• Replies 3.9k

hi bros, just got my Shadow ACE and was following this thread silently for a while. Really found some of the advises very useful.

Got a question/problem that need some advise.

Problem: Travel for 20mins or so... reach destination... off engine.. go off buy something...back in 15mins... engine cannot start! There's the cranking sound but engine cannot start...after few times of trying...only ignition sound and not even cranking sound...

This doesn't happen all the time... only happened a couple of times in the past 3 months.

Often when the engine cools down a little more.. ie wait for another 10mins or so.. no problem starting engine again... Why???

Engine has no problem starting in the mornings...

Maybe weak battery? Maybe rectifier not charging properly le? Best to have it check by mechs before getting stuck in the middle of no where. :)

"A government afraid of its citizens is a Democracy. Citizens afraid of government is tyranny!"

— Thomas Jefferson

:eek: :eek:

Thanks guys (maybe gals...) :) I don't have a regular mechanic but the one I went to didn't help much. I had gone to him to do the regular servicing and he also redid some wiring which he said was "very messy". I called him when i was stuck the first time round and all he said was utterly useless.... "errr.....like that ah...maybe your bike got problem... think you better sell it off faster better..." Really can't believe it!!!! I don't think there's anything that cannot be solved.. only if you want to spend the effort to check or dun wan only....

Will try to bring it to Rosli as recommended by bros here sometime soon.

Or is there anyone else in the west that expert bros here will recommend? I stay in the west?

Thanks guys (maybe gals...) :) I don't have a regular mechanic but the one I went to didn't help much. I had gone to him to do the regular servicing and he also redid some wiring which he said was "very messy". I called him when i was stuck the first time round and all he said was utterly useless.... "errr.....like that ah...maybe your bike got problem... think you better sell it off faster better..." Really can't believe it!!!! I don't think there's anything that cannot be solved.. only if you want to spend the effort to check or dun wan only....

Or is there anyone else in the west that expert bros here will recommend? I stay in the west?

Yea, bring it to Rosli. Even though he's in the east, but at least he knows his way around Shadows. He'll try his best to rectify your problems unless it's really beyond the beyond then that's beyond's anybody's help. haha. I used beyond 3 times in a sentence.

w y x m m

Yea, bring it to Rosli. Even though he's in the east, but at least he knows his way around Shadows. He'll try his best to rectify your problems unless it's really beyond the beyond then that's beyond's anybody's help. haha. I used beyond 3 times in a sentence.

Rosli is indeed good with Shadow 400s, but if I'm in a rush and I dun want to travel too far, I go to Mah Motorparts (opp Sim Lim Tower) The mechs there are also good. Rochor area maybe jammed most of the time but it's a lot closer for me. I'm a west sider too.

Thank you gohjohan! Sim Lim might work out quite well for me coz office within walking distance! Will check it out later. Cheers.

But will certainly drop by to Rosli at some point in time.

Been busy this week. Installed an original Honda Windshield and solo luggage rack. I also changed the seat color to saddle brown.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v671/jim3553/My%20Shadow%20ACE/Image0616.jpg

I was also lucky to get brown leather saddlebags but I won't install them until I have a long trip.

Black seat picture is on my signature.

Thanks for viewing.

Thank you gohjohan! Sim Lim might work out quite well for me coz office within walking distance! Will check it out later. Cheers.

But will certainly drop by to Rosli at some point in time.

If office is within walking distance, even better. Drop your bike off at Mah Motorparts at 8.45am - 9 am, let the mechanics know what needs to be done then go to work. The nearest entrance to bring your bike for them to work on is by Dunlop St

hi bros... can i ask a few qns regarding maintenance of shadow ace? i ride phantom but know nuts about shadow... so hope u guys can help me...

1. How much of EO do we change each time n every how many KM?

2. How much to change air filter n every how many KM?

3. How much to change oil filter n every how many KM?

4. A standard pair of tires cost $300?

5. How much to change complete set of chain n sprockets n every how many KM?

6. Brakes maintenance for rear n front, how much?

7. How much to install a standard front crashbar?

8. Any other things u guys think need to change regularly or even anything u changed b4 n know the price, do let us know... :)

sorry for all these noob qns... hope to get some enlightenment... :)

Saw a shadow with an FBDxxxx plate recently. maybe some of the bike shops start to bring in the new fuel-injected shadow.

fellow forumer "AUSA" is riding a FBA plate shadow ace

hi bros... can i ask a few qns regarding maintenance of shadow ace? i ride phantom but know nuts about shadow... so hope u guys can help me...

1. How much of EO do we change each time n every how many KM?

(2.5L if i am not wrong on this, change every 5k-8k depends on user)

2. How much to change air filter n every how many KM?

( in short once a year n depend on user milage)

3. How much to change oil filter n every how many KM?

(2 x EO change)

4. A standard pair of tires cost $300?

(got mine for cls to 300)

5. How much to change complete set of chain n sprockets n every how many KM?

( depend on budget, got normal n good one so the range frm 150++ to 200++)

6. Brakes maintenance for rear n front, how much?

(depend on usage, remember, dun save on tires n brakes as that are the things that are really impt to u)

7. How much to install a standard front crashbar?

(never install but got ask before n cost 300++ n above for bar n install)

8. Any other things u guys think need to change regularly or even anything u changed b4 n know the price, do let us know... :)

sorry for all these noob qns... hope to get some enlightenment... :)

The above are what i doing now to my shadow so hope is useful.

thank u so much bro. any idea how much air filter n oil filter cost? :) appreciate it so much! :) how about coolant, i read about coolant but know nth about it. we just top it up now n then? with water or specific collant liquids? thanks again so much bro! :)

Anyone can give me contact number for Rosli?

Trying to contact him to make apptm.

RS BIKES

Mr Rosli HP: 96718552,67478202

Kaki Bukit Avenue 6

#02-45

hi all, may i check what the price for a used shadow ace 400

Was on the look out as well, err.. till i got my shadow 2 weeks ago..:)

I saw an FBC plate white color shadow (newer model i was told) at the shop opp Rosli's before CNY, the shop name is err... forgot, but outside got a few shadows for export he says.. he selling at 8.6K i tink, too bad i can't get it cos my old bike he cannot makan.. :sian:..

Anyway, Rosli had a FP bike he selling at 4.8k (i tink, i forgot).. i went around AMK, Ubi, Aljunied, Kaki Bukit, Defu.. only these 2 shops selling Shadows. err..maybe i didn't look far enough.. Anyway, i got mine at west coast for 3.8K FS plate.. Hope it helps...