how do you know when is it to give your tyres pump some air and how much pressure is required?

tyre pressure is based on bike model, tyre model or weight of rider?

• Replies 16

Friend your tyre itself (side) got write the max pressure you can pump.

E.g fz6 max pressure for front and rear tyre is 42 psi but i only pump 36 psi on both tyre because i dont have much load on my bike. But if you are taking heavy load then you pump more but do not pump more the the spec.. This is what i know...

Bernard Lum T S

I pump it based on the owner's manual. Some bikes have a sticker on the swingarm or hugger with the recommended air pressure. The recommended pressure takes into consideration the bike's weight, average rider's weight, pillion's weight (as another set of reading), etc. PROVIDED that you also use the recommended tyres :sweat:

NEVER pump more than the max pressure stated on the tyre even though it may be less than recommended! (though I don't think that's possible unless u use very much smaller sized tyres)

i put in 39/39 for my tyres. tyre pressure is something you need to monitor. i check my tyre pressure once in 3 days using a tyre pressure gauge. also check the tyres for any nails or irregular wears.. incorrect pressure will cause irregular wear n tear.

yeah TS maybe u look through at ur tyres n it'll somewhere state e level of air to be pump in.. but i guess most of the riders dun pump to e exact air pressure as stated.. u'll have to see whether if there is heavy loads, or maybe every time u need to pillion someone.. best to check with e guys riding same bike as urs? that'll definitely help.. for me, i pump my tyres every time refueling petrol..:D

http://robeastblog.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/jabbawockeez_red.jpg
for me, i pump my tyres every time refueling petrol..:D

i think this is not a wise move. Every time u go for long journey (maybe 15 min or more) the tyres heat up aka warming up tyres. Thus the pressure inside the tyres change due to the heat.

So when pumping tyres at this heated up temperature, will result in in accurate pressure reading..

http://i247.photobucket.com/albums/gg123/illa19/ParkEunKyung3.gif
i think this is not a wise move. Every time u go for long journey (maybe 15 min or more) the tyres heat up aka warming up tyres. Thus the pressure inside the tyres change due to the heat.

So when pumping tyres at this heated up temperature, will result in in accurate pressure reading..

Then in your view what is a better alternative??

will result in in accurate pressure reading..

If will result in accurate pressure reading den ok ma.. ^_^ :cheeky:

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

Interesting thought, but not to say it is not logical at all. However, a normal commuting is not going to heat up tyres very much, because unlike cars, bikes have a smaller contact patch on the tyres.

A good shot of air after pumping petroleum is a good idea, and the tyres would be pretty much cool enough to be safe, not to factor in heat co-efficiency.

Riders using street/trackdays or Dot race tyres would need to cool the tyres more before adjusting pressures, but normally, anyone who goes trackdays would have already know what I'm saying.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

i usually pump tyres before going to work. Just a short distance from my house.

And i also usually pump petrol at this time. From other treads, pumping petrol in the morning is better and more value for money!!

http://i247.photobucket.com/albums/gg123/illa19/ParkEunKyung3.gif

i usually pump tyres before going to work. Just a short distance from my house.

And i also usually pump petrol at this time. From other treads, pumping petrol in the morning is better and more value for money!!

well i guess different guys have their own methods.. for me i've been pumping my method for e whole year n no problems occured with my tyres.. maybe there isn't any right or wrong methods??

http://robeastblog.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/jabbawockeez_red.jpg

Any1 has tip on pumping the front tyre with double disc brakes? Always have to agar2, wrong abit only, the air nuzzle cannot fit in :sian:

do no lah some say 30/30 some say 29/30 some say 50/50.

Whatever..............

http://www.geocities.com/puterabrothers/puterabrothers.jpg

SUICIDALtendencies® Licensed to ride since 3 Jul 95

TAK TAU BELAJAR DAH TAU JANGAN KURANG AJAR

do no lah some say 30/30 some say 29/30 some say 50/50.

Whatever..............

pressure depends on the bike one wat.. maybe sum people can eat 10 durians at one shot but can u? so it depends on weight and load.. best is to stick to manufacture specs..

Simple email the tires manufacturer...model of bike,weight of rider,ambient temp,kind of rising.....I guess they are more than happy to answer you....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Tyre pressure should be adjusted to suit the weight of the machine and load, for type of riding.

I always pump my rear tyre to the max, be it my scooter or my ZX14 : 46PSI. For front, because scooters are very light infront, can use a lower pressure, like 29PSI or even lower, without compromising handling or tyre life.

any1 knw is it a must 2 release the air b4 we pump? thx in advance. :smile:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/PGMIV250.jpg