i get sick n tired of driving the same car easily..now thinking of selling my car(gen2)..have real interest in the 07wrx.anybody has one?r u sian of driving that car?its an expensive car..so i have to noe b4 i buy.manual or auto more shiok.currently a manual.i like the manual.but somtimes lazy.but when drive my friends auto.i wish im driving a manual...is the car a good buy.dont think i can afford to change another car aft this.will b using it 4 a very long time.

so pls tell me the good n the bad abt this car.thanks alot guys.

• Replies 26

Then perhaps it is more economical for you to do long term rental (e.g. 1 yr). This way, you can change car every year with lower depreciation.

I'm not sure if you are talking about the base model (2.5L) or the STi version. For the base model, unless you intend to change the piston, else bring up the horsepower significantly reduce the life of your piston. To upgrade the horsepower, there are couple of other things that you've got to upgrade the other parts (e.g. intercooler, radiator, brake system, suspension - ard $15k) and this are the most basic to begin with.

Most Evo/ WRX owners I know spend between $30k to $50k on mods on the average.

Btw, below is some cost info:

Insurance : S$220 per month

Petrol : S$500 per month

Road Tax : $165 per month

6 oil changes per year at $150 per oil change : S$75 per month

Change gear oil, diff oil every 20k km at $350 per change: S$60 per month

Tyres (Estimating at $1,200 for 4 pcs) :S$100 per month.

Change DOT5.1 brake fluid twice a year : S$25 per month

Monthly installment : S$800 per month

Total Monthly Cost of Ownership : S$1,945 per month

Does not include any parking, ERP, mods, replacement of other wear and tear parts, nor accelerated wear and tear caused by track.

Hope it helps.

lol.. good calculation.. is not easy to own n maintain a wrx/evo... if so easy, who still drive lancer/sunny/altis ? lol...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/341058511.png

dats y. i computer hero
thanks 4 that info.gettin a opc 2.5l wrx.not intendin to do any mods.average km perday 30km.mostly weekend usage.

My usual advise, make sure you are not paying through your nose.

looking at it..im not spendin much on mthly fuel,rd tax,installment.just dont wanna get sian of drivin a wrx.which i think i wont la.my wife will kill me if i say im sian so..to maintain a wrx with no mods at all(factory stock)is it a gd buy or not?ok to maintain?

then wat for get a opc wrx... is a waste of money..

wont feel sianz is now u speak, lets say u drive 4-6 yrs down the road, u dare to say u wont feel sianz about it ?

if u wan wrx, get a normal plate

if u wan opc, get a cheap opc car.

dats y. i computer hero

FYI, my fren's fren was driving a OPC wrx, monthly installment around 600, sum more he stupid, everyday tear coupon go work, everyday $20 x 30 days, 1 month extra 600, plus petrol money, road tax, insurance, parking, 1 month over 2k.. he drive 5 months onli, buay ta han wan sell liao.. lose over 10k.. LOL.. i feel happy for him man.. 27 yrs old liao still duno how to use calculator n calculate..

dats y. i computer hero

Hmm.. irregardless of what car you drive, you will still get tired of it after awhile. For these type of high performance car, I actually derieved the pleasure from modding it and this helps to sustain my interest in the car.

Just think of this, you will never get sian of money growing in your bank if you stick to your current car. You will get even more sian if the money in your bank keeps depleting.

i get very sianz to see the money in my bank.. i feel like using it to invest in order to earn more !! haha..

but my principle is... if u need it, how ex also have to buy. but if u dun need it, u gif mi free i also feel extra..

dats y. i computer hero

i work monday to fri.start work 8am to 8pm.drive to werk then park there the whole day(work place parkin free).reach work 1hr early.so never late 4 work.so y would i need a normal plate?weekend off.opc also weekend.PERFECT 4 me.diff ppl diff needs.

just getting the shiok of a turbo charge car during weekdays.is it ok to maintane the wrx?i wont b tearing coupons on normal days 4 sure.even if im late,il take cab oni 6-7dollars.tats y i need ppl who drive it to tell me.gd or no gd?

i get very sianz to see the money in my bank.. i feel like using it to invest in order to earn more !! haha..

but my principle is... if u need it, how ex also have to buy. but if u dun need it, u gif mi free i also feel extra..

by the way,i think its u who is selling ur gen2 rite?how?sell already?

haha.ya i noe.sian rite.i regret buyin tat car.somemore mine 1.6.urs 1.3 rite?

that car ok wat.. i gt customer driving lancer n purposely wan buy gen 2 ley.. ya. apply loan now.. lol..

audi a6 sold

new stream sold

toyota picnic sold

lancer sports sold

gen 2 waiting for loan approval

ts waiting for confirmation

fit waiting for confirmation

chery QQ waiting for confirmation

civic 1.8M no1 wan view.. LOL...

altis on 3 times liao.. still haven sold..lol..

dats y. i computer hero
i work monday to fri.start work 8am to 8pm.drive to werk then park there the whole day(work place parkin free).reach work 1hr early.so never late 4 work.so y would i need a normal plate?weekend off.opc also weekend.PERFECT 4 me.diff ppl diff needs.

just getting the shiok of a turbo charge car during weekdays.is it ok to maintane the wrx?i wont b tearing coupons on normal days 4 sure.even if im late,il take cab oni 6-7dollars.tats y i need ppl who drive it to tell me.gd or no gd?

bro, u got the wrong idea man. im not comparing u with my fren. i juz say.. FOR YOUR INFO.. thats it.. haha.

dats y. i computer hero

whahaha.. better not.. u can get a better price to sell on ur own? haha..

if really cant sell then come to mi lor.. hahha

dats y. i computer hero

Good car with power and comfort. High Mantainence if u mod the car. Aftermarket parts all over Singapore.

1 thing for sure. VERY DIFFICULT TO KEEP THE CAR STOCK!!!

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020222028.jpghttp://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020120531.jpg

How's the FC like aft the car is Modded? :cheeky:

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h308/introspect7/JsRacingRear-1.jpg

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/899/mainlogoir1.jpg

FB 39 H - Traxxion Dynamic Fork Kit , Traxxion Titanium Preload Adjuster , Penske Rear Shock Absorber , M4 Full Titanium Full System , Pc 3 USB , Factory Pro Velocity Stacks , BMC Race Air Filter , Gilles Adjustable Rearset , Sprint Damper , Brembo Master Cylinder , Floating Pins , Swage Steel Braided Brake Lines , AFAM Rear Spocket 47" , DID 'O' Rings , Akrapovic Titanium Slip-On , Puig DB , Powerbronze Rear Hugger - End Of R1 05 Era ( 14/7/06 )

just buy a mini-van with turbo..

Then perhaps it is more economical for you to do long term rental (e.g. 1 yr). This way, you can change car every year with lower depreciation.

I'm not sure if you are talking about the base model (2.5L) or the STi version. For the base model, unless you intend to change the piston, else bring up the horsepower significantly reduce the life of your piston. To upgrade the horsepower, there are couple of other things that you've got to upgrade the other parts (e.g. intercooler, radiator, brake system, suspension - ard $15k) and this are the most basic to begin with.

Most Evo/ WRX owners I know spend between $30k to $50k on mods on the average.

Btw, below is some cost info:

Insurance : S$220 per month

Petrol : S$500 per month

Road Tax : $165 per month

6 oil changes per year at $150 per oil change : S$75 per month

Change gear oil, diff oil every 20k km at $350 per change: S$60 per month

Tyres (Estimating at $1,200 for 4 pcs) :S$100 per month.

Change DOT5.1 brake fluid twice a year : S$25 per month

Monthly installment : S$800 per month

Total Monthly Cost of Ownership : S$1,945 per month

Does not include any parking, ERP, mods, replacement of other wear and tear parts, nor accelerated wear and tear caused by track.

Hope it helps.

need to change oil 6x per yr? :faint:

is wrx 2l or 2.5l better? would it be a good option to go for opc..?

blah blah blah...

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i49/aeieio/boss.jpg

FYI, my fren's fren was driving a OPC wrx, monthly installment around 600, sum more he stupid, everyday tear coupon go work, everyday $20 x 30 days, 1 month extra 600, plus petrol money, road tax, insurance, parking, 1 month over 2k.. he drive 5 months onli, buay ta han wan sell liao.. lose over 10k.. LOL.. i feel happy for him man.. 27 yrs old liao still duno how to use calculator n calculate..

we need more cocks like him..

i love dividends.

wahhaha.. he is 1 big fat cb moron.. cum lam dua cb. no brain still like to hao lian... zzzzzzz

he come my shop, blow blow with his wrx... haiz.. i feel pity him.. he wasted more petrol money... so poor liao yet blow blow... no brain

dats y. i computer hero
need to change oil 6x per yr? :faint:

is wrx 2l or 2.5l better? would it be a good option to go for opc..?

Number of oil changes largely depends on driver's usage. For a track session, it is better to change the oil before and after. Else, it will be either 5,000km or once every 3 months, whichever comes first.

I'd say the 2L version is a safer bet. Also, one pay lesser road tax for it.

Unless it is your 2nd car and driving purely for fun, you will be better off with a normal plated Japanese car.

Good car with power and comfort. High Mantainence if u mod the car. Aftermarket parts all over Singapore.

1 thing for sure. VERY DIFFICULT TO KEEP THE CAR STOCK!!!

why is it difficult 2 keep it stock?will i be tempted 2 mod it izzit?..just went down down to the subaru show room..need to top up abt 7k,to get rid of my gen2 n own the blue beast.well well...i'll have to wait 4 another year then.will b stuck wif the mistake i have.haha.4 thoes who are thinking of getting a gen2!!DON"T.........not as gd as it seems.

ur fullsettlement too high rite.. the pro is not with the gen2.. the pro is u buy a new car.. when fullsettlement time.. headache.. thats the main pro.. compare to a used car.. thats why many ppl burn their backside liao, next time all buy 2nd hand car.. haha.

sum more u top up 7k is after the subaru's cash rebate top up? or onli 7k to top up ur gen2?

dats y. i computer hero