Any1 here own a Garmin Nuvi 680? Am looking for field-report and reviews for this set.

Am using Legend CX at the moment for both driving and riding but look it a little too small when driving.

This unit is not waterproof. That means can only be used for driving trips. Lessen the versatility by half isn't it?

Rebuilding my dreams. But first, the gears

1) WP RS Taichi riding jacket

2) WP riding pants

3) Titanium riding gloves

4) Garmine Nuvi 550 GPS (US$259)

5) WP Komine riding boots

6) Arai Helmet

7) The BIKE of course! :cheeky:

• Replies 2.6k

You can bring your Nuvi 500 along once the diving season opens in Apr ? :angel:

Garmin device is proprietary, for third party maps, it can only read Malsing (MSM) or Malaysia Free Map (MFM) or Jerome Wee.

So what software are you referring to ?

If you are referring to MSM map, Singapore and West Malaysia maps come in a single IMG file, so where did you get separate SINGAPORE, and MALAYSIA maps ?

Did you create a GARMIN sub directory in the SD CARD ? The GMASUPP.IMG (and no other name) file must be in that directory for it to recognise.

What software are you using to combine the map ?

If the one or both of the maps are locked, and you do not have the unlock codes then you can't combine them.

I finally got the sg and mal maps working. Woohoo! Just asking, if I buy the thai map, get unlock code, can the thnai map be merge with jerome's map? or do I need to use MFM or MSM?

2) WP riding pants

6) Arai Helmet

:angel: But i dun think i wanna put it to the test and immerse it in water. As long as I can still use for bike trips during heavy rain, I'm quite ok with it.

According to the reviews,the battery will last up to 8 hrs w/o charging so if u get a spare, you will have 16 hrs of it. No need bring ciggie charger liao.

I got the unit for sgd430 as I did not incur shipping charges. Got a friend in states who was coming back. Anyway, I've got another friend coming back, so if you want to order the GPS, tomorrow is the last day if not US side cannot deliver to him before his flight back. sms me if you want. Yes I ordered the mount as well.

unfortunately, I cannot get the anti vibration one as my bike does not have a handlebar.

Hi Seastorm,

Do they sell this model here?

I see Eastgear has the 550 model with the US map being the difference, right?

So did you get another battery for it? how much would that spare batt and the mount cost in total?

I presume you are using it with clip-ons, any pictures to share on the mounted unit?

This looks like a versatile unit but is it as tough as the Zumo costing twice as much? Some may say quality comes at a price.. ha ha..

Did you shortlist any other models before settling on this one?

The 60csx n 76csx seems rather good too :cool:

Hi Seastorm,

I see Eastgear has the 550 model with the US map being the difference, right?

So did you get another battery for it? how much would that spare batt and the mount cost in total?

I presume you are using it with clip-ons, any pictures to share on the mounted unit?

This looks like a versatile unit but is it as tough as the Zumo costing twice as much? Some may say quality comes at a price.. ha ha..

Did you shortlist any other models before settling on this one?

The 60csx n 76csx seems rather good too :cool:

I am not too sure if they carry this model here. But the GPS units here are usually more ex then if we buy them from the states directly.

Since my unit does not have shipping costs, there was rather significant savings for me.

I got mine with the pre-installed US map. Since I plan to go there in a year or so, I found this rather useful.

The spare batt will cost an additional usd38. The cost of the mount will depend on the type of mount that you are buying so can range from usd12 - +++

Sure. Will upload the pics when available.

I shotlisted the Nuvi range due to the WP function (all weather for riding), touch screen (so that can be used even when wearing gloves), display size (impt when riding in congestions), and the functions that the NUVI is able to offer. So when my criteria was set... lol it kinda of all point to this unit. :cheeky:

2) WP riding pants

6) Arai Helmet

Just asking, if I buy the thai map, get unlock code, can the thnai map be merge with jerome's map? or do I need to use MFM or MSM?

It will depend on which Thai map. Some maps are locked to the SD Card, so are locked to the GPS ID. It's best that you leave the Thai map as it is in the SD Card, and insert it whenever you need it.

Pefect Watch carries the Nuvi 550, price SGD750.

:angel: But i dun think i wanna put it to the test and immerse it in water. As long as I can still use for bike trips during heavy rain, I'm quite ok with it.

According to the reviews,the battery will last up to 8 hrs w/o charging so if u get a spare, you will have 16 hrs of it. No need bring ciggie charger liao.

I got the unit for sgd430 as I did not incur shipping charges. Got a friend in states who was coming back. Anyway, I've got another friend coming back, so if you want to order the GPS, tomorrow is the last day if not US side cannot deliver to him before his flight back. sms me if you want. Yes I ordered the mount as well.

unfortunately, I cannot get the anti vibration one as my bike does not have a handlebar.

That's a real steal you got there.

Rugged and waterproof with a reasonable price tag, what's more to ask for?

My current GPS is for cars only, thus it's not weather/water-proof.

