• Replies 77

Pictures from all over

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos01.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos02.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos03.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos04.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos05.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos06.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos07.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos08.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos09.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos10.jpg

http://www.fb666y.com/images/web/fb666y_signature.jpg

Ride Reports, Pictures & Plenty More at www.fb666y.com

Last bunch

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos11.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos12.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos13.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos14.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos15.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos16.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos17.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos18.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos19.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos20.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/misclaos21.jpg

BRO.... I really respect you sia... YOU ARE GOOD!!!

I have lots to learn from you man... Never forget the tips you gave me last time...

So did your the other half go with you on this trip?

To answer some questions:

> bro, you always go touring alone?

Yes - its easier for me that way - group rides can be tedious somewhat.

> So how much u spent for this trip in terms of SGD

All in all the two of us spent under $1200.00 -

including petrol, food, lodging and all other costs

> I presume you use a GPS system for this trip!?

No GPS - just good old map.

> Wa kao likdat also can.. i stay very near KTM there but y i like nvr hear this kind of thing before??? That's amazing...

Its not KTM but Thai Rail

> So did your the other half go with you on this trip?

Yes, I wasnt completely alone

Petrol in Malaysia > RM1.95 > S$0.83 > US$0.52

Petrol in Thailand > Baht 30.50 > S$1.27 > US$0.81

Petrol in Laos > KIP9500 > S$1.57 > US$1.00

Regular 95 is still widely available in Thailand.

It more expensive at 30ish baht. Gasohol is 28ish baht

fren......u are really good .....dared to go til so far up ....RESPECT!.......by the way how many days u took to and back...?

whats next? nothing new?

fb666y, u're e manzz! i salute u wif my respect..and thks for ur info n tips,very much appreciated..i'm planning for a trip to chiang mai next year,hope u can provide me with more infomation thks man..

http://http//www.leblogmoto.com/images/yamaha_fjr_1300_7_2.jpg
Originally posted by FB666Y@Aug 23 2006, 01:45 PM

To answer some questions:

> bro, you always go touring alone?

Yes - its easier for me that way - group rides can be tedious somewhat.

> So how much u spent for this trip in terms of SGD

All in all the two of us spent under $1200.00 -

including petrol, food, lodging and all other costs

> I presume you use a GPS system for this trip!?

No GPS - just good old map.

> Wa kao likdat also can.. i stay very near KTM there but y i like nvr hear this kind of thing before??? That's amazing...

Its not KTM but Thai Rail

> So did your the other half go with you on this trip?

Yes, I wasnt completely alone

Petrol in Malaysia > RM1.95 > S$0.83 > US$0.52

Petrol in Thailand > Baht 30.50 > S$1.27 > US$0.81

Petrol in Laos > KIP9500 > S$1.57 > US$1.00

Regular 95 is still widely available in Thailand.

It more expensive at 30ish baht. Gasohol is 28ish baht

hello bro, how many bikes can load up on to dat train? i love to know cos i'm going to chiang mai liao..pls do updated mi thks...if possible email or pm me thks again...([email protected]):thumb:

Hey, just a side question.

Your pillion never complain butt pain ah? And also the riding posture for the pillion, isnt it very siong for long distance? I'm asking this because I am very keen in bring my gf along with me for trip to Malaysia or Thai... but now in Spore, ride from pasir ris to cck, she already complain.... haiz...

Hat Yai Train Info

You can catch the train form Hat Yai to Bangkok with your bike. The train station is within walking distance from Lee garden Hotel - follow the signs.

1) Buy a ticket - sleeper cabin is at 1400baht per person

(There are several trains to choose - take the express that leaves at 6.05pm local time)

2) Proceed to the luggage section - along the platform next to the coffeeshop.

3) Pay for the bike as luggage - 1000cc is 1700baht.

4) The luggage cabin can accomodate 3-4 bikes however its first come first served. If its already full you might have some problems getting all the bikes in. Other notes - bring along some of your own straps, the longer the better and some duct tape for the areas the straps will be rubbing against the fairings.

