[Technical] Possible Solutions to your Phantom's Problem

had probelms starting my bike today..kicked and kicked for half and hour..try everything also no use..finally called tow truck..ended up my cdi was spoilt..changed a 2nd hand one ..($100) and all's fine now..

glad that your bike is ok now :smile:

• Replies 1.8k

There is a problems with my TA200. Actually I'm intending to send my bike down to planet tomorrow morning but want to do some enquires to find out how much I have to actually spend.

Okay, this is the first time I am experiencing this problem. When the bike is idling, the engine sound not constant. For example, the sound goes like "ta-ta-tatata". After idling for some time, the engine start to stall. Or on the road, when I coming to a stop(close throtter), the engine stall/dies off.

Have any bros here experienced this problems care to share their insights? Very worried have to do overhaul :giddy:

I too have this problem last month... its very bad the problem.. when Rain come. engine will stall...:

I went to Planet.. Mech tested by SPRAYING water at the SPARK PLUg there... then after a while, engine auto stall again... I changed the SPARK PLUG "HEAD"(he told me). Charges is $60.. now ok liao..

Bring down and check.... if not, raining, sure very bad.....!!!!!

5 Oct 2005 - Jun 2007(SP) FS6059X

18 Jun 2007 - 26 Nov 2007 -> CBR400, L model problematic FJ532*S

26 Nov 2007 - 12 Nov 2011 -> TA200, FV2X2G

12 Nov 2011 - 12 Nov 2012 -> SYM GTS200, FZ99*0D

29 Nov 2012 - 13 July 2015 -> KIA Rio HB 1.4M, SFY*

13 Jul 2015 - 28 Apr 2018 -> Kia Cerato V2 SKT*

28 Apr 2018 till current -> Hyundai Elentra S_trim SLZ*

Fellows,

Have a question here.

When i close throttle, my pipe Gives out a very Loud Sound, like "BACKFIRE" sound..

Wat is the problem? will it cause problems?

Pls advise....

Fellows,

Have a question here.

When i close throttle, my pipe Gives out a very Loud Sound, like "BACKFIRE" sound..

Pls advise....

the problem is that your air / fuel ratio is unbalanced... right now it is too rich... just adjust it to make the mixture a little more neutral...

some people like to backfire on purpose... but it can't be good for your pipe :cheers:

the problem is that your air / fuel ratio is unbalanced... right now it is too rich... just adjust it to make the mixture a little more neutral...

some people like to backfire on purpose... but it can't be good for your pipe :cheers:

I think pipe is the last thing to be worried about... think of the back pressure on the exhaust valve! :slurp:

Today any Bike Shop open?? my Phantom no Brake Light.....

lol... you don't need a bike shop to solve that...

1. your tail light is there... right...?

2. when the tail light is on, does it look like its just the normal tail light's brightness, or does it look like its the brake light that is always on?

3. assuming that your tail light is normal, put your ear at the front brake lever. tap the front brake a few times, you should be able to hear the brake light switch being triggered audibly... and yet no response from your brake light? the solution is simple... just replace the tail light bulb... the brake light filament should have burnt out... ah boy should be open (they close only one day per year) and the bulb should cost a dollar or so...

4. however if your tail light looks like its the brake light that is always on... check your front brake lever first, tap it a few times to hear if the brake light switch is being triggered... if the tick tack tick tack sound is there, move onto the rear brake pedal...

at the chassis where the rear brake pedal is, there is a wire connected to a hook, which is locked by a nut. at the end of that wire is a cable that connects to your rear brake pedal. if you do not know which wire I am referring to, stomp on the brake pedal a few times and observe the moving cables on the chassis...

what you need to do is to adjust the nut at the end of the wire... so that the pedal can trigger the brake light appropriately... its hard to explain the direction which the nut should go, so do try turning it through out its range... what you are looking for is that moment that your brake light is finally off, which means that your brake light should be triggered normally now...

try it out and tell me if your brake light issue is solved :cheers:

Today any Bike Shop open?? my Phantom no Brake Light.....

Go planet motors $1 only. One of the filament is broken. have to change new bulb.:clap:

Fellows,

Have a question here.

Pls advise....

Could be too lean or rich. Could be your air filter being clogged too.

Fellows,

Have a question here.

Pls advise....

I checked with Planet.. they say have to change the Tensioner..... $60... i was wondering really is the Tensioner problem or wat...

Hi bros

I just changed a front & back disc, front & back brake pad two days ago. The day i changed it, it produces a weird 'WONGGGG WONGGGG WONGgggg wonggg' sound from the engine which didn't occur previously before.

It only happens when the bike is coming to a halt upon slowing down.

I went back to the bike shop, the bike owner tested the bike and did not find any problems with it. I wanna know what could be the problem, sometimes these bike shops might be too busy to investigate the problems for you.

Hi bros

I just changed a front & back disc, front & back brake pad two days ago. The day i changed it, it produces a weird 'WONGGGG WONGGGG WONGgggg wonggg' sound from the engine which didn't occur previously before.

It only happens when the bike is coming to a halt upon slowing down.

I went back to the bike shop, the bike owner tested the bike and did not find any problems with it. I wanna know what could be the problem, sometimes these bike shops might be too busy to investigate the problems for you.

probabbly ill fitting or disc and pads. keep checking your disc.. might have cracks in time to come if not rectified.

byon you selling your phantom already ar? think i saw your post somewhere.

UPZ FOR GREAT INFO.

Problem 1: Exhaust emitting white smoke.

Reason: Engine oil is leaking into your chamber.

Solution: Pistol rings needs to be changed. Go to a bike workshop.

Reason: Your bike has a 2 stroke engine(ta150).

Solution: Its normal.

Problem 2: Engine stalls in heavy rain and unable / weak to start.

Reason: Spark plug could be getting wet by the rain causing it not not function

Solution: Remove, dry the spark plug and put it back properly. Go get the plug cap replaced.

Reason: Air fuel mixture may be too rich or lean.

Solution: Tune your carb to a leaner setting (turn screw anti-clockwise by 1/4).

Reason: Air leakages.

Solution: Change some of the rubber parts in tank.

Reason: Air filter clogged.

Solution : Get your air filter changed.

Problem 3: Flat / Punctured Tyres

Solution: Try to inflate tyre with portable pump / bicycle pump then go bike or tyre shop. DO NOT ride on flat tyres as they may damage your tyre or wheel.

Solution: Use tyre repair kit, plug and pump = good to go. Kit can be bought at LAB.

Problem 4: Cannot / Hard to start bike

Reason: Battery may be weak (confirmed by a tick sound from the right side cover under the seat).

Solution: Push Start(Clutch in after running with bike, release, give a quick throttle and clutch in) and go get battery replaced or ride to charge(if still can be charged).

Reason: Fuse may be blown.

Solution: Check Fuse. Fuse is located on right side of bike. Remove chrome cover under the seat and see. Look out for the centre of the fuse if its broken then FUSED lor. Change new one.

Reason: Bike is in gear, kill switch is on, no petrol.

Solution: Obvious.

Reason: Rectifier issue (despite new battery, bike soon becomes hard to start again)

Solution: Get mechanic to check with a voltage meter. Ah chong has one.

Reason: Petrol topped up too full - Don't laugh.

Solution: The petrol tank is not meant to be filled to the brim. Leave some space for air.

Reason: Water in petrol

Solution: Check that fuel cap is secure and no leaks

Others:

- Check ignition coil for sparks.

- Check magneto coil.

Problem 5: Cant go more den 80 km/h

Reason: You are not in the 6th gear

Solution: Down 1 time 1st gear. up 5 times to sixth gear

Reason: If confirm no 6th gear, gear box may be in bad shape

Solution: Go to a reputable workshop for a checkup, may need to over haul.

Reason: Insufficient Engine Oil (Very bad)

Solution: Check with dipstick as according to manual. Buy Engine Oil from petrol kiosk and top up.

Reason: Clutch may have been worn off (Engine reving very high but no power to go any faster)

Solution: Bike shop chance clutch.

Reason: Air fuel mixture too rich (Crazy vibrations at higher revs making it too uncomfortable)

Solution: Tune air fuel mixture leaner (Turn screw anti-clockwise 1/2 - 1 round)

Reason: Sprocket may be worn off

Solution: Change sprocket and chain.

Problem 6: Weird sound on my bike

Reason: Might be battery low. (Ticking sound on right side when start button depressed)

Solution: Push start, change battery

Reason: If sound is on gearbox side, chain may be too slack

Solution: Check your chain tension 1st. Should have about 2 to 3cm slack, tested at the center of the bottom span of the chain. Anything more, get it tightened. Also, lubricate your chain.

Problem 7: - Exhaust Header got holes. Can repair?

Reason: Got one specific hole which is ok.

Solution: If unsure, post some pictures.

Problem 8: - Engine oil Dip stick broken (Broken part might be in engine)

Solution:

- Send to bikeshop.

- New dipstick costs around $11.

Problem 9: I have tried everything but to no avail. Any tow numbers please?

Solution:

- 67474740 Tiko cheong.

- 64560018 Wing Yap.

- 97384501 => Hello, you the tua chia one?

Problem 10: Engine Part Leaking Oil

Reason: Gasket Spoilt.

Solution: Bike shop, get it replaced

Reason: Cam chain tensioner spoilt.

