SBF SkipperNet Cafe 2008

Originally posted by S750WP@Jun 5 2006, 09:47 PM

Thanks for reply but if you dont know the story from begining, please refrain from posting unnecessary comment

Here goes.

From day 1 since I own this scoot, its running perfectly fine, start up easily and runs smoothly, before I did any servicing at any shop.

The first problem which came up was petrol leaking at the main tank when its filled to the brim. I was lazy to strip the bike to check so I went to WM. The mechanic check and told me the problem is I overfilled the petrol tank that cause the leak, which I did not bother to argue with him. I ask WM to clean my carb because I was paiseh if I did not patronise after asking the mech to check my bike, also my float bowl leaks once a while which I suspect was due to dirt. The mech adjust my air screw setting and fiddle with the float height for no reason. After the carb was put back to my bike, the mech himself have a hard time to starting it. He says its because I pour in 2T in the fuel tank, thats why difficult to start. In fact I have been running premixed since day 1 and there is no problem at all to start the bike. Again I did not argue with him.

The very next day I encounter problem starting the bike when cold, but I managed to get it started by adjusting the idling speed till very high and went to Botak. Botak says the problem is my air screw setting, he adjusted and happily I rode home. The next day the bike totally unable to start no matter how hard I crank. I check through the manual and adjust the air screw setting and idle screw, the bike was able to start up no problem for a week then the problem came back. Meanwhile I also solve the leak at the main fuel tank leak myself patching it up with 'Seal All'.

I experimented to run till the petrol tank almost empty then top it up w/o adding any 2T for a few times, because WM mech says I pour in 2T and cause the problem. However the problem did not go away. I have also change the needle valve myself because I suspect fuel overflow to the engine which cause the bike difficult to start in the cold. However that did not solve the starting problem instead it solve the intermitten petrol leak problem at the float bowl.

Loosing confidence with WM, I went to Taihin. Taihin mech diagnose it was the piston which has lost compression cause the problem. So I go ahead and change it, but the bike still cannot start up after the new piston was change. And the mech took out the carb and adjust the air screw setting and adjust the float tang. And the bike fire up instantly. So you tell me was it the piston or the carburetion issue which WM screw up in the first place??

Happily I rode the bike home, then the next day when I went to work on my scoot, the bike fire up with just 1 click on the starter switch. Halfway reaching my work place the bike stutter and all of a sudden the engine just cut off, I was travelling at abt 60km/h then luckily no traffic was behind me. I tried to start the bike but in vain, I adjust the idle screw and air screw setting still it cannot start. Sunday morning I tried to start the bike again then it fire up and engine stutter and die after warn up. I believe its the piston problem because my bike was running fine before Taihin change the piston except its difficult to start up when cold.

So you tell me issit the shop who screwd up my bike, and now you tell me to solve the problem myself?? WTF???

From all the post. I managed to come up with a brief summary.

Ur typhoon is of quite an age. And it have quite a bit of problems.

petrol leak from tank. By right a typhoon have no overfil drainage. Unless ur is a black typhoon. Possible explaination (just a rough guess) is that the owner always over fill the tank and thus thru a long period of tank over pressure. It develope crack somewhere along the tank. But still not very likely. Another possible senario is the 1way air vent valve is dead. so it become 2 way now. so explaining the petrol leak. (might be wrong again as u mentioned u patch up the leak. Hopefully it's not the air relief vent u are patching up)

Ur carb issue. There is a problem but fixed the wrong way. It seems to me that the initail problem should be valve needle worn and carb dirty. But apparently it was tuned but not correctly tuned. The stock pilot screw setting is 1 3/8. (mikuni VM20). The float high must be correct also.

Premix. If ur 2T pump is working. adding premix may result in a too much 2T final mixture. U have to choose 1. premix or 2t pump. This is one of the reason that it's hard to start. To see whether it's too much 2T, check for oil foul at the plugs. But usually not much of a problem. My verdict is that it's the tuning.

Another part u have to check is air filter. Stock piaggio air filter tears and disintergrate easily. torn or clogged air filter is a perfect combi to prevent the engine from starting up easily.

