Toyota Altis.

• Replies 149

My Friend told me that taxi companies choose Altis because its less problematic and has good FC. Its a great car I should say. :smile: I will be collecting mine soon.. hehe..:lovestruck:

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c37/alphylau/bigone.jpg

My bikes

Hyosong 125

Dragstar 400

Superfour 400

Honda Foresight 250

My Cars

Renault Laguna 2.0

Ford Mondeo 2.0

Vauxhall Vectra 2.0

Toyota Altis 1.6

corolla is the best on fuel consumption. $10 of petrol goes a long way for me.

but then, the new altis is too lightweight...made in thailand somemore...my flen just total lost his 1 yr old altis..he din even had a scratch on his body, no airbags were open..but the car overturn.

he bought from me a honda jazz instead :D

http://alpha.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1115.jpg

why get a 1 when you can have a perfect 10 ?

Originally posted by DaXiGuA@Oct 23 2005, 02:10 PM

corolla is the best on fuel consumption. $10 of petrol goes a long way for me.

but then, the new altis is too lightweight...made in thailand somemore...my flen just total lost his 1 yr old altis..he din even had a scratch on his body, no airbags were open..but the car overturn.

he bought from me a honda jazz instead :D

how the car overturn?

Previous bikes

KRR150 ====> FX****L

TA150 ====> FS***E

GSXR400 ====> FK****X

RS125 ====> FT****Y

TA150 ====> FS****P

ZXR400 ====> FQ****L

Current bikes

Toyota is very good for FC and is very reliable. So far from my research, Nissan seems to be the worst fuel guzzler, followed by Mitsubishi. But at least Mitsu cars are not that ex. Honda tops the charts for fuel economy but the cars are more expensive.

Don't bother with American cars like Ford. They totally cannot make it. Here in NY State, you see 10+ year old Jap cars all the time, but seldom do you see an old Ford. Why? Cos all broke down and scrap liao!

Originally posted by shoei@Oct 24 2005, 07:56 AM

true, toyota cars have very good FC.

altis is made in Japan while vios is made in thai right?

vios thai.. altis dunno.

Previous bikes

KRR150 ====> FX****L

TA150 ====> FS***E

GSXR400 ====> FK****X

RS125 ====> FT****Y

TA150 ====> FS****P

ZXR400 ====> FQ****L

Current bikes

Originally posted by shoei@Oct 24 2005, 07:56 AM

true, toyota cars have very good FC.

altis is made in Japan while vios is made in thai right?

All toyota vios, altis, camery, wish is assembled in thailand, the body and accessories is all fabricate in thailand, I think engine is ship from Japan from it's OEM manufacturer.

However heard the new G10 corolla is going to be fully assemble in Japan. Maybe that time, it will be as good as the good old G8 and G9 collora. But price wise may not be good

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/av-122.jpg

Originally posted by moregas@Oct 24 2005, 09:04 AM

All toyota vios, altis, camery, wish is assembled in thailand, the body and accessories is all fabricate in thailand, I think engine is ship from Japan from it's OEM manufacturer.

However heard the new G10 corolla is going to be fully assemble in Japan. Maybe that time, it will be as good as the good old G8 and G9 collora. But price wish may not be good

is the g10 a 5 door(colt/jass like type) one?

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by shoei@Oct 24 2005, 09:07 AM

is the g10 a 5 door(colt/jass like type) one?

No, it the normal 4 door sedan in the same class as nissan sunndy, honda civic, mit lancer.

It's more like the older XLi and LX series U see on the road. But heard the GLi spec engine is better.

Anyway Corolla use 14" rim wherease the rest use 15" rim. probably that explain why the huge difference in fuel consumption.

Originally posted by shoei@Oct 24 2005, 09:13 AM

i have seen this 5 door toyota car.looks like a jazz

You referring to RAV4 or Wish?

Never knew any recent collora has 5 doors version?

Are u referrin to the Toyota Wish???

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0120-1.jpg http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/P1040229.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0128.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/Signature01.jpg

must be some imported cars. I think i saw it somewhere in the toyota forum.. very nice car indeed..

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c37/alphylau/bigone.jpg

My bikes

Hyosong 125

Dragstar 400

Superfour 400

Honda Foresight 250

My Cars

Renault Laguna 2.0

Ford Mondeo 2.0

Vauxhall Vectra 2.0

Toyota Altis 1.6

Originally posted by shoei@Oct 24 2005, 11:01 AM

i do know wish and rav.but its not.its a new car.just saw it yesterday

and two of it!

Don't tell me you saw the all new Toyota IST? Looks like Kancil or Picanto :cheeky:

Toyota secret weapon against Honda Jazz/Fit and Mazda 2.

Toyota IST

Originally posted by moregas@Oct 24 2005, 01:53 PM

Don't tell me you saw the all new Toyota IST? Looks like Kancil or Picanto :cheeky:

Toyota secret weapon against Honda Jazz/Fit and Mazda 2.

Toyota IST

Looks cute! saw a few on the rd!

Previous bikes

KRR150 ====> FX****L

TA150 ====> FS***E

GSXR400 ====> FK****X

RS125 ====> FT****Y

TA150 ====> FS****P

ZXR400 ====> FQ****L

Current bikes

Originally posted by moregas@Oct 24 2005, 09:04 AM

However heard the new G10 corolla is going to be fully assemble in Japan. Maybe that time, it will be as good as the good old G8 and G9 collora. But price wise may not be good

Hi, like to know where you got the news of the G10 corolla? Cant seems to find it on the net.

Hope you can shed some lights.

Thanks!!

Originally posted by shoei@Oct 27 2005, 03:35 PM

any one drive altis here

Been driving dad's altis. Dun like the suspension, too soft. Good for straight roads but when corner or 90 degree turn, it sux. Had a friend working in toyota warehouse mentioning that the altis supension is being replaced in large quantities every month due to leakage.

FC is as bad as other makes when driving around in jams and small roads which i always travels on.

But as compared to other models like sunny, civic and lancer, is the fuel tank of altis bigger? 55L.

The best thing i like about altis is the noise filtering is very good.

Is shifting to neutral gear in auto car helps to consume lesser petrol while stopping rather than just stepping on brakes? And will it damage the auto gearbox if doing it often? (sorry it might sound silly, but heard that gear box of auto car is more fragile? )

i have heard of shifting to nuetral for red lights.according to the agents, its better to leave it at the automatic gear and hold the brakes.it saves wear and tear on the clutch plates.

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

hmm.. i've been doing it all the while. learnt it from my fren.. i find it logical lar. cos when its in D gear, its in gear 1 and its always in biting point.. ok, u guys think about it. if its a manual car, when its in biting point, its consuming petrol right? but when in neutral gear, it does not..

also, u ask pple who drive manual cars, when approaching red lights, they would usually hit the gear to neutral.. when i ask them, they say its to save petrol..

and for auto, i find tt its the same theory behind..

anyway, been driving altis for 1 week.. find the suspension not bad.. as in when crossing humps and stuff.. i find it quite stable.. if u guys happen to go to lornie from bishan, u guys might find the work in progress road very "curvy" .. i drove altis pass it and i find the its very stable..

all in all, altis is a good car but the FC seems to be quite high compared to corolla..

http://http//img.photobucket.com/albums/v328/takeme2yaheart/Yvonnes3.jpg

Im Yvonne. hahas. =))