[Group] SUZUKI Bandit

Originally posted by jkaiser@Feb 17 2005, 10:22 PM

ok i'm not sure about this, but y do u assume that RP is poor oil... pampering bike is one thing, but @ the expense of burning ur own pocket, esp when i'm a student..i think twice ;)

As for me, I dun really agree to wat u say. My statement will be d same as S750WP. I will change gd stuff on my bike n dun think I will save $$ in any part tat need to be used on d bike. I always wan my things to be perfect, free from any problem. Dun wish to call tow truck in d middle on d road....

Just my 2 cents worth of comments. Dun get offended huh...

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

• Replies 8.5k

Originally posted by kata_killer@Feb 18 2005, 12:16 AM

As for me, I dun really agree to wat u say. My statement will be d same as S750WP. I will change gd stuff on my bike n dun think I will save $$ in any part tat need to be used on d bike. I always wan my things to be perfect, free from any problem. Dun wish to call tow truck in d middle on d road....

Just my 2 cents worth of comments. Dun get offended huh...

eh no problem..it's a forum..we all have our own views...well i dun think i'm ill-treating my bike, since i bought it, i've been changing parts bit by bit..and even though i dun do own servicing i've learnt alot from u ppl here...i just feel that i should not spend excessivly on bike and cause myself to suffer in other areas.. got extra money then spend lor...if not..wait for money to come in lah :D

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

NUS Students' Motorcycling Interest Group "NUSRiders" Forum

Originally posted by jkaiser@Feb 18 2005, 12:50 AM

eh no problem..it's a forum..we all have our own views...well i dun think i'm ill-treating my bike, since i bought it, i've been changing parts bit by bit..and even though i dun do own servicing i've learnt alot from u ppl here...i just feel that i should not spend excessivly on bike and cause myself to suffer in other areas.. got extra money then spend lor...if not..wait for money to come in lah :D

I agree... Since u r student dun spend too much on bike... Cos u dun earn or get much pocket $$$... Unles u r rich then different story lor...

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs206.snc1/7318_149796798969_678363969_2636864_1182252_n.jpg

BURN RUBBER NOT YOUR SOUL - My 3 babies

Originally posted by jkaiser@Feb 18 2005, 12:50 AM

Sorry if I offended you, I never say RP is a bad oil because I have never use it before.

I am only making a suggestion maybe you can try other better oil (that has good review among bikers) to see if it help in your gear shifting problem so as to avoid the hefty cost of clutch repair. Also I did not imply that you are ill treating your bike, I only make this joke to Kenneth.

Btw I'm am not rich also and I'm doing my bike bit by bit like you. I was a student like you before and I know $$ dun come easy.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 18 2005, 02:17 AM

Sorry if I offended you, I never say RP is a bad oil because I have never use it before.

I am only making a suggestion maybe you can try other better oil (that has good review among bikers) to see if it help in your gear shifting problem so as to avoid the hefty cost of clutch repair. Also I did not imply that you are ill treating your bike, I only make this joke to Kenneth.

Btw I'm am not rich also and I'm doing my bike bit by bit like you. I was a student like you before and I know $$ dun come easy.

eh no problem lah...RP got quite a few good reviews in sbf, of cos cannot compare to repsol, fuchs...but factor in the price..u get a good bang for ur buck..

pat,i not rich kid..haha..so that answers the qn...

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

NUS Students' Motorcycling Interest Group "NUSRiders" Forum

Here is the astonishing result I got today,

Clutch spring length (service limit 31mm)

32.17mm

32.11mm

32.12mm

32.16mm

32.14mm

Analysis: All in good shape and reuseable.

Cluch plate warp (service limit 0.004")

5 out of 7 metal plate fail the test when place on a flat granite stone and check with a 0.004" feeler gauge.

Analysis: Must replace.

Drive plate thickness (service limit 2.6mm)

2.96 - 3.00mm

2.94 - 2.97mm

2.97 - 3.04mm

2.95 - 2.97mm

2.95 - 2.98mm

2.93 - 2.94mm

2.96 - 3.02mm

Drive plate claw width (service limit 11mm)

All of them above 11mm between 11.8-12mm

Standard drive plate thickness or the fibre plate is 2.90 - 3.10mm and the claw width is 11.8-12mm which means my fibre plates are as good as new.

Analysis: Reuseable but may consider changing them together with the metal plates.

Now I am left with the clutch sleeve hub to check.

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 18 2005, 07:34 PM

Here is the astonishing result I got today,

Clutch spring length (service limit 31mm)

32.17mm

32.11mm

32.12mm

32.16mm

32.14mm

Analysis: All in good shape and reuseable.

Cluch plate warp (service limit 0.004")

5 out of 7 metal plate fail the test when place on a flat granite stone and check with a 0.004" feeler gauge.

Analysis: Must replace.

