[Technical] Possible Solutions to your Phantom's Problem

• Replies 1.8k

lol overhaul so exx.. so now worth it... best is to change Eo always... 1.5k change...

sparkplug 20k i heard...

vidak: what sparkplug and EO u use?? those cheap cheap de or?

errr... I use the cheapest denso plug and cheap fully syn eo... chessa chex 9000 10w50...

where you get the fully engine oil... cause i use my engine oil semi red t less then 300km... thinking of changing already... performance too bad ;-(

sparkplugs not 20k change?

my eo is from planet... $15

what problems are you facing?

for the plug... every time when you service your bike (e.g. when changing oil) ask the mech to take out your plug and see if need to replace or not

spark plug 20k?

i change every 2k plus

wow.u must be loaded..i.change at 10000 km..

20km is what most spark plug mfg recommends...

understand that spark plug does not affect FC that much...thats the reason why some people still change at 20,000 km..

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

EO 1.5k change is the best.

Spark plugs change every 2nd time u change EO.

If ur plugs melt and the head drops inside then GG liao.

if 5k gg den its not a spark plug...spark plugs are made to last for at least 70000km,

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

if 5k gg den its not a spark plug...spark plugs are made to last for at least 70000km,[/quote

yeah some last forever...if u go to sungei road..second hand plug for sale..

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

my eo is from planet... $15

what problems are you facing?

for the plug... every time when you service your bike (e.g. when changing oil) ask the mech to take out your plug and see if need to replace or not

Not only to see if plugs need changing. A used plug can tell you a lot about how well your air/fuel ratio is. A used plug can tell you if you should re-tune your carb.

Reading Spark Plugs (with pics)

Sparkplugs = $6?

Overhaul = Few hundred + Time + Hassle + Possible danger when bike breaks down.

U guys weigh it out. Sommore TA only use 1 plug.

Sparkplugs = $6?

Overhaul = Few hundred + Time + Hassle + Possible danger when bike breaks down.

U guys weigh it out. Sommore TA only use 1 plug.

although its cheap i agree, but the need to change so often is abit overkill i think...

its like rebuilding the engine block every year even the bike no prob...

sorry my analogy is known to be very exaggerated....

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

hmmm diff people diff philosophy... for me is better i change than gamble with the possibility that it fail on me. No doubt i might spend abit more but if it rids of all the hassle i think its worth it.

Well, u never know when the plugs will fail on you. Actually, if im not wrong, what ur afraid of is the plastic parts melting off and dropping into your carb etc. If small piece then ok.. if big piece overhaul time.

For me is i dun want to save a $6 end up have to spend a few hundred.

Anyways, to each his own. cheers!

recently i just changed EO at unique motors at defu lane. $15 only, for FUCHS 15w50 EO and a denso spark plug. i find it super worth it cause previously i changed this exact EO at ah koon at $16, just for EO only. at unique, got EO and spark plug at $15 only. just sharing. :)

Edited by armani123sg

Its good to share what Orange shop does to its customers :thumb:

:btw: sometimes I do mine for free, my customers settle for me :p (Just sharing too teeheehee)

recently i just changed EO at unique motors at defu lane. $15 only, for FUCHS 15w50 EO and a denso spark plug. i find it super worth it cause previously i changed this exact EO at ah koon at $16, just for EO only. at unique, got EO and spark plug at $15 only. just sharing. :)

is that fully or semi EO?? so good deal only $15?

What a rip off. I was at unique. Planet also have the same deal but with NGK plug =) The Eo at planet is $10.. spark plug at $5. I dun really like the fuchs 15w50. If not mistaken, its base isnt good. After doing 1k, felt really rough and always caught in neutral.

btw. this thread is off topic. Initially wanted to go to orange shop.. Now blacklisted already.. abit too much.

btw denso sp vs ngk sp? which is better?

Edited by Hydher

What a rip off. I was at unique. Planet also have the same deal but with NGK plug =) The Eo at planet is $10.. spark plug at $5. I dun really like the fuchs 15w50. If not mistaken, its base isnt good. After doing 1k, felt really rough and always caught in neutral.

btw. this thread is off topic. Initially wanted to go to orange shop.. Now blacklisted already.. abit too much.

btw denso sp vs ngk sp? which is better?

bro, u serious that the FUCHS 15w50 is $10 at planet??? if so then next time i go there change. cause spark plug no need change so often.

unique u can choose denso or ngk, up to u...

n whats e orange shop? :)

Problem 1: Exhaust emitting white smoke.

Reason: Engine oil is leaking into your chamber.

Solution: Pistol rings needs to be changed. Go to a bike workshop.

Reason: Your bike has a 2 stroke engine.

Solution: Its normal.

Problem 2: Engine stalls in heavy rain and unable / weak to start.

Reason: Spark plug could be getting wet by the rain causing it not not function

Solution: Remove, dry the spark plug and put it back properly. Go get the plug cap replaced.

Reason: Air fuel mixture may be too rich or lean.

Solution: Tune your carb to a leaner setting (turn screw anti-clockwise by 1/4).

Reason: Air leakages.

Solution: Change some of the rubber parts in tank.

Problem 3: Flat / Punctured Tyres

Solution: Try to inflate tyre with portable pump / bicycle pump then go bike or tyre shop. DO NOT ride on flat tyres as they may damage your tyre or wheel.

Solution: Use tyre repair kit, plug and pump = good to go. Kit can be bought at LAB.

Problem 4: Cannot / Hard to start bike

Reason: Battery may be weak (confirmed by a tick sound from the right side cover under the seat).

Solution: Push Start, and go get battery replaced.

Reason: Fuse may be blown.

Solution: Check Fuse. Fuse is located on right side of bike. Remove chrome cover under the seat and see. Look out for the centre of the fuse if its broken then FUSED lor. Change new one.

Reason: Bike is in gear, kill switch is on, no petrol.

Solution: Obvious.

Reason: Rectifier issue (despite new battery, bike soon becomes hard to start again)

Solution: Get mechanic to check with a voltage meter. Ah chong has one.

Reason: Petrol topped up too full - Don't laugh.

Solution: The petrol tank is not meant to be filled to the brim. Leave some space for air.

Reason: Water in petrol

Solution: Check that fuel cap is secure and no leaks

Others:

- Check ignition coil for sparks.

- Check magneto coil.

Problem 5: Cant go more den 80 km/h

Reason: You are not in the 6th gear

Solution: Down 1 time 1st gear. up 5 times to sixth gear

Reason: If confirm no 6th gear, gear box may be in bad shape

Solution: Go to a reputable workshop for a checkup, may need to over haul.

Reason: Insufficient Engine Oil (Very bad)

Solution: Check with dipstick as according to manual. Buy Engine Oil from petrol kiosk and top up.

Reason: Clutch may have been worn off (Engine reving very high but no power to go any faster)

Solution: Bike shop chance clutch.

Reason: Air fuel mixture too rich (Crazy vibrations at higher revs making it too uncomfortable)

Solution: Tune air fuel mixture leaner (Turn screw anti-clockwise 1/2 - 1 round)

Reason: Sprocket may be worn off

Solution: Change sprocket and chain.

Problem 6: Weird sound on my bike

Reason: Might be battery low. (Ticking sound on right side when start button depressed)

Solution: Push start, change battery

Reason: If sound is on gearbox side, chain may be too slack

Solution: Check your chain tension 1st. Should have about 2 to 3cm slack, tested at the center of the bottom span of the chain. Anything more, get it tightened.

Problem 7: - Exhaust Header got holes. Can repair?

Reason: Got one specific hole which is ok.

Solution: If unsure, post some pictures.

Problem 8: - Engine oil Dip stick broken (Broken part might be in engine)

Solution:

- Send to bikeshop.

- New dipstick costs around $11.

Problem 9: I have tried everything but to no avail. Any tow numbers please?

Solution:

- 67474740 Tiko cheong.

- 64560018 Wing Yap.

- 97384501 => Hello, you the tua chia one?

Problem 10: Engine Part Leaking Oil

Reason: Gasket Spoilt.

