SBF SkipperNet Cafe 2008

Wah crazy? Go all the way to 100km/h? Must be becos i told you the story about the full faced girl that over took me rite? :cheeky: You training your bike so that you can overtake mine as well if you see me rite? :mad: Wah! you all want to run away from me! :cry:

][][ No point waiting.. if you want something, its best to go get it yourself!!! ][][

• Replies 5.6k

WhiteOryx> yeah...paint still new. maybe ride for while then see how. thiknig of personalising it u see...=)

btw..not used to the handling...pick-up's very gd compared to my old ride(shadow 125) ran to 100km/hr today on pie but slowed down soon after cos vibrating quite a bit.

but fuel consumption's a bit odd...i juz top up full tank. ran ard 45km(with aveage of 85 running on my meter). tank down to slightly less than 3/4 bar. izzit normal?? :confused:

btw...is it at all possible to tune skipper's carb to make it fuel efficient?

myusha>> cool custom's located at

Blk 53, Ubi Avenue 1,

Paya Ubi Industrial park, #01-30

you can pm CC if you wanna find out more. he's the owner of the place. :smile:

Originally posted by kilkenny@Mar 30 2005, 09:17 AM

my carb was washed, still the same. except now my plus doesnt become black and unusable within 2 weeks. now my plug is whitish.

so just check jetting and auto choke?

anyway, the next time i'm going down, i'm gonna get my swingarm bushing done and replace my rollers and clip. What does the clip do??

anyone got any reccommendations for rollers and clips? i heard of ppl using Malossi Kevlar belts. think i i might use that too. can someone reccommend some "trick" parts that i can buy, and where to get em? how much too?

i think i wanna try to make my topend better and less pickup so that i can save on fuel heheh so i guess that means i prob need heavy rollers and a kevlar belt?

Plug whitish?

Comfirm lean setting.

Depending what your mech has did. Very high chances is that he didn't turn properly.

Here's a few skipper infos.

Skipper is using a mikuni VM20 carb.

If your skipper is stock and have no after market parts

u can use back the stock setting.

The stock pilot jet setting is 1 and 3/8 turns.

Clip position is at 3rd notch from top.

Originally posted by myusha@Mar 31 2005, 04:55 PM

Paya lebar post office??

izzit some where near eunos area?

ya... its near paya lebar mrt station, and a few blocks down from soon motor i think. its blk 10XX if i'm not wrong heh.... industrial estate

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-8631.jpg

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Apr 1 2005, 12:08 PM

Plug whitish?

Comfirm lean setting.

Depending what your mech has did. Very high chances is that he didn't turn properly.

Here's a few skipper infos.

Skipper is using a mikuni VM20 carb.

If your skipper is stock and have no after market parts

u can use back the stock setting.

The stock pilot jet setting is 1 and 3/8 turns.

Clip position is at 3rd notch from top.

i think i'm stock. if i change to a kevlar belt am i considered stock?

thanks everyone who has been answering my qns. it so nice too see support and interactivity in the forum. heh.

i think i might try to do the tuning myself. after my exams, i take a photo and ask u guys in detail :PPP

Originally posted by kilkenny@Apr 1 2005, 01:27 PM

i think i'm stock. if i change to a kevlar belt am i considered stock?

thanks everyone who has been answering my qns. it so nice too see support and interactivity in the forum. heh.

i think i might try to do the tuning myself. after my exams, i take a photo and ask u guys in detail :PPP

Kevlar belt.

Usually don't show much if rest of the bike is stock.

But it will usually translate to longer belt life span.

It will really shine if you have 172 kit, multivar and delta clutch.

not to mention with uprated torque spring and clutch springs.

Originally posted by myusha@Apr 1 2005, 11:33 AM

now bike like got problem lidat...dun dare to c

lolx dun see lohz! hahaha, some more, i always ride along ECP to Alexandra Rd, i dun think you will see me also! hahaha. Regarding your bike hard to start, well, i can just say that its normal! i every day ride full throttle, everyday also hard to start hehehe but so far, i no need to use my kick start!

rae07>> regarding the vibration, well for me, it always happen! and the faster i go, the noisier my bike gets! Till i used to it liao! hahaha. i guess you'll get used to it soon hehehe

kenny>>So how? have you went to the motordiam to have ur bike checked? You wan to do the tuning ahz? Can teach me too?

][][ No point waiting.. if you want something, its best to go get it yourself!!! ][][

Originally posted by ROL13@Apr 1 2005, 07:24 PM

This vibrating oocur to me too, like the whole thing going to dismantle too. But i think maybe due to the wind resistant, and the weight of the bike. Try pillioning and you can see the difference in the additional weight.

ok..will try...

but getting comfy with this machine. able to zip here and there pretty smoothly liao :thumb:

Wah can Zip liao? So if i see a black,red,white skipper zip around, i'll know its you! hehehe

Originally posted by WhiteOryx@Apr 1 2005, 05:57 PM

lolx dun see lohz! hahaha, some more, i always ride along ECP to Alexandra Rd, i dun think you will see me also! hahaha. Regarding your bike hard to start, well, i can just say that its normal! i every day ride full throttle, everyday also hard to start hehehe but so far, i no need to use my kick start!

