[Group] SUZUKI Bandit

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 20 2005, 01:51 PM

For the head fairing maybe can try to use the 2nd gen bandit mod abit and fit onto your bike.

Quote from a bandit forum

To my knowlege, i am the only one to have done a 1st -> 2nd generation Bandit fairing change-over.

It can be done, but it isn't an 'easy' mod.. there are a number of things you are going to need to do to make this work.

#1 - shim fork springs/go to 15 weight fork oil - You are suspending 35 lbs farther forward and higher over the front axle, than the stock 15 lb fairing burdens the front end with.

#2 - the 2nd generation fairing subframe mount is directly mountable to the first generation headstock tabs. The undertank side panel mount brackets are not. The brackets you'll need to fabricate are pretty darn intricate, and you'll prolly not be bothered to attempt making them - the good news - i've gone a year without them, and honestly, i see no need for them (can't use them in the usual position anyway, my Shindy steering dampner is directly in the way on the left hand side). Headlight aim/angle is pretty close to the 1st gen fairing as a direct bolt on.

#3 - You WILL need to trim the side-panels and the fairing surround back 1/2 - 2/3" in contour, where it meets the gas tank, to 'shorten' up the fairing a bit, no biggy, just will mean you'll prolly need to repaint the fairing after the fact.

#4 - You'll need to cobble together an adapter wiring harness for the 1st gen headlight dual beam H4 to the 2nd gen headlight individual beams. I got my wiring connections/headlight plugs from Canadian Tire (equiv. of US pep-boys) for under $10.00 and a few minutes with a soldering iron.

#5 - Instrument clusters - 1st and 2nd gen instrument gauges are totally incompatable - 2nd gen speedo runs off of the engine countershaft sensor, while the 1st gen runs off of the front wheel - 1st gen instruments are mechanical, 2nd gen are electronic/circuit board shallow mount type in the fairing - I retained my 1st gen instruments, and fabricated a fiberglass cover over where the instruments mounted on the 2nd generation fairing.

Thats all that really stands out at the moment in terms of the conversion process.

That is not easy job, maybe S750WP can lah, and not include trying a find a 2nd gen head fairing to experiment. Buy from ebay should cost me a lot for the shipping :cheeky:

Europe ppl really very free and on in moding their bikes.

I just realised something.

Life is not difficult. Its the people around who makes life seems difficult. :|

• Replies 8.5k

Originally posted by silver@Feb 20 2005, 04:33 PM

i thought of rewrapping before. I call up LTA, lied that my endcan buang untill jialut and since very old model cannot find stock pipe, can i rewrap pipe and pass inspection at road block (incase). the blur LTA fellow who doesnt ride bike (ask me send my "honda" down) say must go there let them inspection then know whether pass or not. i never go down.

My office very near Ubi and i pass by TP everyday so dont want to put on yoshi pipe. btw, my endcan is welded to the midpipe so i dont think your yoshi can put on my bike. I might as well put a bandit1200 pipe and midpipe, just blur the model type and put in bandit600. :cheeky: i rather save my $500 fine :smile:

Mod for the head fairing? no lah...frame different. last thing i want when i ride fast is to have the head fairing shaking and fly off :cheeky:

Rewrap exhaust ne need to seek approval unless you are modifying the pipe. I wrote to LTA last time and told them my gsxr750 exhaust rusty and got hole, bike too old unable to find spare. And I seek their approval to install yoshimura.

They replied me I need to get original manufacturer emission spec of the yoshimura pipe and suzuki dealer letter to ascertain spare parts are no longer available.

In the end I gave up because yoshimura america unable to provide me the spec because they no longer made the pipe for my bike. And when I check with GH, they say pipe still available.

If the head faring mod is too diff then go for the naked look and installed Givi windshield. Anyway your bike also quite rare on the road, aside from your I saw a dark green one at the mosque on dunlop street, so leave it as it it.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Just got all the 5 capacitors solder on the CDI board now need to fix the clutch first before can test spare CDI.

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 20 2005, 02:12 PM

You changing the fork oil yourself?? the Bandit400 service manaul is in the old post try to back trek abit. If not I can post it again.

yah, the STR motto mah. " if the motodiam can do it, so can u! :cheeky:

Riderz passed me his printed copy of the manual liao, so no worries for mistakes.

juz got back from JB also. went there to wash bike. big mistake. forget the bike sensitive to water, but the bike starts. then have to keep the rubber protection for the plug caps open to let the water evaporate. now bike is ok liao. gonna do LED taillights next.

www.facebook.com/B2Werkz

So mine is the 1st gen one...

Its true that my old hornet 600 is better than this current bike, in terms of bike handling, pick up etc. The rear tyre(hornet) also bigger and more sporty, seat is lower, bike lighter, shape nicer... Thus I'm able to sell it when I need some cash back then. :sian:

However, its oil tank is smaller. The one went oversea with us needs to pump every 200-km (not include reserve) and his top speed indicating 180 cannot be break (unless u go modify)

sg

Originally posted by Lcbear350@Feb 20 2005, 09:56 PM

yah, the STR motto mah. " if the motodiam can do it, so can u! :cheeky:

Riderz passed me his printed copy of the manual liao, so no worries for mistakes.

juz got back from JB also. went there to wash bike. big mistake. forget the bike sensitive to water, but the bike starts. then have to keep the rubber protection for the plug caps open to let the water evaporate. now bike is ok liao. gonna do LED taillights next.

You getting the transparent tail light cover?? The LED tail light no need to DIY, saw someone selling the LED rear brake bulb for $12 at yahoo auction, just plug and play only.

I let the bikeshop to handle the fork, because I dun have the tool to grip the damper and loosen the nut at the bottom to change the fork oil seal.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 20 2005, 11:27 PM

You getting the transparent tail light cover?? The LED tail light no need to DIY, saw someone selling the LED rear brake bulb for $12 at yahoo auction, just plug and play only.

I let the bikeshop to handle the fork, because I dun have the tool to grip the damper and loosen the nut at the bottom to change the fork oil seal.

I need d bandit400 transparent cover, but still cannot find leh. As for d LED bulb, U can go to motoworld to get. They selling at $10. Just plug in n go... I have done tat on my bike liao, only thing d cover is not transparent, or else it will look better.

Sad to say, My bike was being hit by a car at East coast park, at a parking lots. I was not there, likely got someone saw d whole incident n become my withness. The driver herself, just walk off d car n pretend tat nothing has happen.

When d eye withness show me d way she walk n found her, I approach her n asked her is she d car driver of the no plate ...... then she say no. I asked her again, then she say, can we talk? Sucks up rite?

My new Fork which I have change abt 1 mth ago, is gone. My new box, not even a week, also gone... Sian. N lots more damage... 2morrow going to IDAC n take photo. See hw much I can claim from her insurance....

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

Originally posted by kata_killer@Feb 20 2005, 11:53 PM

I need d bandit400 transparent cover, but still cannot find leh. As for d LED bulb, U can go to motoworld to get. They selling at $10. Just plug in n go... I have done tat on my bike liao, only thing d cover is not transparent, or else it will look better.

Sad to say, My bike was being hit by a car at East coast park, at a parking lots. I was not there, likely got someone saw d whole incident n become my withness. The driver herself, just walk off d car n pretend tat nothing has happen.

When d eye withness show me d way she walk n found her, I approach her n asked her is she d car driver of the no plate ...... then she say no. I asked her again, then she say, can we talk? Sucks up rite?

My new Fork which I have change abt 1 mth ago, is gone. My new box, not even a week, also gone... Sian. N lots more damage... 2morrow going to IDAC n take photo. See hw much I can claim from her insurance....

Woman drivers...I was almost knocked down by one at ECP when she is tokking on her HP. When I turn around and stare back at her, she give me the look...what the fcuk you looking at??

Luckily you got eye witness, claim from her car insurance and get all new parts replace. Maybe can get a new paintwerk for your bike too.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Yeah man... Get a new paint job!!! Spray those super nice pattern lolz... New box, new forks!!!! Everything new.... Just kidding...

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs206.snc1/7318_149796798969_678363969_2636864_1182252_n.jpg

BURN RUBBER NOT YOUR SOUL - My 3 babies

then u can claim her until like the bandit in ur signature link

2003 - 2004 -->TA200 -- FW9**8Y

2004 - 2005 --> Rvf -- FQ****R

2005 - 2006 --> Cbr 954 -- Fw 3**6 B

2006 - 2007 --> Cbr 954 , Wave , Vios '07

2007 - Now --> Vios '07

If U CaN't CaTcH Up WiF Mi PlS StAy BeHiNd N EnJoY ThE ViEw

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/7070/rvfgroup5cy.jpg

A picture speaks a thousand words, found this B4 clutch plate replacement from the german website

http://www.spaceserver.de/gsf400/pics/clutch1.jpg

http://www.spaceserver.de/gsf400/pics/clutch2.jpg

http://www.spaceserver.de/gsf400/pics/clutch3.jpg

http://www.spaceserver.de/gsf400/pics/clutch4.jpg

http://www.spaceserver.de/gsf400/pics/clutch5.jpg

http://www.spaceserver.de/gsf400/pics/clutch7.jpg

http://www.spaceserver.de/gsf400/pics/clutch8.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

ladies driver sux...i think this lady got no character. knock liao dont dare to

admit. shameless gal. haha...hopefully can see ur bike fully replaced.

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11141/a.JPGhttp://www.riden420.50megs.com/GIXXER.gif

BURN RUBBER NOT YOUR SOUL

I got the clutch plates from KS and Motul semi-syn engine oil from Mah motorparts today, total damage $156.

I walk into KS and greeted the old man behind the desk. Initailly the uncle on the counter ask for $85 for the 8 fibre plates and $6.50 ea for the metal plates (7 pcs). Then the old man beckon the uncle to charge me $120 ($10.50 discount) and ask me to change the clutch springs as well, $4 ea for better clutch operations. I bargain with him for the clutch spring but he refue to relent, so I decline his offer nicely and went to Mah after paying $120.

One thing to note is the metal plates got some rust on it, the uncle says its grease and I dont want to rebutt him, anyway they came off easily after I polish them with ultra fine steel wool. The metal plates must have stock up in KS for a very long time.

Mah is selling the Motul5100 semi-syn oil for $13.50 per bot but I told the auntie I changing the oil myself, and she charge me $12 per bot. I bought 3 bot (total discount $4.50)

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Oh, yea.

Sorry guys, forgot to intro LCbear.

Had to let him take care of the bandit.

Know him since we were on 2 wheels without engine.

Anyway, a van and 2 bikes are too much to handle.

Going crazy scheduling which weekend for which vehicle.

Originally posted by riDerz@Feb 21 2005, 09:54 PM

Oh, yea.

Sorry guys, forgot to intro LCbear.

Had to let him take care of the bandit.

Know him since we were on 2 wheels without engine.

Anyway, a van and 2 bikes are too much to handle.

Going crazy scheduling which weekend for which vehicle.

How much did you sell for the bandit? I saw LCbear post last time on STR forum about rebuilding his RD350(very rare bike) that is why I recognise his nick, have not met him in person.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Feb 20 2005, 08:47 PM

If the head faring mod is too diff then go for the naked look and installed Givi windshield. Anyway your bike also quite rare on the road, aside from your I saw a dark green one at the mosque on dunlop street, so leave it as it it.

U cute. I got a half-fairing bike becos I dont want put windscreen on a naked bike mah......last time done that on my bandit400 liao.

I only see the new 2-headlight bandit600, yet to see another banditS600 old version.

Originally posted by sgss@Feb 20 2005, 11:15 PM

So mine is the 1st gen one...

Its true that my old hornet 600 is better than this current bike, in terms of bike handling, pick up etc. The rear tyre(hornet) also bigger and more sporty, seat is lower, bike lighter, shape nicer... Thus I'm able to sell it when I need some cash back then. :sian:

However, its oil tank is smaller. The one went oversea with us needs to pump every 200-km (not include reserve) and his top speed indicating 180 cannot be break (unless u go modify)

Yours 2nd, mine 1st. note the differences in the side panel (my one ear shape, yours triangular shape & frame also different). Your bike which year model?

Hornet only 16L, thats why i rather go for the bandit 19L :smile: But bandit wan to sell.... :slapforehead: :weep:

But how is the fuel consumption for Hornet even though with its small tank?

U mean Hornet600 top is around 180+?

Originally posted by silver@Feb 22 2005, 12:45 AM

But bandit wan to sell.... :slapforehead: :weep:

You selling your bike? How come?? What bike you getting next, will it be a suzuki again?

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by jkaiser@Feb 21 2005, 11:04 AM

eh u noe idac inspection..mostly take fotos of outside..they dun really check internals hor...so can i say my pipe internal damage, then change yoshi :D

The stupid IDAC ppls say my box n fork badly scratch not counted unless totally go out of shape then can claim. Sucks rite? My box n fork brand new one leh... Should have not change 1 mth ago....

IS this Sat nite DIY session at S750WP place still onz?

Originally posted by matias80sg@Jan 16 2005, 05:15 PM

oh thats great..DIY session again.

wanted to do grounding and add the horn from kata_killer.

hopefully can meet up again soon.

this morning went to jb n tong my exhaust..wao nice sound=$60RM

worth it.

Hi bro..care 2 share where u did ur exhaust?

i'm intrested to hav mine 'tong'.

Originally posted by kata_killer@Feb 22 2005, 01:10 AM

The stupid IDAC ppls say my box n fork badly scratch not counted unless totally go out of shape then can claim. Sucks rite? My box n fork brand new one leh... Should have not change 1 mth ago....

Do you sill have the receipt of your newly change fork and box, maybe can use that to proove that they are new before the car knock down your bike? So what other damage your bike suffer that they allow you to claim??

Btw your old box looks better then my second hand one how come you change it?? New maxia model is it?

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by kata_killer@Feb 22 2005, 01:12 AM

IS this Sat nite DIY session at S750WP place still onz?

Bandit 400 DIY Session #2

Date: 26 Feb 2005 (Saturday)

Time: 8pm

Location: 16A MSC, Postal code 090012 (http://www.streetdirectory.com.sg)

Organiser: S750WP

Chief Mech and Consultant : Kata_Killer

Participant

1. Kata_killer

2. S750WP

P/S: Do join us for supper if you dont wish to join the DIY session. Hope to meet more bandit brudders.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

1.Engine Oil (4T)

Castrol R4, 3 bottles + original oil fittler

Motoworld Price $68 (Promotion) ; Just verified on 6 Sept 2003.

Pleasure Motorsports PL Fuch semi 20-50, 3.2L $16

R4 $16 @ HKL

Total 1L -$4.30 cheap and good from carrefour (semi syn)

Esso Gold HKL selling $15

Motul 5100 Ester 15W50 (semi syn), HKL, $13 per bottle

Royal Purple @ Tanjong Pagar Plaza $11/bottle

Motul 5100 15W50 (semi syn), Mah, $12 per 1L bot (DIY)

2. Tires

Front tyre 090 110/70 for $88 @ LAB (P-model-front)

Dunlop GPR70 110/70-17 $115 @ Motorworld (P-model-front)

Tyres batlex Brigdestone BT090, front(110/70), rear(150/60),HKL, $240.

Bridgestone BT45 frt & rr $155 @ pleasure moto(NEXT AH BOY WORKSHOP)

Bridgestone BT39 frt & rr $160 @ pleasure moto.(NEXT AH BOY WORKSHOP)PS:come with wheel balancing

Michelin Macadam sports touring tyre front - $135 @Pang Scooter

BT020 rear 150/70 fromLAB for $145

3. Chain & Sprockets

Frt sporket(with rubber in center),RR sporket & DID o-ring $195 @pleasure moto

Frt sporket(with rubber in center) $45 from KS

4. Brakes

Daytona front pads @ Chiong Aik along Joo Chiat Road - $20

Vesrah sintered brake pads $35 front

Vesrah organice brake pads $17 rear

Vesrah sintered front brake pads $35(not inclusive of gst) Eversuccess

Ferodo rear pads -$15

5. Handlebar/grips

$23 - Harris grip @ 219 Motor shop @ Lavender

$8 - Playlife grip@ mah motor

$23- Harris grip@ Unity bt merah

$25-Harris grip @ Chiap Lee

$6-GPR grips@ Warehouse sales(forget which shop liao)

Balancer $6 @LAB

ERP bracket $15 @ Mah

6. Engine guards

$70-motovation sliders

7. Boxes/racks

$205 E450 with brackets @ LAB (w/install)

RM 560 wing rack include installation @ bike shop in MLK

8. Batteries

$50 @ HKL yuasa

$55 @ HKL bigger size and power?

$55 @ LAB, "Made in Japan" furukawa

$60 @ Kilvile, Ubi.

