hi vassele,i decided to share stuffs regarding my pulsar as people r wondering if its a problematic bike. been using it for 10 months plus and the problems r NEVERENDING! 1st- its the cone bearing that shakes and cause the front to wobble just after 1 month plus of use.

2ndly- its the meter. changed it twice but results still same. everytime shows reserve whereas tank is full.

3rdly- its front headlamp there has lots of noise and vibration. its as though the bracket holding the lamp not strong enough. even when riding at high speed, bikes vibrates and wobble alot.

4thly- gear slips very often and for no reason it will go to false neutral. its very irritating since it happens often. um mechanic to be honest dont really know exact problem.

5thly-the tendency for clutch plate to wear out is very fast. the clutch rod also wears out fast and after replacing it, bike feels funny.

6th and lastly- spare parts COSTS A BOMB! ITS ACTUALLY VERY CHEAP IN INDIA BUT SHREWD PEOPLE WHO IS MONOPOLIZING THE PULSAR MARKET PRICE IT ACCORDING TO THEIR FREE WILL. money that is saved on petrol actually goes to servicing, spare parts. My conclusion is that its a bike that CANNOT last long

Bro, can share wat version u riding?

Since u say around 10 months, my guess is that u are riding the UG3.

1. Have not encountered that, so not sure.

2. Might not be the meter problem, u might want to check the sensor in the tank and the wiring leading from tank to meter.

3. the Headlamp is designed such that it is supported by a movable part and held in place by 4 or 6 screws. Screws might be loose. get that checked. I have take apart the whole headlamp assembly, so I know. Most bikes vibrate, especially most 2b bikes (thumpers).

4. I used to have this problem when I used the wrong oil. But after changing to the recommended grade of oil, I have not had this problem. Another thing is the style of gear change. Rev it past 6k, clutch in and giv it a firm kick. Feeling the gear lever click is not enough. You have to kick it fully.

5. Not sure about this problem. maybe my time not up yet. I half clutch alot, imagine from fifth gear need to down shift to 3rd gear, but i lazy and half clutch and slowly pick up. Hope this prob dun come too fast.

6. Maybe we can import ourselves?? Seriously when u have monopoly, this happens. There are many other shops selling pulsar but only UM has the replacement parts. So we got no choice.

And we cannot compare our price with india. Local tax plays a part in the high price.

Bro, I am not saying pulsar is a good bike, just sharing my knowledge hopefully can make your ride more pleasant.

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

• Replies 7.7k

I agree wit banana bout the spares and svcing....i ALWAYS let them noe that their 'standard price' is ridiculously expensive...

:gun: ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ :bouncefire:

To me not just the spares and svc are ex...i beliv the BIKE itself is greedily priced...blame it on tax bla bla bla all tat shi't....IS IT REALLY???? Any Indon counterpart wanna share the price of pulsar der in sing dollar??? Thks in advance

:gun: ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ :bouncefire:
To me not just the spares and svc are ex...i beliv the BIKE itself is greedily priced...blame it on tax bla bla bla all tat shi't....IS IT REALLY???? Any Indon counterpart wanna share the price of pulsar der in sing dollar??? Thks in advance

If you converted their price in rupee to sing dollar i guess you can at least buy 2 pulsar there with singapore's price

I did a check, pulsar 180 dtsi in india cost about SGD$2011.40

http://www.cartradeindia.com/Bajaj-Pulsar-180--dtsi-68572.html

aiyo dun compare the price.

universal is the only agent for bajaj here surely if they take in cheap they have to cover their costs of engaging bajaj and allowing them to be the SOLE distributor in sillypore la.

The parts are EXPENSIVE this i have to agree.

That's y i have been sourcing around for parts of other bikes to be fitted into pulsar to save costs.

So far except the engine parts - piston,valve,tappet...i think the not so impt parts can use other bikes parts...

The LCD meter cant last long for sure... so anyone source any lasting LCD meter from other bike pls share ard the info.

Fuel gauge, is the floater that is giving the problem not the meter...

