what's the diff between a shell 92vs 95vs 98 vs vpower ?

4 a 2 stroker i think the 2t plays a heavy part in the bike's performance.

but the different grades of petrol have a different % of octane right ?

i read in the straits times b4 that the % octane affects those high end sportscars but 4 bikes does it matter what grade of petrol is used ?

anyone encountered difference in performance when say pump shell 92 vs vpower ?

thx again =p

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2A-GSXR400(SCRAPPED),ZXR400(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

http://www.1000ps.at/magazin/yamaha/yamaha_r1_8gross.jpg

• Replies 372

i read in the straits times b4 that the % octane affects those high end sportscars but 4 bikes does it matter what grade of petrol is used ?

thx again =p

depends on engine compression. so far i know 92 is enough for 400cc and 95 enough for 600 and above. no diff in performance if meet the min ron.

in sg, sound fast look fast is enough. run fast fine fast die fast.

wtf? I ride in petrol station in morning then see price expensive, then no pump!! then when returning from work bo bian gonna empty tank liao go pump! means I waste my $ :(

That's why I always believe in LUCK! :cheeky:

was at esso mobil washin my bike den i overheard price going to rise. den i quickly pump full tank lolz.

depends on engine compression. so far i know 92 is enough for 400cc and 95 enough for 600 and above. no diff in performance if meet the min ron.

then leaded vs unleaded ? 92 is leaded 95 is unleaded ?

with wat ya said earlier then its redundant to use 98 or higher for a krr...

but 92 vs 95 for a krr

would using 95 give

1. more km per liter of fuel ?

2. does it being unleaded do anything performance wise ?

3. 95 release less smoke + helps less carbon build up at exhaust ?

anyone wanna shed light into this issue ?

2B-KRR(SOLD)

2A-GSXR400(SCRAPPED),ZXR400(SOLD)

2-R1

3-TOYOTA CAMRY

http://www.1000ps.at/magazin/yamaha/yamaha_r1_8gross.jpg

then leaded vs unleaded ? 92 is leaded 95 is unleaded ?

with wat ya said earlier then its redundant to use 98 or higher for a krr...

but 92 vs 95 for a krr

would using 95 give

1. more km per liter of fuel ?

2. does it being unleaded do anything performance wise ?

3. 95 release less smoke + helps less carbon build up at exhaust ?

anyone wanna shed light into this issue ?

all are UL petrol. depends on engine compression. i duno abt krr. for sp is min 95. normally is lower the ron, the better mileage. for smoke, it is the 2t.

in sg, sound fast look fast is enough. run fast fine fast die fast.

Guest deganduss

Aiyaaah! our normal standard machine take 92 ~ 95 octane enough lah!

Latest from news just now @ 9.00pm Petrol hit all time high US$111.80 or something. for once SM is wrong, he said it will not hit more than US$110.

Wen it hit US$120 I will change to Wave 125 fuel injection

i think pulsar is good

http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t26/Mengz_Zai/UniSIM%20FYP%20Presentation/05062010263.jpg

MY FY PROJECT IN 05 JUN 10 @ UNISIM!!

KAWASAKI 150KRR - SEP 02 - DEC 04

HONDA S4 VTEC SPEC II - JUN 04 - JUN 06

YAMAHA 03' R1 - JUN 06 - JAN 07 (STOLEN IN JB :( )

PIAGGIO X9 180CC - FEB 07 - NOW

SUZUKI K5 1000 L.E - JUN 07 - AUG 08

SUZUKI HAYABUSA K7 - AUG 08 - JUL 10

Here we go again! Barely 2 weeks after a 4 cent increase, pump prices rise again! As of 4 pm on 17 March 2008, we can confirm that all 4 petrol brands have increased pump prices for petrol by 4 cents and pump prices for diesel by 5 cents in the following order:

Shell - 9 am, 17 March 08

Caltex - 11 am, 17 March 08

ExxonMobil - 2 pm, 17 March 08

SPC - 3pm, 17 March 08

haiz.. rise also bo bian right? nothing we can do zzzz

===============

ZX-150" OCT '07 - FEB '09

SPEC III" FEB '09 - APR '11

GSXR-750" APR '11 - DEC '11

FZ6S2" JAN 12 - JULY '12

FZ1N" JULY 12 - MAR '15

MONSTER 796" MAR '15 - ???

