UEFA Champions League

he should have left that year when he said he wanted to retire... that will make him look really good after all the glorious days... now.. he's stuck with it...

• Replies 912

No extra place for Liverpool - UEFA

LONDON, April 25 (Reuters) - England will face an agonising choice likely to be between the two Merseyside rivals for the Champions League next season if Liverpool win the trophy in May.

'It's not possible to have more than four places,' a spokesman for European body UEFA said on Monday dismissing any chance that England might be handed a fifth berth in the continent's top club competition.

Liverpool are fifth in the premier league and still on course for their fifth European Cup crown. They meet Chelsea in the first leg of their semi-final in London on Wednesday.

The top four in the premier league will qualify for the Champions League next season but if Liverpool are the holders the Football Association will have to chose between them and the fourth team, at present their city rivals Everton who are three points ahead of them with a game in hand.

The FA said earlier on Monday as saying it had already broached the subject with UEFA.

The spokesman, however, said the FA had not to his knowledge brought up the subject officially with UEFA and such a request would be turned down in any case.

'It's in the (UEFA) regulations,' he said. 'The country (in question) has to decide between the fourth-placed team (in the domestic league) or the title holders (of the European Cup).'

He said Spain had faced with the same dilemma five years ago and opted to allow European Cup holders Real Madrid, who had finished fifth in Primera Liga, to defend their title and entered fourth-placed Real Zaragoza in the UEFA Cup.

A source close to the English game said: 'In a way we would be penalised for our own success. If we had three spots (in the competition) we would get the extra place. It's only countries with four that don't get the extra place.'

Originally posted by R.C@Apr 25 2005, 11:44 PM

he should have left that year when he said he wanted to retire... that will make him look really good after all the glorious days... now.. he's stuck with it...

alex fergie is the new brian clough.

also, like to say well done arse :thumb:

and MiCmAsta... here's a pic for u :cheeky:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/wilson74/cow.jpg

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by BikeLover@Apr 25 2005, 09:36 PM

Just read LVP will not be in CL even if they win the cup!!! So unfair to the champion. But I thought last time Real Madrid entered thru its status as Champion even though it did not qualified?

rule 1.03 of the champions league...

1.03 At the request of the national association concerned, the UEFA Champions

League title-holders may be entered for this competition, as an additional

representative of that association, if they have not qualified for the UEFA

Champions League via the top domestic league championship. If, in such a

case, the title-holders come from an association entitled to enter four teams

for the UEFA Champions League, the fourth-placed club in the top domestic

league championship has to be entered for the UEFA Cup.

which means... the FA of the 'champion' has to request for it if the 'champion' couldn't qualify. real madrid (5th) took the place of real zaragoza (4th). but pool isn't madrid and the fa is really in a no win situation. their best hope: chelski stuff the daylights out of pool :cheer:

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by R.C@Apr 25 2005, 11:17 PM

i dunno what they doing over there oso... :cheeky: well.. i can only play CM 5 and buy all the players that i want... i think we all have players that we want but its chance and opportunity that the player eventually will go to your club... and its all about luck as well i guess... sometimes you make the right buy, sometimes you don't.. this goes for all clubs, big or small...

and the youngsters at arsenal? fabregas and van persie are already good players when bought if i'm not wrong? yah... and i think fabregas is very young right? i think wenger has got good scouts lah.. :cheeky: i think le tallec is doing quite well oso... not too sure about pongelle... rafa did let the younger ones play, like john welsh and darren potter... but i guess they are not as good as the young gunners...

Nowadays, whenever Wenger buys players, esp those with no name, the coverage is so overwhelming that these players became stars overnight without kicking a ball! Fabregas was an U17 and how good can a U17 be? You think he is Rooney ah? Maybe as good as how Le Tallac and Pongolli be when they came. I saw Cesc when he was in the Carling Cup last year and not really good. Then suddenly, this year "POP" out of nowhere... Persie also another very rough diamond, with a very bad temper. But the "very good" thing abt them is they have something called flair. This is something you cannot train. Fabregas was so famous becos Gun and Barca were fighting over him. Senderos was famous becos MU and Arse were shooting each other over him, but young Pique went to MU after a similar fight. :help:

Wenger I think not only has good scouts, but good insight lah :thumb: Henry changed from winger to strikerX2 (cos always have 2 defenders marking him to STOP him), Toure (never heard of him before this) from right wing to centre-back. He got a better understanding of his players to train them and bring out the best in them. As for Reyes, I can't see yet. Wenger always very bad with big-money players..... kekeke. Irony. But if you talk abt young players who are aldy considered good when they come are like Ronaldo and Reyes, not Cesc or Persie.

R.C, don't play so much CM lah... kekeke cos CM always over-estimate these players. Like when I use LVP, I made Le Tallac a "super wonderkid" whor! But in reality.... ok lah. Others who played the Gunners told me the young players damn power, like the first team. Their evaluation of the players very different from reality.

Now I know why LVP lost to C Palace, cos they used so many of these so-so youngsters in that match. Actually the biggest question mark till today is why they sold off Murphy... although they need money, but Murphy quite ok mah. As I always said, Rafa is still learning the english game. I don't think he knows what Murphy did or can do.

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2005-05-21/1sportsindex_i.jpghttp://www.arsenal.com/images/wallpapers/s_facupfinal3.jpg
Originally posted by BikeLover@Apr 26 2005, 03:58 PM

Nowadays, whenever Wenger buys players, esp those with no name, the coverage is so overwhelming that these players became stars overnight without kicking a ball! Fabregas was an U17 and how good can a U17 be? You think he is Rooney ah? Maybe as good as how Le Tallac and Pongolli be when they came. I saw Cesc when he was in the Carling Cup last year and not really good. Then suddenly, this year "POP" out of nowhere... Persie also another very rough diamond, with a very bad temper. But the "very good" thing abt them is they have something called flair. This is something you cannot train. Fabregas was so famous becos Gun and Barca were fighting over him. Senderos was famous becos MU and Arse were shooting each other over him, but young Pique went to MU after a similar fight. :help:

Wenger I think not only has good scouts, but good insight lah :thumb: Henry changed from winger to strikerX2 (cos always have 2 defenders marking him to STOP him), Toure (never heard of him before this) from right wing to centre-back. He got a better understanding of his players to train them and bring out the best in them. As for Reyes, I can't see yet. Wenger always very bad with big-money players..... kekeke. Irony. But if you talk abt young players who are aldy considered good when they come are like Ronaldo and Reyes, not Cesc or Persie.

R.C, don't play so much CM lah... kekeke cos CM always over-estimate these players. Like when I use LVP, I made Le Tallac a "super wonderkid" whor! But in reality.... ok lah. Others who played the Gunners told me the young players damn power, like the first team. Their evaluation of the players very different from reality.

Actually now I know why LVP lost to CPalace, cos they used so many of these so-so youngsters in that match. Actually the biggest question mark till today is why they sold off Murphy... although they need money, but Murphy quite ok mah. As I always said, Rafa is still learning the english game. I don't think he knows what Murphy did or can do.

murphy wanted to leave, he wasnt' comfortable with the fact that the team has so many non-englishmen..

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

NUS Students' Motorcycling Interest Group "NUSRiders" Forum

Originally posted by floppy@Apr 26 2005, 02:33 PM

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/wilson74/cow.jpg

Originally posted by jkaiser@Apr 26 2005, 05:04 PM

murphy wanted to leave, he wasnt' comfortable with the fact that the team has so many non-englishmen..

Serious or not? If true, then he got some real problem.

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2005-05-21/1sportsindex_i.jpghttp://www.arsenal.com/images/wallpapers/s_facupfinal3.jpg
Originally posted by floppy@Apr 26 2005, 02:33 PM

alex fergie is the new brian clough.

also, like to say well done arse :thumb:

Haha... we will be looking forward to a off-pitch "LVP vs Everton".

But tonite Chelsea sure win lah.... :help:

Originally posted by BikeLover@Apr 26 2005, 07:24 PM

Haha... we will be looking forward to a off-pitch "LVP vs Everton".