Only these 2 items given me prob the past 1 yr. AND I JUZ HACK CARE. How fast can u go to need a speedo showing u the speed? at places where 60km/h speedcams juz follow the cars behind even if u r the first bike so wat if they horn at u??? that's a speed cam in front.

Fuel gauge is neva accurate for my case. i use the cork to gauge the fuel left in my tank instead. reserve can hit 90km so no worries.

Other than that so far i have only spent $120 @ universal for top over-haul cos on my part oso there was the tick tick tick sound for months, knew the prob but juz didnt have the time to go UM to rectify the problem at last top overhaul needed.

If u use the correct EO grade shouldnt have any false neutral problems.

Clutch is wear n tear differs from each user... some like to half clutch all the way some feel abit wore out means muz change... clutch plates will wear out thru time but only when normal riding @7k rpm n speed 70km/h drops draastically to 40 or 50km/h then a need of clutch plates is needed.

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.

as for me.. this coming april will be my 2 years riding on my Pulsar.

i did a kiasu running-in..

so far the 'major' problem i face us engine oil leaking.. and that cost me $40++

other thing jus wear n tear. front sproket use yamaha rxz and my rear get it from UM. the second reason i go UM is to do my carb washing. if once i can find time to tag with the group for gathering session, i can learn carb washin with them... but finding time is getting harder and harder, my baby boy was born last week on tuesday 4th december.. haaaa.. so very busy lah.

my mileage now is around 45000++

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg

GUys.... GOOD NEWS

For those who having inaccurate reading on fuel meter, you can process down to UM for have it fix. REgardless weather warrantly over or not. No longer need to change new Petrol Float. I saw them do... It has to to with the connection in side the Fuel Tanks.

Regardless of race,religion and gender.

We sworn to our duty and honour.

We carry out our duty as a team and not indivdual.

We protect the Honour and interest of the TEAM.

Because,

We are all BIKERS

If u use the correct EO grade shouldnt have any false neutral problems..

The EO i change is always from UM. So i asume that they change the EO that is suitable for the bike.

WHen i always dw to first gear, most of the time will go to N, and when i wan N, i always had hard time doing it.

money that is saved on petrol actually goes to servicing, spare parts. My conclusion is that its a bike that CANNOT last long

hi Banana,

i agree with you, the $$ i saved all go to the maintainance and repair of my bike. In the first place, i tok that this bike can save me a lot of $$ since i need to travel from home to work to sch, in the end, it backfired..:cry:

nice ridding wit u & azlan....; hopefully next time wit more coming along. From wheellock place to changi village to east coast to marina pier to back to town( witness more than 20 over cars speeding thru the fort canning tunnel towards parkmall which end up interupted by a 2 TPs on bike..hehehe..) den finally to south bouna vista. wel, it was a hell of a nite..:thumb:

Harlou............. Im Back!!, hehe... yea.... hella of a ride there even though it was a last min planning.... Anyway no regrets as am workin in few hours time after tha ride, cos... end up werk only around 830 - 12 la dey.... hehheeh... awrytz.. Ride'up soon again ya...

NJoy~! :p

Dear Bros,

Bajaj Puslar is made in INdia and not places like thailand or japan. Puslar is not like any bike in the market. It is extremely sensitive. Sensitive in a way like women. They are fragile. Once not giving them enough attention, They complain. Complain in a sense of giving u problem. It may look tough but is indeed fragile.

If something is not rite, did we aS a bike owner do anything to recifty the problem ? or we simply just simply dun care.?

Wat we think is good may not be good for our bike.Dun forget the riding condition here in singapore is different from INdia.

INdia rarely travel 100km/h or more and the road condition is sandy. whereby in Singapore, the road here is consider as oily and we travel min 90 - 100km/h.

Let me share some of the common problem we face here.

Tires = Tires die die must change. the Stock tire is mean for sandy road condition and not mean for oily. Stock tire is very durable becose is made of nylon. and when at this raining season, Puslar is extreme fragile.

E.O= our Puslar Eo must be min 15/50 or more. I strongly recommend 20/50. anything less than that we can face strong vibration and possible gasket leak. Dun forget ours is AIR- Cool. tats why we must use 50w and not anything less.

Thickness of the EO must be 20 or more. The higher the rating, the less vibration from the engine.

First rating of 0,5,10,15 is mean for sport bike. OUr Puslar is not a SPort bike. Try understand the engine of a sport bike and our puslar

you will know the different.

Fuel Meter reading- since i got my bike, i have already change 5 time the Fuel device. till recently, Bajaj have finally fixed the problem. Anyone with this problem can go down to UM to have it fixed F.O.C.

Cowling - Noise and vibration from the front is due to the bracket that holds the DIgital meter break or the connector of the wiring is not hoster

properly in the rubber holder.

Tappet - If u feel strange noise form ur engine, the tappe might be the cause. try going to UM for tighting.

False Neutral - might due to the EO. 95% is Eo.

diaphragm(rubber that suck ur petrol)- no choice... onli UM have the part. Till i can bring in the Diaphragm, we have no choice. Diaphragm wear out easily when we use higher unleaded petrol like Vpower or so. IMagine type of petrol They have in INdia and ours in Singapore...

here is some tips that i found it useful.

Those intend to change Eo at 3000Km, please check if ur eo is enough. often if we travel at 100km/h, the engine tends to eat EO.

At 1200km after u change eo, check ur Eo level. Top up, ur engine or clutch is safe.

ONce while, go UM to have ur mounting screw tighten up.

Other than these... i think there will not be much problem.

Regardless of race,religion and gender.

We sworn to our duty and honour.

We carry out our duty as a team and not indivdual.

We protect the Honour and interest of the TEAM.

Because,

We are all BIKERS

GUys.... GOOD NEWS

For those who having inaccurate reading on fuel meter, you can process down to UM for have it fix. REgardless weather warrantly over or not. No longer need to change new Petrol Float. I saw them do... It has to to with the connection in side the Fuel Tanks.

zhun?

if need to pay i put on ur account.

Life Is Never Fair.

can change the time early ? say 9pm reach custom ? than have kopi somewhere.... 10pm jam leh....

Anyone want to Join us ???

I think 9.30 is good for me.. Super stress if earlier... hehee

hi ,

After reading so many post .. feel a bit interested to this little pulsar ...

however i don't personally own it ...

does this pulsar produce v loud noise ?? i mean with original exhaust pipe and silencer ...

most of the times i feel those 2 stroke bike is v noisy ... :cheeky:

hi ,

After reading so many post .. feel a bit interested to this little pulsar ...

however i don't personally own it ...

does this pulsar produce v loud noise ?? i mean with original exhaust pipe and silencer ...

most of the times i feel those 2 stroke bike is v noisy ... :cheeky:

No loud noise. Its a 4 stroke bike by the way..

Singapore Bajaj Team Portal at:- http://www.sbajajteam.com/main/ :deal:

It's not that i like to speed. It's just that i don't want to road hog..

1999 - 2006 :- Bicycle

2007 - Now :- Bajaj Pulsar FBB 3**8B

2008 - Now :- Suzuki Swift 1.5AT

http://www.eu-n-me.com/plogger/thumbs/lrg-5-pulsarian.jpg

Dear Bros,

Bajaj Puslar is made in INdia and not places like thailand or japan. Puslar is not like any bike in the market. It is extremely sensitive. Sensitive in a way like women. They are fragile. Once not giving them enough attention, They complain. Complain in a sense of giving u problem. It may look tough but is indeed fragile.

If something is not rite, did we aS a bike owner do anything to recifty the problem ? or we simply just simply dun care.?

Wat we think is good may not be good for our bike.Dun forget the riding condition here in singapore is different from INdia.

INdia rarely travel 100km/h or more and the road condition is sandy. whereby in Singapore, the road here is consider as oily and we travel min 90 - 100km/h.