===============

Actually the crude oil price did not go up much, it is the weak value of US$ that makes it trade at a higher US$ price. Since S$ is now much stronger vs US$, we should not feel the effect at all.....but the evil petrol company make this as an excuse to increase the pump price to make more profit!! :angry:

What do u think? :giddy:

We R One!

Guest deganduss
Actually the crude oil price did not go up much, it is the weak value of US$ that makes it trade at a higher US$ price. Since S$ is now much stronger vs US$, we should not feel the effect at all.....but the evil petrol company make this as an excuse to increase the pump price to make more profit!! :angry:

What do u think? :giddy:

gahmon oso make more from GST wat, we pay more they get more

seriously if u wan to say affect.. i take cubs/ pulsar/wave and all those low fc 2b bike i 100% dare to say u will not be affected if who are to be affected by this should be more to class 2

everything rise, pay never rise, still not affected meh? :sian:

Aiyaaah! our normal standard machine take 92 ~ 95 octane enough lah!

Latest from news just now @ 9.00pm Petrol hit all time high US$111.80 or something. for once SM is wrong, he said it will not hit more than US$110.

Wen it hit US$120 I will change to Wave 125 fuel injection

Wave 125 is fuel-injected?? :confused:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/n687922172_4603.jpg

万般带ä¸èµ° ... 唯有业éšèº«

Wave 125 is fuel-injected?? :confused:

i think the new one is leh

jus like the coming soon super 4

Fi wan

i was thinking even if all the petrol station

keep upping the price

there is nothing we consumers can do right ?

all boycott n pump jb..

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

ahhh also true.. my neighbor rides a S4 as despatch rider.. petrol upss sure hits his earnings..

same for those insurance agents, property agents , sales ...petrol up but copany petrol allowance never up...burn own pockets...

At least, their companies provide petrol allowance. It does help.

Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit

thx again =p

These are what I found out from the sticker labels I saw on the tanks of a brand new R1 and a Kawasaki Z10 at a bike shop a couple of years ago, R1: This motorcycle is equipped with racing performance parts a minimum of 95 graded gas is to be used. Z10: *same statement but with a minimum of 98 graded gas*.

On a personal level, I use either the 92 or 95 graded gas of any brands in SG when my tank hits the reserve level just enough for me to go to JB from Tampines via the 1st link where I'll fill up with the "best" types of gas they have to offer :cheeky: . Btw, I'm riding a Busa (minimum grade of gas is '87 :angel: :giddy: ).

i was thinking even if all the petrol station

keep upping the price

there is nothing we consumers can do right ?

There are 3 things in which we, the consumers, can do:

1. Continue with filling gas in SG

2. Train ourselves to not be lazy to travel to JB bi-daily :giddy: /weekly for top-up sessions (apply for motorcycles with bigger tanks else not worth the travel and hassle)

3. Stop riding/driving altogether :giddy:

As for me, I'm with option 2 though I do feel kinda lazy at times :cheeky: .

One fine day, Malaysia petrol will no longer be subsidized by the government. It is just not sustainable. Be prepared.

:btw: expect prices to continue to go up.

as the army says do and die dont ask why

petrol up? so no choice 1 haha just pay up protest? refer to SDP for info about what happens

http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj172/chiamjh/20080126025-0011-1-1.jpgWhen you see the rain close behind, it's time to open that throttle of yours. http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj172/chiamjh/Photo0170-1.jpg
One fine day, Malaysia petrol will no longer be subsidized by the government. It is just not sustainable. Be prepared.

:btw: expect prices to continue to go up.

petrol price in sg rise till siao.. 2 weeeks rise 8 cents :giddy:

===============

ZX-150" OCT '07 - FEB '09

SPEC III" FEB '09 - APR '11

GSXR-750" APR '11 - DEC '11

FZ6S2" JAN 12 - JULY '12

FZ1N" JULY 12 - MAR '15

MONSTER 796" MAR '15 - ???

===============