Will you sign on in SAF  

21 members have voted

1. 1. Will you sign on in SAF

• Yes
    • No

Hey guys... I started this poll just to see what you guys think of signing on in the SAF. While 99.9% say Serve And F**k, there are some who do sign on because of all the study, medical, benefits and etc etc.

Thanks guys... :thumb:

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m206/blade_trinity21/EditedRevo2.jpg
  • Replies 24

Definitely serve and F off for me. Cannot imagine kena trap in army life. :giddy:

Past Rides

Honda NSR125R, Kawasaki ZX400-L9, Yamaha YZF-R1 2001, Yamaha YZF-R1 2006, Suzuki GSX-R1000 K2

Current Rides

Mitsubishi Lancer

I was tempted to sign on..In fact I really love unit life..

But in the end i didnt put my signature on the dotted line..

when there's a WHEEL...

there's a way...

I was tempted to sign on..In fact I really love unit life..

But in the end i didnt put my signature on the dotted line..

Care to share why bro?

While the remuneration for the armed forces is alot during the initial years, the salary over the long run will be less than what you can potential get in the private sector.

Commando warrant officers discouraged me from signing on during my BAC course, because they told me the prospects were not that good. Since the army is contract based, you will have to fight with alot of people contending for the iron rice bowl for the second contract in 10 year's time since there are limited slots.

I almost took up the JPSDS a few years ago because i like the regimentation lifestyle,allowance in poly and pay after i graduate,but when i talked to the warrant officers i changed my mind.

Just my take.cheers!

189 BAC - Good Jump!

Care to share why bro?

Because of the system!

No matter how good you are..or how hard you try..

those who are more "lao jiao" than you will always look down on you.

I dunno if you get what I mean.

when there's a WHEEL...

there's a way...

If i sign on again it would be if singapore go for war:dot:

Out of so many No's there are 3 yes. Wonder who are they? Please describe why yes la brothers... haha...

Yes to sign on.

1. Good money for even for those who have no high education

- u start earning ur keep earlier den yr peers

2. Keep fit and healthy

If u already sign on and regret after 1-2 yrs, u can start studying part time with ur pay, start saving more and leave the force after 6 yrs. At a pretty young age of (24-25yrs) with yr hard earn degree, u can find a job wif better pay. Some ppl sign on SAF as a stepping stone in their early yrs, building up their financial nest and den go out to the real world to work.

Of course there are those who have become so used to the 'sheltered' environment, they find it daunting to leave SAF. So they choose to perform and hopefully get that 2nd contract. In any case if they fail, they can still get a lump sum of abt 20-30k gratuity and with their savings over the yrs, they can probably start some business or wat outside after finishing their 10 yrs in service.

So go think abt it. Cheers :)

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc44/shasea09/Ruckus_white_camo.jpg

U might be a cunning linguist but I am a master debater

Guest NPNT

SAF is good, and better if they could increase the retirement age to 55.

Becoming a senior officer is even better prospects, compared to junior officer.

I think the whole issue is what do you expect or hope to expect for your future life....

A chance to be really really rich : Stay in the commerical world

A steady flow of income, travelling and serve the nation: Then the answer is a "yes"

I am in the airforce for 12 years and have travelled quite extensively. Married and living in a 5 room now. I never really regret my choice that I made in 1995.

Feel free to ask me any questions.

Nature, to be commanded, must be obeyed.

I think the whole issue is what do you expect or hope to expect for your future life....

A chance to be really really rich : Stay in the commerical world

A steady flow of income, travelling and serve the nation: Then the answer is a "yes"

I am in the airforce for 12 years and have travelled quite extensively. Married and living in a 5 room now. I never really regret my choice that I made in 1995.

Feel free to ask me any questions.

Thanks for all the response guys... Because 99.9% of my peers say dont waste time and that sort of things... After my 2 years(early next year enlist) i planning to study in a local poly(hopefully) so than if i were to sign on for the 5 years (3 year poly 2 year army) my fees will be borne by the SAF and monthly they have allowance.

Was discouraged by many... Thats why... Is it a good idea and any 1 currently in that kind of a contract?

what contract is that? contract service or premium plan??

and what vocation you are looking at?

Joint Poly-SAF Diploma Scheme (JPSDS) ....

the pay your poly fees and give monthly allowance...

Joint Poly-SAF Diploma Scheme (JPSDS) ....

the pay your poly fees and give monthly allowance...

There's quite some benefits that coupled together with the scheme/contract..

your family able to pay for your fees? if you have the passion for SAF, you can also try after your diploma.. as you can choose to become an officer too..

what vocation you looking at?

Think it's up to which service you go to, I was from the Army, after my 1st year, was posted over to the Air Force. And I was really stunned at first at how their way of life was, then a year later, I went back to the Army again, and could not adapt to the Army.

For me the Army was a stepping stone to my new career.

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg
Think it's up to which service you go to, I was from the Army, after my 1st year, was posted over to the Air Force. And I was really stunned at first at how their way of life was, then a year later, I went back to the Army again, and could not adapt to the Army.

For me the Army was a stepping stone to my new career.

Wah bro... so now you still in the air force?

looking back now from wat i'm today, i'm pretty gald tat i didn't sign-on back den.

You should have add one more option. "Sign already but wish that never done so".

Guess which word had this meaning.

1. Any code or set of principles containing different provisions for one group of people than for another, esp. an unwritten code of sexual behavior permitting men more freedom than women.

2. A set of principles permitting greater opportunity or liberty to one than to another, especially the granting of greater sexual freedom to men than to women.

3. A set of principles establishing different provisions for one group than another; also, specifically, allowing men more sexual freedom than women.

cummon la, SAF abit boring job, exercise, exercise n exercise.. they even play games almost similar to Command and conquer. too many classified, camera fon oso cannot bring so boring!! about medical, benefit are sucks.. my fren a regular, still have to pay for surgery sia.. they don't want to cover.. stupid la.. im sorry to those hu sign on.. my appologies

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii203/petzlica/sparknrxz.jpg

DEC 05-May 07 : Yamaha RxZ

May 07-July 08: Yamaha Spark 135 White Standard Coverset

Aug 08-Jan 10: Yamaha Spark 135 ALL Black Coverset

Jan 11-May 14... Yamaha Spark 135 Ver 2010 Red

my suggestion to tread starter, if you have yet serve NS... decide it after or during your term. Cause if you sign up before NS kind of risky as most of you not sure what you have to go through. Most of us living in this comfort zone for many donkey years, you gotta get use of regimental workstyle, IPPT, (SOC *for combatants)

*what you see is not what you will get