is to not swamp the motor with fuel by opening the tap wide but let the engine gain momentum by itself (see it to believe it :) ) and oh man, I wonder why I waited 7 years to buy a Phantom.

The 125Z though was a prime choice for a new rider. The Phantom might be my "dream" bike but fresh out of class 2B in 2004, would I have appreciated my "Memphis Belle" as I do now?

The most amazing part is how comfortable the bike is - I can't stand the 125Z after more than 45 minutes of riding. This one, 6 hours? No sweat. And no need to refuel every 2 days!

Disclaimer: There are likely a lot of "plot holes" as I'm not as good or knowledgeable a rider as you gentlemen.

But I swear by making heads turn with my Phantom (oh man the sound! Just like a WW2 warbird). When I reach 60kph everyone else still haven't entered the yellow box :3 That's the "stun" effect. The Phantom can never drag race for real and win!

glad u like ur beauty !

i enjoy my ride as a cruiser since 3 yrs ago when i ride without a licence...

i think i will live as a cruiser as long as i ride....

Pimp my bike and I'll pimp your ride 😜

HAHA yes I'm at home!

ok accepted. lol. and i think i know who chaoz is referring to.

its the guy with a tyga pipe... :cheeky:

To:

--

its great that you like your phantom so much! always good to have owners who would genuinely care for their bikes... :smile:

To:

--

A good read at this time of nite.. or morning ? Makes me wanna leave my wife in bed and bring my other "wife" for a ride.:cheeky:

Bro, yes we did brought our other 'wifes' out for rides mah! Indeed was a good read!!!

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

its the guy with a tyga pipe... :cheeky:

its great that you like your phantom so much! always good to have owners who would genuinely care for their bikes... :smile:

And who will that be?

www.kruzer.sg

And who will that be?

;6260953']The one that starts with D

lol.. beating around the bush.. beat 1 round already i think magg still dunno who..

;6260953']The one that starts with D

the one who goes to planet more than anyone of us..

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Tailgating confidence

lol.. beating around the bush.. beat 1 round already i think magg still dunno who..

maybe i should say the S4 with 3 pipes....

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

maybe i should say the S4 with 3 pipes....

ok sorry.. this part i duno le.. i also lost le..

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Tailgating confidence