Solution: Bike shop, get it replaced

Reason: Cam chain tensioner spoilt.

Solution: Bike shop, get it replaced

Problem 11: When riding, bike lean to one side. Let go of handlebar, steering was shaky and wobbling

Reason: Might be steering cone problem.

Solution: Go bike shop to get it fixed. May also need re-alignment.

Reason: Wheel bearings spoilt.

Solution: Bike shop, get it changed.

Reason: Wheel alignment might have problem.

Solution: Bike shop, get it fixed.

Problem 12: Speedo is not working

Reason: The cable, or the gear at the end of the cable is spoilt or loose.

Solution: If loose, plug it back or tighten. Else needs replacement, go bike shop.

Reason: Speedo spoilt.

Solution: Bike shop.

Problem 13: My exhaust gives have a loud bang regularly. (Backfire)

Reason: Air fuel mixture too rich or too lean.

Solution: Retune the carb.

Problem 14: I lost my bike Key!!! What to do??

Solution: Go find the key smith.

Solution: If want to change ignition, look for Ah Chong (Planet) or scrapyard.

Problem 15: Bike pickup super slow. Even slower than small cc cars.

Reason: Clutch is worn

Solution: Change your clutch plates.

Problem 16: Damaged Exhaust: Header got hole / Muffler loose or dropping.

Solution: Header got hole can weld it up.

Solution: Muffler dropping can cut open the pipe and take it out but pipe will sound louder.

Solution: Alternatively can change the whole system, pipe + header, about 300+-.

Problem 17: Hard to kick the gears

Reason: Clutch is worn

Solution: Change or top up EO.

Solution: Change clutch plate.

Problem 18: When cold start, bike got "tick tick" sound

Reason: cam chain tensioner spoilt.

Solution: Change the cam chain tensioner.

Solution: If its rattling sound instead of "tick tick" sound, bring bike to mechanic.

Problem 19: Bike wobble for no apparent reason.

Reason: Might have problem with wheel bearings or tyre pressure.

Solution: Check that the tyre pressure is correct.

Solution: If tyre pressure is correct, most probably is the bearing spoilt.

Solution:Change new bearings.

Problem 20: In Vehicle Unit (IU) Spoilt.

Reason: There is a whole lot of reason, old, water seep in, etc etc.

Solution: But a second hand IU but need to transfer name.

Solution: Buy a new IU at $155.80 w GST.

Solution: Don't go into carparks or go through ERP.

Problem 21: Weak Battery.

Reason: Battery old. Cannot charge or hold properly. etc etc

Solution: Recharge the battery (Wet), Dry ones cannot be recharged?.

Solution: Most people change batteries instead of recharging.

Solution: If leaving bike alone for a long time, disconnect the battery to prevent further unnecessary drainage.

Problem 22: Need to step real hard for brake lights to light up.

Reason: There is a knob for adjustment, it might be loose

Solution: There is a black screw lookalike plastic knob( near the spring) located somewhere near the rear brake pedal. u can play around with the knob by turning to adjust the sensitivity of your rear brake when you apply brake.

Problem 23: IU Spoilt.

Reason: No reason in particular. If its spoilt, its spoilt.

Solution: Inspect at Vicom. Replace a new one if under warranty. If not, have to buy a new one at about $155 (Slim).

Problem 24: Where to get visor / assesories after 6.30pm.

Reason: No reason in particular.

Solution: Lim Ah Boy (Kelantan Lane around Jalan besar Hawker centre).

Problem 25: Can Phantom change headlights?

Reason: No reason in particular / cosmetics.

Solution: Yes. Can change and it all depends on your DIY / mech's skill.

Solution: http://www.pinkphantom.com - (Source to get nice headlights)

Solution: LAB - (Source to get nice headlights)

bro, u serious that the FUCHS 15w50 is $10 at planet??? if so then next time i go there change. cause spark plug no need change so often.

unique u can choose denso or ngk, up to u...

n whats e orange shop? :)

Read top for orange shop.

Call and ask planet. 67474740. Black bottle... Pretty sure. I really despise that eo though