5) Train arrives in Bangkok at 10.30am the next day. I got off at Ratchaburi simply because I didnt want to spend time navigating through Bangkok which can be a ######.

Problems I had - the luggage cabin was full and they wanted to put my bike in a separate train. I spent an hour arguing with them before they finally relented - they took out a cub and put my bike in. Before buying the tickets go to the Luggage section and ask them if they can fit all bikes in. And make it clear that the bikes travel with the rider! Only then buy the tickets.

Another option is to put the bike on the train from Butterworth instead of Hat Yai - however getting Thai insurance plus the Temporary Import permit might present some problems.

Travelling by train ought to save you a day or two or riding - about 1000km. However be prepared to have have your bikes manhandled. Duct tape is important to prevent scratching and rubbing against other stuff. Straps are equally important to help the bike from falling over.

Originally posted by friedfishz@Aug 30 2006, 12:47 AM

Hey, just a side question.

Your pillion never complain butt pain ah? And also the riding posture for the pillion, isnt it very siong for long distance? I'm asking this because I am very keen in bring my gf along with me for trip to Malaysia or Thai... but now in Spore, ride from pasir ris to cck, she already complain.... haiz...

hey man, regarding ur pillion complaining about ur bike seatin posture not comfortable, i think is because she seating on e top side n had to bend down to hold on e tank (sportbike) that's why she cannot take it.Usually my wife share seat with me and put a pvc pipe on our footrest to extend e footrest so that pillion leg can rest on it, when we go for touring(04R1), she never complain before.. only after 4hrs ride then she start to adjust her butt...bro u can try tis menthod on ur bike,btw what bike r u riding? :cheer:

Originally posted by FB666Y@Aug 30 2006, 10:14 AM

Hat Yai Train Info

You can catch the train form Hat Yai to Bangkok with your bike. The train station is within walking distance from Lee garden Hotel - follow the signs.

1) Buy a ticket - sleeper cabin is at 1400baht per person

(There are several trains to choose - take the express that leaves at 6.05pm local time)

2) Proceed to the luggage section - along the platform next to the coffeeshop.

3) Pay for the bike as luggage - 1000cc is 1700baht.

4) The luggage cabin can accomodate 3-4 bikes however its first come first served. If its already full you might have some problems getting all the bikes in. Other notes - bring along some of your own straps, the longer the better and some duct tape for the areas the straps will be rubbing against the fairings.

5) Train arrives in Bangkok at 10.30am the next day. I got off at Ratchaburi simply because I didnt want to spend time navigating through Bangkok which can be a ######.

Problems I had - the luggage cabin was full and they wanted to put my bike in a separate train. I spent an hour arguing with them before they finally relented - they took out a cub and put my bike in. Before buying the tickets go to the Luggage section and ask them if they can fit all bikes in. And make it clear that the bikes travel with the rider! Only then buy the tickets.

Another option is to put the bike on the train from Butterworth instead of Hat Yai - however getting Thai insurance plus the Temporary Import permit might present some problems.

Travelling by train ought to save you a day or two or riding - about 1000km. However be prepared to have have your bikes manhandled. Duct tape is important to prevent scratching and rubbing against other stuff. Straps are equally important to help the bike from falling over.

Bro FB666y, thks for all e info dat u have provided me, appreciated so much..btw that's some info dat i'm not so sure,things like what's e different between express n non-express? RATCHABURI station is before bangkok or after? the train ticket is single trip or to n flo? how far is BUTTERWORTH fr hatyai?sorry for e trouble. hope to hear fr u soon...thks fb666y will find one day to meet up wif u thank u personally :thumb:

Originally posted by shadoeboyz@Aug 30 2006, 09:01 PM

hey man, regarding ur pillion complaining about ur bike seatin posture not comfortable, i think is because she seating on e top side n had to bend down to hold on e tank (sportbike) that's why she cannot take it.Usually my wife share seat with me and put a pvc pipe on our footrest to extend e footrest so that pillion leg can rest on it, when we go for touring(04R1), she never complain before.. only after 4hrs ride then she start to adjust her butt...bro u can try tis menthod on ur bike,btw what bike r u riding? :cheer:

Thanx for the info~! haha... Mine is just a Super4 lah... I think the sitting posture on Super4 for pillion quite okie but my gf always complain... wonder how she will complain when i buy my sports bike.... haha.... =P

Originally posted by friedfishz@Aug 30 2006, 10:09 PM

Thanx for the info~! haha... Mine is just a Super4 lah... I think the sitting posture on Super4 for pillion quite okie but my gf always complain... wonder how she will complain when i buy my sports bike.... haha.... =P

hahaha...then i think u better don't buy sportbike,otherwise she will kill u hehehe...good luck man n ride safely:cheer:

YZFx -

They charged me according to my cc - 1000cc at 1700baht

As requested here is some more information:

1. Why did u board the train at hatyai instead of just across the border at

padang besar? Is there a reason?

- Not sure about customs import form at padang besar, so had to process the bike at the border then to hatyai for train.

2. Did you pre book your ticket or you buy on the spot?

- buy on the spot

3. Is it easy to tell them that you wanna load up your whole bike on the

train?

- go to the luggage section and talk to them - its quite normal to transport bike by train though its usually cubs

4. How long before hand must you be at the train station? ie to get all the

works done, including loading up of bike, getting tickets. Are there any

other things that need to be done?

A. Go to the luggage section and tell them you want to bring bike onto train. Work out the costs.

(There is a side section where you can ride your bike onto the platform. Park outside and the luggae people will direct you how to ride the bike in)

B. Buy your ticket and go back to luggage section. Only then will they process your bike.

C. Train comes in and the bike is loaded onto train.

A and B took me half an hour

There is very little paperwork involved. The only problem you might have is that the train is booked fully or they have no more space in the luggage cabin for the bike. You will find out these two problem only when you get to the train station. Thai Rail has a website but its not very helpful.

I got there at about 4pm and didnt realize that it was 3pm local time. So I ended up sitting and waiting for about three hours.

I took the 6pm express, so depending on what time you get to the train station you might have to kill some time. I think getting to the train station at 4pm should be best - at least there's time to settle any problem if they are any.

5. When reaching the station you wanna alight, how do you tell the person

that you wanna unload your bike there?

- the conductors on the train speak some English so it shouldnt be a problem.

But let them know well in advance.

Respect you bradder....... :thumb:

It takes lots of guts to go so far..... and alone

Here's another Singapore R1 rider but he went with some frens

click below to view

R1 to Cambodia

See more of me @ azari.multiply.com

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs216.snc3/22373_296411496598_707411598_3943863_2038617_n.jpg

Originally posted by FB666Y@Aug 21 2006, 09:47 AM

Some pics from Vientiane.

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/laos50.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/laos52.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/laos53.jpg

http://s107.photobucket.com/albums/m308/FB666Y/laos56.jpg

That ought to conclude the pics. I will try to throw some other pics from all over.

HI bro u ride is very super intresting... hope to join u nxt time... hehehe...

btw u still de best ..... :cheer: :thumb:

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/beruang30/Mensign.jpghttp://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/beruang30/thDSCF1267.jpg

BEAR30

Originally posted by FB666Y@Sep 19 2006, 06:03 PM

A. Go to the luggage section and tell them you want to bring bike onto train. Work out the costs.

(There is a side section where you can ride your bike onto the platform. Park outside and the luggae people will direct you how to ride the bike in)

B. Buy your ticket and go back to luggage section. Only then will they process your bike.

C. Train comes in and the bike is loaded onto train.

A and B took me half an hour

great trip report and details! got a few questions to ask if you dun mind...

On loading up the bike, the luggage section guys are there to help? What about unloading?

you don't stop riding when you become old...you become old when you stop riding...