Piston. I won't be surprised if ur piston rings and piston is worn. if the previous owner never take care. age also contributes a part. Piaggio engine gasket is never copper. They are not metalic. I can only discribe it as papery/cardboard/plastic like. A piaggio engine kickstarting is never like yamaha. So smooth and soft. Piaggio kick start is a may be light but there's a very good resistance. So if it begins to show buttery smooth kick of kick start motion, It can only means that the compression is going very very soon. Which is not surprising from a 3~4 year old 2 stroke engine.

As for the CDI issue. If your is not change before. It's dated to pre 95(check under ur seat for the date manufacturing). Then it's lucky that ur cdi can last till now. Cos the bathc before 95 is not known to last. The later revision may last abit longer. but average 4 years life span. And If the symptom is exactly like what u mentioned, then I'm 100% sure. Ur CDI is failing.

There's a few more items u may need to look at to see whether they need replacing.

Reef valve.

Fuel pump, the one below ur floor board

The another 1 way valve that is in the fuel line circuitry that is between ur main and aux tank.

And If you can fix and get all the problems rectified. Trust me, ur typhoon will be one of the lowest maintenance and problem free bike u ever owned.

And SPY622 is trying to help. He's also analysing the issue objectively. And He's definately someone without any ill intention.

• Replies 5.6k

To Spy 622 and Black Comet,

I have no intention to flame anyone but can you guys understand my frustration, my bike is getting worse everytime it came out of the work shop??

How can you be sure of my bike problem when you guys never see and diagnose the bike. For example if I say I got stomache ache then you diagnose me food poisoning??

I shall rest my case here, I will call Taihin tomorrow to see how is the progress. Will update the latest finding.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by S750WP@Jun 6 2006, 09:46 PM

To Spy 622 and Black Comet,

I have no intention to flame anyone but can you guys understand my frustration, my bike is getting worse everytime it came out of the work shop??

How can you be sure of my bike problem when you guys never see and diagnose the bike. For example if I say I got stomache ache then you diagnose me food poisoning??

I shall rest my case here, I will call Taihin tomorrow to see how is the progress. Will update the latest finding.

How I can tell ur stomachache is food poisoning. U already told me so.

Stomacheache = What u have describe to ur best in the past few threads.

Food poisoning = ur bike problem.

Originally posted by myusha@Jun 7 2006, 12:49 AM

sk: sorry never talk much to you yesterday, was busy with my bike :smile:

Wah meet up with SK but never meet up with us! :sian: You must be loving ur new bike :smile:

BlackComet>> Havent sleep ahz?

For bike issues, i have experienced loads of them with my skipper. From small issues turn to big issues due to wrong diagnosis but i just take it as a lesson learnt and more like to update my bike parts as most of them is more than 10 yrs old :smile: Overall, think i have spent nearly 5k on this bike's repair alone for the past 4 years i've been riding it but what to do, i guess i'm just unlucky :cheeky: the bike also gives alot of tantrum nowadays but a good kick to it solves the problem :sweat:

][][ No point waiting.. if you want something, its best to go get it yourself!!! ][][

good morning guys. actually it's good for people to post their problems on the forum so we can learn more and know the actual problems and remedy.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=657&pictureid=3810

I agree with you bro! Hope S750WP typhoon would be ok soon :pray: :pray: :p

][][ No point waiting.. if you want something, its best to go get it yourself!!! ][][

Afternoon everyone :sleep:

Be contented and you have the world... be greedy and you'll never be happy.

hi guys

can i ask whether SKIPPER is 2stroke? N wat is the basic maintenance for it?

One more thing, anyone selling Skipper? I am looking for one. PM me thanks

wow...party out here eh? wonder why all these didn't come when s750wp posted on his carb tuning prob...

pretty unnecessary to have a whole load of crap in defence of one's reputation. ain't it? juz make the subject in concern looks ugly.

well...chill guys...there's other ways to do things. dropping a pm to give a gentle reminder to edit a post won't kill will it? doesn't make one look good to be shooting off and THEN try to be diplomatic IMO. think abt it.

S750WP>> hope ur bike's fine. do keep us dated on ur bike.

SK>> tried msging u... when do you want ur manual back? let me know ya?

Originally posted by rae07@Jun 8 2006, 01:04 AM

wow...party out here eh? wonder why all these didn't come when s750wp posted on his carb tuning prob...

pretty unnecessary to have a whole load of crap in defence of one's reputation. ain't it? juz make the subject in concern looks ugly.

well...chill guys...there's other ways to do things. dropping a pm to give a gentle reminder to edit a post won't kill will it? doesn't make one look good to be shooting off and THEN try to be diplomatic IMO. think abt it.

S750WP>> hope ur bike's fine. do keep us dated on ur bike.

SK>> tried msging u... when do you want ur manual back? let me know ya?

ya rae07, agree with u.... i dunno wat's the actual problem and remedy so i dare not make any comments as i am quite new to skipper or carb bike....

S750WP > do keep us posted of ur bike condition so we know how to deal with it when it happen on our bikes. thanks in advance.

that's all for today... good night all!!

Originally posted by WhiteOryx@Jun 7 2006, 02:39 AM

Wah meet up with SK but never meet up with us! :sian: You must be loving ur new bike :smile:

BlackComet>> Havent sleep ahz?

For bike issues, i have experienced loads of them with my skipper. From small issues turn to big issues due to wrong diagnosis but i just take it as a lesson learnt and more like to update my bike parts as most of them is more than 10 yrs old :smile: Overall, think i have spent nearly 5k on this bike's repair alone for the past 4 years i've been riding it but what to do, i guess i'm just unlucky :cheeky: the bike also gives alot of tantrum nowadays but a good kick to it solves the problem :sweat:

he came down to moi void deck to pass me something.... and i was polishing my baby at that time

Rae, I dun have bike now....pass to my friend to ride already...so going to Tampines is a bit off for me now :cheeky:

I'll get from you before I fly ok? :thumb:

Guys, Skippernet is a peaceful place. Hope everyone keep it this way. I'm no mod or "lao jiao"...but I love peace. We have a problem? We try to share advice & solve it. What say you? :angel:

SK, u passed ur bike to your fren?? Then u ride wat bike? The Bandit ahz? :confused:

Originally posted by lawrance@Jun 8 2006, 03:54 PM

HE RIDE ELEPHANT!

hahaha... that's a good one!!

:gun: Whiteoryx, siaoguy, lawrence... o_O

Originally posted by SK I@Jun 9 2006, 01:35 AM

:gun: Whiteoryx, siaoguy, lawrence... o_O

so SK I, when u going back to Thailand?? have u found ur bike to ride back there??

I got back my bike from Taihin 2 days, all along it was the CDI which caused the problems on my typhoon. Now it able to start easily and run fine. And I believe WM carb wash has no complication to the starting problem as well. I want to thank Taihin for patiently explaing and solving the problems on my typhoon and to apologise to Taihin and WM for causing a commotion here.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

:cheer: Good to hear that :cheer: My bike now also got CDI problem. Need to kick it before can start the bike :cheeky: Waiting for bonus first then can repair.... think another 5 mths?? :confused:

Originally posted by S750WP@Jun 9 2006, 10:33 AM

I got back my bike from Taihin 2 days, all along it was the CDI which caused the problems on my typhoon. Now it able to start easily and run fine. And I believe WM carb wash has no complication to the starting problem as well. I want to thank Taihin for patiently explaing and solving the problems on my typhoon and to apologise to Taihin and WM for causing a commotion here.

we are human afterall.:smile:

Great to know your prob is solved although I couln't offer much help :thumb: S750WP.

Er..I ride Vespa Sprint back in CM and drive 30 year old Mazda....hahaha! :cheeky:

Originally posted by SK I@Jun 9 2006, 11:18 AM

Great to know your prob is solved although I couln't offer much help :thumb: S750WP.

Er..I ride Vespa Sprint back in CM and drive 30 year old Mazda....hahaha! :cheeky:

I remember i saw a Toyota front and Honda back weld mixed car in the land of smile, was wondering what is the engine inside, maybe a Ferrari EnZo ?? :D

Originally posted by S750WP@Jun 9 2006, 10:33 AM

Happy to know tat all ur problem solved. :cheeky:

We konw how u feel when ur bike always breakdown. but please find out the truth before accusing in future. Reputation at stake :sweat:

Should u have any other problems with ur bike in future, u r more than welcome to come back to us. :smile:

Originally posted by Satgi@Jun 9 2006, 11:41 AM

Agree.

I think nothing is more important when it come to sincere and trust. :smile: