Yamaha Dragstar 400 VS Honda Shadow Ace 400

Hi cruisers,

I'm curious to know what you think about these 2 bikes. For starters, I know nearly nothing abt them. Personally I'm slanting to the DS4 because of the shaft driven rear and new version refresh. I've asked some friends about it and what i've heard is that the DS4 is smaller in size and has somewhat less pickup power compared to the shadow...

Please enlighten be on these 2 bikes and preferably let me know which you prefer and why.

Thanks very much in advance ~! :cheeky:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

• Replies 45

Hi hi..Brother SnaPeL, i guess it all boils dwn 2 wich 1 u r comfortable with..Both bikes r equally gd, low maintenance n low fuel consumption...

Dragstar got bigger fuel tank bro...

And it also has alot of possibilities if u wanna mod mod mod because its shaft driven and also the placement of the suspension.

http://i28.tinypic.com/5kokk3.jpg

one point to ponder upon is how long do u intend to keep the bike.......go see his brand command a higher resale value.... altho that prob has nothing to do with the performance of each machine.

I . L . T . N . N

Lol i now still first year of 2b planning to go 2a and stay there so thinking of getting a first hand 2a bike.

My biggest issue is that i hope can get a bike that travel @ abt 100-120km/h with stability and minimum vibrations... of course if it can help me save on fuel budget, upz! ha. lol my ta200 now vibrate until my pillion's foot numb.

Was thinking of going S4 but after sitting on a few, it didn't feel as comfortable as cruisers so how trying to research on these 2 nice 2a bikes.

Thanks for the input guys

depends on what factors u are looking for in a bike. do u intend to mod it to a tourer or bobber styling? or do u jus wanna ride stock.

if its to ride stock.. then power wise, not much difference. both are 400s.. cant be moutains apart in terms of power.

if u wanna mod to tourers, jus attach boxes

both these bikes though look similar, have a different frame which equates to a different wat of modding it.

if however u are interested to mod bobber, the frames play a very crucial part.

for the dragstar, its sporting a softtail frame, monoshock hidden under the seat. personally, i feel its alot easir to work with since it does not have any subframe struts welded to the main frame. the drawback however, is the wheel. bcos its shaft driven, u cant really retrofit sports rims fro chain driven bikes to the shaft drive unit. it is possible but alot of machining work needs to be done. dragstars also have a longer wheelbase. good for the "long n low" look.

shadows have the dyna frames. dual shocks exposed at the sides. i'm not really a fan of the frame but still shadow is a good base to build kustom bobber looks. and not forgetting the option of fat rear tires are very possible mods

size wise if u put the dragstar classic together wif the shadow, the dragstar should look slightly bigger.

Thread has been asked, argued and dissected plenty of times before. Do take the time to go thru the past threads and post.

Basically it'll come down to what you want, tour, cruise, ride, transport, fierce look, chopper, custom, whatever. And of course your personal preference. Chain got better low end not much high end. Shaft vice versa. You can't ride a shaft like a chain. But end of day both hits 140. You'll be travelling side by side.

w y x m m

both are so similar.. its like eating noodles with a fork or with chopsticks.

personally, i trust the honda engine more. but i do see many COE renewed draggies running around.. so its reliable too =)

learning to be a better rider.

Hi hi...And not to forget, Suzuki and Kawasaki just brought in the new 400cc cruisers...So, what you might want to do Brother SNapEl, is shop around, ask around, take your time don't rush into anything until you are very, very, very sure, take all of your information, sit down at Starbucks Orchard Parade Hotel (hehehe.. that place is nice to wash off some of the dirt in the eyes too..hehehe) and go through all of the information, and from there, i guess you'll know which ride you really want to get....And if you need company while you are at Starbucks Orchard Parade Hotel, there are plenty of our brothers here that you invite and i believe, we all are more than happy to enjoy the days end at Starbucks....

By the way...It all also depend on what is your budget and how much are you willing to spend for your new ride....Think about it my brother....

Hi cruisers,

I'm curious to know what you think about these 2 bikes. For starters, I know nearly nothing abt them. Personally I'm slanting to the DS4 because of the shaft driven rear and new version refresh. I've asked some friends about it and what i've heard is that the DS4 is smaller in size and has somewhat less pickup power compared to the shadow...

Please enlighten be on these 2 bikes and preferably let me know which you prefer and why.

Thanks very much in advance ~! :cheeky:

Alternatively why not join us for a meetup of cruiser riders in March where we shall ride together to JB. U can meet different riders with dragstars or shadows n others alike. There u can personally ask them abt their ride. Who knows they might let u sit on it.

We all very frenly u know. :thumb:

uR PHANTOM IS ALWAYS WELCOME. dUN WORRY, we r not sportbike riders,

we r cruiser riders so we cruise between 100km/hr - 120km/hr

Read this thread http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=178764

Hi hi...And not to forget, Suzuki and Kawasaki just brought in the new 400cc cruisers...

New Kawasaki 400cc cruiser? Which model is that? :confused:

Alternatively why not join us for a meetup of cruiser riders in March where we shall ride together to JB. U can meet different riders with dragstars or shadows n others alike. There u can personally ask them abt their ride. Who knows they might let u sit on it.

We all very frenly u know. :thumb:

uR PHANTOM IS ALWAYS WELCOME. dUN WORRY, we r not sportbike riders,

we r cruiser riders so we cruise between 100km/hr - 120km/hr

Read this thread http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=178764

LOL i so far cruise around in SG @ 90-100 nia... 110 is very high very me liao lol. Ok will consider the outing haha. March got break from sch also :D dun bully me k... my bike small...

Somehow a cruiser just doesn't look right if it's not a V-twin. :)

yep, feels like something's missing...., how bout savage 650 ? :p

pic borrowed from our frnd AJ's ex-bike..

http://w2.bikepics.com/pics/2007/01/30/bikepics-786925-full.jpg

Hi hi..oops, apologies about da mix up with da kawa 400 cruise bikes...thx 4 da info brothers...

The latest Kawa cruiser brought in by Evershine is the Vulcan 900 Custom :D

Somehow a cruiser just doesn't look right if it's not a V-twin. :)

how about a v four ...hahahahaa???

I . L . T . N . N

hm... anyone can find proper pics of the new stock dragstar?

lol thx i saw that as well... but pics very small leh..