Which model do you like most?  

119 members have voted

1. 1. Which model do you like most?

• Honda CB600F Hornet
    • Yamaha Fazer 600

Hi, for those who are interested in the Suzuki GSR600, I have worked out some details here for comparisons and justified the reasons why I never consider and compare with the hornet and fazer in the first place. These are the followings:

1. small fuel tank - only 16.5L inclusive reserve (hornet 19L & fazer 19.4L)

2. high fuel consumption - about 15km/l, almost like a hybrid car (hornet 17km/l & fazer 20km/l) 16-18L per litre

3. heavy weight - 183kg (hornet 173kg fazer 180kg)

4. not much power - about 88bhp (hornet 100bhp & fazer 90bhp) 98bhp5. a bit pricey as compared to the other two. It is the cheapest! It is 2k cheaper than non ABS hornet . That was the why I'm still undecided.You may see otherwise, but imho, in terms of practicality and value for money, I strongly support either the hornet or fazer in the class of 600cc.

Specifications:-

Suzuki GSR 600 (2006):

Price - $15k+ machine (w/o abs) 15.8k OTR price was lowest bought in 2006. YES OTR not machine price

Engine type - 4-stroke, 4-cylinder, DOHC, 16-valve, liquid-cooled

Fuel system - Injection

Transmission - 6-speed

Front Suspension - Telescopic, 43mm inner tube, preload adjustable

Rear Suspension - Progressive linkage, adjustable rebound/preload

Front Brake Type - 4-piston calipers, 310mm dual discs

Rear Brake Type - Single-piston caliper, disc

Fuel Tank Capacity - 16.5 litres (inclusive reserve)

Seat Height - 785mm

Dry Weight - 183kg

Fuel consumption - about 15km/l

Colour - Black, Blue, Red and Silver

Verdict - It’s a perfectly acceptable ride, but to be honest the Suzuki GSR600 adds almost nothing to the biking world especially when Suzuki’s own Bandit 600 (and 650 version) does exactly the same job for less money than the Suzuki GSR600. . There is no comparison between Bandit and the GSR. The GSR 600 was born out from a concept bike the BKing then, It has an innovative appearance. Front indicators are moulded into the fuel tank. Twin LED tail lights are styled to look like e extra silencers. The headlight is gigantic. Moulded covers blend the tank seamlessly into the twin spar aluminium alloy frame. Saw 06 Bandit 650, it is oil cool and some of the things are copied from GSR

Sorry dude, some of the main facts stated are not correct. I have a few buddies riding GSR 600... Pls see highlighted in green

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

• Replies 147

Sorry dude, some of the main facts stated are not correct. I have a few buddies riding GSR 600... Pls see highlighted in green

no worries dude, thanks for the feedback too :thumb: . I actually took most of the specs from

Motorcyclenews[/b][/color]> and Motoring>

They have quite a decent comments from experts and owners themselves.

according to the feedback from the thread Suzuki 2006 GSR600>, the average consumption was between the range of 15-17km/l, and as for the power - I found most sites to be about 88-90bhp @ 12,000 rpm although some claimed 98bhp. I also found the GSR600 very attractive such as LCD digital speedometer, along with LCD digital gear position indicator, and front signal indicators moulded into the fuel tank, twin LED tail lights are styled to look like extra silencers and headlight is gigantic etc. In fact this bike was my initial consideration too. Anyway thanks for the feedback swoosh and I'll edit my earlier post to correct some facts.

forgot to add, FC on the fazer 07 is 19.5-21km/L on singapore roads, have not taken her up north yet..

dude, thanks for that feedback, I've edited the fazer portion on consumption.

btw, out of curiosity, what's the difference between fazer s2 and fz6 etc, isnt all same naked version? or is s2 with fairing? and is the fazer using inverted fork? confuse... :giddy:

fz6 s2 is is 07 - with abs - fairing one got naked one also got

if u see ppl say fz6 only den it's b4 07-no abs - fairing only

inverted folks comes stock ony for fz1. . same thing about the S2 n no s2 . .

correction don't mind ar, FZ6s2 nake bo fairing, FZ6s2 Fazer with fairing, ABS additional cost, both bike are the same only u want fairing or no fairing

fz6 s2 is is 07 - with abs - fairing one got naked one also got

if u see ppl say fz6 only den it's b4 07-no abs - fairing only

inverted folks comes stock ony for fz1. . same thing about the S2 n no s2 . .

thanks for the info. So FZ6 S2 are 07 and above with or without fairing and ABS. kk understand liao. but my greatest takeaway is knowing fazer 600 with inverted fork, that makes me more inclined towards hornet again, as hornet uses 41mm Showa inverted fork that gives plenty of feedback from the front despite its lack of adjustable damping :cheeky:

I also found from an Italian website that the new hornet 600 '07 model fuel consumption is about 19.6km/l, that is really a ggod news, but dunno reliable bo. So still muz wait for some concrete feedback from pple here...

correction don't mind ar, FZ6s2 nake bo fairing, FZ6s2 Fazer with fairing, ABS additional cost, both bike are the same only u want fairing or no fairing

ey bro, so your long anticipated FZ6 S2 is fairing w/o abs 1 rite? when u collecting huh?

i got my this afternoon, no without ABS, 2K for that la, but today i tested the brake, is very good cos someone don't know y just CHON infront of me

wah song bo :thumb: u must be damn excited about it man! aiya maybe the young chap wanted test how fast can your new fazer run... I dun even bother these pple, so annoying :angry: worst is sometimes these are the 2b bikes.

no la, is some one dash over the road right infront of my bike and i have to E-brake, stop right infront of her,

luck never hit her, only ride last than 2Km man

few thing for sure

it really HOT, u dont need a jacket

is much heigther than the S4

storage is small, one rain pant only

very smooth better pick up

and i go have my alarm install, in the end i re-install it myself

good good:thumb: hope to hear more feedbacks and reviews from you after your run-in. upzzz

no problem Bro, will up-date you guy again

i also bought my FZ6s2 from bike production...i got it for 14k otr..26yrs old..best offer i could find ..trade in also gd value..Do check the shop out:angel:

BP quoted me the new FZ6 machine price this morning $12K ($11.5K with no fairing). OTR adds up to also $14K. looks like my insurance isn't much cheaper even at 38 years old o_O

btw, any other class 2 with lower seat height than the FZ6? have seen all 3 models in this thread but only FZ6 got wind blast protection leh :cheeky:

may all be well and happy

BP quoted me the new FZ6 machine price this morning $12K ($11.5K with no fairing). OTR adds up to also $14K. looks like my insurance isn't much cheaper even at 38 years old o_O

btw, any other class 2 with lower seat height than the FZ6? have seen all 3 models in this thread but only FZ6 got wind blast protection leh :cheeky:

BP always fix the price at around 14k for the fairing one lo, even if u got discount for your insur money oso go in their bank only, u have to top up if the COE is more than COE now, anyway i'm still older than u ,si-bay-lao hor

11.5k?? that's cheap. I was quoted about $13.8k otr and I'm 27. Actually it depends on your budget and requirements. If u are interested in the 600cc class, I would recommend the fazer cos it offers wind blast protection in the fairing version; or hornet with fly screen are also possible, I have attached 2 files of hornet accessories.

If u are looking for more touring, I suggest u get Honda VFR800 (about $18k+) if u do not have budget constrains. This is a all-round-performance bike, suitable for both urban rides and NSH, it is one of the most voted bike as it handles superbly well.

to pay less, u can save up and pay 1 lump sum instead of monthly instalments, or u can use your credit card to make use of the 0% interest-free promotion (I mention in this thread) up to 36 months. look around slowly if you're not urgent, we are always here to give our 2 cents worth of opinions. cheers.

Hornet 2007 aftermarkets2.jpg

Hornet 2007 aftermarkets1.JPG

11.5k?? that's cheap. I was quoted about $13.8k otr and I'm 27.

to pay less, u can save up and pay 1 lump sum instead of monthly instalments, or u can use your credit card to make use of the 0% interest-free promotion (I mention in this thread) up to 36 months.

hehe... $11.5k is only machine price, how i wish its OTR :D

motortiam don't charge extra if we use credit card meh? that's a very good idea, if they don't add the extra 2% for using credit cards.

everyone got their BILL to pay, do up yr sum, within yr mean is ok la

for a 600 is cheaper than a Spec3, EFI, very comfortable riding posture, nice handling, good enough for touring, and look WOW.

all the above are abt Fazer , as for Hornet, have to wait for eugeneg KEKE

wow!!! 14k for a Fazer600 is indeed cheap. Are there any conditions attached?