Drive plate thickness (service limit 2.6mm)

2.96 - 3.00mm

2.94 - 2.97mm

2.97 - 3.04mm

2.95 - 2.97mm

2.95 - 2.98mm

2.93 - 2.94mm

2.96 - 3.02mm

Drive plate claw width (service limit 11mm)

All of them above 11mm between 11.8-12mm

Standard drive plate thickness or the fibre plate is 2.90 - 3.10mm and the claw width is 11.8-12mm which means my fibre plates are as good as new.

Analysis: Reuseable but may consider changing them together with the metal plates.

Now I am left with the clutch sleeve hub to check.

hmm why u do your clutch? Your clutch got problem?

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs206.snc1/7318_149796798969_678363969_2636864_1182252_n.jpg

Originally posted by DatsunKing@Feb 19 2005, 12:46 AM

hmm why u do your clutch? Your clutch got problem?

Hard to shift neutral and gear down when the bike is hot, anyway I was going to change engine oil so open the clutch cover to see what's wrong.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Read on some reviews by bikers about RP motor oil. Please take no offence, just for information sharing. :peace: :cheeky:

Royal Purple

I think I will give RP Max cycle (not RP motor oil) a shot after I put in new clutch plates.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 19 2005, 01:15 AM

Hard to shift neutral and gear down when the bike is hot, anyway I was going to change engine oil so open the clutch cover to see what's wrong.

Change to good engine oil can liao...

Originally posted by DatsunKing@Feb 19 2005, 04:30 AM

Change to good engine oil can liao...

Previously I use Repsol engine oil and adjust the clutch free play, it improves but the problem is still there when the bike heats up. Then I switch to Total, since its cheap and if I don't like it I can drain it out anytime, initially was ok after a while engine very rough, bike heats up easily and clutch shifting becomes difficult, mileage use approx 1000km or 2 mths.

I guess the warp clutch metal plates are warping more when its hot and they push against the fibre plate even though I clutch in, hence the difficulty in gear shifting, but there is no clutch slip because the clutch fibre plate and clutch spring is still ok.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by Lcbear350@Feb 19 2005, 01:17 PM

:sweat: now a proud owner of Riderz's bandit. hope to learn some stuff from u guys. i have always been a 2 stroke man so need to learn a lot from u all. :sweat:

Welcome to the bandit club dude, I saw your nick at sg tech riders before, you done up and riding the RD350 rite??

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

thanks.. yes, i was from STR last time. the 31k still with me. tempted to sell but can't bear to let it go. now still in pieces building up slowly. hope we can meet up some day and ask MJ to come along too. needed the bandit for transport as i intend to use my WR200 for more serious trail purposes.

seems like my bandit has a lil loose head bearings. will tighten and see if it helps the handling cuz it seems to turn a bit wierd. the tire pressure was checked already. intend to change fork oil ratings also. too soft liao.

www.facebook.com/B2Werkz

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 17 2005, 09:15 AM

GO back and complain to the boss Ah Chong. Anyway the Bandit fork spring are weak in the first place, if got $$ can change to a better after market one. I read from the old Bandit post there is a guy, DCspare, selling off his Bandit fork spring and rear shock for Bandit1200 maybe can fit onto your bike.

Dont think can. I contact this guy before. His parts are for Bandit12 and is aftermaket (better than stock type). The spring length is longer and stronger than our stock 600 type. The shock is a binto (spelling error) shock with cylinder. His bandit is the 1st generator bandit, different from sgss 2nd generation therefore possiblity of no match. However can check up the binto (spelling error) webpage which they got state the model and length for different bikes to see if got a match.

I just realised something.

Life is not difficult. Its the people around who makes life seems difficult. :|

Originally posted by sgss@Feb 17 2005, 09:09 AM

silver,

maybe got to see your bike to compare, cuz i got no knowledge of bandit/suzuki at all. i used to ride hornet 600 till i sold it. just take over this 600 from my bro few months back only.

just got my fork stuffs done at planet motor. not sure y but still feels the suspension not good esp when i turn (i don't do cornering :nono:  )

This is a 1st gen naked bandit http://goldwing.bikepics.net/suz-gsf600-96-bikepics-01448.jpg

and a 1st gen half-naked bandit http://goldwing.bikepics.net/suz-gsf600-96-bikepics-02758.jpg

and a 2nd gen half-naked bandit http://goldwing.bikepics.net/suz-gsf600-00-bikepics-11297.jpg

Can different the 2 generation from the side panel and frame/fuel tank. 1st gen similar to Diversion frame

Btw,HOw is the bandit performance compared to the hornet?

guys recently me go survey for bandit 400...

why some got single disc n sum double disc brake huh?(front)

anyway heard the brakin system no gd....

anymore cons? tout of trading my phantom soon for 400cc bike...

http://www.suzukicycles.org/photos/concept/G-Strider/G-Strider_bw2_450.jpg
Originally posted by Lcbear350@Feb 20 2005, 01:05 AM

thanks.. yes, i was from STR last time. the 31k still with me. tempted to sell but can't bear to let it go. now still in pieces building up slowly. hope we can meet up some day and ask MJ to come along too. needed the bandit for transport as i intend to use my WR200 for more serious trail purposes.

seems like my bandit has a lil loose head bearings. will tighten and see if it helps the handling cuz it seems to turn a bit wierd. the tire pressure was checked already. intend to change fork oil ratings also. too soft liao.

