Originally posted by newbie@Jun 28 2005, 09:54 PM

maybe Combine, heard good reviews abt it, but its a bit far for me as im living in the east. or maybe Planet... but Ah Chong seems to dislike svcing carbs...

wad abt u?

Most likely will be combine or sanfu. But not sure of the route to sanfu, got to check it out. Btw, many thanks to William Tan and Kaginah for their valuable advise.:thumb:

• Replies 158

Recently just service my carb

but when tunning the guy just used free hand

is this correct for S4????

or must used some kind of meter guage so all the

4 carb at tuned correctly

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/761/57308432007oj7.th.jpg

Hi fellow bikers

I'm currently riding on a spec III 04. 2 mths back i install a yoshi endcan on my

bike.Power increased and everything was normal till i replaced K&N air filter with the stock filter. I felt power losses,slower pick up and engine running much rougher. I suspect that the engine timing is out. Anyone know where can i conduct engine tuning at a reputable motortiam using those electrical type?

Originally posted by Epredator@Feb 22 2006, 05:25 PM

Bro wat's tat tuning machine called. Issit call dynojet :confused:

Nope. Dynojet is one of the brand names for aftermarket jet kits.

They dun really use a tuning machine to tune ur carbs, it's juz a digital vacuum meter to gauge ya carbs balancing n CO test machine to test ya CO emission efficiency. Carbs tuning is done manually.

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m200/wsrider/DE_MOD.jpg

Honda CB400 SF Hyper Vtec & Suzuki K6 Hayabusa GSX1300R

ok ppl, wanna ask u guys and gals. when u change the stock can to any end can like yoshi or any other brands, must we not do the setting on our carb? we wanna our bike to perform rite? dats why u guys change can rite? to feel the peak of the bike perfomance. So should we or not to do the setting? Godspeed !

http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r46/aristz/IMG_0178.jpg

(He is) Watchful and Seeing over all things. He is the Living, the Self Subsisting, no slumber can seize Him nor sleep. ( Surah 2 Al Baqarah verse 255 )

Originally posted by Rado@Sep 25 2006, 02:39 PM

Dont think have much diff unless you change full system then you do tuning. Did not do tuning when my bike change endcan.

Some biker once said " If u haven't been to Gerik, U haven't been touring in Malaysia".

juz change my endcan to yoshi few days ago.. my bike more pickup but a bit sluggish at the end. when trottle too fast the bike like wanna die like dat.. sometimes start bike will haf a soft backfire.. mine confirm need to go for tuning liao

Last Time I Oso Encounter BackFire... But I Don Think Is The Tuning Prob... Guys Any Idea Wat Causing It?

December 2004 - June 2006 - NSR SP150 - FU2267C

June 2006 - January 2009 - S4 Spec III - FBA5351A

January 2009 - **** - FZ1s - F*2323*

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y243/xiaojoo/IMG_0307.jpg

Originally posted by JoOs7eR@Sep 25 2006, 08:13 PM

Last Time I Oso Encounter BackFire... But I Don Think Is The Tuning Prob... Guys Any Idea Wat Causing It?

it must be the tuning bro..the airflow is not normal...like the stock end can..:smile:

Some biker once said " If u haven't been to Gerik, U haven't been touring in Malaysia".

Originally posted by sabbaha@Sep 25 2006, 07:31 PM

it must be the tuning bro..the airflow is not normal...like the stock end can..:smile:

OoO.. Didnt Knew That... Thanks :smile:

December 2004 - June 2006 - NSR SP150 - FU2267C

June 2006 - January 2009 - S4 Spec III - FBA5351A

January 2009 - **** - FZ1s - F*2323*

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y243/xiaojoo/IMG_0307.jpg

Backfiring is too rich. Tuning will solve the problem... Funny. When I change my end-can everything still ok ley...

