brader arjen..dont tink pulsar fit to be touring bike. its more of a stop-go traffic commuter bike.

but if you intend to tour, i dont tink pulsar can handle long distant with maintain high speed.... iam not sure abt this just that i dont feel its a touring bike. and the gear ratios are near.

i dont know abt oder braders but my pulsar screams at 8000rpm/95-100kmh

BAJAJ Pulsar 180(apr06)-(nov07)

HONDA NSR 150 sp(nov07)-(mar09)

HONDA specIII(mar09)-(dec10)

HONDA wave125(dec10)-(nov12)

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

top speed: TBC

mileage: miles away

Quote: not the fastest bike but the faster rider...

**if iam wrong please correct me, iam only new to this**

• Replies 7.7k

PRC "CHILL OUT" SESSION

DATE : 12 JUNE 2006

TIME : 1900HRS

VENUE : RENDEZVOUS @ YISHUN STADIUM CARPARK/ YISHUN DAM/ JALAN KAYU ROTI PRATA

1. RAFALUTION - 93376063

Come lah guys, dont be shy, make more friends, enjoy life!

http://bajajpulsar.sinha.org/pulsar_logo.gif

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b96/siswandy/BAJAJ-pulsar.jpg

Originally posted by waadee@May 31 2006, 03:07 AM

brader arjen..dont tink pulsar fit to be touring bike. its more of a stop-go traffic commuter bike.

but if you intend to tour, i dont tink pulsar can handle long distant with maintain high speed.... iam not sure abt this just that i dont feel its a touring bike. and the gear ratios are near.

i dont know abt oder braders but my pulsar screams at 8000rpm/95-100kmh

Hi waadee, Its not about the engine capacity that matters. Its the attitude :smile:

Nobody ever can imagine wave as a tour bike, but someone in the forum managed to rode his wave venture up to mae sai/mae hong son (thai-laos-viet border) and back safely.

Tour bike doesnt mean have to be a modern superbike or full tourer.

Actually I prefer something simpler, nimble and agile.

that makes me give up my inline four engine for a single cylinder engine.

even a scooter or cub can travel that far, why cant pulsar ?

Was having a tough decision between wave or pulsar, eventually find that pulsar suits my liking better :smile:

some boliao calculation I have done :lol:

Distance Travel: ~2000-2500KM per Month or Agg 25K Km Per year Mileage (In actual fact i travel more than that :lol: )

==============================================

Super Four

Mileage: 25000

Engine oil change every 5000km:

3 Bottle @ $15 each

5 Oil Change Per 5000KM

5 x 3 = 15 bottles required.

15 x 15 = $225

Oil Filter change Interval = $15 x 3 = $45

Bajaj Pulsar

Mileage: 25000

Engine Oil Change Every 3k (What i suspose for a cool bike w/o oil filters)

1.1Litre per change

Require 9 bottles.

9 x $15 = $135

You save $90 On engine Oil

===============================================

Super Four

Plugs = Every 10k.

3 Changes per year.

Cost $96

Air Filter - 2 Change per year

$35 Each x 2 = $70

Bajaj Pulsar

Plug = Every 10k

3 Changes per year

Cost $30

You Save $66

===============================================

Super Four

Coolant Flush annually.

$20

Pulsar

No Need

You save $20

================================================

Super Four

FC Based on 20km/l for super four (Average for s4)

25000km/20km = 1250 litre x $1.80 (RON92 Before Discount)

$2250

Bajaj Pulsar

FC Based on a Reasonable 42km/l (i know can archive more than that)

25000/42 = 595litre x $1.80 = $1071

You save $1179

================================================

Super Four

Tyre:

$280 A Pair for a BT014 (Less than a year)

Bajaj Pulsar

Tyre:

You save $140

==================================================

Super Four

Chain:

$180 A Set (DID ORING)

Bajaj Pulsar

??

==================================================

Total Saving a Year:

$1459 Exclude Chain.

but of cause have to compromise with the power and speed you are getting :smile:

u r right brader.. attitude also plays apart. ok lah mayb u can tour with bajaj pulsar.

iam afraid of engine seizure dats all...

ok brader arjen if u manage to tour with bajaj do share wif us how u set up yr bike before touring.

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

im into touring as well arjen. i bought this bike to tour too! :D hope we can tour together in future.

u missed out the amount u save a yr for insurance and road tax :cheeky:

i heard in india some use pulsar as touring.. on india road..

my cousin did ride from singapore to trengganu and back safely...

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg

brader arjen after i read thru yr calculation.. it does makes saving sense.. but of cos compromisong speed and power of the s4. but in sg road our pulsars are enuf.

wahahahaha... i neve regret getting a pulsar lah braders... people are turnin heads and getting their own pulsars. soon like i predicted pulsar will be a common sight on sg road. like rxz and cubs

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

yup, esp the big 18litre fuel tank. it makes a full tank of 800km attractive :D

some of my new colleagues ask me if its true that the bajaj is that fuel efficient. i told how brader paiseh acheived that much and all of em were surprised and said "possible meh?" or "wahh so much!" and i said yah...

and brader paiseh.. still trying out the new chemlub.. so far i feel that my bike is lighter.. i wan to try and see how my bike perform after i travel from my place cck to pasir ris my gf place.

and u got the link to the chem lube site??

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

Originally posted by Rafalution@May 31 2006, 02:05 AM

PRC (Pulsar Riders Club)? Hahaha! Let's dont call it a club for a start. It's best that we start with some meet-ups, have our bikes park together in a "tangkap" place, chatting, sharing knowledge, tips, talking c*** not necessarily about biking but about everything like hobbies and stuffs. The whole idea is to CHILL out!

I say sometime in june, as suggested by bro paiseh, we meet-up, Yishun Dam or Kulai Nasi Lemak? You guys choose the place. We based on the highest number of votes, other ideas are welcome.

wahaha.. wen? :cheer:

My previous rides: A Pulsar Rider (27/4/2006), A S4 Vtec III Bolder Rider (12/6/2007), SYM GTS 200 (/12/2013),

PRC "CHILL OUT" SESSION

1. RAFALUTION - 93376063

2. Jeffaw - 98784847

My previous rides: A Pulsar Rider (27/4/2006), A S4 Vtec III Bolder Rider (12/6/2007), SYM GTS 200 (/12/2013),

Speaking of touring with your pulsars, check this out

TOUR

wow yahoo bajaj group.. i wanna check em out

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

:cheer: i everyday from pasir ris to woodlands den back to pasir ris.. issit call touring? :offtopic:

PRC "CHILL OUT" SESSION

1. RAFALUTION - 93376063

2. Jeffaw - 98784847

3. lancified - 94242398

Hope to meet up soon :D

Btw I didn't managed to hit the magical 50km/L... only managed 36Km/L...

Is this because the bike wasn't run in yet? I was rather shocked that I ran out of petrol on the CTE... lucky I switched it to reserve before the power was gone.

ORD LOH!!!

well i've tried pass more than 50km/h.. now i'm trying to ride btw 90-105km/h and see how the FC will be like.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg

saw paiseh's pulsar last night at jalan kayu :smile:

when to dis bike shop today at along macpherson road... one of my friend says the boss there is friendly and since the shop doesnt tend to many bikes... the mech pays more attention on a particular bike.

had my carb needle adjusted... the stock needle is set very high lean setting, obviously to save fuel. so i ask the mech to set it lower for a more richer air and fuel mixture. tested it out and the response is about the same, just that i observed my bike doesnt rev very high when iam maintainin 100km/h

my theory is that if my bike doesnt work dat hard compared to the previous setting. my engine might last a little longer.

and of cos iam sacrificing bajaj fuel efficiency.. by how much iam calculating soon.

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

Anyone with info on whether the chinese made Gulsar will be selling in Singapore?

I heard its exactly the same as Pulsar.

gulsar??.. rhyme with and indian bike i know of... hmmm..... whats nex? bulsar? tulsar? hustlar?

actually i have seen the pic is almost the same as our pulsar... but quality wise iam not sure yet

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

Originally posted by waadee@Jun 1 2006, 09:00 PM

gulsar??.. rhyme with and indian bike i know of... hmmm..... whats nex? bulsar? tulsar? hustlar?

actually i have seen the pic is almost the same as our pulsar... but quality wise iam not sure yet

:sweat: gulsar? china like to copy thing huh..

judging by the pic u posted brader jeff.. our original bajaj looks ways better... i notice they didnt copy our bajaj head cowling...

if china mass producing our bajaj.. that means our bike is famous for its fuel efficiency. so good that a huge country wanna mass produce copies of our bike

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

Friday January 13, 4:09 PM

Indian Motobike Producer Mulls Legal Action Against Chinese Cos

NEW DELHI, Jan 13 Asia Pulse - Motorcycle giant Bajaj Auto Ltd on Thursday said it was considering legal action against some Chinese companies that are selling a copycat version of its highly successful 'Pulsar' model in Latin America.

"Yes, we are looking at the legal aspect. We are not worried about the copied version as it happens all the time in business... but its important to make a point that intellectual property rights (IPR) and designs are protected," Bajaj Auto managing director Rajiv Bajaj said.

Asked whether the company has any patent on its Digital Twin Spark Ignition (DTS-i) technology, which powers the Pulsar, he said they have already applied for a patent.

Besides design, the Chinese copy has a similar sounding name as well - 'Gulsar', which company officials said could result in confusion among consumers.

Bajaj's Pulsar has been a best-seller in the executive motorcycle segment ever since it was launched in 2001. The company sells two versions of 150 cc and 180 cc.

"We have taken up the matter with various agencies," Bajaj said.

Bajaj said the company exports to many countries in Latin America, one of its major overseas markets, including to Columbia where the Pulsar is the market leader in its segment.

"We had launched our bikes there three years ago...We are selling 700-800 units of Pulsars every month in Columbia," Bajaj added.

(PTI)