• Replies 100

hi yellowbie,

any idea how much is the big windshield? and do they have glass headlights? the plastic headlight on my joyride is starting to blur.

Bike Production quote me about $170 for the windshield, but I'm not so sure about it. Will send an email to Taiwan later, but do give a few days for the reply, if any. :lol: Hmm... will ask the glass headlight for you too. Why dun you have it replaced ? Izzit very expensive ?

$170!!! tat is chop chop man, i ask motorworld for diversion windshield, only $110, and i hvnt bargain yet. Ban Hong think they r sellg BMW scooter arh? :mad: But maybe tats their tactic, sell bike cheap cheap, then accessories and maintenance expensive to reclaim their profit.

notice my signature picture, its a yamaha versity 300cc scoot, actually i really wish such a scoot is brought in by agent, quite practical ride for its design.

$170!!! tat is chop chop man, i ask motorworld for diversion windshield, only $110, and i hvnt bargain yet. Ban Hong think they r sellg BMW scooter arh? :mad: But maybe tats their tactic, sell bike cheap cheap, then accessories and maintenance expensive to reclaim their profit.

notice my signature picture, its a yamaha versity 300cc scoot, actually i really wish such a scoot is brought in by agent, quite practical ride for its design.

Maybe what you say is true, thats why I dun go back if possible. Hehe. Oh cougar, did u managed to fins any other after-market windshield suitable for our scoot ?

Never seen a versity before.. hehe. But will love to see it one day :smile:

Will send an email to Taiwan later, but do give a few days for the reply, if any

Hi Yellobie, I must have mistaken what Jleo mentioned but would you be able to post pic of the bike with the larger windshield. Would you be able to ask Sym taiwan if they have English version of service manual?

Eventually I hope to do servicing and minor repair of the scooter on my own. Maybe we can all meet up and do it together and learn from each other some day.

Will send an email to Taiwan later, but do give a few days for the reply, if any

Hi Yellobie, I must have mistaken what Jleo mentioned but would you be able to post pic of the bike with the larger windshield. Would you be able to ask Sym taiwan if they have English version of service manual?

Eventually I hope to do servicing and minor repair of the scooter on my own. Maybe we can all meet up and do it together and learn from each other some day.

Halo :smile: I have send an email to Taiwan yesterday, and hope they will reply me soon. I am also getting the pic from them, as I cant find any on the web.. hehe. As for the service manual, will u mind waiting while i ask them when they reply ? :)

Oh ya, there's a gathering this Thursday day for all the scooter riders. Most probably I will be going too. If you're free that nite, do come down for a chat. Hehe :p

hello I am new here, converting my license from M'sian to Singapore license. Kena down grade lah, from 250cc to 200cc.

At first I thought of getting a Phantom TA200, until I saw a scooter, now my heart is set on a scooter.

I am looking at the Piaggio X9, Yamaha Majesty YP125, Suzuki Burgham 200 and now the Sym Joyride 200.

The other models all very ex. Very interested in the Sym Joyride 200.

From your comments i gather all the SYM riders are satisfied with the scooter.

Where is a good place for me to buy the bike? How much should I expect to pay for it?

hello Where is a good place for me to buy the bike? How much should I expect to pay for it?

Hi PhAnToM76, I bought it at $5500 and took loan for 2yrs at 4% with Ban Hon at AMK. The price include at IU, bike cover, 1 helmet and large box. FYI Ban Hon Bros owns Bike Production. Do not expect high level of customer service but they have provided me with most of the things that I have asked for.

hey Yellobie is gathering for scooter riders confirmed?

Hi Sonic since you have owned a Sym the longest any comment about belt change. How many times have you changed it so far? Did you do it yourself? appreciate your sharing

Hi PhAnToM76, I bought it at $5500 and took loan for 2yrs at 4% with Ban Hon at AMK. The price include at IU, bike cover, 1 helmet and large box. FYI Ban Hon Bros owns Bike Production. Do not expect high level of customer service but they have provided me with most of the things that I have asked for.

hey Yellobie is gathering for scooter riders confirmed?

