Which sportbike will you choose for track use.... Suzuki gxsr 600 or Yamaha R6?

Ive not riden a Suzi 600 K8 so im not able to share my tots.. But..

When im doin a switch from 1000cc to 600cc i got to test 4 different model of 600.. Test are done both on street riding (more than 100km) and track riding (more than 20 laps).. These bikes that i got to test are all stock standard with original fairing, original exhaust, original suspension and original sprocket.. The 4 different models are :-

Yamaha R6 2007

Kawasaki ZXR600RR 2007

Suzuki GSXR 600 2007

Honda CBR 600 RR 2007

And here's my opinion :-

If you looking for cheapest bike >> CBR600

CBR is by far (arnd $2000) cheaper than the rest

If you looking for the best clutch >> ZXR600RR

Having used STM slipper clutch on my R1, this clutch is as good as the STM

If you looking for the nicest looking meter >> ZXR600RR

Wat can i say more..they got gear indicators and laptimer too

If you looking for the most torque and powerful bike >> R6

The power band starts from 8000 till 16500.. and very aggresive..

If you looking for best front end handling under acceleration on track>> R6

the design are focus to the front.. putting the weight more to the front making it very stable under hard acceleration..

If you looking for the most comfortable street riding bike >> GSXR600

The riding position are just nice.. Not too far and not too close.. (remember im short ok)

If you looking for the most comfortable and stable track riding bike >> CBR600

The riding position is the best of all.. The weight of the bike is the lightest of the 4.. The weight are well balanced at the centre making it very rideable be it under hard braking, corner entry, mid corner or gunning the throttle on the exit..

If you looking for best brakes on track >> R6

It is equipped with BREMBO lei

If you intend to buy 2nd hand performance part >> r6

Just need to Go to Garage Sales here...

If you looking for the most stable bike to do top speed on NSH >> ZXR

Being the heaviest, this shud be the most stable bike fighting against the wind on NSH when doin high speed riding..

Well, it is obvious y i chose the CBR.. It is the most STABLE bike on track.. At that time i need a 600 which has the best handling with smooth power delivery from the low end so dat i will be able to be competative from the very begining.. If i were to go for power, i wud have chosen the R6 but it will take more time for me to adjust to the aggressive riding posture that the R6 has and with the torque and power delivery very aggressive, i can forsee myself crashing more often.. Just my 46cents tho..

So, if you are a starter, beginer or trying to get back the confidence of track riding, the CBR wud be the wise choice.. Furthermore its cheaper by 2k on average market price here.. And dat will gives you at least 5 sets of tyres to start with.. :thumb:

Hi Doc Dol,

so the cbr do really give you the performance and in/exit of corner. Well i think i do reallty need to test ride Suzi k8,Cbr and R6.To feel myself the respon on this 3 bike. So tell me more on the cbr does and what part does it need to make it power as i know on standard it lose to all .:thumb: :dot:

------------------------------------------------

angry: Yamaha the best, f$%* the rest:angry:

• Replies 328

Hi Bro, is not that im bias. Im just need to know more before getting 1. Need to study which bike is the good on track. Thks:angel:

Hi Bro, Im just need to know more before getting 1. Need to study which bike is the good on track. Thks:angel:
second qoute as itypo error on first qoute.sory:dot:

Hi Doc Dol,

so the cbr do really give you the performance and in/exit of corner. Well i think i do reallty need to test ride Suzi k8,Cbr and R6.To feel myself the respon on this 3 bike. So tell me more on the cbr does and what part does it need to make it power as i know on standard it lose to all .:thumb: :dot:

This will depend on how u ride the bike on track bro... I personally feel, its after you have done your test ride, then you will know which parts/section of the bike need improvement, so its hard to say. I believe,'There's no power without control.' A good rider will make a difference to the bike... Dol could easily makan my G1K5 on his stock CBR6, anytime, anyday at Sepang.

Try this...if u dont mind the price and looks

(make sure upright,with rear stand)sit on it one by one.

Grip the bars..then close ur eyes..imagine wat u like it to do for u?(touring?racing?transportation?picking-up?)

Does it fell right to u?(size may vary riding geometry of bike)

Spareparts availability and pricing? Racing parts support eg.HRC(easy to get or not)

Remember...Power is nothing without control.(choose either u bring the bike or the bike brings u)

Just my pinion....GD LUCK

Try this...if u dont mind the price and looks

(make sure upright,with rear stand)sit on it one by one.

Grip the bars..then close ur eyes..imagine wat u like it to do for u?(touring?racing?transportation?picking-up?)

Does it fell right to u?(size may vary riding geometry of bike)

Spareparts availability and pricing? Racing parts support eg.HRC(easy to get or not)

Remember...Power is nothing without control.(choose either u bring the bike or the bike brings u)

Just my pinion....GD LUCK

Hi Didy,

good opinion u give. I have been not able to sit on the bike/test on it. But would love if some 1 out there would give me a try on the cbr,r6 and suzu k8 as that the only wa that i could know which bike that suite for track use.:thumb:

just get any 600.

