Originally posted by lao uncle@Nov 15 2006, 10:08 PM

Thank for the information. Think the garmin mount costs around $50 and there is no stock at the moment.

tink mine's a better catch then the mounting, and i supposed its as stable as the original mounting.. :cheer:

2 roads diverged into a wood, and I-I took the road less traveled and that makes all the difference!

• Replies 2.6k

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/accessories/SSL20657.jpg

Ones_co just bought recently the Garmin mount similar to mine at Sim Lim square Perfect Watch shop for 20 plus.

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

I bought the Garmin mount at Sim Lim square Perfect Watch shop for $22nett

and mount it on the hander bar

i check with other shop all don have it....

and the mount i buy look very old....

don know in the shop for how long liao..

And i had try to leave my Vista with it backlight on for two day before the low batt signal come out...

so i think batt operate should be ok...

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q207/ones_co/Kg%20Tg%20Buai%2007%20sept%202008/DSC00225-1.jpg

2005 R1(BYE BYE, Miss U) Ones_Co +65 97100565

2008 DRZ (Running) 2008 Busa Cleared.

http://onesco.blogspot.com/

Originally posted by Ones_Co@Nov 16 2006, 08:58 PM

I bought the Garmin mount at Sim Lim square Perfect Watch shop for $22nett

and mount it on the hander bar

i check with other shop all don have it....

and the mount i buy look very old....

don know in the shop for how long liao..

And i had try to leave my Vista with it backlight on for two day before the low batt signal come out...

so i think batt operate should be ok...

ya, both vista & legend model can last the whole day with back light on - unlike PDA GPS & other bigger Garmin GPS models. So its easier to use disposable batteries & avoid running power cables to yr GPS - if you only use your GPS occasionally. But if you using GPS for your work everyday, then external power cable/ source will be useful.

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

Do you guys and girls use your GPS regularly in Singapore or only for when you cross the border?

Myles

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference

Hey guyz....mi veri d interest in these gadgets/...Garmin's Venture Cx & Legend Cx models. how d price lye? using AA batteries or AAA batteries ? :confused:

Yesterday is history, Tomorrow is a mystery, Today is a gift

2001 phantom 200

2003 super4 Hyper vtec 1

2004 Nsr150 sp

2005 Blackbird Cbrxxx

2006 Super4 vtec 1

2008 R6

http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/4690/bpiz351ws1.jpg http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/2481/1572016784ltl1.jpg

Originally posted by Sretroyl@Nov 21 2006, 12:03 AM

Hey guyz....mi veri d interest in these gadgets/...Garmin's Venture Cx & Legend Cx models. how d price lye? using AA batteries or AAA batteries ? :confused:

The price of a Legend Cx model is around $390 - $500 depending on where u buy from. It uses 2 x AA batteries. :smile:

'86 RG125 ~ '88 TZR250 ~ '91 TZR250R ~ '96 EN400 ~ '97 GSXR400 ~ '99 ZX11

'00 ST11 ~ '05 Wave ~ '06 CB400 ~ '07 VFR800 ~ '09 DRZ400SM

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j147/jus101/2008-12-14_024149.jpg

Own a LIFE, not a HELL ~~ RIDE SAFELY !!!

Originally posted by Smyles@Nov 20 2006, 08:03 PM

Do you guys and girls use your GPS regularly in Singapore or only for when you cross the border?

Myles

i definitely use it in oversea, only use occasionally in Spore especially in big housing estate like tampines.

Originally posted by jus101@Nov 21 2006, 12:32 AM

The price of a Legend Cx model is around $390 - $500 depending on where u buy from. It uses 2 x AA batteries. :smile:

390?? where can get that price?? Is that a color version? I wanna get one too for my camp use as well...care to share of the place to get it? Thanks...

Originally posted by BurnZ@Nov 22 2006, 12:16 AM

390?? where can get that price?? Is that a color version? I wanna get one too for my camp use as well...care to share of the place to get it? Thanks...

for cheaper price, u'll need to place order from ST Electronics (Info-Comm Systems), waiting period ranged from 3 - 6 wks, else walk in to SLT or SLS... :smile:

'86 RG125 ~ '88 TZR250 ~ '91 TZR250R ~ '96 EN400 ~ '97 GSXR400 ~ '99 ZX11

'00 ST11 ~ '05 Wave ~ '06 CB400 ~ '07 VFR800 ~ '09 DRZ400SM

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j147/jus101/2008-12-14_024149.jpg

Own a LIFE, not a HELL ~~ RIDE SAFELY !!!

Originally posted by jus101@Nov 22 2006, 02:05 AM

for cheaper price, u'll need to place order from ST Electronics (Info-Comm Systems), waiting period ranged from 3 - 6 wks, else walk in to SLT or SLS... :smile:

Anyone ever go to Taiwan to buy Legend CX, is it cheaper and easier to buy there?

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

eTrex Vista C for sale. Bought it for almost a year(03/12/05). Use it for 5-6 times To let go @ S$330.00. Package contains : GPSr, USB interface cable, Trip & Waypoint Manager CD and owner's manual. Interested pls e mail me at [email protected] or mobile at 90274474.

Wanna ask you guys, i'm looking at getting a GPS unit but after seeing some PDA phones incorporating GPS functions i'm wondering if it would be a better deal to get such phones instead?

I'd wan to do some light travelling in malaysia so i'm not sure what i should get.

Originally posted by Arcfire@Dec 8 2006, 06:04 PM

Wanna ask you guys, i'm looking at getting a GPS unit but after seeing some PDA phones incorporating GPS functions i'm wondering if it would be a better deal to get such phones instead?

I'd wan to do some light travelling in malaysia so i'm not sure what i should get.

The cheapest handheld color GPS is probably the Garmin Legend Cx, around $415.

Not sure how much is a PDA phone with GPS feature, probably around $700-800 (without plan). My experience with PDA phone is that the batteries do not last as long as non-PDA Phone. Furthermore, PDA phone are not designed for outdoor, so it's not really suitable for bikes.

How often do you change phone ? If you have standalone GPS, your choice of replacement phone is not restricted.

You should at least get a Garmin Legend Cx, it's color and good free maps online, if you are expecting a healthy year end bonus, your choice has to be the garmin 60cx which has the biggest screen for handheld, price around $750.

Originally posted by Demon@Dec 8 2006, 07:03 PM

The cheapest handheld color GPS is probably the Garmin Legend Cx, around $415.

Not sure how much is a PDA phone with GPS feature, probably around $700-800 (without plan). My experience with PDA phone is that the batteries do not last as long as non-PDA Phone. Furthermore, PDA phone are not designed for outdoor, so it's not really suitable for bikes.

How often do you change phone ? If you have standalone GPS, your choice of replacement phone is not restricted.

You should at least get a Garmin Legend Cx, it's color and good free maps online, if you are expecting a healthy year end bonus, your choice has to be the garmin 60cx which has the biggest screen for handheld, price around $750.

where can i go and buy the legend cx for 415? and also the 60cx for 750? I went to SLT to find...but all also very ex leh...

was quoted $740 for Garmin 60 Cx at Sim Lim Square Shop's name, Perfect watch & Elect. 1 Rochor Canal Rd #01-36 Sim Lim Sq Singapore 188504. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

Selling on behalf of a friend due to upgrading..Letting go a less than 1month old mint condition Legend Cx for $350,set comes with box,manual,CD,USB cable,64mb sd card and 1 year wrannty till 16/11/07.Interested parties pls pm me.Thank you.

Can someone kindly guide me of the way to upload a topo map into my vista cx? I have uploaded the road map via a installer from malsingmap.com but the topo map is .img format...it cannot even be open from my mapsource program...guys please help...thanks..

Originally posted by BurnZ@Dec 11 2006, 02:23 PM

Can someone kindly guide me of the way to upload a topo map into my vista cx? I have uploaded the road map via a installer from malsingmap.com but the topo map is .img format...it cannot even be open from my mapsource program...guys please help...thanks..

use mapsend to send the map to ur gps....

i also using vista cx...

only thing is u can't view it in pc only in gps..

btw wat map u have ??

don mind to share ?

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q207/ones_co/Kg%20Tg%20Buai%2007%20sept%202008/DSC00225-1.jpg

Originally posted by Ones_Co@Dec 11 2006, 05:05 PM

use mapsend to send the map to ur gps....

i also using vista cx...

only thing is u can't view it in pc only in gps..

btw wat map u have ??

don mind to share ?

Hi... After i post the queries, i tried to use a program called img2gps. It can send the img file to my gps but then it also erase all the other maps that i had uploaded into the gps from the program called mapsource.

I figure out that can only use one type of program to upload all the map then it can be view on the gps. So i upload all the routeable map(get from malsing) and also the topo map of sg into the gps. WAHLA! there it goes, i gotta all the map i needed. The downside is that i cant view the map like how i did on the program mapsource...but it did the same thing to send the map to the gps. :)

Now i need to find india topo map...coz going there for training...anyone has a topo map of central india? Any kind soul out there who have?

The maps i have are all downloaded from the web...so you can get it there also.. hope that helps...

Originally posted by BurnZ@Dec 11 2006, 11:16 PM

Hi... After i post the queries, i tried to use a program called img2gps. It can send the img file to my gps but then it also erase all the other maps that i had uploaded into the gps from the program called mapsource.

I figure out that can only use one type of program to upload all the map then it can be view on the gps. So i upload all the routeable map(get from malsing) and also the topo map of sg into the gps. WAHLA! there it goes, i gotta all the map i needed. The downside is that i cant view the map like how i did on the program mapsource...but it did the same thing to send the map to the gps. :)

Now i need to find india topo map...coz going there for training...anyone has a topo map of central india? Any kind soul out there who have?

The maps i have are all downloaded from the web...so you can get it there also.. hope that helps...

where u got the topo map ??

i'm quite keen to get myself a legend cx,

first hand or 2nd hand...

did some research, and just emailed ST Electronics (Info-Comm Systems)

now pending reply after the holidays.

anyway, i came upon this site, a must know for all gps users:-

In the super friendly site, malsingmaps.com, it offered the map of sing and w msia.

in bold states that its compatible with latest GPS device. But well, the legend isn't exactly the latest tech, so are they compatible ?

Description is as follows:-

All Official Maps in Gmapsupp

Description:

All-in-one gmapsupp.img containing:

* All official routable maps (from v3.23 Malsing Installer)

* All road POI maps (Malaysia & Singapore from 30 Dec 06)

* Singapore HDB Block map (from 00001113.img)

Ready to use with Garmin Que and latest GPS receiver models. Recommended for newbies without Mapsource who are not familiar yet with the operations of PatchIMG.

i just don't have enough middle fingers....

- someone from SAF

Nov 2003 - May 2005 RxZ '93

May 2005 - Nov 2006 Daelim Magma '02

Nov 2006 - Oct 2009 S4 V-tech II '00

Oct 2009 - Aug 2010 W124 E200 '93

Aug 2010 - Date Getz 1.4 '06