:cheeky: :cheeky: hi,guys..wanna know anyone using nuvi series having problems on bike while going touring??been bothering me whether taking the zumo or nuvi..i'm taking the zumo 550($1299+$100)and nuvi 760($765+$100)as comparison..gap difference is ard $600 plus,but just tat taking zumo,i dun have to worry abt rain..and if gonna purchase nuvi,i got a bigger screen(4'3)Can someone help me with it cos itz mine 1st time playing gadgets and i dun want to invest in it liao regrets,thks...:cheeky: :weep:

There are cheaper alternative, at ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/GPS-GARMIN-ZUMO-550-WITH-2GB-SD-CARD-FOR-MOTORCYCLE_W0QQitemZ130240355807QQihZ003QQcategoryZ14957QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

At only $1150 and get in Singapore too. BTW I not the seller, just someone who come across this auction.

• Replies 2.6k

Do let me know the price of customising the rack at SK..

I bought a RAM mount online. So far so good.. adjustable to your own preference....

http://www.gpscity.com/ramb149ga12

you guys might wanna consider this.....

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=67030&d=1214533391

Phantom TA150 ----- Gone

CB400 Spec2---------Gone

Yamaha X-1----------Gone

CB400 Spec1.||| -------- Gone

Honda Silverwing 400 - FOR SALE

:cheeky: :cheeky: hi,guys..wanna know anyone using nuvi series having problems on bike while going touring??been bothering me whether taking the zumo or nuvi..i'm taking the zumo 550($1299+$100)and nuvi 760($765+$100)as comparison..gap difference is ard $600 plus,but just tat taking zumo,i dun have to worry abt rain..and if gonna purchase nuvi,i got a bigger screen(4'3)Can someone help me with it cos itz mine 1st time playing gadgets and i dun want to invest in it liao regrets,thks...:cheeky: :weep:

You are in luck. But you have to wait till later this year for the launch.

Garmin will be launching the latest of the Nuvi family, the Nuvi 500, and it's first of the Nuvi family that has a IPX7 rating, ie, it's waterproof. Essentially, it's a waterproof Nuvi 205, incorporating some of the Zumo features such as the Garmin Lockâ„¢ (anti-theft feature).

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/cf-lg-2.jpg

Here is the good news, it's motorcycle-friendly like the Zumo, same screen size as the Zumo, twice the battery endurance of Zumo, but much cheaper than the Zumo. Garmin lists the price at USD499.99.

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=&pID=13424#

Guest stages

look like good... but it works on bike?? Hmmm...

You are in luck. But you have to wait till later this year for the launch.

Garmin will be launching the latest of the Nuvi family, the Nuvi 500, and it's first of the Nuvi family that has a IPX7 rating, ie, it's waterproof. Essentially, it's a waterproof Nuvi 205, incorporating some of the Zumo features such as the Garmin Lockâ„¢ (anti-theft feature).

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/cf-lg-2.jpg

Here is the good news, it's motorcycle-friendly like the Zumo, same screen size as the Zumo, twice the battery endurance of Zumo, but much cheaper than the Zumo. Garmin lists the price at USD499.99.

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=&pID=13424#

Good PRICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Guest stages

I think GPS is quite a USer friendly things

diy a cig socket to plug it in..

can go slt find.. best get water proof..

tap it to ignition.. so only gt power when ingition is on..

http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/2448/dsc05148zx1.jpg

i only put 1 soc and buy 1 more multi tap socket wif usb charger.

i stick it wif velcro on right brake pump..

and my gps on my IU.. i had my hp on my tank bra and can listern to music and charge it..

very ingenius setup. But I wonder if the voltage is stable for my S4 kind of bike.

I think those smaller 2B bike might be even more unstable ; with many spikes & dips when revving the rpm.

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

Hi guys i need help. i just bought a Garmin 60csx and now i want to download the thailand map. Theres 2 cards one big one one small one which i suppose are the memory cards? Do i have to buy a card reader or something? or could i just plug my gps to the computer and download the maps? and could someone show me where i could get a free thailand map?

Thanks for your kindness!

To live is Christ, To die is gain

Hi guys, this may sound like a silly question but do you think GPS of phones are good enough? I'm seriously considering getting the iphone because of it's ease of use with the GPS. However, I'm not sure if going for phone type GPS is a good option in terms of usability and maps compatibility?

I'm a total GPS dummy, any advice is appreciated.

http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/9907/albumpicvr3.jpg

hey guys..

was jus wondering..

if anyone has a thai/cambodia/watever map on an SD card...can we use that SD card and copy all the data ot another SD card???.

anyone knows if this is possible??

if can...den we can share costs on most of the overseas maps righs?

anyone has any insight??

regards

nash

SH*T HAPPENS!

Pick It Up. Start It. Ride It.

picasaweb.google.com/nineh20

hey guys..

was jus wondering..

if anyone has a thai/cambodia/watever map on an SD card...can we use that SD card and copy all the data ot another SD card???.

anyone knows if this is possible??

if can...den we can share costs on most of the overseas maps righs?

anyone has any insight??

regards

nash

there are a few types of maps, ie. the free maps, and locked maps. Free maps, you can share them within the commercial boundary of usage. Locked maps can't be shared because of the security measures built into the maps. The map can be locked to your GPS ID, ie. only can be used in that particular GPS, or locked to the SD Card, ie, not GPS specific as long as it is read from that particular SD Card. Once the maps are copied into another storage medium, it wouldn't work.

Paid maps, such as from Jerome or Rottweiler are all locked, otherwise, they will be out of business.

Anyway, Routable Cambodia map is a free map in MSM, now done in "IMG" for easy loading. Look under MEMBER'S MAPS.

When you going, bo jio hor ? :shades:

want to ask,

if let say now i buy a PDA phone like HTC diamond or Samsung OMNIA,

it can work together with the garmin map and download new map into the phone? i m a newbie for GPS, hope can get some here from here..

want to ask,

if let say now i buy a PDA phone like HTC diamond or Samsung OMNIA,

it can work together with the garmin map and download new map into the phone? i m a newbie for GPS, hope can get some here from here..

Garmin maps are proprietary maps, ie. only for garmin devices.

HTC Diamond, and Samsung Omnia can use google maps, or mapking.

To buy : http://www.eastgear.com/store/mapking-2007-diamond-singapore-p-276.html

For free :

http://www.sla.gov.sg/htm/new/new2008/new3006.htm

there are a few types of maps, ie. the free maps, and locked maps. Free maps, you can share them within the commercial boundary of usage. Locked maps can't be shared because of the security measures built into the maps. The map can be locked to your GPS ID, ie. only can be used in that particular GPS, or locked to the SD Card, ie, not GPS specific as long as it is read from that particular SD Card. Once the maps are copied into another storage medium, it wouldn't work.

Paid maps, such as from Jerome or Rottweiler are all locked, otherwise, they will be out of business.

Anyway, Routable Cambodia map is a free map in MSM, now done in "IMG" for easy loading. Look under MEMBER'S MAPS.

When you going, bo jio hor ? :shades:

haha...thanks for the heads up sifu!

haha..dreamin only le...im toyin with the idea of takin the vara up as far north as possible and back. time to play with: abt 3 weeks. prob end dec/jan or somethin. nothin confirmed. :shades:

can or cannot is another thing... but atleast must plan and try right?? :pray:

for now...try hit up to phuket first. thinkin of following the guys from the SBF to phuket next wk. they seem VERY welcomin and accomodating... im jus worried tat teh vara cannot keep up with them le... all 2A bikes and above.. :giddy:

dunno le...sian. cannot decide.

nash

SH*T HAPPENS!

Pick It Up. Start It. Ride It.

picasaweb.google.com/nineh20

want to ask, is it possible use the GPS device which is design to install at car and put in\t on my bike? then go and custom make the supporting rack for my GOS device?

anything is possible.

If you want to really impress, then get the Zumo 550, it comes with both bike, and car mounting kit. After-market GPS kits such as ram-mount are popular and nice, but they come with a price.

If you are a cheap bāstard, like me :D , then here is the $10 mounting kit solution for both car, and bike.

All Garmin Vehicle GPS ie. Nuvi series, will come with a windscreen suction cup mounting kit. Here is my DIY version just to make a point.

For car

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/P7191053.jpg

For bike

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/P7191047.jpg

For the hopeless lost

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/P7191055.jpg

anything is possible.

If you want to really impress, then get the Zumo 550, it comes with both bike, and car mounting kit. After-market GPS kits such as ram-mount are popular and nice, but they come with a price.

If you are a cheap bāstard, like me :D , then here is the $10 mounting kit solution for both car, and bike.

All Garmin Vehicle GPS ie. Nuvi series, will come with a windscreen suction cup mounting kit. Here is my DIY version just to make a point.

For car

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/P7191053.jpg

For bike

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/P7191047.jpg

For the hopeless lost

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/P7191055.jpg

Bro where can i get the mounting for bike. Wanna fix my Nuvi on my FZ1 do you think i can use the same one as yours? Thanks:thumb:

Health Warning!

BootLicking is not good for your ASS!!!

Hi guys, this may sound like a silly question but do you think GPS of phones are good enough? I'm seriously considering getting the iphone because of it's ease of use with the GPS. However, I'm not sure if going for phone type GPS is a good option in terms of usability and maps compatibility?

I'm a total GPS dummy, any advice is appreciated.

I would not use a phone GPS for one reason; usually these are not as rugged or waterproof. Important factor for a rider.

Demon; still owe you that cup of coffee. Where you work? Or come hand out at AMK autopoint where I am working on my bike after work?

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Can you tell me where to buy the Garmin Zumo 550 in Singapore ?

HH

I got my set a little cheaper than the prices quoted here in Singapore.

I probably did not look hard enough! Best price i got here in Singapore for the ZUMO 550 is SGD1255.

The cheapest prices are those acquired online and from the States!! Only thin gis that if there is any issues and you want to exercise youe warranty... the set have to be sent to the States.

I got mine from a distributor in JB! A little cheaper than in Singapore and some would say it is not worth the effort... but it did give me an excuse to ride.....lol

Do drop me a PM if you are keen..... remember the savings not gonna impress you too much!!!

Can you tell me where to buy the Garmin Zumo 550 in Singapore ?

HH

I got my set a little cheaper than the prices quoted here in Singapore.

I probably did not look hard enough! Best price i got here in Singapore for the ZUMO 550 is SGD1255.

The cheapest prices are those acquired online and from the States!! Only thin gis that if there is any issues and you want to exercise youe warranty... the set have to be sent to the States.

I got mine from a distributor in JB! A little cheaper than in Singapore and some would say it is not worth the effort... but it did give me an excuse to ride.....lol

Do drop me a PM if you are keen..... remember the savings not gonna impress you too much!!!