By Visordown News

Dealers left wanting Yamaha's funky new trailbike

Visordown Motorcycle News

Yamaha's Tenere is proving a hot seller

FANCY THE new Yamaha XT660Z Tenere? Well don't hang around, stocks are short and there aren't anymore coming into the UK until September. And even then it's not sure if any more will arrive.

Yamaha's dealers have snapped up every Tenere that will be brought into the UK, meaning that if you can't find one in a dealer then you ain't going to get one. Period.

“There are no free dealer orders of the Tenere until September,” confirmed Yamaha UK's Simon Belton. “And even then we are not 100% sure if we will get any more bikes.”

Much like it did with the Fazer 600 last year Yamaha seem to have underestimated the demand for its new model, leaving dealers short on stock.

“The demand was unexpected, but I would say we got it spot on. If at the end of the year we have two bikes left in the UK then I would say we planned it perfectly, but until then it's difficult to say,” said Belton.

According to dealers we spoke to the situation isn't quite as bad as it first sounds. While Yamaha has sold all its stock dealers haven't taken many pre-orders on the bike, but this could soon change when it arrives in the UK in April. “I wouldn't be surprised if they do sell out,” said one dealer, “reaction has been mental from the public.”

So, if you are interested in buying a new Tenere the best advice seems to be don't hang around, get a deposit down now.

==========================================================

And Hong Leong Yamaha are not even interested in bringing them in!!! Shows how much they know about bike demand!! :angry: :angry: :angry:

• Replies 31

what about here in spore?dun u think the yamaha work team focus too much on sportsbike rather than adv bikeS?

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

We seek nothing more,nothing less....just passion.

what about here in spore?dun u think the yamaha work team focus too much on sportsbike rather than adv bikeS?

Maybe it's the price? It'll certainly be an interesting bike to try :cheeky:

http://www.geocities.com/sg_fazer/earth.JPG
Maybe it's the price? It'll certainly be an interesting bike to try :cheeky:

buying a bike to try meaning its just for something you dont need...this statements are for the rich.

buying a bike to own it and to take you to another level is what it should be at the 1st place..this are the statements that an average low income singapore citizen like me.

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/heymonkeyassdoesthisapprovetobeanalbumname/soloride192-1.jpghttp://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s261/khamizAJ/DSC-0049-2-1.jpg

For a person like me who spends his time more facing the monitor than out there doing justice on adventure....

buying a bike to try meaning its just for something you dont need...this statements are for the rich.

buying a bike to own it and to take you to another level is what it should be at the 1st place..this are the statements that an average low income singapore citizen like me.

But .... But .... you own two bikes leh .... some people think that's rich enough ... :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

http://yempaulantonio.blogspot.sg

http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s320x320/409306_10150499195852552_676382551_8519348_2125283426_n.jpg

But .... But .... you own two bikes leh .... some people think that's rich enough ... :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

3...but all add up...with my wedding money all in...still not enuff to buy your one Big Machine that Whines leh...hehe:angel:

Haha ... bro hutang bro hutang .... anyway we all are rich in one way or another ... hope your wedding preps are going on fine ... :cheeky:

http://yempaulantonio.blogspot.sg

http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s320x320/409306_10150499195852552_676382551_8519348_2125283426_n.jpg

fine...its fine...back to topic...:cheeky:

I was at HL last fri, apparently they mentioned tt it wouldnt be in til May.

Its still in the consideration stage if the machine will be on our shores

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k127/jytheorem/SV%20-%20Skinzo/SV_jy.gif http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k127/jytheorem/jy_sv.jpg

Wonder y my ST11 dun look as good as my SV...

I was at HL last fri, apparently they mentioned tt it wouldnt be in til May.

Its still in the consideration stage if the machine will be on our shores

really?

i made the phonecall to them 3-4mths ago regards this bike...they,Yamaha agent of Spore,not even aware of this bike...and sounds like they are not interested to hear more or even to find out what i am talking about...

there's some hope left.... :pray:

if it really happening...there is still hope for me to buy it after my wedding...:cheeky:

The bandit have to go...and this masterpiece have to come in...:thumb:

if it really happening...there is still hope for me to buy it after my wedding...:cheeky:

The bandit have to go...and this masterpiece have to come in...:thumb:

and then start the adventure poser club.... :p

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

Beautiful bike!

