Many ignore bike helmet safety

Over 5,400 in S'pore were booked for helmet-related offences on the roads last year, 1,200 more than the year before.

Teh Joo Lin

Wed, Nov 26, 2008

The Straits Times

CRASH helmets are the one thing that could save motorbike riders from serious or even fatal head injuries.

Yet, more than 5,400 were booked for helmet-related offences on the roads last year, 1,200 more than the year before.

These offences include using helmets with visors tinted too dark, wearing helmets with straps undone, or not wearing them at all.

The 5,400 figure works out to 15 summonses issued daily for these offences.

About 2,500 riders have been caught in the first half of this year, which sets up this year's annual total to fall by about 400 cases.

Helmet safety came into the spotlight last month, when the helmet worn by a 25-year-old pillion rider broke into two in an accident on the Pan-Island Expressway. The woman was wearing a helmet that apparently met safety standards, but it failed to save her. She died at the scene.

Mr Tony Yeo, the general secretary of the Singapore Motor Cycle Trade Association and an experienced rider, said it was rare to hear of helmets breaking in accidents.

A police spokesman said all helmets imported and sold here would have undergone batch testing to check that they meet prescribed standards. Only when these are met are labels of approval affixed to the helmets in the consignment.

The testing is done by TUV SUD PSB, formerly known as PSB Corporation.

Visors on the helmets are also tested to ensure they let in at least 70 per cent of light.

This is because over-tinted visors can compromise riders' night-time vision.

Mr Yeo said some degree of tint is important to reduce day-time glare, otherwise "it will be like someone is shining a bright light at you. You'll tend to close your eyes, which is more dangerous".

Despite the rules governing the use of helmets and visors, riders know how often these are flouted.

Based on a poll among 127 respondents on the Singapore Bikes Forums, 69per cent said they would use "non-PSB-approved helmets".

Another 19 per cent said they would not, while the rest were unsure.

A 20-year-old scooter rider said he wore an unapproved half-helmet, which leaves the lower half of the back of his head uncovered, "because it looked nicer". He said he had friends who used helmets with tinted visors that he was sure would fail inspections.

"I tried wearing one at night once and I couldn't see anything at all," said the student.

Bikers say heavily tinted visors and unapproved helmets can be brought in from Malaysia or bought here.

When contacted, a retailer here said most of the helmets it sold were approved. Those that were not were intended for sale to foreigners from Malaysia or Indonesia. "But if Singapore riders think the helmet is very special and want to buy it, we cannot stop them," he said.

A TUV SUD PSB spokesman said it is an offence for suppliers to sell unapproved helmets.

Motorcyclists and pillion riders who use modified or unapproved helmets may be fined a composition amount of $50; those who go without headgear or wear it insecurely may be fined $120 and given up to three demerit points.

Fifty-five motorcyclists and pillion riders were killed in the first half of this year, 20 per cent more than the 46 in the same period last year. Riders form the bulk of all road fatalities.

This article was first published in The Straits Times on Nov 24, 2008.

He who hesitates is lost!

• Replies 56

Tough checks on headgear

Before helmets are sold, samples are randomly selected for tests that include dealing them severe blows at high speeds.

Teh Joo Lin

Wed, Nov 26, 2008

The Straits Times

BEFORE helmets are sold, samples are randomly selected for tests that include dealing them severe blows at high speeds.

The batch testing process ensures helmets will offer riders a reasonable measure of protection, said TUV SUD PSB, a product testing, inspection and certification firm formerly called PSB Corporation.

About 4 per cent of the batches tested fail because of "poor design and the unsuitability of the material used", said a company spokesman.

Checks are run on the helmet's construction, the uniformity of the shell thickness, the lining material used in the protective padding, and the chin strap's fastening device. Helmets also undergo shock absorption and penetration tests. Those that meet the requirements are affixed with a PSB test mark.

Still, a helmet's ability to protect the rider can be affected if it is not worn properly, if it does not fit the wearer's head properly, or if the chin strap is not used.

And in severe accidents, it "might not fully prevent injury or death", said the spokesman. Its protective ability can also be affected if the wearer modifies it by, say, changing the strap.

Wear and tear also take their toll over time, said Mr Tony Yeo, the general secretary of the Singapore Motor Cycle Trade Association. "I see a lot of helmets that even scrapyards don't want, but riders still wear."

This article was first published in The Straits Times on Nov 24, 2008.

i hope that this thread will serve as a wake up call to all bikers. not too long ago, i was travelling along the CTE towards the AYE on the centre lane. a suzuki swift on my right lost control and hit the centre divider. next thing i know, his car skidded into my lane; there was nothing i could do but brace myself for impact. imagine that kind of impact at highway speed - i was flung off my bike, thrown around like a rag-doll, hit a lot of objects in mid air before hitting the road surface. when the TP and ambulance came, they were shocked to see me standing on my feet taking pics with my handphone! my helmet, gloves and gears saved my life and i walked away with no more than some bruises and not even a scratch on my body. i have since replaced my helmet, gloves and jacket. the morale of this accident? invest in a good helmet. you never know when it will save your life!

Slow Rider

Those journalists

"Based on a poll among 127 respondents on the Singapore Bikes Forums, 69per cent said they would use "non-PSB-approved helmets".

Eager to support his point, he conveniently forgot to mention that most of those who wear non-approved helmets do it not because they don't care about safety, but because they want to buy better helmets which are far superior to the average PSB approved but for the marketing reasons are just not sent for approval

...but for the marketing reasons are just not sent for approval

Marketing has anything to do with evading the legal requirements to avoid the fees? Boo!

Every batch of helmets can be batch tested if the resellers abide by the regulations and do what they need to do. Nothing different from the way how all electrical switches must be batch tested, for instance.

Buyers can make excuses, but there is no need for any excuses for the sellers.

I had pushing TP for recognise the higher standard of the helmet safety, such as DOT, SNELL, etc, few years back, but until now still no news.

Hong Kong TP already accepted most the helmet safety certification, as long the helmet is certified, no additional approval from their local agency is required.

Dont know when our TP can do thing better? Or they scare PSB no business ?:sian:

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Marketing has anything to do with evading the legal requirements to avoid the fees? Boo!

Every batch of helmets can be batch tested if the resellers abide by the regulations and do what they need to do. Nothing different from the way how all electrical switches must be batch tested, for instance.

Buyers can make excuses, but there is no need for any excuses for the sellers.

There is a difference. The cost of testing electrical switch is very low compared to the expected revenue. The cost of testing a high-end helmet - at least the cost of one helmet, which is considerable.

Taking into account the total market size of high-end helmets in Singapore, in the case this regulation was really enforced, sellers would not risk and bring a variety of products and we would be left with a few sure-selling models. Forget about head shape, noise and ventilation preferences - just eat whatever you are given and shut up.

What a load of crap.

PSB approved don't mean a rat's ass to me.

The name of Snell Foundation is synonymous with helmet safety standards and is recognised worldwide. Worldwide.

PSB is only recognised by certain idiotic departments here in Singapore. The rest of the world does not know a rat's ass about PSB.

What a load of crap.

PSB approved don't mean a rat's ass to me.

The name of Snell Foundation is synonymous with helmet safety standards and is recognised worldwide. Worldwide.

PSB is only recognised by certain idiotic departments here in Singapore. The rest of the world does not know a rat's ass about PSB.

it's just another money churning gimmick.. just like ISO standards..

no ISO certification means no good meh??

no PSB means no goo meh??

then again, if got ISO means good?? or they just certify it for the sake of it..?

PSB..??

$20 helmet with PSB and $500 branded Japanese helmet no PSB, go figure..

Right... so must a $500 helmet necessarily be better than a $20 helmet? Thanks for the enlightenment.

The rest of the world does not accept the Singapore dollar to pay for their goods; I guess that would imply it is also a useless currency?

No batch testing doesn't mean good or no good. It merely means that you base it on trust and in a way, take the manufacturer's word for it. For instance, DOT label means the manufacturer says it complies with DOT standards, which is an honour system without compulsory testing. Any manufacturer can claim DOT compliance, but do a search and see what the random test results show.

Others have found "motorcycle helmets with claimed Snell certification that don't show up on the official Snell list of certified helmets." So be careful, and make sure you check that list first.

The other side of the story is that a helmet from an unknown source would be better served being batch tested than not. Comparing a $50 helmet of unknown origin - tested against untested - the testing merely indicates that the one that meets the standard has been batch tested to meet the standard and so meets certain minimums.

I doubt there is much disagreement over the need for testing and certification. Most of the views here are more along the lines of "if it has already been tested to similar standards, then it should be considered acceptable". The easy solution would simply be for the Minister to also approve helmets that have been tested against ECE 22.05 or Snell standards.

Right... so must a $500 helmet necessarily be better than a $20 helmet? Thanks for the enlightenment.

The rest of the world does not accept the Singapore dollar to pay for their goods; I guess that would imply it is also a useless currency?

Most of the high end branded helmets fall into the category of not PSB compliant. Quality comes at a price.

Hopefully in the future, Singapore currency may be accepted worldwide. But right now...just like the PSB endorsement... it has no reputation and credibility unlike the US dollar.

The other side of the story is that a helmet from an unknown source would be better served being batch tested than not. Comparing a $50 helmet of unknown origin - tested against untested - the testing merely indicates that the one that meets the standard has been batch tested to meet the standard and so meets certain minimums.

I doubt there is much disagreement over the need for testing and certification. Most of the views here are more along the lines of "if it has already been tested to similar standards, then it should be considered acceptable". The easy solution would simply be for the Minister to also approve helmets that have been tested against ECE 22.05 or Snell standards.

Exactly!

I also do not think that certification should be stopped completely

But acceptance of other certifications which already do the testing could be a best solution

Mon, Dec 15, 2008

The New Paper

Are helmets sold here safe?

Cracked helmet from fatal accident makes local bikers question how it could have passed safety tests here.

ONE cracked helmet has set Singapore's bike forums and helmet distributor networks abuzz.

The death of Ms Norazirah Ajis, who was killed in a traffic accident in late October, has become a hot topic on the Internet.

The photograph of the pillion rider's broken pink helmet, split in two, has raised a big question mark about the helmets sold here.

Bikers such as Mr Asmat H, 36, asked how was it possible for a helmet to break.

He told The New Paper: 'Aren't there checks to ensure that the helmets we buy are good enough for use?'

Even helmet distributors are concerned.

Mr Steven Teh, who distributes Nolan and Shoei helmets, and Mr Lee Chee Kong, who distributes American-designed KBC helmets, are surprised that such a failure could occur.

Mr Teh said: 'Helmet dealers are unsure how such a thing could have happened. We are also curious, because we would like to assure customers that our helmets are safe.'

Mr Lee said: 'There are too many variables which could have caused the helmet to break in two. While helmets go through testing and certification, it is impossible to mimic real-world crashes in the lab.'

One person who has seen helmet shells break is Mr Edward Becker, executive director at Snell, an independent US-based helmet testing and certification foundation.

Mr Becker said via e-mail: 'Generally though, this (shells breaking) is rare and is usually attributed to impurities in the polycarbonate... to improper moulding processes.'

Local regulation forbids retailers from selling a helmet that is not compliant with the Singapore Standard: SS9, which tests the helmet's construction and performance.

Before a helmet receives a PSB Test Mark label, it goes through a battery of tests, a spokesman for TUV SUD PSB, the organisation responsible for certifying helmets in Singapore, said.

On average, 4 per cent of TUV SUD PSB's sampled helmet batches fail due to poor design and unsuitability of material used.

The spokesman added that 'a good helmet design should be constructed such that the energy of a severe blow is absorbed in the partial destruction of the shell or protective padding material'.

This view is shared by Dr Victor Ong, a consultant at the Emergency Medicine Department in National University Hospital.

Dr Ong said: 'A good protection system helps to reduce the impact forces reaching the skull and brain, by absorbing or dissipating the energy transferred to the head as a result of trauma, thus reducing risk of severe injuries to life and brain.'

While most motorcycle accidents in Singapore generally result in injuries to the limbs and trunk regions, about 20 to 35 per cent of them result in head injuries, Dr Ong said, citing two published local studies.

Unfortunately, advice from medical experts may have fallen on deaf ears.

Mr Teh and Mr Lee have noticed that when it comes to choosing a helmet, some would rather buy cheap or unapproved helmets than investing in reputable helmet brands.

Under the law, riders caught wearing unapproved helmets can be fined $50.

Mr Teh said: 'They buy a decent helmet for themselves, but scrimp when buying helmets for their pillions. Worse still, the riders let their pillions use old helmets passed down from friends or their fathers.'

An approved helmet can cost from as little as $30 to $200 for a moderately priced one, to above $600 for high-end ones.

Indeed, getting riders to wear locally certified helmets may be an uphill task.

The Straits Times reported that a poll of 127respondents in the Singapore Bikes Forum showed that 69 per cent said they would use non-PSB-approved helmets, as compared to 19 per cent who would wear PSB-approved ones.

There are riders in Singapore who prefer to use non-PSB approved helmets because these brands are reputable ones used by racers in MotoGP and World Super Bikes. The brands claim extensive research and development in producing the superior helmets.

'Performance' helmets

These 'performance' helmets range from $500 to $800 in price and are usually certified by Snell and DOT (Department of Transportation, a requirement made compulsory for helmet-use in the US).

Bike enthusiasts argue the standards used by the manufacturer are good enough and sometimes exceed the standard required by PSB.

Therefore, there is no need for the high-end helmets to receive another certification, as they have probably been approved by two foreign agencies (Snell/DOT) by the time it arrives in Singapore.

One rider, who gave his name only as Boy, said: 'You mean to tell me that a made-in-China $40 PSB-approved helmet is better than my $800 non-PSB approved helmet, which is worn by riders in MotoGP?

'Just because my helmet doesn't have a (PSB) sticker doesn't mean that it's not safe or reliable. I'll take my chances with the authorities rather than wearing a cheap helmet.'

Helmet distributors, too, are reluctant to send the expensive helmets for testing locally because they have to pay for the tests. Testing 15 helmets could cost about $3,000, Mr Lee of KBC said.

KBC's TK-8 helmets, for example, are Snell-, DOT- and PSB-approved.

Mr Lee said: 'I think, ultimately, if such performance helmets are sold here, they will be more expensive as the cost of testing the helmet will be passed on to local customers.

'Some may feel that testing the helmet again is pointless, but what to do? It's the law here.'

Avoiding the helmet from hell

SHELL

Helmets that have been involved in a previous accident should not be re-used - the shell may have absorbed the impact and may no longer be effective.

Most helmet makers have included manufactured date on the inside of the helmet.

On average, a helmet needs to be replaced after between two and four years.

STRAP

A loosely secured helmet may be dislodged from the rider's head during an accident.

The helmet may be ineffective in offering coverage to the head during impact.

THE FIT

Too loose or too tight is cause for concern as a loose helmet will move upon impact, and a tight helmet is uncomfortable and affects rider concentration.

The right helmet should fit snugly. Ashelmets from various manufacturers may fit differently, it's best to try out the helmets, instead of ordering online.

VISORS

Tinted visors block visibility at night. Old, scratched visors suffer from strong glare when lights are shone at them,thus blinding the rider.

Thousand of riders were booked this year for wearing tinted visors. But it's ok to wear tinted visors which allow 70 per cent light transmittance

HELMET FOAM

A warped rubber seal means it may be time to replace the helmet.

The same applies if the foam inside the helmet starts to crumble or move

This article was first published in The New Paper on Dec 13, 2008.

Helmet distributors, too, are reluctant to send the expensive helmets for testing locally because they have to pay for the tests. Testing 15 helmets could cost about $3,000, Mr Lee of KBC said.

Life is like a shooting star, it don't matter who you are,

If you only run for cover, it's just a waste of time.. :thumb:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s271/warriorconp/MyRide2.jpg

Thats why I wish those idiots in PSB can understand that.

Just because they did not send their high end expensive helmets for testing... it should not be taken that the helmets will not pass their PSB (ptui!!) standards and therefore deemed illegal coz they have our safety in mind. (ptui again!!!).

Typical of them to condemn all helmets as not up to their specs... basically applying their prehistoric law that everyone is guilty unless proven innocent.

The truth is... everyone should be innocent until proven guilty in a court of law.

I have yet to hear of a helmet that passed the SNELL Foundation, DOT or European safety standards failing our PSB (ptui again) standards.

I think all of us shld write a pettition or something, to have SNELL, DOT and ECE approved helmets to be automatically approved for local use...

I still don't understand why TP would summon riders for wearing $600-1000 "safer helmet" and let $30-$50 with PSB stickers go..

Personally all my current helmet have no PSB stickers, but all are ECE22.5 approved, which exceeds DOT and SNELL standards. If PSB approved helmets split into 2 in a crash, they shld question the PSB standards and not push the blame on riders not wearing PSB approved helmet!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/855609689.png

These 'performance' helmets range from $500 to $800 in price and are usually certified by Snell and DOT (Department of Transportation, a requirement made compulsory for helmet-use in the US).

Bike enthusiasts argue the standards used by the manufacturer are good enough and sometimes exceed the standard required by PSB.

wow . . . bike enthusiasts said that? power sia psb . . snell dot approved helmets only sometime can exceed psb standard seh . . im so proud of my gpr open face helmet used during my bbdc days! woo! :puke:

http://i44.tinypic.com/54c3gg.gif
All these PSB, ISO, QC gimmicks are just ways to earn money by using mouth..

God knows if they really tested the helmets..

ya damn it man.......................

I think all of us shld write a pettition or something, to have SNELL, DOT and ECE approved helmets to be automatically approved for local use...

I still don't understand why TP would summon riders for wearing $600-1000 "safer helmet" and let $30-$50 with PSB stickers go..

Personally all my current helmet have no PSB stickers, but all are ECE22.5 approved, which exceeds DOT and SNELL standards. If PSB approved helmets split into 2 in a crash, they shld question the PSB standards and not push the blame on riders not wearing PSB approved helmet!

ya damn it man.......................

helmet also got so much problems huh???

KTM EGS 200CC 2004

APRILIA RS125CC 2005

SYM GTS 200CC 2006

HONDA SUPER 4 VTEC 3 2007

http://img382.imageshack.us/img382/408/stealthlogogs0.jpg