Coolant Comparisan  

353 members have voted

1. 1. Coolant Comparisan

• Replies 814

How do you guys drain out the coolant?

Is it as simple as just unplugging the hose from the left-bottom side of the bike and wait for the coolant to drain? Need to dismantle water pump?

How much coolant is needed if I drain everything out and want to put new coolant in?

“Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that's what gets you.†- Jeremy Clarkson

http://images54.fotki.com/v104/photos/3/1279813/10237619/IMG_0625-vi.jpg[

Need to have your coolant system check. Is your reserve tank coolant boiling or dried? Didd your radiator extractor fan cuts "on" befor the red temp lites came on?

i have this problem, bike's hot but the radiator fan doesn't switch on. i can hear the reserve tank coolant boiling and on one occasion the engine even switched off. could it be the fan not working? and what else should i checked on.

Not necessary..could be be bad thermostat or no thermostat inside and oso the fan switch. You have to ground the fan switch to test the fan status. defiitely something or things are nt working. Have to rectify the problem b4 engine block starts to crack. Need any help, just pm me.:sian:

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Guys, I just got my radiator repaired after a stone I think the size of a large marble hit my radiator. Burst one tubing and called up Boon Siew to check on the price of 1 radiator. S$600+ for a brand new radiator.

I didn't put up meshing initially and have to spend more $$$ to get my radiator repaired. Here's to all, put up radiator meshings for your ride and prevent mishaps...

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

" have this problem, bike's hot but the radiator fan doesn't switch on. i can hear the reserve tank coolant boiling and on one occasion the engine even switched off. could it be the fan not working? and what else should i checked on....

thanks apek. i've changed the fan and now it seems better. will monitor for a week. hopefully it's resolved..."

Hope you changed the fan radiator switch too. Its the thing that triggers the fan supply voltage when it senses the right temperature.

Edited by Ah Pek

How do you guys drain out the coolant?

Is it as simple as just unplugging the hose from the left-bottom side of the bike and wait for the coolant to drain? Need to dismantle water pump?

How much coolant is needed if I drain everything out and want to put new coolant in?

No need to dismantle pump. Draining is easy, there is process though. 1.8 to 2 litres.

Put new coolant in must take out tank right? Any other way to do it?

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

Hope you changed the fan radiator switch too. Its the thing that triggers the fan supply voltage when it senses the right temperature.

thanks apek for the advice. but i didn change the switch. need to check boon siew on the price. but now the coolant is dripping from the radiator when i stop. what should i check on top of the switch?

Guys, I just got my radiator repaired after a stone I think the size of a large marble hit my radiator. Burst one tubing and called up Boon Siew to check on the price of 1 radiator. S$600+ for a brand new radiator.

I didn't put up meshing initially and have to spend more $$$ to get my radiator repaired. Here's to all, put up radiator meshings for your ride and prevent mishaps...

$600??? :dozed: and how much did u get it repaired? oh man i hope my radiator problem will not result in replacing new... $$$ :cry:

thanks apek for the advice. but i didn change the switch. need to check boon siew on the price. but now the coolant is dripping from the radiator when i stop. what should i check on top of the switch?

Hard to troubleshoot like that unless I see the bike. Have to know exactly where the leak is coming from. Pm me if u need my help..I have the switch if you need.

car coolant n bike coolant same anot? car coolant can use at bike anot?

Used it before previously on my 2B bike, but not sure if 2A can or not... :angel:

http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu205/ainyan090407/LVInfernalWar.jpg

http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu205/ainyan090407/3583_photo.jpg

How much to change gasket at coolent water pump? got shop quote me $30 plus ex or not??

U are taking a risk...better change the whole pump. Leakage there is MOSTLY not the rubber seal there..its the shaft seal..don't waste dollars! U want second good pump, I have. Pm me.

hi guys have been using my spec 1 for 3years the only maintaince i have done is changing EO and plugs ......

izzit a must to flush coolant ??? when and where to do it ?? tot of doing it to enhance the lifespan of my 10year old bike ^^ll

ta200 2003-2007

cb400 spec1 2007-now

hi ahpek, was wondering is it easy to flush coolant ourselves?

i would like to try. as my coolant reserve tanks is brown dirty and after 1.5years of riding my spec1 i have not flushed the system yet and

within 6mths from toppin up my coolant, it dried up till my reserve tank is empty.

hi ahpek, was wondering is it easy to flush coolant ourselves?

i would like to try. as my coolant reserve tanks is brown dirty and after 1.5years of riding my spec1 i have not flushed the system yet and

within 6mths from toppin up my coolant, it dried up till my reserve tank is empty.

Not sure how to say its easy or not but if it's, everyone no need to go bike shop liao. Once you know..it is easy.:sian: Take the video as an reference and its all about the same...just don't break anything..otherwise...Alleh_lu_lia.