Let me share some of the common problem we face here.

Tires = Tires die die must change. the Stock tire is mean for sandy road condition and not mean for oily. Stock tire is very durable becose is made of nylon. and when at this raining season, Puslar is extreme fragile.

E.O= our Puslar Eo must be min 15/50 or more. I strongly recommend 20/50. anything less than that we can face strong vibration and possible gasket leak. Dun forget ours is AIR- Cool. tats why we must use 50w and not anything less.

Thickness of the EO must be 20 or more. The higher the rating, the less vibration from the engine.

First rating of 0,5,10,15 is mean for sport bike. OUr Puslar is not a SPort bike. Try understand the engine of a sport bike and our puslar

you will know the different.

Fuel Meter reading- since i got my bike, i have already change 5 time the Fuel device. till recently, Bajaj have finally fixed the problem. Anyone with this problem can go down to UM to have it fixed F.O.C.

Cowling - Noise and vibration from the front is due to the bracket that holds the DIgital meter break or the connector of the wiring is not hoster

properly in the rubber holder.

Tappet - If u feel strange noise form ur engine, the tappe might be the cause. try going to UM for tighting.

False Neutral - might due to the EO. 95% is Eo.

diaphragm(rubber that suck ur petrol)- no choice... onli UM have the part. Till i can bring in the Diaphragm, we have no choice. Diaphragm wear out easily when we use higher unleaded petrol like Vpower or so. IMagine type of petrol They have in INdia and ours in Singapore...

here is some tips that i found it useful.

Those intend to change Eo at 3000Km, please check if ur eo is enough. often if we travel at 100km/h, the engine tends to eat EO.

At 1200km after u change eo, check ur Eo level. Top up, ur engine or clutch is safe.

ONce while, go UM to have ur mounting screw tighten up.

Other than these... i think there will not be much problem.

Bro, think you have a bit of misconception on eo. the numbers 20w50 means viscosity at different temperatures. '20w50' is actually a grade system for multi-grade oils.

http://www.carbibles.com/viscosity.html

wat we should be more concern about is the number behind 'w', that is 50. pulsar UG3 uses oil viscosity of 50.

hey man! long time no see.. Must come if can make it hor!

friday cant make it on nite shift man.........

Life Is Never Fair.

Bro, think you have a bit of misconception on eo. the numbers 20w50 means viscosity at different temperatures. '20w50' is actually a grade system for multi-grade oils.

http://www.carbibles.com/viscosity.html

wat we should be more concern about is the number behind 'w', that is 50. pulsar UG3 uses oil viscosity of 50.

theortically u r correct but practically not.

it u notice 5w50 and 20w50 oil viscosity is not the same.

n proven n tested that when engine hot, 15w50 difference in gear change is smoother than 20w50

Life Is Never Fair.

theortically u r correct but practically not.

it u notice 5w50 and 20w50 oil viscosity is not the same.

n proven n tested that when engine hot, 15w50 difference in gear change is smoother than 20w50

5w50 and 20w50 have different viscosities at different temperatures.

These numbers are measured viscosities of that oil. The smoothness of the performance of a particular oil is not only determined by the viscosity.

viscosity of 50 is recommended by our bike manufacturer. if you notice both numbers u quote is of the viscosity 50 when oil is running at the higher range of operatin temperature. So I am more concern of the number behind and not the number infront.

the number infront is more for countries with winter temperatures.

ultimately even if 2 different brand of 20w50 oils are compared you will find that they will perform differently on the same bike.

so to me, i dun really care if the number in front is 0, 5, 10, 15 or 20, as long as the number behind is 50 and the oil is giving me smooth performance then it is ok with me.:cheeky:

when i go for servicing at UM, i ask for the good oil. i think they gimme the Xw40 only?? will this damage my bike?

"To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3H9GhZqzA4U

ur bike ug3??

earlier model that is dtsi also include pulsar 180 with analog meter.

I remembered earlier batches of pulsar only require 40 grade. but since the dtsi model all require 50 grade.

if urs is the dtsi model, best is use 50 grade. 40 grade might be too thin.

if you are facing problem with clutch slip, difficult gear change, u might wan to consider changing to thicker oil.

Better double check with your manual. I might remember wrongly.

Okay pertaining to vanselle's problems - UM did say that Bajaj sent their first batches of UG3 with serious problems, especially Digital Speedos, and they promise to replace them for free if you're experiencing those problems for bikes during that batch. Meanwhile, as a Pulsar rider, the only few problems that i've experienced are,

1. Electric Starter fuse blown. Bike can't start with electric start button.

Solution: Kick start, tahan for 1 day, brought to a bike shop (Mah

Motorparts) where the skillful mechanic just switched fuses -

our pulsar has 2 interchangeable fuses which is a good

inclusion

2. Signal Lamp blown, around 7k mileage.

Solution: Had it changed for $2.50

3. Occasional clutch slippages: differ from EO to EO. Wet clutch what, what

to do.

4. False Neutrals, rarely.

12k in mileage and raring to go. Honestly, i think this bike is solid enough to see through my 10 year COE.

adding to the probs u guys have, i'm goin thru the same shitty performance by bajaj, replacing the digital meter for free aft warranty is bull **** la bro, i've enquired with chris, he gave a ****ed up ans, 'well that we can't do anything, we r just importing the bikes'

UM can say tis cos they know they r the only ones in sg who can get the spare parts so no matter wat happens we gotta go to them.

:cool: Bikes don't leak oil, they mark their territory.
har.... depend on ur definition.

I'm 1001 ( nick given by Michael of UM)

When i first got the bike, it already given me problem. But Problem doen't mean I give up on the bike, even if when the mech say, "IT like that ones"

I went down every monday to troubleshoot the problem. Till i found out what the cause. From there I "mod" the problem and try to solve it permantly with the help of LindaVw. That why we form a R&D Team. To be Honest, I'm a "P" plate holder. I owe my knowledge from my puslar.

Just share with you wat i change b4 warranty ended. (not included other MOD)

1) Digital Meter casing - 4 time

2) Digital Meter - 1 time

3) Fuel gauge's float - 4 time

Seem like nothing.... but the progress is "phew" now my warranty over, my bike also stop giving me problem, except the Fule gauge which is recently fixed FOC.

It helps me to know my bike better.

Regarding the PROS

LEt compare Gilera Petrol coms. and Puslar petrol Coms.

Gilera is about 8L (SDG$ 2 x 8L = SDG16 )which can travel 200km

Pulsar (for me) is 19L (SDG$2 x 19L = SDG53)which can travel 600km

My petrol comsuption is high becose i always going at Full Throttle.

Plus i staying at East, i can afford to go JB to pump every 2 weeks.

At JB, I pump 19L @ about Rm35 (Vpower), than coming back to singapore to my home is about 26km.

In my view, Some bike dun give problem, but once they give problem.... it going to cost a bomb. Pulsar got alot of problem but they can be solved.

Every Bike there is Pro and Cons. just like HP.

i had mine overhauled in jus 6 months of using it, prob was EO, normal travellin speed was 80/90, went UM numerous times to complain bout reducing EO, they told me its like tat, i changed every 2000, paid a whooping $647 bucks, now my speedo meter's not showing anything but speed n fuel.

:cool: Bikes don't leak oil, they mark their territory.
i had mine overhauled in jus 6 months of using it, prob was EO, normal travellin speed was 80/90, went UM numerous times to complain bout reducing EO, they told me its like tat, i changed every 2000, paid a whooping $647 bucks, now my speedo meter's not showing anything but speed n fuel.

So far I have not experience reduced eo, maybe because i change my eo quite frequently.

Diminishing eo could mean there is a problem with a seal somewhere, design problem with the engine, or something else. Honda Phantom is another bike known for diminishing eo problem.

do you mean other lights like high beam, neutral, your mileage, rpm, all not showing?? Have u tried pester them to replace the meter foc?