SBF SkipperNet Cafe 2008

Originally posted by rae07@Apr 6 2005, 11:20 AM

hey guys..juz a question. where do you guys put the airhorn? i dun tihnk there's enuff space in the front fairing for hons right??

Got space :)

Just ask Killkenny...There's just enough space above the glove compartment. you gotta remove the front panel tho.

• Replies 5.6k

Originally posted by WhiteOryx@Apr 6 2005, 04:01 PM

I also wanna install horns! hehehe how much ahz? :cheeky:

~$16 for a pair of Stebel Magnum electric horns at Autobacs

Originally posted by rae07@Apr 7 2005, 11:12 AM

this getting better. learning more things now frm all the 'lao jiao' :smile:

btw..is it normal tt fuel gauge get stuck(stays at 0) at times? happened to me twice. need to power off and on again then it'll move.

this one i don't know liao.

could be ur fuel meter jam or fuel gauge sensor faulty.

better go work shop to check. but if ur odometer is working then u can still jugde the fuel level mah.:cheeky:

There's only 2 possible problem for the fuel guage.

The meter on the instrument panel or the fuel float assembly.

Originally posted by scooter lacer@Apr 7 2005, 04:27 PM

oi!! comet

new scoot on road yet ??:sweat:

................................... :sian:

Originally posted by ultimax@Apr 7 2005, 03:53 PM

Got space :)

Just ask Killkenny...There's just enough space above the glove compartment. you gotta remove the front panel tho.

place for 2? hehe..i've still got my horns(1's pretty smashed but i guess still workable) looks like i gotto meet up with you or killkenny after exams to tok more abt skippers. :smile:

whiteoryx>> i've yet to actually find out how much i run per litre cos no trip meter. bit difficult. :cheeky: but estimate ard 28-30km/litre as well. :smile:

so for the fuel gauge gotto make a trip own motordiam again eh? sigh...:giddy:

Originally posted by rae07@Apr 7 2005, 09:43 PM

place for 2? hehe..i've still got my horns(1's pretty smashed but i guess still workable) looks like i gotto meet up with you or killkenny after exams to tok more abt skippers. :mile:

whiteoryx>> i've yet to actually find out how much i run per litre cos no trip meter. bit difficult. :cheeky: but estimate ard 28-30km/litre as well. :smile:

so for the fuel gauge gotto make a trip own motordiam again eh? sigh...:giddy:

Hey! Count me in! I also wanna Join! :cheeky:

][][ No point waiting.. if you want something, its best to go get it yourself!!! ][][

Wah so low ahz? Goin Upz!

][][ No point waiting.. if you want something, its best to go get it yourself!!! ][][

Yeah Man! No prob rae07! :cheeky:

Jus went to Taihin jus now! :cheeky: To repair my faulty starter connector. Wat surprises me is both side also faulty :giddy: hehehe... then also repair my kick starter...it seems that the spring cover or smthing like that for the kick starter broke thats why my bike been noisy for the past 2 weeks...Now, after all the repairs, have to give my bike a bath... very dirty liao! Did i tell you that its white? hehehe :sweat:

Oh yah! also met scooter lacer for the first time! He see my bike straight away know its me! Hmm... he got 6 sense ahz? :confused:

Originally posted by WhiteOryx@Apr 9 2005, 05:08 PM

Yeah Man! No prob rae07! :cheeky:

Jus went to Taihin jus now! :cheeky: To repair my faulty starter connector. Wat surprises me is both side also faulty :giddy: hehehe... then also repair my kick starter...it seems that the spring cover or smthing like that for the kick starter broke thats why my bike been noisy for the past 2 weeks...Now, after all the repairs, have to give my bike a bath... very dirty liao! Did i tell you that its white? hehehe :sweat:

Oh yah! also met scooter lacer for the first time! He see my bike straight away know its me! Hmm... he got 6 sense ahz? :confused:

ur bike white color mah!:cheeky:

only white one i heard of in this forum now heh

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-8631.jpg

Originally posted by ultimax@Apr 9 2005, 06:38 PM

For all those who had earlier expressed interest in the Haynes skipper manual, pls check your PM. Copies have already been made.

thx for effort ultimax. :smile:

maybe i should start this. so we can recon each other on rd or @ motordiams. :smile:

wat's ur skipper's color

----------------------------------------------------------

1) WhiteOryx:- white

2) rae07:- black, red and white

Wah i number "1" :cheeky:

3.) Rol13:- Black, With a lot of dust. :confused:

You no longer ride skipper??

maybe i should start this. so we can recon each other on rd or @ motordiams.

wat's ur skipper's color

----------------------------------------------------------

1) WhiteOryx:- white

2) rae07:- black, red and white

3) Rol13:- Black, With a lot of dust.

4) kilkenny:- boring matte black

Matte black nice leh! :cheeky:

yeah...matt black's one of a kind. :thumb:

juz check my mileage/litre it's 29+/litre! :smile:

question abt 2T. any brand will do or need to get gd ones?? any adverse effects(besides smoke discharge) using ones like spc 2T alpha?

haha thanks guys! black is my kinda color so all my bikes will and have been black :sweat:

my riding style is abit mad so my mileage only like 25-26/litre :sian:

oryx> i checked out ur webby :) i almost wanted to do my skipper like yours before i changed my mind! heh only that i wanted to do red instead of ur yellow :)

one more paper to go! :giddy:

btw i use 2t like Esso 2t Low Smoke (Perfumed) and Putolene's Strawberry 2t. errr ok so far. not fully synthetic shd be ok right? wat say u lao jiaos?

2t ah? ....

i used to swear by R2 when i was riding my ITALJET DRAGSTER. but after i tried TOTAL RACING , i have been using it ever since. it's 4 time cheaper and i really can't notice any diff, except when i check piston and find it slidly darker when compared with R2 loh. so my advice is use what u can afford . cheaper 2T still can be used , u worried then increase the ratio loh.:smile:

Originally posted by kilkenny@Apr 11 2005, 09:05 PM

one more paper to go! :giddy:

well..be glad man...mine's starting this thursday and ends on 28th!!!! :sian:

so grade of 2T ain't an issue eh? cos i went petrol kiosk. saw fully synthetic ones at 16+! was wondering wat's if i'm using the correct ones cos 2T unlike 4T, can't change it every 1000km/2000km/5000km.

Originally posted by kilkenny@Apr 11 2005, 09:05 PM

oryx> i checked out ur webby :) i almost wanted to do my skipper like yours before i changed my mind! heh only that i wanted to do red instead of ur yellow :)

OOooo!! you saw the matte and yellow color of my bike yah! Well... that is wat is left! No more that color liao! Now change to white heheeh! All white! Pure and nice but when washed 1 day, very dirty the next day! :mad: Should have painted black instead :cheeky: Anyway, thanks for visiting my site! Good luck on your last paper! :goodluck:

Originally posted by rae07@Apr 11 2005, 11:28 PM

well..be glad man...mine's starting this thursday and ends on 28th!!!! :sian:

so grade of 2T ain't an issue eh? cos i went petrol kiosk. saw fully synthetic ones at 16+! was wondering wat's if i'm using the correct ones cos 2T unlike 4T, can't change it every 1000km/2000km/5000km.

Actually, the thing you should take note of is not so much on the brand, rather it's

the rating that counts.

Of course u would still want to choose a reputable brand of 2T.

During my typhoon days, pretty short only actually.

These are the facts I found.

The most common rating that is on 2T is either by API or JASO.

API ratings are API TA, TB and TC.

Jaso rating are JASO FA, FB and FC.

The "A" series being the lowest and usually you don't find them around anymore.

The lowest on the shelves are API TB and JASO FB rating.

And the both rating are actually very close. But the Jaso is more strict.

What may pass API TC rating may only pass JASO FB rating only.

So if you go by Jaso rating, you won't be wrong.

Mineral 2T oil and some of the semi syn 2T oil are in the FB rating.

Some Semi Syn and all fully syn are in the FC rating.

So far, I only come accros the castrol active semi syn is in the FC rating.

Which shares the same rating as castrol R2.

No Active is not better than R2 as R2 still have some additive that is not found in active.

The interesting facts that I found out from the JASO website is

FB and FC is not too far off. They both have the same level of lubrication and protection values. The only diff is that FC rating have more cleaning rating value. and lower carbon formation value than FB.

Personal recommendation, Use total racing semi-syn $3.90 that is found at carefour. cheap and good.

If you want more protection use, castrol active. $6.50 found at all BP(?) petrol kiosk?

The above mentioned 2T is good enough for skippers.

Just sharing