any pilot's here?

YFC? How much is it to learn? And what do you do there? Do you really fly an aeroplane?

Love is a beautiful pain, with sweet pleasures.

No bike? No fear, feed your cravings on bicycles. =)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v81/xiaoboy/Image3772_toobig.jpg

My bike have the most prominent rims. =p

Click here for the picture.

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10721;7/st/20080607/e/my+18th+Birthday%21+/dt/13/k/8b15/event.png

| Motorcycle Specs | Parking Idiots | Race Replica Graphics/Sticker Kits | Yamaha Star | Yamaha Sports | SG Road Accident Stats | Motorcycle Dictionary | Bikes' Engine Sound Zone|

• Replies 931

dont tink wanna waste my time wif u PM-ing. ive been here long enuff to realise u r someone who dont wanna lose when conversing, always having an "I'm Right, You Are Wrong" mentality.

since u mention u always keep flying, then u must be a PPS i hope, bring it up to the management. im sure they would be more than willing to hear from their very own PPS. oh wait, u might say u fly thousands different airlines week in week out.

Ya, most JC's and some polys have a YFC there, if you are lucky, you can go and chase the PPL. But if you cannot make it due to not making the tests and such or for medical reasons, the aeromodelling courses are a great way to get the basics of flying.

One bad news for you, you need to be in a tertiary institute, with at least 5 'o' level credits. So go work hard at your 'O' levels, and one more thing, you need to have eyesight with no more then 300 degrees per eye. But they will send you for a level 3 aeromedical examination to check you out there...

Cheers...

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg

weird thing is my degree is about 150 but i barely make thru 6/6 with aids. is there a prob wif my eye or have my degrees gone up?

i think with all the above points that u guys have mentioned... i think the career demands a lot of sacrifice and willpower. like which other civilian job requires you to go for training and rigorous medicals to check if you're in shape every 6 months!

danielburgess:

you seem pretty experienced. did u give SQ a shot?

I am The Great Cornholio!

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

sarcasm such as "oh wait, u might say u fly thousands different airlines week in week out." surely defines the approach you take in a discussion.

i'm always fine with differing opinions as long as the person can outline why his/her opinion is as such. you never did do that but instead choose to take my comments on commercial pilots with offence personally and going further by construing my words that as long as a pilot cannot speak well over the PA system, then he is no good.

Read the post again, i am saying that a commercial pilot's responsibility is not only in flying the plane. He needs to also carry the Brand Name of the company he works for in different ways and one of the the simplest and most direct way is thru speaking over the PA system. Other than that, the commercial pilot has little or no contact with his passengers. A commercial pilot's jobscope is different from an airforce pilot's although the basic thing is to fly the plane.

I have experienced some commercial pilots who bother to stand at the door to welcome the passengers before take off and even say goodbye and thank you when the plane has landed. That is a fine example of high service level and it is what makes the difference.

Why are you so offended to begin with?

We're talking about commercial pilots aren't we?

It seems like mostly, as long as it's a Singaporean at **** (why can't I type H-E-L-M? It's edited? HAHA!), service is very inadequate.

I realised what Throttle said about the mumbling. Well I don't fly much as he does, but I understand what he meant totally.

Let's take a very short flight I took to KL for work sometime back.

I remembered sitting on the big burly seats (oh yes I am big enough but the seats are really big. Comfortable, not really) and I heard someone mumbling something like this...

"Hi welcomeee azzz z zz to flight 123 this is sasoiasoais speaking. This flight will bzz beezzzz beeezz 1/2 hours blablabal... Have an enjoyable flight thank you.."

It makes you think what is he busy with in the c0ckpit. Well if he's busy, he should'nt be addressing the PA system. It does makes ur confidence go downhill on that flight.

One angmoh in biz suit was asking his partner beside himself " what in the world was he saying? "

That, sums a lot on a Singapore national carrier.

Maybe the chap in control has never had anyone to feedback to him. Maybe...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

Haha, no, I have never gone for SQ interviews yet, as I am a few years too young. Most of my passion for flight came from back home in England, and from growing up around pilot's, grandfather and such. Plus I have to thank the Youth Flying Club for giving me the opportunities I thought I would never have in Singapore.

Right now, my goal is to finish up my scholarship, and then try my luck with flying, haha, but sad to say, too many pilots in my family.

Anyway, anything just ask! I'll try my best to help. I too have tonnes of flying material, mostly F double A text books, and some manuals from piper and cessna, at least can learn the characteristics on the two most common light aircraft brands around, although these two companies are losing out to smaller and more nimble aircraft builders from Brazil and such.

Cheers guys.

P.S. Don't thrash it out too much guys, this is a thread for pilot's and wannabe pilots. Lets keep the peace...

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg

haha, talking nicely on PA system? Hmmm, I heard SQ ones before, honestly not as nice as the ones by British Airways pilots or PanAm. But I was surprised when I flew on Air Asia, their staff is so nice and well versed.

S.Q. pilot = "good evening hoh! This is Cap-TAN Lim Ah Hock and First off-e-SIR Tan Ah Kow, tank Ah you for Choosing SIA"--- I don't think it is that bad right?

I hate to shoot down a national carrier like SIA, but once I flew with them, and was sad to see the flight crew have this "serve the ang moh" first, as my then girl friend was asian, she got 2nd class treatment compared to me. Boy did it make me mad. She paid as much as I did, and so did the other passengers. But luckily I knew the a member of the cabin crew on that flight(the IFS, or in flight boss) he he, was upgraded to Raffles class... So never complain...

Normally the Captain and first officer are very busy prior to take off, pre flight checks, confirming IFR, contacting ground for clearance to taxi to the runway, getting push back from the gate, especially if the pilots are not sure of airport directions, taxi-ing can be really tricky, I heard a story of a pilot who made a wrong turn on the taxi way and ended up head to head with another airliner, only to get screwed by the ATC.

Plus in a crowded airport like Changi or LAX or Heathrow where planes take off and land every few seconds, it can be tense for both flight crews and ATCs.

That is why on some flights, Captains only come on the PA system really briefly before take off, but will come on again after climbing to the cruising altitude, and in most airlines, cabin crew are not allowed to disturb the flight crew prior and during take off, and like wise for landings! So it shows how focused they must be during these periods of time.

So don't worry too much about pilots who are really bad on the PA system, it just means they are doing their jobs flying the aircraft! Hospitality is the cabin crews job!!!

Cheers...

Can anyone add me up on msn to share with my about the knowledge you have in this pilot career? I need guidance of which route to take to be a pilot. I have the passion to be one, and I will work towards it.

About YFC and all. Is it very expensive for someone at average finance to attend?

Haha. The most recent flight I took was TigerAirways. The captain was a Caucasian. And he spoke very friendly. Haha. Seems like the TigerAirways have more better rapport than of the other Singapore Airlines eh? Lol.

Love is a beautiful pain, with sweet pleasures.

No bike? No fear, feed your cravings on bicycles. =)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v81/xiaoboy/Image3772_toobig.jpg

My bike have the most prominent rims. =p

Click here for the picture.

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10721;7/st/20080607/e/my+18th+Birthday%21+/dt/13/k/8b15/event.png

| Motorcycle Specs | Parking Idiots | Race Replica Graphics/Sticker Kits | Yamaha Star | Yamaha Sports | SG Road Accident Stats | Motorcycle Dictionary | Bikes' Engine Sound Zone|

No need to add, we can give you all the guidance, but still, you must have the right aptitude to be a pilot. I never understand what makes everyone think pilots are so glamourous? There is a saying,"Women want us, Men want to be like us".

Wait till you go into a tertiary education institute. Hopefully there is a YFC there for you, but remember it is not that easy to get in. You still need to pass all the theory and medical to get into the seat of a light aircraft...

Cheers...

Originally posted by danielburgess@Apr 17 2006, 01:31 AM

So don't worry too much about pilots who are really bad on the PA system, it just means they are doing their jobs flying the aircraft! Hospitality is the cabin crews job!!!

precisely. i donno y they r being brought down over some highly trivial issue. sigh.

anyway, hw old r u Daniel?

well YFC is not everywhere... its situated in Seletar Airport.. the only other civilian airport.. you can fly there if you want... go into any government schools and apply for it.. think you can go to its webby and find out more... i also dunno wat website is it.. search for youth flying clab lah.. AND THE BEST THING...... ITS FREE!!!

as for the captain who cant speak well... i dun really care they speak well anot... i dun think i can speak well over a PA system as well.. i say again... as long as they know their job... the rest is up to the Singapore girl!!! anyway, i will be too busy to notice that someone is talking over PA... :cheeky:

Happy Landings!!!!

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

Great way to put it Retro!

Cheers...

P.S. YFC, not really free, must buy the literature all yourself, but about $50...