Nuvi 500 series wasn't out yet and Zumo was too dear for me. :cry:

I simply can't justify paying over a grand for something i will use once or twice a year.

If it isn't too expensive, you should have gotten the handlebar mount for your next Class 2 touring bike. (since you can save on shipping.)

So many of you guys got GPS now, when are you leading me to thailand? :angel:

Slow down abit, smell the air and enjoy the scenery.

Caught the touring bug once again!

http://www.michelinmotorcycle.com/img/sport_comparo_lg.jpg

anyone keen on getting a ram mount for their gps?

maybe can save a little on shipping by doing a bulk order?

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

New Zumo 660.

Anyone brought it already? Any reviews?

Psalm 144:3-4

O LORD, what is man that you regard him, the son of man that you think of him?

Man is like a breath; his days are like a passing shadow.

I finally got the sg and mal maps working. Woohoo! Just asking, if I buy the thai map, get unlock code, can the thnai map be merge with jerome's map? or do I need to use MFM or MSM?

I have check with Malsing and Jerome, it will not be able to route when u reach thailand side. I have merge both the maps together, but when come to routing, it will still be able to calculate for yo, but the routing will be totally off roads and even cut through the building. you will need to put in 2 different files name. You can check on malsing webby for the maps different name.

25 Nov 2003 - 24 Nov 2004 (FS6087P) (NSR SP)

24 Nov 2004 - 28 Feb 2006 (FJ7457X & FJ*5**) (Hurricane & Vespa PX200)

01 Mar 2006 - 04 Jul 2006 (FS9367L, FJ7457X & FJ*5**)(CBR 919 RRW, Hurricane &Vespa PX200)

04 Jul 2006 - 13 Jun 2011 (FV8507R & FJ*5**)(Suzuki K2 & Vespa PX200)

13 Jun 2011 - Till Now (X1)

15 Jan 2013 - 10 Sept 2015 (FBG9588B)(GTR1400 2013)

sounds like a hassle, y not just buy the original map from garmin?

They go their own way.

sounds like a hassle, y not just buy the original map from garmin?

Any idea how much that would cost? and if need be to update the map, then have to buy again?

if you want the full thailand map (without the routing function) which has been merged with malaysia and singapore map (both with routing), drop me a pm on the other side.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

if you want the full thailand map (without the routing function) which has been merged with malaysia and singapore map (both with routing), drop me a pm on the other side.

how big is size of the file

A second of precaution is an hour of safety. It never hurts to ask.

䏿‡‚å°±è¦é—®ï¼Œé—®æ˜¯ä¸ç”¨é’±çš„!

"Life is Neither Fair or Just"

how big is size of the file

the installer is less than 52mb.

give me a call, i can pass it to you in a cd.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Any idea how much that would cost? and if need be to update the map, then have to buy again?

this varies with location i believe i have seen some locations for abt 50bucks going upwards to over 100.

buying the original cd might allow the user to continue with updates?

They go their own way.

Mapking or Garmin?

I'm a noob when it comes to GPS products, could you guys advice which side I should take?

Important requirements are,

1) Singapore navigation, must be able to do block number/postal code search.

2) Malaysia and Thailand - General navigation will do, but prefably with detailed maps ie. street direction.

3) Noneed to be waterproof, mostly used in car.

Mapking or Garmin?

I'm a noob when it comes to GPS products, could you guys advice which side I should take?

2) Malaysia and Thailand - General navigation will do, but prefably with detailed maps ie. street direction.

Garmin!

No.1 reason is the already huge amt of users world wide, providing support and advice and maps from many forums.

There are a few nuvi models that come with original garmin spore/msia maps with postal code functions.

They go their own way.

the installer is less than 52mb.

give me a call, i can pass it to you in a cd.

not in a hurry, will remind you to bring when we have a meet up.:cool:

Mapking or Garmin?

I will recommend Garmin. Its quite popular in many countries.

price for non waterproof unit is not very expensive. Range around 200 ~ 500 for the GPS unit.

map have to purchase separately if you want block number/post code search but garmin original map are not always up to date. There few forums provide free map update of Malaysia and SG in Garmin format.

welcome to the world of GPS-ing :cool:

Mapking or Garmin?

get a garmin. am currently using a garmin zumo 550. price range from 200 to 1800 sgd. Dependin which model u are getting. U can go doen slim lim Square, first level, shop name "Perfect Watch" they are authorise seller for garmin products

01 Mar 2006 - 04 Jul 2006 (FS9367L, FJ7457X & FJ*5**)(CBR 919 RRW, Hurricane &Vespa PX200)

Zumo 550 is very expensive leh, haha. I don't think I need that yet.

Anyway, I bought a Garmin 205W. Now gotta start searching for POI updates, and gotta get myself some Thailand maps!

Zumo 550 is very expensive leh, haha. I don't think I need that yet.

Anyway, I bought a Garmin 205W. Now gotta start searching for POI updates, and gotta get myself some Thailand maps!

Remember thailand maps and malsing is able to merge, but u can't route in thailand. u got to seperate the map into 2 filename