Muay Thai

Kenzara

• Replies 355

The term kickboxing (キックボクシング) was created by the Japanese boxing promoter Osamu Noguchi for a variant of Muay Thai and Karate that he created in the 1950s.[citation needed] The term was later used by the American variant. When used by the practitioners of those two styles, it usually refers to those styles specifically.

Japan

Tatsuo Yamada(left) and his master, Choki Motobu(right)On December 20, 1959, a Muay Thai among Thai fighters was held at Tokyo Asakusa town hall in Japan. Tatsuo Yamada, who established "Nihon Kempo Karate-do", was interested in Muay Thai because he wanted to perform Karate matches with full-contact rules since practitioners are not allowed to hit each other directly in karate matches. At this time, it was unimaginable to hit each other in karate matches in Japan. He had already announced his plan which was named "The draft principles of project of establishment of a new sport and its industrialization" in November, 1959, and he proposed the tentative name of "Karate-boxing" for this new sport. It is still unknown whether Thai fighters were invited by Yamada, but it is clear that Yamada was the only karateka who was really interested in Muay Thai. Yamada invited a Thai fighter who was the champion of Muay Thai (and formerly his son Kan Yamada's sparring partner), and started studying Muay Thai. At this time, the Thai fighter was taken by Osamu Noguchi who was a promoter of boxing and was also interested in Muay Thai. The Thai fighter's photo was on the magazine "The Primer of Nihon Kempo Karate-do, the first number" which was published by Yamada.

There were "Karate vs. Muay Thai fights" February 12, 1963. The three karate fighters from Oyama dojo (Kyokushin later) went to the Lumpinee Boxing Stadium in Thailand, and fought against 3 Muay Thai fighters. The 3 karate fighters' names are Tadashi Nakamura, Kenji Kurosaki and Akio Fujihira (as known as Noboru Osawa). Japan won by 2-1 then. However, it should be noted that the fight prohibited the use of knees, elbows and strikes below the knee. Noguchi studied Muay thai and developed a combined martial art which Noguchi named kick boxing. However, throwing and butting were allowed in the beginning to distinguish it from Muay Thai style. This was later repealed. The Kickboxing Association, the first kickboxing sanctioning body, was founded by Osamu Noguchi in 1966 soon after that. Then the first kickboxing event was held in Osaka, April 11, 1966.

Tatsu Yamada died in 1967, but his dojo changed its name to Suginami Gym, and kept sending kickboxers off to support kickboxing.

Kickboxing boomed and became popular in Japan as it began to be broadcast on TV. By 1970, kickboxing was telecast in Japan on three different channels three times weekly. Tadashi Sawamura was an especially popular early kickboxer. In 1971 the All Japan Kickboxing Association (AJKA) was established and it registered approximately 700 kickboxers. The first AJKA Commissioner was Shintaro Ishihara, the long time Governor of Tokyo. Champions were in each weight division from fly to middle. Long time kickboxer Noboru Osawa won the AJKA bantam weight title, which he held for years. Raymond Edler, an American university student studying at Sophia University in Tokyo, took up kickboxing and won the AJKC middleweight title in 1972. He defended the title several times and abandoned it. Other popular champions were Toshio Fujiwara and Shima. However, by the late 1970s due to poor ratings and then infrequent television coverage the boom was suddenly finished. Kickboxing had not been seen on TV until K-1 was founded in 1993.

In 1993, as Kazuyoshi Ishii (founder of Seidokan karate) produced K-1 under special kickboxing rules (No elbow and neck wrestling) in 1993, kickboxing became famous again.

The sport has spread through Europe, North America, Australia and New Zealand.

Quote from wiki...

Bro, can share ur knowledge? Thats the oni thing i noe readin from there...

-= I live my life a quarter mile at a time. =-

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Prankster_Siggy.jpg

that is a long story man...read the centre part It is still unknown whether Thai fighters were invited by Yamada, but it is clear that Yamada was the only karateka who was really interested in Muay Thai. Yamada invited a Thai fighter who was the champion of Muay Thai (and formerly his son Kan Yamada's sparring partner), and started studying Muay Thai.

Aprilia RS125 = Sept06 - ?? FT****H

By next month, i will no longer be there already....

Budget not enuff to continue...

Maybe will start again next yr....

Meanwhile, "will try" to build up stamina by jogging... Muahahahaha...

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Prankster_Siggy.jpg

HILLTOP muay thai !

U from HILLTOP?

Bro Prankster,

Beware. This one looks like a gal rider-cum-Muay Thai fighter... :cheeky:

Somemore riding Rider-Very-Fast in 2010. kekeke... :cheeky:

Fierce. :thumb:

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

Same here... Wish I can continue too... But can't... haiz... :(

If i strike group 1 or group 2 toto tis comin monday.... I'll pay for u 1 whole yr of muay thai at vanda!! :cheeky:

haha... I wanted to do that for you too, plus pay for my colleague too.

So that all three of us can continue... :)

But too bad, I only struck 2 numbers out of the System 7 I bought. :sian:

Oh yah, 4got bout ur colleague.... Hahahaha...

But bleah, i strike nothin....

Haiz, I also strike zero, so got to stick to our plans of stopping for about 6 months for us to "recover" first... :)

Kind of miss Muay Thai now that I have "ORDed" too, esp when I have bought the shorts and the nice nice sleeveless MT Tees... :cry:

Yupz, missed it too... Too bad in sinkiepore, commoners like us difficult to afford....

I dunno if its me or wat, but i find that the students there are mostly high income earners or comes from a well to do family....

Yupz, missed it too... Too bad in sinkiepore, commoners like us difficult to afford....

I dunno if its me or wat, but i find that the students there are mostly high income earners or comes from a well to do family....

Looks like it lor...

Only, you, me and my colleague not from well-to-do families. :)

As for Evelyn, I heard from my colleague that think her company subsides half of the fee, i.e. she pays S$100 every month only. Her company so good. :(

Wow, good company? Wat type of policy does it falls under to pay half of the cost of her trainin??

Btw, who is tis Evelyn?

Wow, good company? Wat type of policy does it falls under to pay half of the cost of her trainin??

Btw, who is tis Evelyn?

I think mayb it is some sort of "Healthy Lifestyle" for employees bah...

You know this 37-yrs old slim slim chio bu who is learning pole-dancing, Muay Thai at the same time. :)

Evelyn is her friend who is quite big-size one.

Edited by seahmh

I think mayb it is sort sort of "Healthy Lifestyle" for employees bah...

You know this 37-yrs old slim slim chio bu who is learning pole-dancing, Muay Thai at the same time. :)

Evelyn is her friend who is quite big-size one.

37 yrs old????????? The 1 who keeps on stretchin n stretchin non stop?

God damn! She doesn't even look 37 lah!! she looks more like 28 - 30 to me!

Damn! So, the other 1 is Evelyn? Cool, ask her which company she workin in leh? I aso wanna join her company.... Hahahaha...

37 yrs old????????? The 1 who keeps on stretchin n stretchin non stop?

God damn! She doesn't even look 37 lah!! she looks more like 28 - 30 to me!

Damn! So, the other 1 is Evelyn? Cool, ask her which company she workin in leh? I aso wanna join her company.... Hahahaha...

Yah. Yah. The thin thin slim slim sexy sexy girl who stretch and stretch non-stop. :cheeky:

Yes, she is 37 yrs old... :)

I heard from my colleague, that Evelyn works in a company who is organising a mass run + marathon this coming Dec... This company always has been organising this mass marathon at the end of every year (during Dec time). :)

Got the hint? :)

Hi guys i have a dilemma between 3 gyms to join.

Hilltop, Muay Thai Workshop or Vanda. Which ones do you think is the most worth it? Personally, i dont like having to punch air only -.-

Cause some gyms only ask us to punch air instead of punching bags uh. Oh i forgot to mention that im only 15 this year. Which one do you think is suitable for me?