Originally posted by retro@Apr 16 2006, 04:11 PM

it dosent matter... i ride to work... no problem... some of the management ppl are also riders... dun worry... but at the end of the day.. its ya choice... ride and take more risk or drive... drive if ya can afford...

retro> ru a pilot ?

so besides armed wiv theory of flight, aviation stuff n such... wat r other stuff r there to prepare?

i will be graduating in 2mths wiv a mech engg degree.. but read somewhr in this thread thr is a min age of 26.. (so i will fall short by 1yr... ).. but accrd to SQ webbie, i cldnt find such a prerequiste...

aniway, ydae papers said tt due to a shortage of pilots.. they r extending the retirement age of pilots to 65.. so i take tt as gd sign that they will be employin more cadet pilots?

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

CADET PILOT

(SINGAPORE CITIZENS, SINGAPORE PERMANENT RESIDENTS OR MALAYSIAN CITIZENS)

a) minimum 2 'A's and 2 'O's, including General Paper, in the GCE 'A' Level Examination (or its equivalent);or

b) minimum 2 Principal Passes (excluding the languages; Mathematics and Science subjects preferred) and 2 Subsidiary Passes in the STPM (or its equivalent); or

c) Polytechnic diploma; or

d) University degree

At least 1.65m in height. Medically fit with visual acuity of at least 6/60 without optical aids, correctable to 6/6. Preference will be given to candidates with higher qualifications and some years of working experience

Employment

Successful candidates will be offered employment with one of the companies in the SIA Group:

Singapore Airlines

SilkAir

SIA Cargo

Training

You will spend 15 to 17 months on training to acquire an Airline Transport Pilot's Licence (ATPL) with Instrument Rating (IR) at Pilot Training Schools in Singapore and overseas. Full board and lodging will be provided. Upon obtaining the flying licence, you will undergo further training of 1 to 2 years to become a First Officer.

Remuneration and Service Benefits

A monthly allowance will be provided during training.On appointment as a First Officer, you will be paid a basic salary and various allowances. Fringe benefits including medical and dental treatment and discounted travel will also be offered.

Bond

Successful candidates will be required to serve the employer company for the duration of the training and for a period of 5 to 7 years from the date of appointment as First Officer.

Application Details

If you meet our requirements and are interested to apply, please download this application form complete and e-mail it together with copies of your supporting documents to [email protected].

If submission is by hardcopy, please send to:

Manager Flight Operations (HR and Admin)

Flight Operations Division

Singapore Airlines

SIA Training Centre (STC-04C)

720 Upper Changi Road East

SINGAPORE 486852

Yeah, but must be 26, government rule or CAAS rule, not really sure. I was chasing PPL and not ATPL so not really sure about the subject, plus the pilots I know are from British Airways, and their system is alot different.

They always told me in the British Airways, they love to hire ex RAF pilots!

So previous flight experience is an added bonus...

definitely, if i had the extra experience, i wld try..

but sadly, i dont.

offtopic, saw ur DNA for sale on classifieds.. quite rare OTR... upgrading?.....(.... to plane?.)

Ya! Thinking of upgrading to the new Cessna 182 that just came out! Ha ha, kidding, class 2A is coming. Plus I am quite big size for that bike, but actually tempted to keep it, as I have an idea of a streetfighter DNA. If anyone can offer the price I want to sell at, otherwise I will keep her...

Cheers bro...

Originally posted by fooz@Apr 18 2006, 02:50 PM

retro> ru a pilot ?

so besides armed wiv theory of flight, aviation stuff n such... wat r other stuff r there to prepare?

i will be graduating in 2mths wiv a mech engg degree.. but read somewhr in this thread thr is a min age of 26.. (so i will fall short by 1yr... ).. but accrd to SQ webbie, i cldnt find such a prerequiste...

aniway, ydae papers said tt due to a shortage of pilots.. they r extending the retirement age of pilots to 65.. so i take tt as gd sign that they will be employin more cadet pilots?

most important thing is INTEREST!!!

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

fooz:

at first i thot it was pure hearsay too about mindef capping 26yrs for their reserve but it's true. do a search on Alpa-S website it's there.

i too agree the pilot shud speak more clearly and stuff... but then again... as daniel mentioned... he shud be focused and true enough he only comes on the PA before take off, at cruising altitude and after landing. or... if he does come on all of a sudden... means something bad is happening heh... "we're expecting some turbulence blablabla". :D

agreed the service part is delegated to the cabin crews :D

daniel... mind if u cud share wif me some of your materials?

I am The Great Cornholio!

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

Hmmm, I'll try to salvage what I can. But most F double A theory books are available at National Library, Kino and Borders have them too but they cost a bomb, I paid almost $70+++ for mine, but you can get some really cheap off Ebay! But got to warn you, they are really out of date for some....

Cheers..

Originally posted by fooz@Apr 18 2006, 02:50 PM

juz go and apply after u grad.