How much u willing to pay for a high quality saddlebag or hardbag?  

92 members have voted

1. 1. How much u willing to pay for a high quality saddlebag or hardbag?

• Below Fifty dollars
    • Between fifty to one hundred
    • Between one hundred to two hundred
    • Between two hunded to five hundred
    • Above five hundred

hmm rjay's available at lab huh.. kk i'll drop by one day take a look.. lockability sure sounds like an added bonus.. the rain cover u talking about nights, isit in built? or hafta pull out when rain? n u'd consider this rjay pannier as wad kinda quality? normal? low or gd? haha..

i'll pm scorpion69 once i get hold of my bike first.. hehe

• Replies 119

Originally posted by nights@Nov 13 2006, 02:14 PM

Sound like the Rjay to me. The nylon pannier comes with rain cover to shield your bag from the rain which is lockable and expandable at the same time. Available at Regina for around $160, you may want to PM Scorpion69 as he is selling his away for a leather saddlebag replacement.

Nights you are the walking advertisement I haven't advertise aready got a few asking for it. Woundering why till I saw you advertise for me here hahaha.... tks.....pal

STOwners'Club #050

STOC #7278

2002 Hornet 125 / 2005 X9 Evo 200 / 2006 Super 4 Vtec 1 / 2007 Shadow 400 / 2007 Steed 400 / 2007 Africa Twin 750 / 2008 ST 1100 / Present STX 1300 What next? :cheeky:

Originally posted by nights@Nov 13 2006, 02:14 PM

Sound like the Rjay to me. The nylon pannier comes with rain cover to shield your bag from the rain which is lockable and expandable at the same time. Available at Regina for around $160, you may want to PM Scorpion69 as he is selling his away for a leather saddlebag replacement.

Nights you are the walking advertisement I haven't advertise aready got a few asking for it. Woundering why till I saw you advertise for me here hahaha.... tks.....pal

STOwners'Club #050

STOC #7278

2002 Hornet 125 / 2005 X9 Evo 200 / 2006 Super 4 Vtec 1 / 2007 Shadow 400 / 2007 Steed 400 / 2007 Africa Twin 750 / 2008 ST 1100 / Present STX 1300 What next? :cheeky:

Originally posted by maniahk@Nov 14 2006, 01:46 AM

hmm rjay's available at lab huh.. kk i'll drop by one day take a look.. lockability sure sounds like an added bonus.. the rain cover u talking about nights, isit in built? or hafta pull out when rain? n u'd consider this rjay pannier as wad kinda quality? normal? low or gd? haha..

i'll pm scorpion69 once i get hold of my bike first.. hehe

The rain cover is a separate piece for you to hook over your saddle bag. The quality in my opinion is comparable with Oxford soft pannier but, that is only my opinion in terms of good quality nylon material.

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

Originally posted by Scorpion69@Nov 14 2006, 02:05 PM

Anytime dude, it is just so coincide that someone query about the bag right after you have decided for a saddle bag replacement for a more retro looks.

haha.. i may be taking over a pair of old nylon saddles from the current owner of my bike to be.. dunno how good/bad the condition is.. i was juz thinkin today, can i paint over the nylon saddles? haha.. rmbr the nippon paint commercial where he painted the fish net? i'm thinkin of that.. will definitely add waterproofability to the nylon saddles, and design too.. only thing is i dunno if it can last.. will probably try it out if the nylon saddles i'm takin over r 'not-so-gd' already.. haha.. definitely not going to buy a new pair n try.. lol

Originally posted by maniahk@Nov 15 2006, 07:11 PM

haha.. i may be taking over a pair of old nylon saddles from the current owner of my bike to be.. dunno how good/bad the condition is.. i was juz thinkin today, can i paint over the nylon saddles? haha.. rmbr the nippon paint commercial where he painted the fish net? i'm thinkin of that.. will definitely add waterproofability to the nylon saddles, and design too.. only thing is i dunno if it can last.. will probably try it out if the nylon saddles i'm takin over r 'not-so-gd' already.. haha.. definitely not going to buy a new pair n try.. lol

It is the Nippon 3-in-1 is an Acrylic Elastomeric coating. However, it is subject to wall and ceiling only thus, any other surface painting is not guarantee for its properties to work or last. Why not spend a little and invest something that fits in your requirement? :confused:

haha nights u noe all about paint too.. lol..

anw its not i not willing to spend la, e paint thing is juz a crazy idea which juz bumped into me.. the rjays nylon saddle seems to fit wad i'm lookin for, only draw back is the waterproff-ability lor.. dunno if got any other kind of this kind of nylon expandable bag that comes w in-built waterproofness.. any to recommend?

Originally posted by maniahk@Nov 15 2006, 10:02 PM

haha nights u noe all about paint too.. lol..

anw its not i not willing to spend la, e paint thing is juz a crazy idea which juz bumped into me.. the rjays nylon saddle seems to fit wad i'm lookin for, only draw back is the waterproff-ability lor.. dunno if got any other kind of this kind of nylon expandable bag that comes w in-built waterproofness.. any to recommend?

It is just coincidence that I am using this particular paint for my home too. Hmm...other than Rjay, I did not came across any other brand that is expandable and weather proof at the same time. Perhaps you would want to query over at Motorworld, M.Technik, Loois, BikeTech21 and Adventureonwheels.

When I sent my Draggie for servicing almost a month ago, I had placed my RJays soft saddlebags which were expandable, bought over from sgstarrider in a v. good condition in my faulty washing machine outside the house.

Thinking that the bag was in a wretched condition due to the cranky weather, I thought it was a good place to place it as there were other things on top of the machine.

Recently, when I had gone to check the bag to retrieve my raincoat and bike cover, it was gone, STOLEN!

So, I lost the RJays bag worth $160 which was sold to me cheaply, my 2 Rain King yellow rain coat worth $30.

A tube of almost new AUTOSOL, a pair of gloves, yellow shades, a lock & bike cover.

To get back all the things, it's well gonna max me to $1K of expenses for the bike. Kewl ehhh? Moral of the story is, don't place ur stuffs outside the house even though there's some machine as decoys. U never know when the karung guni man wanna strike.. *sighes* A poor man in the end, I am..

http://blog.corporatelogos.ws/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/honda.jpg

ish...ish...ish sad story. Talking about karang guni man, u guys better watch out!

Before it used to be local "apek" that do the rounds.

Now, young chaps of Chinaman/chinawoman, thais also have seen before making their rounds.

Am not accusing any of them or am i being racist but my stuff been stolen too.

Basically, as long as the stuffs that u put outside ur door and it can have a resell value some where, chances are its gone!!

I've got a hidden camera, maybe i'll set up a trap for 'em. Ha ha! :gun:

Wats outside doesn't mean we dun wan it.

Unethical biz strategy!

Relating to this POll,

if anyone is looking to pay under $50 for a new lockable hard bag / pannier.

Picture attached.

Kindly PM me for any enquires...

post-28-1168919417.jpg

Originally posted by kukuma@January 16, 2007 11:50 am

Relating to this POll,

if anyone is looking to pay under $50 for a new lockable hard bag / pannier.

Picture attached.

Kindly PM me for any enquires...

My side boxes/panniers that I am selling is still available. Fits the cruiser design excellently

If you are using the normal Monorack that most bikes are using. (Where the rack's securing screws to the bike body is 6.5inches apart)

These side boxes can be easily installed exactly without any additonal brackets required.

At $48 (negotiable).

Please contact me, preferably by sms at 9475 9740.

Attached is another pic.

post-28-1169169614.jpg

Originally posted by kukuma@January 19, 2007 09:20 am

My side boxes/panniers that I am selling is still available. Fits the cruiser design excellently

If you are using the normal Monorack that most bikes are using. (Where the rack's securing screws to the bike body is 6.5inches apart)

These side boxes can be easily installed exactly without any additonal brackets required.

At $48 (negotiable).

Please contact me, preferably by sms at 9475 9740.

Attached is another pic.

Dear Guys,

My side boxes has been sold.

Thanks all for your enquiries and interest.

Hey may i ask where is this poll goin??

any out come to this survey that has been goin on for so long already

adriel

I . L . T . N . N

Hi Adriel,

at first I have tis intention to import this line of saddlebags frm US with my cousin who is an entrepeneur.

Therefore I started tis poll to see how much Cruiser riders in Singapore willing to fork out for a pair of high quality imported bags.

But then, the results i get frm tis poll is not convincing enuff.

Most of us prefer to get GIVI boxes or the "cheap" stuff frm LAB.

No offence.:smile:

The poll speaks for itself.

1st - Pricing is the major factor here.

2nd - Cruiser accessories market is relatively small here. Most riders will go for the cheap ones.

One of the reasons someone told me was that: "I'm just riding a 400cc bike. Not worth to buy that expensive. If i ride bigger cc bike then i might consider lah".

But till now he nver upgrade to big cc bike. Why? Cost of big bike n the hassle of going the test all over again.

Well, can't blame him. Me myself hav that kinda thinking.

But then look at the sportbike accessories. Those ppl are willing to even fork out $600+ for a Akrapovic exhaust!

3rd - Market Demand. Sure I can still bring in those bags. But i'll hav to sell one on one bcos of the relatively small cruiser market in Spore.

(If u got the money, i will be willing to hunt & import for you) thats the biz strategy of retailers like HodakaMotoWorld.

U can even order thru the net frm those US retailers. Go ask ppl like Goh-johan, Nights & so on.

FYI I'll have to import the saddlebags in bulk.to lower the price.

Still it will be between SGD$200 - SGD$500 due to US$ xchange rate & all those shipping costs + taxes blah blah blah.

Gotta talk to the guy with the business sense. If u ask my opinion, i'll do it for my interest in these cruiser bikes rather than for $$$, but for a biz man, u need profit to keep on going. Maybe, just maybe i will.

http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o276/sgstarrider/5f93eafe-b99b-4312-b65a-5f234e0f7da.jpg this one or http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o276/sgstarrider/241.jpg

thanks for the effort bro.....

I wanted to get these...but it wouldn't fit a full face helmet... or even a open face.... thus dropped the idea......

anyway wat u said was true...it does n't make sense when the box cost almost 20% of the bike.....but i gez once i get a bigger.... which i assume would cost a whole lot more... than it ould make more sense....

lets keep our fingers crossed and our chrome polished...so as to convert more would be cruisers.......

adriel

I . L . T . N . N

Personally, i don't mind spending up to 600 for a pair of good quality and killer looking bags. Because if it has the killer looks, then it doesnt matter what bike i ride (except kups and scooters la), i still can keep my bags.

Then again, how versatile can the bags be? Am new to bags here but are these bags come with universal bag mounts or do we buy a new mounts/do something to get it on a different bike?

http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/4858/parkingpeeveser6.jpg
Then again, how versatile can the bags be? Am new to bags here but are these bags come with universal bag mounts or do we buy a new mounts/do something to get it on a different bike?

I haven't got much experience with bags, so I can only relate my personal experience.

I ordered a set of Hepco & Becker side panniers from the dealer, and since the specific mounting rack required wasn't in stock, they had to order it from overseas.

For my bags at least, it seems you would need to change the mounting rack when you change the bike. But you get to keep the bags.

I'm sure there are universal mounts, but I'll be rather worried over how securely they'll hold. That said though, if someone could prove conclusively that they're secure, I'll definitely go for the universal mounts.

On the issue of cost, I thought the panniers were expensive, but I wanted weather-proof ones that would fit a full-face helmet and my riding jacket, so I didn't mind shelling out more. I know I'll be sacrificing looks for practicality (cos my bags aren't clad in leather) :weep:

And sgstarrider, I totally agree with you that third-party quality bags from the US and Europe are expensive. That's where the demand lies, and compared to the manufacturer's own accessories, I'll actually call them cheap

----------------------------------

Achieve your childhood dreams!

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_s_J-Cob08cw/RnY2TWkhMrI/AAAAAAAAABU/RhiCGhyeL4U/s400/star.jpg

guys who wanna preorder the saddles from me pls go visit my webby.

10 - 15% off now till end june. don't miss it.

hey madman....

can ur biggest saddlebag fit a full face helmet?

I . L . T . N . N