Solution: Bike shop, get it replaced

Problem 11: When riding, bike lean to one side. Let go of handlebar, steering was shaky and wobbling

Reason: Might be steering cone problem.

Solution: Go bike shop to get it fixed. May also need re-alignment.

Reason: Wheel bearings spoilt.

Solution: Bike shop, get it changed.

Reason: Wheel alignment might have problem.

Solution: Bike shop, get it fixed.

Problem 12: Speedo is not working

Reason: The cable, or the gear at the end of the cable is spoilt or loose.

Solution: If loose, plug it back or tighten. Else needs replacement, go bike shop.

Reason: Speedo spoilt.

Solution: Bike shop.

Problem 13: My exhaust gives have a loud bang regularly. (Backfire)

Reason: Air fuel mixture too rich or too lean.

Solution: Retune the carb.

Problem 14: I lost my bike Key!!! What to do??

Solution: Go find the key smith.

Solution: If want to change ignition, look for Ah Chong (Planet) or scrapyard.

Problem 15: Bike pickup super slow. Even slower than small cc cars.

Reason: Clutch is worn

Solution: Change your clutch plates.

Problem 16: Damaged Exhaust: Header got hole / Muffler loose or dropping.

Solution: Header got hole can weld it up.

Solution: Muffler dropping can cut open the pipe and take it out but pipe will sound louder.

Solution: Alternatively can change the whole system, pipe + header, about 300+-.

Problem 17: Hard to kick the gears

Reason: Clutch is worn

Solution: Change or top up EO.

Solution: Change clutch plate.

Problem 18: When cold start, bike got "tick tick" sound

Reason: cam chain tensioner spoilt.

Solution: Change the cam chain tensioner.

Solution: If its rattling sound instead of "tick tick" sound, bring bike to mechanic.

Problem 19: Bike wobble for no apparent reason.

Reason: Might have problem with wheel bearings or tyre pressure.

Solution: Check that the tyre pressure is correct.

Solution: If tyre pressure is correct, most probably is the bearing spoilt.

Solution:Change new bearings.

Problem 20: In Vehicle Unit (IU) Spoilt.

Reason: There is a whole lot of reason, old, water seep in, etc etc.

Solution: But a second hand IU but need to transfer name.

Solution: Buy a new IU at $155.80 w GST.

Solution: Don't go into carparks or go through ERP.

Problem 21: Weak Battery.

Reason: Battery old. Cannot charge or hold properly. etc etc

Solution: Recharge the battery (Wet), Dry ones cannot be recharged?.

Solution: Most people change batteries instead of recharging.

Solution: If leaving bike alone for a long time, disconnect the battery to prevent further unnecessary drainage.

Problem 22: Need to step real hard for brake lights to light up.

Reason: There is a knob for adjustment, it might be loose

Solution: There is a black screw lookalike plastic knob( near the spring) located somewhere near the rear brake pedal. u can play around with the knob by turning to adjust the sensitivity of your rear brake when you apply brake.

Problem 23: IU Spoilt.

Reason: No reason in particular. If its spoilt, its spoilt.

Solution: Inspect at Vicom. Replace a new one if under warranty. If not, have to buy a new one at about $155 (Slim).

probabbly ill fitting or disc and pads. keep checking your disc.. might have cracks in time to come if not rectified.

the weird sound only happens when i slow down and occurs only on gear one.

i think i know this . i also got that sound before . not very nice to heard it . check the disc and pad . if not check the big "thing" that hold the brake pad . maybe is the "thing" somewhere spoilt . this is what my mech told me .

paiseh . not very good at parts . just agar agar say out .

Phantom 200 - FU86XG - April2009 to Oct2009

RoadwinR 125 -FBE109XC-Nov2009 to Still Going On

the weird sound only happens when i slow down and occurs only on gear one.

its ur chain and sprocket that needs changing liao

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

time to wash cubrator... if im not wrong.

Anyone care to advise why exhaust emitting white smoke on my TA150. This only happen in the afternoon (when hot) and not morning or at night?

is your bike overheating...if it so check your radiator and EO levels top up if necessary.. if you are loosing water all the time, jia lat ah..

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

Anyone care to advise why exhaust emitting white smoke on my TA150. This only happen in the afternoon (when hot) and not morning or at night?

:lol: ta150 don't emit white smoke then it'll be weird, your bike is a 2 stroker. As for why only in the afternoon? Beats me :lol:

hey peeps, by right, the choke should help to start up cold engines right? even for engines that are already warmed up shouldn't have any problems right?

And when the choke is open, the engine idling speed will increase right?

But funnily, when i start my engine which is already warmed up and i pull the choke, my bike dies off.

But when i close the choke, it can start liao..

Any ideas why? it's not supposed to do that right?

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k129/ckoonyin/ThenandNowver2a.jpg