rae07>> regarding the vibration, well for me, it always happen! and the faster i go, the noisier my bike gets! Till i used to it liao! hahaha. i guess you'll get used to it soon hehehe

kenny>>So how? have you went to the motordiam to have ur bike checked? You wan to do the tuning ahz? Can teach me too?

oryx>> i havent got the time to go down yet as i'm less about a week away from my exams.... heh.. regarding the tuning, i will find out after my exams and hopefully its as easy as turning the fuel mixture screw of my previous scrambler heh.

any lao jiaos who wanna teach more stuff out here? kaypoh and enthusiastic newbie is exctied abt learning more stuff!

i think mine's the only matte black skipper in sg.. heee.....

Originally posted by WhiteOryx@Apr 2 2005, 11:14 AM

Wah can Zip liao? So if i see a black,red,white skipper zip around, i'll know its you! hehehe

hehe...i can be seen every morning tackling the jam on PIE frm bedok to jln bahar. :smile:

it's sure fun to ride ard in skippers. starting to enjoy taking ride on skipper. best tihng's when legs tired, can move to sit on pillion seat and stretch ur legs. :thumb:

"i think mine's the only matte black skipper in sg.. heee..... "

Matte skipper? Mine used to be matte black till i went and sprayed it to white hehehe. So now u can really say yours in the only matte one in spore :clap:

Originally posted by rae07@Apr 2 2005, 01:12 PM

hehe...i can be seen every morning tackling the jam on PIE frm bedok to jln bahar. :smile:

it's sure fun to ride ard in skippers. starting to enjoy taking ride on skipper. best tihng's when legs tired, can move to sit on pillion seat and stretch ur legs. :thumb:

Along PIE from Bedok to Jln bahar? Hahaha, i guess i won't be seeing you then cause i ride every morning along ECP from Bedok to Alexandra lolx! :smile:

Hahaha Jus gib me a honk if you see a nerd riding a white skipper with black foot rests! FL plate also! hehehe :shades:

today morning try to start my bike but seems to have problem starting.....

normally wat's the problem? i had the plug changed not too long oso....

hey guys...need to ask a very noob question.

how much 2T does a skipper consume? i was toping up petrol juz now and decide to buy a bottle to try. to my surprise...i manage to pour almost a bottle in! (2T symbol was not showing prior this)

and i poured the remaining bits(probably 2-4 capful?) into petrol tank with fear of the 2T pump not working.(will it be ok to do this??)

Originally posted by rae07@Apr 3 2005, 05:58 AM

how much 2T does a skipper consume? i was toping up petrol juz now and decide to buy a bottle to try. to my surprise...i manage to pour almost a bottle in! (2T symbol was not showing prior this)

and i poured the remaining bits(probably 2-4 capful?) into petrol tank with fear of the 2T pump not working.(will it be ok to do this??)

how much 2t ur scoot consume depends on how much u set it to consume.

the 2t container will print it's requiered consume ratio at the back of the bottle.

give more 2t will not affect the scoot performance . it will only waste a little money and ur exhuast will be more smoky . that's all.

(beware of ROV) hehe

Originally posted by rae07@Apr 3 2005, 05:58 AM

I wouldn't trust warning lights on an old skipper :)

Might I suggest you send your skipper for a full check-up. It's always good to do so when you purchase a bike 2nd hand anyway. Had my friend done so, she wouldn't have experienced a piston jam just 3 weeks after she purchased her skipper. THe 2T pump had failed because a rubber belt in it had broken (due to old age) and any good mechanic would have noticed this. It cost her $190 to replace the block and piston, a painful lesson indeed.

Originally posted by ultimax@Apr 3 2005, 09:59 AM

I wouldn't trust warning lights on an old skipper :)

Might I suggest you send your skipper for a full check-up. It's always good to do so when you purchase a bike 2nd hand anyway. Had my friend done so, she wouldn't have experienced a piston jam just 3 weeks after she purchased her skipper. THe 2T pump had failed because a rubber belt in it had broken (due to old age) and any good mechanic would have noticed this. It cost her $190 to replace the block and piston, a painful lesson indeed.

skipper have piston?? :confused:

Hmm... i also dunno bout this! Ultimax, I'm still waiting for the skipper manual! Then i can look for the piston! hehehe :sweat:

Originally posted by WhiteOryx@Apr 3 2005, 12:54 PM

Hmm... i also dunno bout this! Ultimax, I'm still waiting for the skipper manual! Then i can look for the piston! hehehe :sweat:

really paiseh man...waiting for a friend to return it to me so that i can zap it. Also been damn busy with school and other things...1001 things on my mind haha. I promise it'll be sent out this week!

My apologies to everyone who's been waiting for the manual.

thx guys for reply. guess i'll read the label next time round.

no worries ultimax. i had my bike checked on friday. :smile:

100+ to changed the essentials like belt, rollers and brakepads to ensure a safe ride for mths. (oh yeah..changed that small rubber belt as well...was told tt u have to change tt every 30K.) :smile: