hi guys..... i went down to proton showroom yesterday in search for a car. im thinkin of buying an OPC car. the gen2 1.3 really caught my eyes as the price is right..the price of OPC is about $22-23k and the mthly installment is abt $200 for 10 yrs loan and a DP of $5k.

The only difference than the 1.6 is that the windows, i tink the back 2 windows has no power windows and no reverse sensor. other than that the dimension of the car is the same as the 1.6. the salesman will even throw a sports rim as it is promoting the car as it is jz released... comments anyone about the car??? is it a good buy for $200 for an opc?

• Replies 27

this is wat i heard la,dun noe is it true.

if you getting 1.3 might as well get the 1.6 bcos they using the same body frame,only the engine is diff rite? engine is lighter but frame is heavier no make sense mah.

Had a prton Wira followed by proton saga before..... not much to grumble about, not a great car but given limited budget, its ok lor...but if u are going for 1.3, at this price, y not take a look at other brand like KIA or Hyundai? I am driving a Hyundai Sonata 2.4..... PERFECT! ..... i like it...better than my previous Camry.

Life is Precious , You Only Live Once

OCT 2003 - Dec 2005 >>>> Honda Wave S 125

Dec 2005 - Present >>>> Honda Phamton TA200

Its Project time

i driving the gen2 1.6...excellent i must say.great looks,power better then my friends 1.5 vvti vios.tried wif him in malaysia.servicing,spare parts,easy to get in jb

n its cheap.go 4 it man....$200 4 the 1.3. ok wat!!!better then nothing.even cheaper then my bike.u wont regret man.

for those who dunno much abt car pls refrain frm commenting nonsense juz test drive all the cars dats within ya budget & consider the aft sales svc & price of spare parts & how easy to get them rather den buying cheap car but parts needs to wait & order & expensive.

among all the affordable 1.3 cars gen2 its really sporty looky & handles much better den budget korean rival & eat petrol like free....dun believe me pls buy & try den u know....

den again gen2 1.3 & 1.6 300cc not much difference, want power get a 2 litre sports lah....hehehe!

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

proton cars these days is not dat lousy....

proton cars can do wonder mod over malaysia...

they can mod the car like hell drivers so no worry

i personally think how much can u get from 25k+++ car?

if u want this n dat then get a higher end car than complain this n dat no gd or dun have like other cars

buy car within ur limit, not listen to assholes say cos in the end is u who suffer for the payment if the payment is beyond ur limit

go personally test drive urself...only u know what u want the best...

ä¿¡æˆ‘å°±è¡Œï¹ ä¸ä¿¡æˆ‘å°±ä¸è¡Œ
W - Wonderful

E - Energetic

N - New

X - Xenophobic

I - Important

N - Natural

G - Glorious

Mabe sum1 currently driving this car can give comments on the FC, servicing costs n availability of spare parts? It will be more constructive n acurate innit? :sweat:

* LiFe Is In FaCt ThE WaY We FeEl MoMeNt By MoMeNt.....So LiVe In ThE MoMeNt.....OnE At A TiMe....AfTeR WhIcH....RIP.... *

May any1 who drive this car can help to contribute a more objective view on the FC, servicing costs n spare parts availability?

* LiFe Is In FaCt ThE WaY We FeEl MoMeNt By MoMeNt.....So LiVe In ThE MoMeNt.....OnE At A TiMe....AfTeR WhIcH....RIP.... *

Bro, since you are looking at this car, I reckon your budget is quite tight. Hope you dont mind that I speak frankly.

dont just consider the car and the price. Do also note other expenses like parking, ERP, petrol, maintenance. Most importantly if you take a 10 yr loan, make sure you dont sell the car too soon or you'll lose a lot.

Otherwise, if you are ready, just go ahead and buy the car that you like, doesnt matter what other say. Make sure you yourself are satisfied.

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Did the msia bros lub a Mivec Turbo engine into a Gen2 before? Should be very powerful.

Life is not measured by the breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.

http://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2004/07/22/bikepics-184190-200.jpghttp://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2004/07/22/bikepics-184190-200.jpg

yup its abt 170horse power for swapping wif stock 110hp....hehe!

Nice exterior mods to the already nice looking Gen2.

But it's "ho kuah bo ho chia"

AS the saying goes, "it's the mods that you dont see, that makes the difference in the car"

nonetheless, very nice looking mods

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/gen2.jpg

Why mount the registration plate off-centre. i can understand Evo cars doing that because it will partially block the FMIC. In this Gen2 case, it simply not wanting to be in the centre.

Isn't "sleepy' look in in thing ?

All I can say is that it's an EVo "wannabe".....Evo drivers will be very proud.

Originally posted by Throttle@Dec 5 2006, 02:53 PM

All I can say is that it's an EVo "wannabe".....Evo drivers will be very proud.

some alfa cars registration plate are also mounted off-centre.....of course with a valid reason, so they will be quite amused to see that on a Gen2.

hai guys, i'm from Kl....gen2 is using campro engine and proton develop in house with helped of lotus engineering division. Part are bit expensive then mitsubishi engine but performance are good. 1.3cc exactly same power with 1.5cc engine( refer to kia rio 1.3cc engine)

Proton also have setup own performance company specialise in turning,produce performance parts for proton car especially new model like gen2,savvy,waja and its call R3 (Race,Research and Rally)

The newest model are Proton Satria Neo R3

http://www.pro-hatch.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=2434

happy hunting!

Bro, can anyone enlighten me where is proton showroom??? Proton sg website is down.. Tks in advance...

De@th is Cert@in, Life is Not. Live life, ride s@fely.

2003 - Aprilia Extrema (FN649J) scrapped

2005 - TZM 150 (FP398Y) sold Dec '06

2005 - SP 150 (FT3783B) sold Oct '06

2006 - Wave S 125 (FU9094M) sold Jan '07

2006 - Aprilia RS250 (FP1807C) sold Nov '07

2006 - Hyper Vtec (FR6993D) sold Dec '07

2008 - CBR 150

2011 - GSXR K9 1000

Originally posted by pencapchew@Dec 6 2006, 12:40 AM

Bro, can anyone enlighten me where is proton showroom??? Proton sg website is down.. Tks in advance...

it's at leng kee road that area also its beside alfa showroom lor...

YOU'LL NEVER RIDE ALONE!

Drove a Gen2 1.6 auto up north sometime back.. I feel that it has good handling.. And the engine has a sporty roar too.. But it's not as refined as it looks.. Wind noise is rather high when driving at 110km/h onwards, some rattling some from the door panel at times.. Air con fan rather loud.. No OD button for auto.. But overall I like it.. The roof lining is way better then what you get from cars like Camry, not those scratch already hairy type if you know what I mean.. I think Kia cars are rather hi-rev.. Not very pleasant to drive IMO

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

the new gen2 r3 series....hehe!

post-33-1167661005.jpg