Originally posted by Al-Simmons@March 13, 2007 08:13 pm

if u intend getting the tdm...might as well u get strom1k...insurance around the same.

Anyway insurance for 650 n 1k is only 200-300 difference....besides the fuel consumption....the oomph! u get from the vstrom1k cannot be compared to tdm...

tdm of course parts cheaper and they have a very reliable agent...

i was thinking of getting the 650 at first...lighter yes but only like 20-30kg difference? after u ride for a few months...u would have wish that u have gotten the 1000...

anyway to each his own...i'm just giving my opinion cos i nearly got a 650...

and by the way i'm also 23...

bro, 200-300 difference is a significant sum still.. :smile:

but how much diff is the so called "power" btw the 650 and 1000?

i noe the fuel consumption is so much better for the 650..

basically wat im looking for is gd fuel consumption, cheap insurance(:D), gd enuff to tour the 3 nations.. tats y im looking at the 650, not only tat, i like the outlook!

thnx for all the help guys.. :smile:

• Replies 9.9k

Originally posted by xanc@March 14, 2007 12:34 pm

bro, 200-300 difference is a significant sum still.. :smile:

but how much diff is the so called "power" btw the 650 and 1000?

i noe the fuel consumption is so much better for the 650..

basically wat im looking for is gd fuel consumption, cheap insurance(:D), gd enuff to tour the 3 nations.. tats y im looking at the 650, not only tat, i like the outlook!

thnx for all the help guys.. :smile:

i never tried the 650 before...maybe one day will try to steal a ride from one of the guys and let u know...

but i believe the power will be significant..

anyone want to join for a 4-day ride to Hatyai???

: tentative plan :

Venue : Hatyai

Date : 12th (Thur) - 15th (Sun) April

Moving off time : 2200hrs GP Esso

desmokat >>> maybe u can meet us somewhere in hatyai...

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

Originally posted by Al-Simmons@March 14, 2007 01:48 pm

i never tried the 650 before...maybe one day will try to steal a ride from one of the guys and let u know...

but i believe the power will be significant..

anyone want to join for a 4-day ride to Hatyai???

: tentative plan :

Venue : Hatyai

Date : 12th (Thur) - 15th (Sun) April

Moving off time : 2200hrs GP Esso

desmokat >>> maybe u can meet us somewhere in hatyai...

Is this for the SongKran thing or just riding for fun?......

Give 100% of yourself......................10% of the time!!

for looks wise.. the 650 lose to the 1k with only one exhaust.. which i think 650 exhaust is ugly.. hehe! but u save alot for aftermarket one.. which we dl1k need 2 of them..

PasSion for rIdinG burns as long as my soul lives...

RidEs

_____

Kymco Zinc150..Honda TA150..Suzuki Despardo400..Honda CB400 PB1..Yamaha Spark110..Suzuki V_Strom 1000k3..Yamaha Majesty Yp250..Suzuki DR650 SE..Honda Sonic125..Yamaha Fino'08..Honda CBF150'07..Honda Deauville 650..B-Bone125..

u guys juz made me lean closer n closer to the 650 man..

will go down to loois soon.. :D

Originally posted by mamaqye@March 14, 2007 11:11 pm

Is this for the SongKran thing or just riding for fun?......

we kill 2 birds with one stone....it's for both..

anyway it's towards the end of the festival....so at the same time at least some shopping can be done...

Originally posted by Al-Simmons@March 15, 2007 01:51 am

we kill 2 birds with one stone....it's for both..

anyway it's towards the end of the festival....so at the same time at least some shopping can be done...

OK, tentatively can count me in. I will check leave schedule soon and lets do it.

Desmokat! Join lah.....

Originally posted by xanc@March 15, 2007 12:48 am

u guys juz made me lean closer n closer to the 650 man..

will go down to loois soon.. :D

I have a strange experiance wth Looi's moto though. It seems that the old man doesn't really like the Strom, he thinks its a lousey bike and no market value lah lah lah.. He said even his customer buy from him he cannot confirm got parts and also got to order and so cost will be the same as anywhere else I think. Oh well........just my 2 cents worth.......maybe old man got PMS that day, or didnt like my face.......haha

me will be going up to phuket on the 6..

then will probably in hatyai around the water fest

whats the date u all going back ? maybe going back time will join u guys? or during the water fest also can.. haaa

RidEs

_____

Kymco Zinc150..Honda TA150..Suzuki Despardo400..Honda CB400 PB1..Yamaha Spark110..Suzuki V_Strom 1000k3..Yamaha Majesty Yp250..Suzuki DR650 SE..Honda Sonic125..Yamaha Fino'08..Honda CBF150'07..Honda Deauville 650..B-Bone125..

Originally posted by mamaqye@March 15, 2007 09:34 am

I have a strange experiance wth Looi's moto though. It seems that the old man doesn't really like the Strom, he thinks its a lousey bike and no market value lah lah lah.. He said even his customer buy from him he cannot confirm got parts and also got to order and so cost will be the same as anywhere else I think. Oh well........just my 2 cents worth.......maybe old man got PMS that day, or didnt like my face.......haha

haha! yeah, i got into sum weird situation wif me when i was looking arnd wif my fren..

anyway where else other than loois carries the strom 650?

i just finished the 'recce-ing' process for the 650..didnt come across anywhere with a 650strom except for Loois and GuanHoe.

the both of them are in the same gang anyways..so pricing wont differ much..

was quoted 14.8K machine price for the hot new matt black 650.

the good thing about that mr.lee at loois is that he is quite flexible in his deal.

looks wise and power wise,its all up to you babe.

i feel you should buy based on what you need,rather than what other people want you to need..

the 1k sure has it advantages if you're touring daily,but i think the 650 is perfect for commuting here,and the occasional venture northwards.

Originally posted by byteblock@March 15, 2007 03:51 pm

i just finished the 'recce-ing' process for the 650..didnt come across anywhere with a 650strom except for Loois and GuanHoe.

the both of them are in the same gang anyways..so pricing wont differ much..

was quoted 14.8K machine price for the hot new matt black 650.

the good thing about that mr.lee at loois is that he is quite flexible in his deal.

looks wise and power wise,its all up to you babe.

i feel you should buy based on what you need,rather than what other people want you to need..

the 1k sure has it advantages if you're touring daily,but i think the 650 is perfect for commuting here,and the occasional venture northwards.

hey bro!

first of all im a dude and not a babe.. even if it's figure of speech.. :D

yeah, im looking at my own checklist n deciding which to get.. the 650 fits most of my criteria but juz weighing the diff weightage that each pros n cons to see whether it's worth it..

the new 650 is the 07 ABS?? matt black, my fav! looks like we can get new ones together.. :D

Originally posted by xanc@March 15, 2007 05:37 pm

hey bro!

first of all im a dude and not a babe.. even if it's figure of speech.. :D

yeah, im looking at my own checklist n deciding which to get.. the 650 fits most of my criteria but juz weighing the diff weightage that each pros n cons to see whether it's worth it..

the new 650 is the 07 ABS?? matt black, my fav! looks like we can get new ones together.. :D

i think he got his already...

anyway i forsee that the 650 ABS model will cost close to the 1000 K6..

i dun like the idea of bike having ABS brakes.. its not safe at all...

RidEs

_____

Originally posted by Al-Simmons@March 15, 2007 09:21 pm

i think he got his already...

anyway i forsee that the 650 ABS model will cost close to the 1000 K6..

he was quoted 14.8k for a 650..

a 1000 would be arnd 18k if im not wrong..

quite big diff.. but i tink a 650 would suit me more.. :smile:

anyways, can sumone enlighten me on this..

all the stroms are v-twin engines so technically speaking, it needs only 2 plugs..

but i read the review on the 07 stom650 and it state tat it has 2 plugs for each cylinder which makes it 4 in total..

any comments?

huh ? my 1k only 2 plugs.. then 2.75L of engine oil...

for the 07 650.. i not sure leh...

RidEs

_____

anyone interested in a brand new H&B crahsbar for DL1000?

i've ordered it some time ago, now the shipment has arrived but thinking of getting other crashbar...

anyone interested can PM or call me (98364335). $280. Brand new.

Originally posted by Al-Simmons@March 16, 2007 12:36 pm

anyone interested in a brand new H&B crahsbar for DL1000?

i've ordered it some time ago, now the shipment has arrived but thinking of getting other crashbar...

anyone interested can PM or call me (98364335). $280. Brand new.

Any photos sir?

Originally posted by mamaqye@March 16, 2007 01:23 pm

Any photos sir?

this is how it will look like..

http://www.hepco-becker.de/_eng/images/fotos/schutzbuegel_12.jpg

Originally posted by desmokat@March 16, 2007 11:22 am

huh ? my 1k only 2 plugs.. then 2.75L of engine oil...

for the 07 650.. i not sure leh...

bro, check this out, im puzzled as well..

"The 2007 Suzuki DL650 V-Strom builds on this strong foundation and adds an updated engine package with dual spark plugs per cylinder for improved combustion and reduced emissions. Also available for ’07 Suzuki will proudly offer an ABS equipped version of the DL650 V-Strom for unmatched rider control and optimum braking performance."

Motorcyclist Magazine

Originally posted by xanc@March 16, 2007 05:20 pm

bro, check this out, im puzzled as well..

"The 2007 Suzuki DL650 V-Strom builds on this strong foundation and adds an updated engine package with dual spark plugs per cylinder for improved combustion and reduced emissions. Also available for ’07 Suzuki will proudly offer an ABS equipped version of the DL650 V-Strom for unmatched rider control and optimum braking performance."

Motorcyclist Magazine

Hi all.

Twin spark technology is not new in automotive industry but quite new in motorcycle. It reduce emission and produce higher current which means higher PS(horse power) output. BUt for Strom 650, reducing emission should be the main target for the Japs to aim at Euro standards. I personnally think that there will be no much diff on the saving for fuel....

As for ABS, I will never use it on strom, it may be safer on straight road but hazard on corners for strom....

Btw, my ride is Red 650K5......first post in this section.

http://www.bmw-motorrad.com/com/en/bike/enduro/r1200gsa/media/overview_my_2012/340x230_r1200gsa_5.jpg

Adventures complete your life......

Originally posted by Runner TYPE R@March 17, 2007 09:24 am

Twin spark technology is not new in automotive industry but quite new in motorcycle.

Suzuki has using twin plugs on the DR650 since 1996.

Originally posted by Al-Simmons@March 16, 2007 02:05 pm

this is how it will look like..

http://www.hepco-becker.de/_eng/images/fotos/schutzbuegel_12.jpg

i'm looking for one that will be able to protect the gearbox as well as engine. u know of any??

RidEs

_____

Originally posted by Runner TYPE R@March 17, 2007 09:24 am

Hi all.

Twin spark technology is not new in automotive industry but quite new in motorcycle. It reduce emission and produce higher current which means higher PS(horse power) output. BUt for Strom 650, reducing emission should be the main target for the Japs to aim at Euro standards. I personnally think that there will be no much diff on the saving for fuel....

As for ABS, I will never use it on strom, it may be safer on straight road but hazard on corners for strom....

Btw, my ride is Red 650K5......first post in this section.

thnx bro for the info!

so how's the 650 so far? tried touring 2 up? been hearing alot of bad reviews for travelling wif a pillion cos of the lack of power.. :confused:

btw, red is nice~ :D