But tonite Chelsea sure win lah.... :help:

Thot the match is Thursday morning? :confused:

Originally posted by BikeLover@Apr 26 2005, 07:21 PM

Serious or not? If true, then he got some real problem.

ok i clarify..2 main reasons...

He's not happy about foreigners:

Soccernet link 1

He's not guaranteed 1st team football:

Link 2

Something interesting, it seems that the cheap signings tend to be more effective..i mean..look @ gary macalister last time...haha!

anyway u ppl can take a look @ this site kaoz, last time eto wanted to sign for pool..haha

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

NUS Students' Motorcycling Interest Group "NUSRiders" Forum

Originally posted by jkaiser@Apr 26 2005, 10:19 PM

ok i clarify..2 main reasons...

He's not happy about foreigners:

Soccernet link 1

He's not guaranteed 1st team football:

Link 2

Something interesting, it seems that the cheap signings tend to be more effective..i mean..look @ gary macalister last time...haha!

anyway u ppl can take a look @ this site kaoz, last time eto wanted to sign for pool..haha

Paiseh abt the date... shld be Thurs.

Actually key figure to LVP winning the trophies was becos of McCallister, as he really good with set-piece.

Originally posted by BikeLover@Apr 26 2005, 03:58 PM

Now I know why LVP lost to C Palace, cos they used so many of these so-so youngsters in that match. Actually the biggest question mark till today is why they sold off Murphy... although they need money, but Murphy quite ok mah. As I always said, Rafa is still learning the english game. I don't think he knows what Murphy did or can do.

i think its hard to tell why the managers have to sell off their players... there can be many reasons for it... but murphy is indeed a fine player. :thumb:

i must agree that wenger have good 'taste'.. haha... henry is a miracle man... from an unknown to a world class star...

haha.. yah... CM is always a fantasy thingy lah.. so it doesn't matter if le tallec is a wonder kid or not.. everything there will not be real either so no harm... :cheeky: btw, i dun have cm 5 yet... sob.. only got cm 4...

AC milan 2 PSV 0

Too bad fir PSV.... THey were playing quite well.... Lack of luck..........

http://www.premiershiptoday.co.uk/images/man-united-kit.gifCross the road safely, There lots of chance to cross it but u only have one LIFE!

Duff hamstring worry for Chelsea

Chelsea are sweating on the fitness of Republic of Ireland winger Damien Duff for tonight's Champions League semi-final first leg against Liverpool at Stamford Bridge.

Duff is struggling with an injured left hamstring and will undergo a late fitness test today.

The 26-year-old trained on his own yesterday evening and if he does not come through the fitness test, then Arjen Robben will replace him.

Mourinho is without long-term absentees Wayne Bridge (broken ankle), Scott Parker (broken foot) and Paulo Ferreira (broken foot) as he bids to reach the final of the Champions League for the second successive year. Jiri Jarosik is cup-tied.

Originally posted by MiCmAsta@Apr 27 2005, 06:07 AM

Now I'm Worried for Liverpool.... :giddy:

don't worry dude... if its theirs, its theirs... :smile:

LIVERPOOL ALL THE WAY!!!

A team full with surprises result !!!!

when u think they will sure win,,they lose...when they sure lose...THEY WIN!!!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v217/viffer/2.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v217/viffer/1.jpg

haha.... thats the way man... i do hope that they'll give me a surprise tonight man... dun need to play well, can score can liao... :cheeky: all the best to all liverpool fans out there!!!

Originally posted by jkaiser@Apr 28 2005, 01:34 AM

the bad thing about pool...they are not safe to bet on one...expect them win..they lose for u...

Yup.. You can place your BETS on any team... BUT NOT LIVERPOOL!!!!

Inconsistence..... :nono:

dunno what is causing the inconsistency oso leh... they always seem to have problems with the smaller clubs... wonder if they are too complacent liao... but it doesn't seem like they are complacent... maybe its just luck...

Originally posted by R.C@Apr 28 2005, 01:50 AM

dunno what is causing the inconsistency oso leh... they always seem to have problems with the smaller clubs... wonder if they are too complacent liao... but it doesn't seem like they are complacent... maybe its just luck...

I hate the way they play... So Conservative... See also sian...