Hi newbie. just getting any 600 bike is easy to say but when getting a wrong size on track, u will regret it later but no point as you have bought it. Im just trying to get more info on rider that have ride the bike b4.:thumb:

yup..Doc Dol...is rite....his knowledge & experience is data for the newbies like us....

current bikes: NSR 250 PGM4, HRC CBR 1k & SYM GTS200

Cars :KIA CERATO H/B(05-09)

Bikes:Ypvs 125(90-92),NSR PGM 2(92-93),MBX 125(93-94)

TZr250(94-95),GSXR 400sp(95-98),Aprilia Extrema(96-98), Fireblade 400(98-00),RXZ(98-00),RVF400(00-02), Dalim magma(00-02),RXZ(00-01) Krr150(00-03),R6(02-05),Wave(03-05),125z(03-05),RXZ(08),DRZ SM(06-08)VTR SP1(08-11)Phantom 200(08-10),Fz1s(11-13)

Hi newbie. just getting any 600 bike is easy to say but when getting a wrong size on track, u will regret it later but no point as you have bought it. Im just trying to get more info on rider that have ride the bike b4.:thumb:

The current crop of Japanese 600cc sports bikes are so closely matched that it will take a good rider to split the hairs. If you read those bike tests, you will find that although various testers have widly different opinions on these machines, the difference in lap times set by each bike is most often than not less than 1 second.

Just buy what you fancy. And no, you do not need to mod the bike, unless you weigh 100kg. Then maybe you will need stiffer springs.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

ya i agree...to build up chemistry with your bike is a whole new story that we are so fascinated about.

The current crop of Japanese 600cc sports bikes are so closely matched that it will take a good rider to split the hairs. If you read those bike tests, you will find that although various testers have widly different opinions on these machines, the difference in lap times set by each bike is most often than not less than 1 second.

Just buy what you fancy. And no, you do not need to mod the bike, unless you weigh 100kg. Then maybe you will need stiffer springs.

http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/bb37/omghehes/colinandmesmall.jpg

Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new ~ Albert Einstein

If the intention is purely for track purposes, I suggest a track-focused bike like the R6.

But you if ride it around on the streets, you can jolly well get off and push. Lousy low revs makes the bike sluggish. I've tried pining the throttle on 6th gear at 3000rpm on the highway and the bike seems unwilling to accelerate. Needs to be rev at high rpm to get the most out of the bike.

ZX6 is a good bike too, was comtemplating the Kawa before I got my current R6. But due to parts/support which is not readily available, I decided to switch. IMO, the CBR is a value-for-money bike. Its by far the cheapest 600cc among the 4 Japanese brands, potential mods and parts readily available on the market, not forgetting its good handling on track.

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough

Juz buy any bike dat is pleasing to ur eyes coz u gonna ride dat bike everyday e.g to work unless its solely for track purposes.

Its d same as choosing a gf or a wife... u gotta look at her everyday... so get sumting dat wont bores u.. as 4 myself.. i juz bought a suzuki 600 k8.. n wat makes me wanna ride her every single day is bcoz of her pleasing looks.... she's my 2nd beauty besides my gf.. lolz... n she performs well on the track too..

Wif all d technology nowadays i tink all the 600s are almost as equivalent to the next... jus a little mod will do e.g stage 1( full system, pc n an airfilter) dat is enuff to giv u an enjoyment on d track.... so my suggestion is.. get a bike dat is mre to ur liking...

Juz my 2cents... :)

Loud Pipe Saves Lives

Gooner 4 Life!!

http://i297.photobucket.com/albums/mm203/kingpet46/kingpet47.jpg

Fierce Suzuki Rider!!

i bought my k7 simply based on its looks (personal preference)... altho i wanted to use it for track and it seemed such an odd choice to many...

reason is because: how long do I plan to race the bike? can't be forever... and I dun intend to race it so soon coz i am just not ready. so when i'm not racing it at the moment or when it retires, i'm keen to keep it coz i bought something i like. not something that people tell me is good; which by the way is R6 naturally as we are in the region where Yamahas are preferred. otherwise i am tempted with new bikes every year...

also, my friend who used to race big bikes in the past tried my bike and told me at stock standard (even with stock exhaust) it's as good as the full racebikes of yesteryears which do 1.40++s (ok, not 1.30s++, but i wonder if i ever get there?). this is debatable but surely, the horsepower to weight ratio is better compared to racebike of the 90s? the only difference could be high end suspension systems.

just my 2 cents' thought.

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e250/cbr17/kiss.jpg
The riders standard in Asian GP without doubt higher than the MSS. Thus making it very extremely difficult for Hamaguchi to fight at the front riding a all new 2007 CBR.. At that time, Hammer did not have data nor does he have excess to data on the new bike.. While the R6 ridden by the Petronas boys have ready data from year 2006.. Remember, to win races, Data is very important for these guys to set/tune thier machine.. If Hammer were to continue using the CBR, he might be able to get more Data and might even win races with comfort.. Then again, i believe Yamaha offered his team a much better and irresistable package for 2008..

As for MSS, ive heard riders telling this/that bike is fast.. Well, they might forget that championship leader Shanaz is riding a 2005 CBR.. Personally i do not doubt the legal technical spec of his bike.. He has a well balanced/tune bike.. Seeing his bike flying on the straight is no different than the others.. By just looking can be deceiving.. So, during one of the MSS round, i got someone to stand at the top to time a few bike as soon as they past the 1st gantry to the gantry b4 the 200m zone.. Just wanting to knoe wats the straigtline time of different bikes for that approx 700m of full throttle.. And the top 5 fastest straigtline time does not come from the TOP 5 riders but instead some of it cums from the others.. And its the R6 who tops the time for that particular 700m.. In fact all top 5 cums from the R6.. Dis is not laptime.. Just pure straightline time..

So, bottomline i strongly feel its not bout straightline speed but more to stability of the bike during corner entry and mid-corner thus making it much easier for u to carry the speed and gun the throttle much earlier..

Having said this, it is the main reason y i choose the CBR against the rest.. The other reason is the support received by Looi's Motor from Honda..:thumb:

Perhaps you should have a word with Hammer for comparing CBR and R6 for Superstock rules....

Think wisely, why did he get DSQ in the last round in 2007? honda factory rider with 5 rounds of DATA not sufficient? remember, in Asian GP, top 5 get their engine stripped apart to check for CHEATING....doesnt happen in MSS

And also if u want to compare DATA for same bike with different brands of suspension, also have a chat with him.

u had friends timing straightline speed, of course Yamaha is faster. And u should have seen the Yamaha from petronas.....

Many of us had chats with mechanics of CBR performing very well in the striaghts in MSS....that includes mechs who set up CBRs for asian GP...

want me to elaborate?

Supersport rules....hands down....CBR is the better option

so the CBRs in MSS, superstock or supersport spec?

Juz buy any bike dat is pleasing to ur eyes coz u gonna ride dat bike everyday e.g to work unless its solely for track purposes.

Its d same as choosing a gf or a wife... u gotta look at her everyday... so get sumting dat wont bores u.. as 4 myself.. i juz bought a suzuki 600 k8.. n wat makes me wanna ride her every single day is bcoz of her pleasing looks.... she's my 2nd beauty besides my gf.. lolz... n she performs well on the track too..

Wif all d technology nowadays i tink all the 600s are almost as equivalent to the next... jus a little mod will do e.g stage 1( full system, pc n an airfilter) dat is enuff to giv u an enjoyment on d track.... so my suggestion is.. get a bike dat is mre to ur liking...

Juz my 2cents... :)

hi bro, the bike that im getting is for track use. 90% will be track 10% will be for street use. Well i guess i be getting R6 since the comment that i get was high on it. Suzuk8 look better and its good at track too. I have a seceng gf and this will be my 3rd gf hehehehehehe.:thumb: Thks for 2cent comment.

Perhaps you should have a word with Hammer for comparing CBR and R6 for Superstock rules....

Think wisely, why did he get DSQ in the last round in 2007? honda factory rider with 5 rounds of DATA not sufficient? remember, in Asian GP, top 5 get their engine stripped apart to check for CHEATING....doesnt happen in MSS

And also if u want to compare DATA for same bike with different brands of suspension, also have a chat with him.

u had friends timing straightline speed, of course Yamaha is faster. And u should have seen the Yamaha from petronas.....

Many of us had chats with mechanics of CBR performing very well in the striaghts in MSS....that includes mechs who set up CBRs for asian GP...

want me to elaborate?

Supersport rules....hands down....CBR is the better option

so the CBRs in MSS, superstock or supersport spec?

wat up bro, since you are riding r6, give me some tips/comment on the bike. :thumb:

Get the 09 R1 lah... :thumb: :cheeky:

hi bro, the bike that im getting is for track use. 90% will be track 10% will be for street use. Well i guess i be getting R6 since the comment that i get was high on it. Suzuk8 look better and its good at track too. I have a seceng gf and this will be my 3rd gf hehehehehehe.:thumb: Thks for 2cent comment.

No problemo........ good luck to u!!!

Loud Pipe Saves Lives

Gooner 4 Life!!

http://i297.photobucket.com/albums/mm203/kingpet46/kingpet47.jpg

Fierce Suzuki Rider!!

u mean dat ugly looking bike? lolz

ya right, r1 09 look ugly but not sure on the actual one. Any comment on other bike?:cheeky:

for normal riders like u n me, any 600cc is the same. like what some have mentioned above, they are closely-matched.

unless we are rossi and gang, we can nvr really utilise it like hw its supposed to be.

but understandably, urs gonna be on track, so i guess looks is secondary, contrary to hw most of us choose our bikes.

i'm getting used to the 09 R1 looks leh...after colin edwards psychoed me on youtube

http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/bb37/omghehes/colinandmesmall.jpg

Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new ~ Albert Einstein

for normal riders like u n me, any 600cc is the same. like what some have mentioned above, they are closely-matched.

unless we are rossi and gang, we can nvr really utilise it like hw its supposed to be.

but understandably, urs gonna be on track, so i guess looks is secondary, contrary to hw most of us choose our bikes.

Hi newbie , yes the bike will be use most on track. That the reason that i need opinion the most bike before i decide to buy.:dot:

so now, you'll be getting the R6 08?