Toyota Altis.

• Replies 149

to improve on the control at curvy road, add a strud bar to your altis. the frame will become more rigid and less deform during corner...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by Ken@Nov 2 2005, 03:53 AM

Been driving dad's altis. Dun like the suspension, too soft. Good for straight roads but when corner or 90 degree turn, it sux. Had a friend working in toyota warehouse mentioning that the altis supension is being replaced in large quantities every month due to leakage.

FC is as bad as other makes when driving around in jams and small roads which i always travels on.

But as compared to other models like sunny, civic and lancer, is the fuel tank of altis bigger? 55L.

The best thing i like about altis is the noise filtering is very good.

Is shifting to neutral gear in auto car helps to consume lesser petrol while stopping rather than just stepping on brakes? And will it damage the auto gearbox if doing it often? (sorry it might sound silly, but heard that gear box of auto car is more fragile? )

Maybe you got a lemon from Boneo Motor. I have few friends all driving altis, FC is not bad leh. they are getting 13-14/l. For 1.8 Altis there are people geting 18-19 at the malaysia highways. Unless you change to sport rims 16" or 17" then your fc and pick up with be affected. And if you are always in jams I am sure all cars in that kind of suitation will be getting higher FC . Even stuck in a 1.5 hour jams and lost about 30km worth of petrol.

:sweat::giddy: :giddy:

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c37/alphylau/bigone.jpg

My bikes

Hyosong 125

Dragstar 400

Superfour 400

Honda Foresight 250

My Cars

Renault Laguna 2.0

Ford Mondeo 2.0

Vauxhall Vectra 2.0

Toyota Altis 1.6

anyone know where to get the ORIGINAL mudflaps?

in malaysia is a standard fit on al ltheir models of Altis. my dad wan to get one.

Originally posted by Smiter@Nov 9 2005, 04:05 PM

Maybe you got a lemon from Boneo Motor. I have few friends all driving altis, FC is not bad leh. they are getting 13-14/l. For 1.8 Altis there are people geting 18-19 at the malaysia highways. Unless you change to sport rims 16" or 17" then your fc and pick up with be affected. And if you are always in jams I am sure all cars in that kind of suitation will be getting higher FC . Even stuck in a 1.5 hour jams and lost about 30km worth of petrol.

:sweat::giddy: :giddy:

Aiyoh, dun scare me lah.

It's the road which i travelled on lah.

Always small road with lights and jams.

Can't be helped.

But shoei if you intend to get altis, i suggust u wait for the newer corolla and the new civic before committing.

Sure you ain't in a hurry man.

How's the catalyst? Good?

Originally posted by Ken@Nov 10 2005, 03:20 AM

Aiyoh, dun scare me lah.

Can't be helped.

But shoei if you intend to get altis, i suggust u wait for the newer corolla and the new civic before committing.

personally i think if u need it.. u buy it...

wait?? how long can u wait? every year new model come out....

wait until u ah pek then u buy car? :cheeky:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/images/logoforum.jpg

<SomE IDiOTs Who wiLL raCe a 1300cc BIke wHEN hE's RidIng a 150cc BiKe>

Originally posted by Ken@Nov 10 2005, 03:20 AM

Aiyoh, dun scare me lah.

Can't be helped.

ohh ya its ok

when new things come out, its always the first batch and there are bound to be problems

i want something reliable and stable for 10yrs

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by StingRhea@Nov 9 2005, 08:31 PM

anyone know where to get the ORIGINAL mudflaps?

in malaysia is a standard fit on al ltheir models of Altis. my dad wan to get one.

:bounce: anyone? :confused:

My sister drives an Altise. She bought it in October when COE prices were low. It's Champaign Gold and I think it's those S$60k with wood trimmings and body skirt. Her complain is that compared to my mum's Corolla (last year's model, SFB plate), the Altise feels like a tin can. I tried it myself and I agree to a certain extend that last year's Corolla was better, especially with pick up speed.

Originally posted by Throttle@Jan 8 2006, 12:30 PM

as uncle as ever, toyota corolla is one of the most boring cars. my Dad owns one.

So you are saying that the Corolla is the Phantom 150 / 200 equivalent of the car? Was pondering over this remark during dinner, I think so too from one of the typical driver of those cars I see too often.............

a car boring or not, it depends on how the drives...

imagine owning a Evo/STI, but driver dont "utilise" the car well, its boring also right?

2002 - 2003 : Gilera Runner VXR

2004 - 2005 : Honda Super4

2006 - 2008 : Honda WaveS

2010 - Current : Ducati Monster 696

I'm talking about the looks and the technicalities of the car being boring.

How a driver utilises his car and how boring the driver is, is none of my concern.

Hope that is comprehensive enough for you.

Originally posted by IreneVXR@Jan 8 2006, 11:20 PM

a car boring or not, it depends on how the drives...

imagine owning a Evo/STI, but driver dont "utilise" the car well, its boring also right?

i dont quite understand what you mean by ".....how the drives"

if the driver doesnt utilise his car, it is not the car that is boring but the driver.

A Carerra will never be boring to me, no matter how it is driven.

Even if it is sitting in the garage, it wont be boring.

Do I have a Carrera? No.

Unfortunately, after buying a brand new Volvo in 2004, I am not so willing to sell my Volvo to take a $40k loss.

I do hope to sell it next year if possible for an old Mercy SL or an old Carrera 911

Originally posted by Throttle@Jan 9 2006, 03:08 PM

Do I have a Carrera? No.

Unfortunately, after buying a brand new Volvo in 2004, I am not so willing to sell my Volvo to take a $40k loss.

I do hope to sell it next year if possible for an old Mercy SL or an old Carrera 911

coolz

http://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_kanan.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_katagiri.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_ringo.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_yuukisan.gif

Originally posted by Throttle@Jan 9 2006, 03:08 PM

Do I have a Carrera? No.

OH REALLY??!!

2002 - 2003 : Gilera Runner VXR

2004 - 2005 : Honda Super4

2006 - 2008 : Honda WaveS

2010 - Current : Ducati Monster 696

yeah but i have to put everything on hold currently as i may be relocated out of singapore. once i confirm that my work location will remain in Singapore for the next 3 yrs at least, then i will be looking out to change cars when my Volvo turns 3 yrs old and fully paid by July 2007.

have always wanted the old R129 SL280 or the old Carrera 911 C2 because they are classics which will never go out.

Hmm, you seem to doubt my words? As a fellow forumer has mentioned, i may be brash, loud and sometimes seem harsh but one thing is for sure, i speak with honesty and the truth.