The original fork oil was 10w, I change to 15w fork oil, the fork is better now. Also I installed 93 gsxr750 on my bandit, preload, rebound and compression setting is adjustable. I pump my front tire 1 psi higher than spec to make the steering quicker.

I met MJ twice, but din see him post on the forum for a long time, last heard he was riding a shadow400.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by silver@Feb 20 2005, 03:29 AM

1st gen half-naked bandit http://goldwing.bikepics.net/suz-gsf600-96-bikepics-02758.jpg

Btw,HOw is the bandit performance compared to the hornet?

I like the naked version and the 2nd generation half fairing model, the other one looks weird and the color scheme I dont like.

I have rode the hornet600 at bbdc when taking class 2, the bike engine is silky smooth and the bike is beautiful. If I have the $$ I would choose the hornet but the bandit600 is the best value for money.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by faradona@Feb 20 2005, 12:41 PM

guys recently me go survey for bandit 400...

why some got single disc n sum double disc brake huh?(front)

anyway heard the brakin system no gd....

anymore cons? tout of trading my phantom soon for 400cc bike...

The double disc ones are Bandit400V with variable valve, something like Vtec. The single disc is Bandit400.

Bandit400 cheaper to maintain, because only single front disc and the valve clerance can easily DIY.

My advice get the Bandit400V the bike is newer, the curves on the bike is nicer and more powerful. Its even more rare than the Bandit 400.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 20 2005, 01:09 PM

I like the naked version and the 2nd generation half fairing model, the other one looks weird and the color scheme I dont like.

I have rode the hornet600 at bbdc when taking class 2, the bike engine is silky smooth and the bike is beautiful. If I have the $$ I would choose the hornet but the bandit600 is the best value for money.

initially i was looking for the 2nd gen half-fairing version but no one selling. that time all i found was the 1st gen. at first look does look abit weird but after looking at it everyday, finds that it doesnt look so bad at all........ :cheeky: oni complain is the front fairing too small.

actually my bike look better on the left side w/o pipe then right side. the design of the pipe kind of spolit the look.

Originally posted by silver@Feb 20 2005, 01:41 PM

initially i was looking for the 2nd gen half-fairing version but no one selling. that time all i found was the 1st gen. at first look does look abit weird but after looking at it everyday, finds that it doesnt look so bad at all........ :cheeky: oni complain is the front fairing too small.

actually my bike look better on the left side w/o pipe then right side. the design of the pipe kind of spolit the look.

Your pipe looks exactly like my old gsxr750. Can try and send to SK (not Soo Kee) and ask then to rewrap the pipe for you. Or get a aftermarket exhaust pipe. I still have my yoshi for my old bike, maybe it can fit your bandit600 also.

For the head fairing maybe can try to use the 2nd gen bandit mod abit and fit onto your bike.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 20 2005, 01:07 PM

The original fork oil was 10w, I change to 15w fork oil, the fork is better now. Also I installed 93 gsxr750 on my bandit, preload, rebound and compression setting is adjustable. I pump my front tire 1 psi higher than spec to make the steering quicker.

I met MJ twice, but din see him post on the forum for a long time, last heard he was riding a shadow400.

will try to change the oil these few days. MJ is still riding the shadow. will post pics once the bike is done.

www.facebook.com/B2Werkz

Originally posted by Lcbear350@Feb 20 2005, 01:51 PM

will try to change the oil these few days. MJ is still riding the shadow. will post pics once the bike is done.

You changing the fork oil yourself?? the Bandit400 service manaul is in the old post try to back trek abit. If not I can post it again.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 20 2005, 01:51 PM

Your pipe looks exactly like my old gsxr750. Can try and send to SK (not Soo Kee) and ask then to rewrap the pipe for you. Or get a aftermarket exhaust pipe. I still have my yoshi for my old bike, maybe it can fit your bandit600 also.

For the head fairing maybe can try to use the 2nd gen bandit mod abit and fit onto your bike.

i thought of rewrapping before. I call up LTA, lied that my endcan buang untill jialut and since very old model cannot find stock pipe, can i rewrap pipe and pass inspection at road block (incase). the blur LTA fellow who doesnt ride bike (ask me send my "honda" down) say must go there let them inspection then know whether pass or not. i never go down.

My office very near Ubi and i pass by TP everyday so dont want to put on yoshi pipe. btw, my endcan is welded to the midpipe so i dont think your yoshi can put on my bike. I might as well put a bandit1200 pipe and midpipe, just blur the model type and put in bandit600. :cheeky: i rather save my $500 fine :smile:

Mod for the head fairing? no lah...frame different. last thing i want when i ride fast is to have the head fairing shaking and fly off :cheeky: