[Group] SUZUKI Bandit

Originally posted by S750WP@Sep 19 2004, 08:09 AM

Someone from U.S repair his own bandit400 CDI, after reading from the website, by changing the four capacitor. But it all depends case by case if the cap is the cause of failure.

http://www.spaceserver.de/gsf400/pics/cdi1.jpg

http://www.spaceserver.de/gsf400/pics/cdi2.jpg

The link to the website, but its in german, anyone can interpret it.

link

In singapore people just change the CDI... i don't think they will remove and replace that little capacitor there... Time is $$$... Bike shop where got so bo liao change capacitor 1... if they do that they can close shop liao... But anyway think this applies only to those in the electrical or electronic line ppl who got free time then DIY.... If for normal condition ppl just change CDI... But anyway quite interesting...:thumb:

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs206.snc1/7318_149796798969_678363969_2636864_1182252_n.jpg

BURN RUBBER NOT YOUR SOUL - My 3 babies

• Replies 8.5k

i do hav one to try and i actually did open it up. nv tested it back on my bandit thou.

GAry, if u want, guan hoe can do yr repairs, need to do some top overhual, shld be ard $100 if itz not too major

Originally posted by rocketman2@Sep 19 2004, 04:22 PM

guys, the meetup has been postponed. how abt this friday or saturday?

pls revert again. here's my contact 93828544 if u guys wanna contact me. cheers

So where will the meetup be helded? BTW can i join? Hope i can make it...

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs206.snc1/7318_149796798969_678363969_2636864_1182252_n.jpg

BURN RUBBER NOT YOUR SOUL - My 3 babies

Originally posted by rocketman2@Sep 19 2004, 04:20 PM

i do hav one to try and i actually did open it up. nv tested it back on my bandit thou.

GAry, if u want, guan hoe can do yr repairs, need to do some top overhual, shld be ard $100 if itz not too major

Did you change the four caps in the ignitor box? if you wan to throw away can give it to me.:bounce:

I will bring my bike to let guan hoe check the compression if cleaning the carbs didnt help, at the same time fix up the leaking fork. Gona burn a hole in the wallet this month. :cry:

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by rocketman2@Sep 19 2004, 04:22 PM

guys, the meetup has been postponed. how abt this friday or saturday?

pls revert again. here's my contact 93828544 if u guys wanna contact me. cheers

I wont be joining the outings, dun wana stress the engine running with 3 cylinders only.

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by DatsunKing@Sep 19 2004, 03:16 PM

In singapore people just change the CDI... i don't think they will remove and replace that little capacitor there... Time is $$$... Bike shop where got so bo liao change capacitor 1... if they do that they can close shop liao... But anyway think this applies only to those in the electrical or electronic line ppl who got free time then DIY.... If for normal condition ppl just change CDI... But anyway quite interesting...:thumb:

Well I would rather open up the black box myself and try to replace those 4 caps (

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by rocketman2@Jul 30 2004, 11:09 AM

S750, saw yr quote

CDI $80

Rectifer $30

Coils $20

Left handle bar switch $10

Fuel tank cushion at the end $2

cdi for $80 is really :giddy: ITz relatively new coz I just got it in march for $400. the rest seem pretty alright. C how first if i can breath any life into the beast

Still selling your CDi, rectifier and coil?

I intrested...

Kenneth

Kenneth ;)

Leisure riding...explore riding... but not FREE RIDING

Telur sebiji, riuh sekampung! - (Direct translation) Lay one egg, tell whole village

http://www.bikesmart.com.sg/images/JMS/JMS%20010.jpg

Just saw this "bandit" posted here in SBF. hehehe

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/2872/dsc004871dk6.jpg

Don't think too hard about it. You don't need a reason.

JUST RIDE.

Originally posted by skybono@Sep 20 2004, 12:36 AM

cool :thumb:

http://img252.echo.cx/img252/5066/ppp012vm.gif

I like pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals. --- by Winston Churchill (1874 -1965)

Always expect the unexpected!

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

Driving on the highway is not a competition. It is a cooperation, the sharing of a limited resource. --- Matt Reed

STOC #5806

Originally posted by S750WP@Sep 19 2004, 10:33 AM

Got a problem on my B4, #4 cyl piston is not moving when start up from cold, I can place and hold on my hand there while the rest are so hot. But after ride for abt 5mins it will be ok.

Initally I tot my #4 plug is fouled, after change still notice the same problem.

Pull #4 plug and there is spark, so nothing to do with CDI or coils

The US bandit forum says could be fuel mixture related or weak compression.

Going to pull the carbs and give it a thorough clean this weekend.

Btw any of you guys use a fuel filter on B4 because I was using a ST11 fuel filter on my S750WP last time and the bike die due to insufficient fuel passing through the filters.

"Got a problem on my B4, #4 cyl piston is not moving when start up from cold, I can place and hold on my hand there while the rest are so hot. But after ride for abt 5mins it will be ok.">>>>>juz service ur carburettor...shld b ok...

OnLy ThE StRoNg SuRvIvE..!!!!

Originally posted by skybono@Sep 20 2004, 12:36 AM

That is not a bandit, its fake, it actually a 1994 GSXR750WR street fighter in disguise. I used to ride a 1993 GSXR750WP similar to 1994 GSXR750WR only I have a banana swingarm.

The fuel tank just paste a bandit sticker and change the rear cowl to R1.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

hi everyone,

Got some questions to ask...

1) What are the signs of a failed CDI?

2) If the CDi spoilt, how come i can still start my bike (lights&horn all on oso)??

My bike can start, idle consistently then died of after like less 20 seconds. Bike shop mechanic suspect its CDI spoilt as if its fuel problem, the engine wouldnt die that fast. Any comments?

or any suspicions?

Kenneth

Kenneth ;)

Telur sebiji, riuh sekampung! - (Direct translation) Lay one egg, tell whole village

Originally posted by chee_teck@Sep 20 2004, 12:51 PM

hi everyone,

2) If the CDi spoilt, how come i can still start my bike (lights&horn all on oso)??

My bike can start, idle consistently then died of after like less 20 seconds. Bike shop mechanic suspect its CDI spoilt as if its fuel problem, the engine wouldnt die that fast. Any comments?

or any suspicions?

Kenneth

Ans to qns 1: No spark from the spark plugs or intermitten have or dun have.

Ans to qns 2: Your lights, horns or ignition is powered by the battery and not CDI.

To make a bike start you need 3 things; spark, fuel and compression.

Basic thing I suggest to check first are

1.Are there fuel in your float bowls? The float bowl is located on the carb bottom and you need to use a cross screw driver to open to check if petrol is flowing out.

If there is none a few things you should check

a. Your vacuum hose to the fuel petcock has it come loose or is it kink

b. Your fuel hose is it kink

c. Is there fuel coming out from your petcock, plug your vacuum line and crank the engine. if not your fuel tank maybe empty or a broken diagpram in the petcock.

d. Check is your float valve stuck close?

e. Check is your carb jets clogged up with dirt.

2. Are there spark from your plugs.

a. Pull the spark plug one at a time, and ground the plug body to the frame and crank the engine you should see a strong blue sparks across.

If there is none

a. Maybe your plug is faulty, replace new one to try

b. Check the coils primary and secondary resistance

c. Check the signal generator is there an output?

3. Is there good compression on your cyl

a. You will need a compression tester to check.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Sep 20 2004, 08:45 AM

That is not a bandit, its fake, it actually a 1994 GSXR750WR street fighter in disguise. I used to ride a 1993 GSXR750WP similar to 1994 GSXR750WR only I have a banana swingarm.

The fuel tank just paste a bandit sticker and change the rear cowl to R1.

Of course lah. Anybody can see that its not a bandit....that's why I put the bandit in QUOTATION MARKS..

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/2872/dsc004871dk6.jpg

Don't think too hard about it. You don't need a reason.

JUST RIDE.

Originally posted by S750WP@Sep 20 2004, 01:23 PM

2. Are there spark from your plugs.

a. Pull the spark plug one at a time, and ground the plug body to the frame and crank the engine you should see a strong blue sparks across.

If there is none

a. Maybe your plug is faulty, replace new one to try

b. Check the coils primary and secondary resistance

c. Check the signal generator is there an output?

3. Is there good compression on your cyl

a. You will need a compression tester to check.

Coils....ermmm...maybe buy spare on bring up MLK this weekend.since one of our bandit riders oso kena same thing b4...

thanks for the advice and test on ur bike... :)

Just now my friend came down n show me uising the manual...now i read back understand clearer wht u talking bout hahahha...

proven i only know how to ride a bike n know nuts bout it mauhahaha

thanks again ya gary

kenneth

Kenneth ;)

My bike died on me when coming to work just now.:weep: I suspect its the rectifier, because my speedo/tacho lights are getting very dim this few days also the rectifier becomes very hot . When reving the headlight did not dip and turn bright again.

Now its stranded beside the road hopefully I dun get a summon for it.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Sep 21 2004, 07:20 AM

My bike died on me when coming to work just now.:weep: I suspect its the rectifier, because my speedo/tacho lights are getting very dim this few days also the rectifier becomes very hot . When reving the headlight did not dip and turn bright again.

errr...where u park u bike..???must call someone to tow away.....hahahaha:bouncefire:

OnLy ThE StRoNg SuRvIvE..!!!!

Originally posted by S750WP@Sep 21 2004, 07:20 AM

Gary,

U may call Eunos superbike centre at 93841118 for tow...think quite cheap bout $10...better than risk kena saman....

was only telling me bout it last nite :faint: this morning happen liow.Gd luck ya...

Kenneth ;)

Originally posted by chee_teck@Sep 21 2004, 09:56 AM

Gary,

U may call Eunos superbike centre at 93841118 for tow...think quite cheap bout $10...better than risk kena saman....

was only telling me bout it last nite :faint: this morning happen liow.Gd luck ya...

My bike break down near my house, abt 500m, so no point to ask a tow truck. As I was rushing to work today so I just park it on the pavement, just pray wont get the summons.

Going to check the rectifier tonight, if really spoil then maybe dismantle to replace the diodes inside.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Sep 21 2004, 02:27 PM

My bike break down near my house, abt 500m, so no point to ask a tow truck. As I was rushing to work today so I just park it on the pavement, just pray wont get the summons.

Going to check the rectifier tonight, if really spoil then maybe dismantle to replace the diodes inside.

Will it be d CDI problem? Mine one, last time also like tat. If ure headlight still got light, then confirm not CDI problem.

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

Originally posted by chee_teck@Sep 20 2004, 12:51 PM

hi everyone,

or any suspicions?

Kenneth

Okay let me tell U cos my one CDI die off 2 mths ago.

When CDI is down, U dun think of starting d bike. When CDI is going to be down, normally U can't start wif 1 or 2 start. Normally it will go up to 3 to 5 start. Then, tat prove, CDI is going to be down. If U not sure, U can call me n I will teach U.

BTW, Ever heard of service CDI? I know hw cos my mechnican show me hw to do it few mth ago b4 my CDI break down. When service, it only can help U last another 1- 2 mth or so...

Normally for Susuki bike, CDI will be down after 8 - 9 years of usage of d bike. A brand new Bandit400 CDI will cost U abt $420 from d agent. If get from motor shop, they usually charge U a brand new one between $450 - $470.

Cheek_teck: For ure case, I think may be ure carb is too dirty n tuning is out. The air n fuel mixture is out. Or maybe air-filter is too dirty... Call me, I meet u n help U to check tonite. This few days, I'm quite free. If U wan to see my old failed CDI, I can bring it along also. Tonite, Boon lay Lasi Lemak, Onz? Call me at 92711997.

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

Originally posted by kata_killer@Sep 21 2004, 03:15 PM

Will it be d CDI problem? Mine one, last time also like tat. If ure headlight still got light, then confirm not CDI problem.

Its confirmed not CDI problem because I pulled and check for spark a few days ago its ok, big bright blue spark jump across the plugs, when I notice my cly 4 is not working during start up. (cyl 4 headed pipe is colder then the rest)

This few days my bike is running abit weird, the lights (speedo/tacho) is getting dimmer and I change brand new bulbs only last month. Also when reving, the headlight did not dip and turn bright again as per normal(not charging). When I touch and feel my regulator the other day, its extremely hot(maybe going to burn), I can't even put my hand there for 10 sec. All this indications point to the rectifier, and I really hope its the rectifier and not the AC generator because its quite ex to fix.

This morning, I'm able to fire up the bike with one click, but the idling not so smooth and no power like that. But I continue to ride until the main road, then I stop to wait for traffic to clear to make a right turn. The bike died as soon as I open the throttle. When I try to start, the starter motor very weak not enough power and the instrument lights dip alittle.

Btw my batt is quite new, if the previous owner did not lie.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by kata_killer@Sep 21 2004, 03:28 PM

Okay let me tell U cos my one CDI die off 2 mths ago.

When CDI is down, U dun think of starting d bike. When CDI is going to be down, normally U can't start wif 1 or 2 start. Normally it will go up to 3 to 5 start. Then, tat prove, CDI is going to be down. If U not sure, U can call me n I will teach U.

BTW, Ever heard of service CDI? I know hw cos my mechnican show me hw to do it few mth ago b4 my CDI break down. When service, it only can help U last another 1- 2 mth or so...

Normally for Susuki bike, CDI will be down after 8 - 9 years of usage of d bike. A brand new Bandit400 CDI will cost U abt $420 from d agent. If get from motor shop, they usually charge U a brand new one between $450 - $470.

Cheek_teck: For ure case, I think may be ure carb is too dirty n tuning is out. The air n fuel mixture is out. Or maybe air-filter is too dirty... Call me, I meet u n help U to check tonite. This few days, I'm quite free. If U wan to see my old failed CDI, I can bring it along also. Tonite, Boon lay Lasi Lemak, Onz? Call me at 92711997.

Btw do you have a spare rectifier for me to play, wana open it up and change the diode inside see can work or not?

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by kata_killer@Sep 21 2004, 03:28 PM

Call me, I meet u n help U to check tonite. This few days, I'm quite free. If U wan to see my old failed CDI, I can bring it along also. Tonite, Boon lay Lasi Lemak, Onz? Call me at 92711997.

My bike stranded at my home in MLk now. Going to buy battery, ignition coil, plug head/cap and probably rectifier down to MLk this coming weekend to troubleshoot with my friends. Those new stuff i bought i probably keep as spares for my trips :( pocket getting lighter :cry:

Confirmed not CDi problem cos tested on gary's bike :)

Anyway no bike how to boon lay nasi lemak?hahahhaha after i come back with my bandit we shall meet up hehehe :)

kenneth

Kenneth ;)