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

wow!!! 14k for a Fazer600 is indeed cheap. Are there any conditions attached?

base on latest COE Fazer6s2 is 14k, include 2nd party fire and theft insurance, exclude IU ($165) to top up if COE go up, down pay 2.5 to 3K,

suka suka go up suka suka go down, loan for every year 100buck (3year 300buck contract fee) 4% ints, if u are 30year old and below few hundred buck more for insurance oso how long u got yr class2

hehe... $11.5k is only machine price, how i wish its OTR :D

motortiam don't charge extra if we use credit card meh? that's a very good idea, if they don't add the extra 2% for using credit cards.

although $11.5k is machine price, but still very cheap leh, dunno how come price suddenly drop so much, '08 coming?? maybe....

as for your question on credit card, according to the shop Wing Yap, they do not charge any extra 2% for this service, apparently it was a joint promotion between them and the DBS bank. we dun care la, so long got interest-free advantage to take, I'll go for it.

Here is an example for illustration:

1. suppose u buy a bike $14k everything otr (exclusive loan)

2. say u down payment 5k cash and remaining 9k outstanding

3. this is the part to use your DBS credit card, say u have 9k credit limit, u use it to loan $9k with DBS over 36 months (max), which breaks down to about $250 per month (0% at all).

4. Internally, DBS will pay the bikeshop full and now u become a borrower from DBS bank. so just pay $250 per month to DBS and u got nothing to do with the bikeshop liao except servicing etc. easy.

I also find it hard to believe initially, and I called up to verify. true enough its true and we just have to see how much the bikeshop charge and most importantly is how much credit limits you have. :goodluck:

I also find it hard to believe initially, and I called up to verify. true enough its true and we just have to see how much the bikeshop charge and most importantly is how much credit limits we have. :goodluck:

wow u si-bay-lee-hai, very detail advise, upz for eugeneg

to pay less, u can save up and pay 1 lump sum instead of monthly instalments, or u can use your credit card to make use of the 0% interest-free promotion (I mention in this thread) up to 36 months. look around slowly if you're not urgent, we are always here to give our 2 cents worth of opinions. cheers.

other than wingyap, is there any other shops that have this plan also?

~ You may be faster than the wind, but never time ~

thanks for the info. So FZ6 S2 are 07 and above with or without fairing and ABS. kk understand liao. but my greatest takeaway is knowing fazer 600 with inverted fork, that makes me more inclined towards hornet again, as hornet uses 41mm Showa inverted fork that gives plenty of feedback from the front despite its lack of adjustable damping :cheeky:

I also found from an Italian website that the new hornet 600 '07 model fuel consumption is about 19.6km/l, that is really a ggod news, but dunno reliable bo. So still muz wait for some concrete feedback from pple here...

FZ is streetfighter version, no fairing. FAZER is with head fairing. S2 model has new swingarm, black painted normal forks(non S2 models same fork but silver color), new front brake calipers, updated fairing shape, 2 additional catalytic converters under the oil sump, supposedly new fuel mapping, O² sensor installed after the above mentioned cat converters(S2 model uses closed loop efi system), new seat, removable passenger pegs(non S2 model has welded on ones), coolant reservoir relocated to behind exhaust header and different colors; stickers.

to my knowledge, hong leong did not import abs models for the S2 because of it's lack in popularity. don't know if can special order or not but personally speaking, i feel that it's just dead weight.

hope this clarifies your doubts. pls note that the forks are NOT inverted for all models. only the 1000 version has them

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

for a 600 is cheaper than a Spec3, EFI, very comfortable riding posture, nice handling, good enough for touring, and look WOW.

ya lor... tot paying for new Fazer 6 is more worth than paying for a new Super4. but Fazer resale value drop machiam durian drop, very much faster than Super4 leh. coz community of bikers looking for Fazer 6 is very much less than Super 4.

that's for sure, most bike shop will take in s4 cos is easyier to re-sale, but s4 and Fazer are to diff type of bike, fazer are better for touring

s4 is a very good for everyday riding, it have a big compartment for your thick rain cloth and some other thing oso no problem, v-tec for the extar power, good re-sale valve, very low maintaince

WOW S4 so good ar..... but what the hell, just love the Fazer