$45 @ KS cycle YUASA

9. Rectifier

$125 @ KS motorcycle

10. Steering cone

( FJT $35 part, Fix Malaysia $30 )

$70 @ Southern Bt Merah + installation

$80 @ LAB workshop + installation + Fork oil

11. K&N recharger kit

$18 @ Mah Motor

12. Air filter

SGP(VV Model), $44.50, Guan Hoe

P model $13 @KS motorcycle

13. Oil filter

RM35 Bike Shop in Malacca

(duno brand), $8, Guan Hoe

$6 from KS motorcycle

14. Bike respray

$40 Exhaust header sand and respray with hi-temp @atan at ubi

Customised 3x19cm Suzuki logo sticker x 2 for $7 @ MotorX

Customised 3x19cm Bandit logo sticker x 2 for $7 @ MotorX

Spanjard high temp spray paint $10 @ Mah motorparts

15. Fork brace

Fork Seal $16 per pc - HKL then workmanship @ Pioneer Rd North $30

2xfork oil seal, 2xdust cover and 2xmetal clip for both fork for $44 – KS cycle

500ml Putoline 15w fork oil $7 ea @LAB

Workmanshop for fork seal replacement $20 per fork @ Seng Motor Alexandra

16. Alarm

CHeetah Alarm (water proof version) @ motorX

w/o install $48

w/ installation $58

CHeetah Alarm (water proof version) Sim lim Tower, $58, self install

17. Belly Pan

Powerbronze @ Biketech 21 for $150

LAB $ 30 thin or Better $40

18. Spark Plug

$12 per piece CRE8K – nit 4 piece Bike shop at Pioneer Rd

NGK(CR8E or CR9E),DENSO(U27ESR-N), $12, Guan Hoe

NGK(CR8E or CR9E), $6, HKL

Denso U24ETR - $4 each @ FJT or the shop beside it

CR8EK from KS @ $7

19. SparK Plug Cap

(SGP)spark plug cap, $21.70 each, Guan Hoe

(SGP)cap rubber, $3 each, Guan Hoe

Spark plug cap NGK, $7 each LAB

20. Coolant

Mah motor flush coolent $25 workmanship, use 1 spaajard radiator flush $5 and 4 x $4 castrol pre-mixed coolent. Total = $46

Mah motor change coolent $10 workmanship. Cost would be $26 (labour $30.00)

Mah motor flush coolant $25 workmanship, use 1 spaajard radiator flush $5 and 4 x $4 castu)

Putoline Premixed coolant 1L, $5 per bot @LAB

Redline water wetter, 355ml mixed with 18L distilled water, $28 @ MotorX

Castrol Premixed coolant 500ml for $3.50 @ BP

21. Rear/Front wheel sealed bearings.

Rear wheel sealed bearings $40.00 with dust cover (Excluding labour $30.00)

Planet change front and rear wheel bearing(w/o sprocket bearing) 4pcs = $56 inclusive labour.

$14*2 Front wheel bearing - Pioneer Rd North Bikeshop (w/wrkmanshp)

22. Cutch

$85 8pcs fibre plates @ KS motorcycle

$120 8pcs fibre plates and 7pcs steel plate @KS

$32 clutch release bearing @KS

$4ea clutch springs(5 pcs) @KS

$170 clutch sleeve hub @KS

$10 clutch cover gasket @KS

$20 clutch cable @KS

$24 clutch cable shop beside Dexing(Bukit batok)

$15 clutch lever ,Shop beside Dexing(Bukit batok)

Clutch plate,gasket,eng oil @160 (pleasure moto)

23. Carbon Starter

$65 for 01 x Carbon starter + labour @ Mah Motor.

24. Bulb

Speedometer/Tachometer bulbs, $3 each, Guan Hoe

Speedometer/Tachometer bulbs, $5 for $4 @ Mah motor

25. Tensioner

$72.40, Guan Hoe

26. Ignition Coil

$130 for 2 pairs - KS motorcycle

$200 for 2 pairs - Guan Hoe with workmanship

27. CDI

$420 KS motorcycle

$490 Guan Hoe

28. Rocker arm

$35 @ KS motorcycle

29. Float assembly

4pcs in a set for $140 @KS motorcycle

30. Rear brake dust seal and oil seal

$16 for seals only @ FJT (Honda Super 4 parts)

$48 for seals and piston @KS motorcycle

31. Front brake dust seal, oil seal, pistons

$33 for complete set @ KS motorcycle

32. Reconditioned radiator

$150 @ URS radiator service UBI (need to dismantle and bring to shop)

33. Carb cleaner

Prestone carb cleaner $3 @ Seng motor parts Alexandra

34. Stebel horns inclusive of relays

$20 @ Seng motor parts Alexandra

35. Engine Oil Hose

$96 for a pair (L&R)

Guan Hoe Co., (M) Pte Ltd, Blk 1043, No 148, Eunos Ave 3, S409847

Tel: 67465910

K S Motorcycles Co, 127 Jln Besar S208845

6294 9316

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification