stsoh..may i ask what bike you riding now? duly responsible for recommending rwr to newbies? why leh? something not so right with rwr for newbies?

Class 2B: 12 Oct 2011

Eun Hee - Roadwin R125: 15 Oct 2011 -

• Replies 7.8k

still riding the first generation roadwin.

first generation rw came to sillypore in 2004.

2nd gen was the X5 or 150cc.

3rd gen, cka did not import it. it's the EFI air/cool engine.

4th gen is the current roadwinR aka rwR aka roadsport.

having read many newbies dun know wat bike to buy so kapo n recommend rwR.

there's nothing wrong rwR for newbies, in fact should be great.

hey i wan ask.. why i close throttle slowly then i suddenly open throttle my bike will jerk and will tend to not increase the speed but instead maintain for awhile then slowly will increase speed ler..

why ar? need send for check up?

http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk7/fireimmortal/footballg.gif

Daelim Roadwin R125 2011 - Now

Honda CB400 Vtec 3 2014 - Now

i believe if you using the last gear(5th) to do that it does that alot of times because the last gear is meant for cruising and lacks power, if you need the acceleration power, you will need to down shift to 4th unless of course if your at already at 7k-8k rpm so then down shifting is not a very good idea

Edited by fleas
i believe if you using the last gear(5th) to do that it does that alot of times because the last gear is meant for cruising and lacks power, if you need the acceleration power, you will need to down shift to 4th unless of course if your at already at 7k-8k rpm so then down shifting is not a very good idea

ahh i see.. ok thanks.. no wonder i was wondering why it cant speed up that fast.. ok another question.. for gear 4 right.. i should go up to rev 7 then change? cos i'm always changing gears at rev 5 but my frenz says gear 4 should be able to go 80 before going gear 5..

pardon my noobness cos i still dun really understand this bike well altho i rode like 1k miles only..

iceimmortal, it's time to break ur toy.

even a child will break his/her toy wo asking.

his/her learning skill progresses as he/she knows the limitations n how it work when rebuilt.

if u ride a hayabusa n sudden twist the throttle on 5th gear will send u into car boot in front.

do be careful when exploring.

ps:

too many nooby questions, ppl will find it irritating.

give more contributions, ppl will appreciate it.

oops, i forgot tat i promise not to make entry anymore...one last time. bye.

Edited by stsoh
iceimmortal, it's time to break ur toy.

even a child will break his/her toy wo asking.

his/her learning skill progresses as he/she knows the limitations n how it work when rebuilt.

if u ride a hayabusa n sudden twist the throttle on 5th gear will send u into car boot in front.

do be careful when exploring.

ps:

too many nooby questions, ppl will find it irritating.

give more contributions, ppl will appreciate it.

oops, i forgot tat i promise not to make entry anymore...one last time. bye.

true i need to break some stuffs in order to learn and experience by myself.. but the reason why i'm asking so that i can prevent from damaging the engine..

come on.. a broken mirror can nvr be perfect the way it was once it's broken right? same goes for everything..

PS: if u find me irritating then dun have to answer my questions, just ignore me? i'm not only asking you just for advice but loads of ppl who uses the forums here..

wellllll, about gear changing, it really depends on how u feel, road conditions and traffic.

for example: i usually use gear 5 even when i just traveling as low as 60km/h when there is slow moving traffic/flat road and slowly let it climb.

lets say you at gear 5 traveling at 70km/h(crusing gear, usually no power when going up a hill unless u already at 80-90km/h) then there's a hill infront, chances are instinct will tell you to shift down and accelerate.

its all about the feel. just becauseful not to gear down at extremely high rev. when you use the bike more you will understand. the bike opens up around 7-8k rpm.

wellllll, about gear changing, it really depends on how u feel, road conditions and traffic.

for example: i usually use gear 5 even when i just traveling as low as 60km/h when there is slow moving traffic/flat road and slowly let it climb.

lets say you at gear 5 traveling at 70km/h(crusing gear, usually no power when going up a hill unless u already at 80-90km/h) then there's a hill infront, chances are instinct will tell you to shift down and accelerate.

its all about the feel. just becauseful not to gear down at extremely high rev. when you use the bike more you will understand. the bike opens up around 7-8k rpm.

I see i see. Thanks once again for the tips... i'll guess i'll stop asking ques now.. lol..

i've not seen the RWR on the road before, till yesterday.. some dude clad in a business attire arrived at my site office on the RWR. My, should I say that this bike looks professional; one can dress up for business meetings and arriving with the bike looking as sharp!

Well, i used to think that the RWR is just a typical big sports bike with nothing to shout about, but i'd say my views were humbled when I saw the gleaming red RWR yesterday!

Nice and sharp-looking bike!

BMW R1200GSLC 2014 (20smiles/miles)

Mini Cooper S Clubman 2011 (10smiles/miles)

i'll guess i'll stop asking ques now

Dont be discourage :)

I don't even know what to ask sometime.. which is worse.. probably. haha!

http://www.danasoft.com/sig/Foxin489130.jpg

i think asking questions is a good thing though. that's how we learn ba..we all start from somewhere. To infinity and beyond! :D

now my question: hahaa..what you mean the bike open up at 7-8k rpm? you mean you sense the power coming in? that's rather high revs right?

ok thanks for the support for me to ask more questions!!! haha.. just wanna say that.. nowadays more and more ppl are riding RwR.. during my deliveries i've seen alot of RwR around west area.. just that i think they dun come to this forum..

btw about the 7-8krpm thingy.. i think it's like wat u said, power.. that's when the power starts to come.. I think so only ar..

it is... this bike is designed as a high revving bike, and like what they says, the engine wakes up arnd that rev =X for this bike, it's smoother to ride at high rev rather than low rev (my own feeling)

Blacky Aka Xiao Hei May 2011 to ???

Sounds like at RPM 7k/min super4's V-tec will cut in.

:/

Theres issn't such at thing for my bike though...

http://www.danasoft.com/sig/Foxin489130.jpg

ANother question, if i want to browse and scout for 2nd hand rwr where to find? i look at the used bike section here as well as sgbikemart. anywhere else to look for? Not much rwr for sale as of yet. Just want to scout and do some checking before i buy.

wah that means if want a smooth ride looks like got to go high revs ah? excuse to speed? hehee...but i trying to be safe rider lah. I think we all should be. Careful on the roads!

Thank you for answering my questions too! next time treat you all lim kopi. teh-peng also can hahaa

-_____-

no guys, when i say "opens up at 7k-8k rpm" it means the power band peaks out there

for example: lets say u want to accelerate fast away from teh traffic lights because some crazy drunk driver is behind you....etc

you will accelerate pass 8k rpm then maybe shift at around 9k rpm keeping the rpms above 7k to 8k because thats when the power/torque band is at the highest.

most bikes do not have linear power band. so different bikes will get sudden power at certain rpm.

so fleas...you can clearly see that you are talking to noobs :D hehee...

i hope stsoh comes back though, i think this thread is less without him. He has alot of experience that can benefit everybardi.

Come back sempai! :D

Hi Everyone, Will be selling my rwr in a few days time....

o.o.. why?

ya..why why? change to which bike? I heard that daelim might have issues after 4 years running. Is that true? Like mechanical issues, heard from a friend who rides.

gd morning! i will let u know in 4 years time~

not sure whether is it for this bike only, my conception is, there's bound to be some problem somewhere in any bike, just depends on how serious/dangerous/pocket burning it is.

maybe u could include in more details of what your fren said? like what is the exact major problem after 4 years?

for RWR personally i haven met any serious issue (new bike ma) except that everyone is complaining that my low beam is too blinding... but what i heard in previous outings from the seniors is that we need to look out for conrod issue and spark plug (overheated).

Blacky Aka Xiao Hei May 2011 to ???