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1055/527481558_8975eefe29_m.jpg

Dec00 - Aug03 : Honda Phantom TA150

Aug03 - Feb06 : Honda CBR400RR L-model

Oct03 - Mar04 : Honda NC35 RVF400RR

Feb06 - Oct06 : Honda CB400 HyperVtec

Oct06 - Sep07 : Honda NC35 RVF400RS

Sep07 - Now : Alfa Romeo 147 1.6 T.Spark

u have to retune the carbs when u change to aftermarket endcan as u might encounter flat spots....since the aftermarket baffle is different from the stock endcan.....examples backfire, flatspots and u might notice the fc will decrease. Retuning the carbs will fully utilise the aftermarket endcan ie better pickup, easily revving of the rpm. U can also use dynojet stage 1 or rejetting of the jet nozzles in the carbs (bigger nozzles) and changing the position of the needles for better performance .....after market endcans esp those not for road use (non LTA Certified) normally has a start thru baffle system unlike stock...thats why its more noisy and cannot pass LTA strict standard of noise pollution. But of course if u want max fc its better to stick to stock endcans and no need to worry about roadblocks or the boys in white chasing u....hehhehe...

but sometimes some ppl just change to aftermarket endcan and they don't feel any of these symtoms like backfire or flatspot....but its better to retune the carbs anyway to maximise the powerband of the new endcan. Also its better to change to aftermarket air filters like KNN or BMC and performance high performance plugs helps also.

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y227/WingZer0/Interceptor/TailLight-1.jpg

Wingzero said is correct.

Once u change endcan, full system, air-filter to K&N carbs MUST be tuned to achieve best results.

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.

Originally posted by WingZer0@Sep 25 2006, 11:09 PM

u have to retune the carbs when u change to aftermarket endcan as u might encounter flat spots....since the aftermarket baffle is different from the stock endcan.....examples backfire, flatspots and u might notice the fc will decrease. Retuning the carbs will fully utilise the aftermarket endcan ie better pickup, easily revving of the rpm. U can also use dynojet stage 1 or rejetting of the jet nozzles in the carbs (bigger nozzles) and changing the position of the needles for better performance .....after market endcans esp those not for road use (non LTA Certified) normally has a start thru baffle system unlike stock...thats why its more noisy and cannot pass LTA strict standard of noise pollution. But of course if u want max fc its better to stick to stock endcans and no need to worry about roadblocks or the boys in white chasing u....hehhehe...

but sometimes some ppl just change to aftermarket endcan and they don't feel any of these symtoms like backfire or flatspot....but its better to retune the carbs anyway to maximise the powerband of the new endcan. Also its better to change to aftermarket air filters like KNN or BMC and performance high performance plugs helps also.

Exactly bro! :thumb: Good interpretation of yours! :cheeky: Anyway I'm using BMC air filter..just! just! just! waiting for the full system to keep it rolling! :cheeky:

Originally posted by lindavw@Sep 26 2006, 06:12 AM

Wingzero said is correct.

Once u change endcan, full system, air-filter to K&N carbs MUST be tuned to achieve best results.

well, it is recommended that you retune and do a dyno run to confirm the settings are correct and there are really power gain...

for my full system, did not retune cos my bike is new when i installed... furthermore, already changed to K&N, grounding and revtec... performance wise, i say it is already at optimum...

even my friend who has a newer bike and change end can say he can feel the significant difference between mine and his... jokingly, i told him, 'that's the $1k difference'... kekeke...

but sold my S4 already... kind of mine the sweet sound when vtec opens!

just for information, for yoshi, they actually optimised the gain at the high end... as the expense of low end power...

in short, high end POWER! (esp when vtec kick in) low end WORST then stock...

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by WingZer0@Sep 25 2006, 10:09 PM

well said.... :thumb: :thumb:

Originally posted by kennethy@Sep 26 2006, 06:38 PM

well, it is recommended that you retune and do a dyno run to confirm the settings are correct and there are really power gain...

for my full system, did not retune cos my bike is new when i installed... furthermore, already changed to K&N, grounding and revtec... performance wise, i say it is already at optimum...

even my friend who has a newer bike and change end can say he can feel the significant difference between mine and his... jokingly, i told him, 'that's the $1k difference'... kekeke...

but sold my S4 already... kind of mine the sweet sound when vtec opens!

just for information, for yoshi, they actually optimised the gain at the high end... as the expense of low end power...

in short, high end POWER! (esp when vtec kick in) low end WORST then stock...

thanks for the info! :smile:

Originally posted by WingZer0@Sep 25 2006, 10:09 PM

Salam! well said ppl! hope this topic will benefit all those who read this. As you see, when u guys have lots of tour around malaysia and some to thailand, it's best dat we set or tune or bike. to feel the performance of the bike. Thanks to those who share their knowledge in this topic. thanks again. GODSPEED !

http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r46/aristz/IMG_0178.jpg

(He is) Watchful and Seeing over all things. He is the Living, the Self Subsisting, no slumber can seize Him nor sleep. ( Surah 2 Al Baqarah verse 255 )