Reliable single cylinder, Rallye styling...a sure winner!

Official Site for Tenere

Official Tenere Trailer

http://www.yamaha-motor.be/french/Images/2008-XT660Z-Tenere-action-01_tcm31-208312.jpg

Understand Honda has released a 2008 Honda Transalp. Wonder if it'll make its way here?

http://www.motorcycledaily.com/092707top.jpg

Someday, home will be where my front wheel points.

Astride a 2002 Yamaha Fazer FZS600

Features -

* Follow imagination

* Rally raid bodywork

* 22-litre fuel tank for long-range riding

* Tough steel frame & aluminium swingarm

* Range of great accessories available

Engine -

Engine type Liquid-cooled, 4-stroke, 4-valve, single cylinder, SOHC

Displacement 660 cc

Bore x stroke 100.0 x 84.0 mm

Compression ratio 10.0:1

Maximum power Max. power 35.6 kW (48.4 PS) @ 6,100 rpm

Maximum torque Max torque 57.5 Nm (5.87 kg-m) @ 5,500 rpm

Lubrication system Dry sump

Fuel System Fuel injection

Clutch type Wet, multiple-disc coil spring

Ignition system TCI

Starter system Electric

Transmission system Constant mesh, 5 speed

Final transmission Chain

Fuel tank capacity 22 L

Oil tank capacity 2.9 L

Chassis -

Chassis: Steel tube diamond shaped

Front suspension system Telescopic forks

Front travel 210 mm

Rear suspension system Swingarm (monocross)

Rear travel 200 mm

Front brake Double disc, Ø 298 mm

Rear brake Single disc, Ø 245 mm

Front tyre 90/90-21 M/C

Rear tyre 130/80-17 M/C

Dimensions -

Length 2,246 mm

Width 865 mm

Height 1,477 mm

Seat height 895 mm

Wheel base 1,505 mm

Minimum ground clearance 245 mm

Dry weight 183 kg

i got two bikes myself. and i assure you, i am not rich.

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

and then start the adventure poser club.... :p

so come join me sissy...:faint:

damn mr lee haiz but can't blame him 100per cent cos its really HL if they decide to bring it in - cos now i've already put deposit for Versys since the Tenere's plans to reach here seems bleak. but i dun wanna regret buying the Versys only to find out that the bike will indeed arrive here in may. if timing is good then i just transfer over the Versys deposit to the Tenere. but all this still wishful thinking lah

Actually, I fail to understand why HL isn' getting excited about bringing the Tenere to SG.

There are strong commercial reasons to import it.

1) ATs are becoming few and far between these days. The Tenere could fill this gap.

2) BMW does manage to sell quite a few 650s so obviously there is a market for a range like this. Not everyone is going for a BMW for the badge, right.

3) It's going to be a great bike with the current traffic and petrol prices.

Might not sell as many pieces as the R6 but it'll definitely sell more than a few. And if HL still needs convincing, I don;t mind moonlighting on weekends and after hours for them!

haha...sure....

keep me updated if this bike really coming in....

ok set...if its really hitting the shore...i assure you,next yr Jan or Feb i go buy...you also better buy hor...dont saboh...i think i go with either the white or the khaki...:thumb:

On the subject of Adventure poser bike, how's this one ?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/P3020784.jpg

woohoo...that's a Big Red Poser...

I heard the owner is very handsome...

Actually, I fail to understand why HL isn' getting excited about bringing the Tenere to SG.

There are strong commercial reasons to import it.

1) ATs are becoming few and far between these days. The Tenere could fill this gap.

2) BMW does manage to sell quite a few 650s so obviously there is a market for a range like this. Not everyone is going for a BMW for the badge, right.

3) It's going to be a great bike with the current traffic and petrol prices.

Might not sell as many pieces as the R6 but it'll definitely sell more than a few. And if HL still needs convincing, I don;t mind moonlighting on weekends and after hours for them!

that's my concern too...at least they could try bring at least 10...

just like the XR650R...

it might not be the talk of the town...but it will sure make that little bunch of maniacs happy to own it for years and years..

i bet this bike will last more than 10yrs...:thumb: