[Discussion] Technical - Clutch

Guest rez

What Mileage You Change Clutch Plate  

96 members have voted

1. 1. What Mileage You Change Clutch Plate

• 50K ~ 60K
    • 60K ~ 70K
    • 70K ~ 80K
    • 80K ~ 90K
    • 90K ~ 100K
    • 100K ~ 110K
    • 110K ~ 120K
    • 120K ~ 130K
    • 130K ~ 140K
    • 140K ~ 150K

• Replies 267

Just changed mine a few days ago. It costs $260.00 at Bike & Scooter in Upper Serangoon Road, directly opposite Hill Side Drive. The bike is smooth now and

seems to increase in power

"Success makes life easier.

It doesn't make living easier"

Originally posted by ah kuek@Apr 3 2004, 09:42 PM

Changing of clutch plate increase of power?

worn out clutch = less transfer of power from engine to wheel

:cheer: Mah motor shop : clutch plates $120 , oil filter $15 , 4 bottles of motul semi syn $13.5 X 4 and $2 discount ...

Shetland:Throw this cigarette butt into your exhaust pipe how?

Marvy:dun worry lah...we all guai kia, no needa scared TP lah...so next outing muz exceed 30 bikes liao hor!!

Originally posted by Tay BL@Apr 1 2004, 12:00 AM

Just changed mine a few days ago. It costs $260.00 at Bike & Scooter in Upper Serangoon Road, directly opposite Hill Side Drive. The bike is smooth now and

seems to increase in power

wah so expensive

Shetland:Throw this cigarette butt into your exhaust pipe how?

Marvy:dun worry lah...we all guai kia, no needa scared TP lah...so next outing muz exceed 30 bikes liao hor!!

wah! how cum the different is so big?? 1 is 120 the other 1 is 260? which is correct??

2007 FEB -YZF R1 2004&WaVe S 125 wiT Audio SyS.---- YZF-R1 Puig Clear Windshield, HEL brake lines, GPR Twin Exhaust with Y-pipe, Bagster Tank Bra, ACumen Gear Indicator, Motivation Sliders-Balancers, Power Boosters, Harris Racing Footrest, Ohlin Damper and Corsa tyres

http://photos-754.friendster.com/e1/photos/45/71/3041754/1_204611127l.jpg

What I think is that there are different quality of clutch plates

and quality workmanship counts also.

There goes the mandarin saying, "Yi fen qian, yi fen huo"

That should solve the puzzle. I didn't regret paying $260.

Once I changed my brake pads for just a few months and

ended up sratches on my disk plates because of poor quality.

In end, paying out more than the actual good quality goods

We look for quality for money goods but not ended up in getting

our throat cut which we should be aware with.

"Success makes life easier.

It doesn't make living easier"

Originally posted by BlackLabel@Nov 4 2004, 03:22 PM

mi like to diy lot ya...

i can make sure i am havin original

parts & save $$.

Do wan bike shop to do but wondering how $ they charge

for workmanship...:cry:

bro u save money in the short term but waste money in the long term..

Y save & give yurself all the trouble in the long run??????

Yesterday Is Already A Dream,

Tomorrow Is Only A Vision,

But Today, Well Lived,

Makes Every Yesterday A Dream Of Happiness

& Every Tomorrow A Vision Hope.

sh*t load of corny crap!!!! Well stupidity wins!!!

Originally posted by BlackLabel@Nov 4 2004, 02:00 AM

Is there any1 out there ever change their clutch plate themselve?

My PB1 had run out of the plate & i intend to DIY. :o)

Eh.....

Wat is a clutch plate???

lolz.... When issit time to change it? Riding for a year plus liao. Issit time to change?

:sweat: can any lao jiao advice?

能å¿ï¼Œå°±å¿ã€‚ä¸èƒ½å¿ï¼Œä¹Ÿæ˜¯è¦å¿ã€‚

Originally posted by pigsmu@Nov 5 2004, 11:33 PM

Eh.....

Wat is a clutch plate???

lolz.... When issit time to change it? Riding for a year plus liao. Issit time to change?

:sweat: can any lao jiao advice?

ur clutch works by allowing u to separate engine from final drive...so when u dun clutch...the plates touch one another and they turn in unison...u clutch in...separate the plates...then no final drive..wun move...

on the plate..got rubber layer..they act to increase friction lah...so ur clutch wun slip..as in engine turning..but cos not friction..it doesnt turn ur final drive...so when that wears out..must replace

note:layman terms liaoz..cos i dunno the tech terms.. :p

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

NUS Students' Motorcycling Interest Group "NUSRiders" Forum

Originally posted by jkaiser@Nov 6 2004, 01:03 AM

ur clutch works by allowing u to separate engine from final drive...so when u dun clutch...the plates touch one another and they turn in unison...u clutch in...separate the plates...then no final drive..wun move...

on the plate..got rubber layer..they act to increase friction lah...so ur clutch wun slip..as in engine turning..but cos not friction..it doesnt turn ur final drive...so when that wears out..must replace

note:layman terms liaoz..cos i dunno the tech terms.. :p

eh....

how to know when it wears out? :sweat:

Originally posted by pigsmu@Nov 6 2004, 08:09 PM

eh....

how to know when it wears out? :sweat:

lost in power... clutch slippage, etc..

P.s. ur bike new. no need worry.. :smile:

1996-1997 : Honda CBX 125

1997-2006 : Honda Project Big 1

2006-2011 : Yamaha Fazer 1

2011-2013:- Harley Davidson XR1200

2013- now: Something BIG..

Dear all,

Lesson learn from my DIY session. :sweat:

A set of 6 plate(5 thick, 1 thin) and 1 gasket was get

from LAB @ $55.

Me went to bike shop to change it myself.

Removal of engine cover & clutch plate:

1st: loosen the clutch cable and disengage it.

3 diff size of spocket (27mm, 10mm & 8mm) require to

remove the clutch plate holder from the engine mounting.

The most problematic 1 is the 27mm nut.

Replacing of plate:

5 spacer metal plate was use to space out the 6 plate.

Ensure tat the thin clutch plate is the last, on the outer side,

to be position. (if position wrongly, bike clutch won't work)

Tighten the clutch plate holder back to the mounting. (Last OUT

1st IN theory)

Fitting back of the engine cover:

Ensure that the old torn gasket is removed completely.

Apply light layer of grease onto the edge of the engine then 'stick'

the new gasket on.Test ur clutch first then tighten those screws

that hold the cover fully.

...end.... :cheeky:

Originally posted by BlackLabel@Nov 21 2004, 02:42 PM

Dear all,

Lesson learn from my DIY session. :sweat:

A set of 6 plate(5 thick, 1 thin) and 1 gasket was get

from LAB @ $55.

Me went to bike shop to change it myself.

Removal of engine cover & clutch plate:

1st: loosen the clutch cable and disengage it.

3 diff size of spocket (27mm, 10mm & 8mm) require to

remove the clutch plate holder from the engine mounting.

The most problematic 1 is the 27mm nut.

Replacing of plate:

5 spacer metal plate was use to space out the 6 plate.

Ensure tat the thin clutch plate is the last, on the outer side,

to be position. (if position wrongly, bike clutch won't work)

Tighten the clutch plate holder back to the mounting. (Last OUT

1st IN theory)

Fitting back of the engine cover:

Ensure that the old torn gasket is removed completely.

Apply light layer of grease onto the edge of the engine then 'stick'

the new gasket on.Test ur clutch first then tighten those screws

that hold the cover fully.

...end.... :cheeky:

WA.....

Pro leh... :thumb:

Originally posted by BlackLabel@Nov 23 2004, 05:59 PM

Everything is good. :sweat:

Try it to gain exp. noe ur bike better.

hey bro care to help to diy.....sound simple....got the tools needed....

which bike shp u went?

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.