Hi Sonic since you have owned a Sym the longest any comment about belt change. How many times have you changed it so far? Did you do it yourself? appreciate your sharing

Hi hi :smile: I just finish replying to Sym Taiwan for an hour. :sweat: With all our enquires, end up Taiwan ask me for my proof of ownership, how much i paid for the bike, where i bought it, and how i know Joyride. So I just replay and bombard them with more stuffs. Hehe. Also complain a bit of their authorised service centre here. Keke. Hope their next reply will be more informative.

As for the gathering, it isnt confirmed yet leh.. Hehe. Dunno what happen. But dun worry, we will sure have a chance to meet each other. Haha :lol:

thank you all for the reply, from what i gather the Joyride is a good bike, best seller in HK. And al of your are satisfies with the scooter.

How expensive is the maintenance of the scooter? How often do you service the bike? and How much does each service cost? Approximately how much do you spend in a year on servicing?

thank you all for the reply, from what i gather the Joyride is a good bike, best seller in HK. And al of your are satisfies with the scooter.

How expensive is the maintenance of the scooter? How often do you service the bike? and How much does each service cost? Approximately how much do you spend in a year on servicing?

Err, just got my Joyride for a month only, so cant really comment on the long term maintenance. But in the bike manual, it is stated that engine oil (0.8l) be changed every 3000km and transmission oil(0.1l) every 5000km. Belt replacement and coolant changed every 12000km. The oil filter just need to be air clean every now and then. No replacement is needed.

As for the cost, I cant advise u much as I have not change belt before. But for the norm things like oil and coolant, it depends on what type u use. Hope this helps :smile:

, it is stated that engine oil (0.8l) be changed every 3000km and transmission oil(0.1l) every 5000km. Belt replacement and coolant changed every 12000km. The oil filter just need to be air clean every now and then. No replacement is needed.

wat is transmission oil??? wat kinda bikes need transmission oil? issit 2T? i thot 2T bikes no engine oil, cos the 2T is already the eninge oil.

4T bikes uses engine oil only. :confused:

wat is transmission oil??? wat kinda bikes need transmission oil? issit 2T? i thot 2T bikes no engine oil, cos the 2T is already the eninge oil.

4T bikes uses engine oil only. :confused:

I dun realli know what is transmission oil too, but this is what i found out from a website...

"Transmission oil is used to bathe the clutch , transmission bearings and other parts and keep the wear down to a minimum"

And transmission oil isnt 2T oil.

As far as I know, most automatic scooters doesn't need transmission oil, but Joyride needs it. It needs only 100ml though.

Can someone who know what is transmission oil care to give some explanation ? Thankz :smile:

Just went to bike production today, they quoted me S$5350.00 OTR (reg, tax, gst, 2nd party insurance, road tax) for the SYM JOYRIDE 200.

Add:-

$150 for IU

$180 for back box and bracket

$30 for helmet

Your comments please?

If all goes well, I will be getting the bike by end of the month from them.

TQ.

Just went to bike production today, they quoted me S$5350.00 OTR (reg, tax, gst, 2nd party insurance, road tax) for the SYM JOYRIDE 200.

$150 for IU

$30 for helmet

Your comments please?

TQ.

Can add me as named rider? :D

$150 for IU

$30 for helmet

Your comments please?

TQ.

That's the price I got too, but think kingfisher got a better price from Ban Hong. Maybe u wanta get his help ? By the way, the price Ah swee quote is for age 26 and above. If you're below 26, gotta top up $200+ for insurance. Oh ya, if you're not in hurry, I heard from Ban Hong that their 2003 model is coming. Maroon in color. Chio chio. U can take a look of it here:

http://www.ibike.com.hk/01_bike_report/local/sym/03joyride200/banner_01.jpg

But u may need to confirm it with Ban Hong if you're getting this, coz i onli "hear hear" from them.[/url]

$150 for IU

$30 for helmet

Your comments please?

TQ.

Hi PhAnToM76,

I can try calling them and see if they are prepared to make same offer to you. I just competed my 1st service at Ban Hon today - change engine and transmission (gear) oil. The next change I will be doing it myself.

Yellobie - thanks for contacting Taiwan sym on our behalf - hope you were successful in getting reply from them.

Hi PhAnToM76,

I can try calling them and see if they are prepared to make same offer to you. I just competed my 1st service at Ban Hon today - change engine and transmission (gear) oil. The next change I will be doing it myself.

Yellobie - thanks for contacting Taiwan sym on our behalf - hope you were successful in getting reply from them.

Please dun say that. I'm also doing myself a favor :smile:

Hi PhAnToM76,

Should be able to get same price and stuff. If you like - can post me your contact number and will meet you at Ban Hon so you can see what I have got for the price.

That's the price I got too, but think kingfisher got a better price from Ban Hong. Maybe u wanta get his help ? By the way, the price Ah swee quote is for age 26 and above. If you're below 26, gotta top up $200+ for insurance. Oh ya, if you're not in hurry, I heard from Ban Hong that their 2003 model is coming. Maroon in color. Chio chio. U can take a look of it here:

But u may need to confirm it with Ban Hong if you're getting this, coz i onli "hear hear" from them

I am 27 so the extra 200 should not apply right. 2003 model??? what is the difference? from what I can see it is only cosmetic changes. But I dont mind waiting. I still have yet to take my BTT to convert my license. I plan to register for my BTT this Saturday, and take the test next week. So license should be ready in about a months time.

Will the new model cost more? If no, I dont mind waiting for the new model.

Hi PhAnToM76,

Should be able to get same price and stuff. If you like - can post me your contact number and will meet you at Ban Hon so you can see what I have got for the price.

Thank youf or the offer, I will definitely take up the offer, anything to save money.

BTW, where is Ban Hon, I am coming from Jurong.

I hope the bike can come with IU, 2-Helmets, Back Box + bracket, and bike cover.

BTW,

1). Do you all cover your scooters, is it necessary to cover the scooters?

2). Can I get back boxes that match the color of the scooter, I want to get the blue model?

3). How do you all lock-up the scooter, i.e. disk brake locks?

Hi PhAnToM76,

how do i post you my contact?

sorry for replying so late.

i changed my belt at 10000km. it still look very new and there's no sign of wear on it. personally i feel that it's a waste of money. i'll do the next change at 30000km and see how it goes.

my joyride is going to hit 20000km soon. so far all the maint i've done includes:

- regular 4t change $12 - $15

- spark plug change (twice) $3

- belt change at 10000km roughly $50 (can't remember)

- flush radiator at 15000km $??

- transmission oil change at 10000km $??

- spray exhaust pipe every few months

- regular cleaning of oil filter

that's all pretty standard. done all the servicing at ban hon (except spary exhaust pipe). sorry i can't remember some of the prices usually i send my wife to the bike shop to do servicing. she's able to get better rates :)

as for the transmission oil or gear oil that u mentioned. it's located at the rear wheel hub area. think all auto scoots have it. my previous scoot piaggio skipper125 and other current scoot typhoon125 have it too.

really glad that so many joyride owners in spore. was a bit worried when i first bought the bike that it have difficulty finding spares. now that there's so much interest think it not a problem anymore

SYM Aficianado Singapore

https://www.facebook.com/groups/symas

I am 27 so the extra 200 should not apply right. 2003 model??? what is the difference? from what I can see it is only cosmetic changes. But I dont mind waiting. I still have yet to take my BTT to convert my license. I plan to register for my BTT this Saturday, and take the test next week. So license should be ready in about a months time.

Will the new model cost more? If no, I dont mind waiting for the new model.

Ya. Onli cosmetic purpose... hehe. Anyway, if you're interest u gotta find out more from Ban Hong. price wise shouldn't have diff, unless they all out to "chop" lah. Hehe