Zumo 550 is very expensive leh, haha. I don't think I need that yet.

Anyway, I bought a Garmin 205W. Now gotta start searching for POI updates, and gotta get myself some Thailand maps!

if you want bkk maps I have.

in fact, my bkk maps come with phuket, myanmar, cambodia and laos also.

just bring yr laptop, copy the files into a blank sd card and ure good to go :)

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

• Replies 2.6k

im on the looking for the latest phuket and australia maps.

can anyone pls point me in the right direction to any forums for downloads?

They go their own way.

Hmm, I need Thailand map leh.

Those N.Thailand maps I see available, do they include info on the south too? One can't teleport from Hatyai to BKK right? :D

Hmm, I need Thailand map leh.

Those N.Thailand maps I see available, do they include info on the south too? One can't teleport from Hatyai to BKK right? :D

i believe they include info on the south too, koh samui and all.

didnt browse it in detail, will do so when im on thai soil in a few days.

They go their own way.

im on the looking for the latest phuket and australia maps.

can anyone pls point me in the right direction to any forums for downloads?

CMYRS,

I do have some Oz maps. Havent tested them all out yet.

Am also looking for Canada, US, Korea and Italy maps.

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

Can I have the bkk maps? Would like to have it cos of the phuket map

Rebuilding my dreams. But first, the gears

1) WP RS Taichi riding jacket

2) WP riding pants

3) Titanium riding gloves

4) Garmine Nuvi 550 GPS (US$259)

5) WP Komine riding boots

6) Arai Helmet

7) The BIKE of course! :cheeky:

CMYRS,

I do have some Oz maps. Havent tested them all out yet.

Am also looking for Canada, US, Korea and Italy maps.

excellant, where did you get the down under maps from?

newbie qn, if it works on yours, will it work on the nuvi?

Can I have the bkk maps? Would like to have it cos of the phuket map

sure no worries.

it will be great if you have got a laptop and a blank memory card.

2min job and ure good to go.

They go their own way.

excellant, where did you get the down under maps from?

newbie qn, if it works on yours, will it work on the nuvi?

sure no worries.

it will be great if you have got a laptop and a blank memory card.

2min job and ure good to go.

Yup, got those items. :angel:

2) WP riding pants

6) Arai Helmet

Yup, got those items. :angel:

where do u work?

if its nearby we can do it lunchtime, I got the maps with me now.

They go their own way.

Hey hey

I am going to cameron highland soon. I own a Zumo 500. Where can i get the map from?

thank you ah!!

wah gtr going cameron!

They go their own way.

I'm wondering that if the WAAS and the other two systems in Europe and Japan aren't available in Singapore... how come I'm getting a "D" for the Satellite page from my 60CSx?

Anyone else having the same reading?

the following is a repost of what i wrote in the malsingmaps forums on 15 jan 2009...

======================

Just bought a 60CSx today afternoon... and I was reading this thread at nearly 4am this morning... concussed until can add something in now....

Let me clarify my role here. I have been known to some notority on Clubsnap, the photography forum in Singapore - and I do have some personal acquaintances in EastGear, though I am not close to any one of them. Namely Daniel (until he left a few years ago), Derek, and Simon. I do NOT know anyone in Navicom. In fact, this is the first time I heard of them - when I was researching to purchase my 60CSx. I have two Garmin products - a nuvi 200W (bought from EastGear in June 2008 at a local computer fair) and a 60CSx (just bought yesterday - 14 Jan 2009, through Navicom's distribution channel). I also use a slew of stuff from EastGear - like my Maha AA charger sets (I have two), my Canon NP-E3 charger, many PowerEx AA batteries...

Let's take a look carefully at the whole situation, shall we?

First, let me clarify my understanding...

"Authorised Distributor"

- Authorised by a brand to bring in shipments from manufacturer to sell to Authorised Dealers, who will resell the goods to end-users.

"Authorised Dealer" -

- Described above. They are appointed officially by the Authorised Distributor.

"Sole Distributor"

- This company is the only one bringing in goods - and sells them to their internally appointed Dealers. The company does not need to have authority from a manufacturer to bring their goods into a country.

"Sole Agent/Dealer"

- That means this shop is the ONLY shop to sell goods - and they don't need authority to be able to sell things in a Territory.

"Territory"

- I personally take it to be the boundaries of a country. Hey, I'm not gonna define everything here in one post :D

If we peel our eyes, the letter for Starlite originates from their Malaysia office, and appoints EastGear to be their "Authorised Dealer" in Singapore (since EastGear is a Singapore company). One thing I don't understand... why would the letter head be originating from Starlite in Malaysia? If I'm not mistaken, this is because Starlite IS the Official Distributor in Malaysia.

===================================

The situation became more confusing yesterday morning as I called upon almost all the Garmin-selling shops in Singapore, to understand the sitation better - and check out the prices, too! *blush!*

Granted, there should be no fake Garmin GPSrs floating around, so some say it is not an issue whether a unit comes through parallel sources, or Authorised Distributors. Yes, I agree. Until one shop - Tecomart - was very candid with me on the phone and told me that they were selling parallel import units. Two other shops - STS and Blazer - told me "don't worry, we give you local warranty" and "warranty not important" respectively... may not have been exact words, but I was shocked the shops could tell me that. At least to their credit, the person from Tecomart did tell me the pros and cons of getting a parallel import set. This gesture, I greatly commend. For the other two shops... uh.... In any case, I did not ask with whom I was talking over the phone. But brushing off warranty, when I brought it up as a concern? Hey, I was greatly put off when I heard these answers from the two shops.

Some of you noted that Starlite (in Singapore) and Allbright had the same registered address in Singapore - and when I called yesterday, I was told it was the same company by a person over the phone when I asked - just that Allbright is the retail arm. My personal guess is that Starlite is a Malaysian business, but registered a separate local business entity of Allbright to do business in Singapore. So either Starlite or Allbright ships the units to EastGear to sell, when they are only appointed as Garmin distributors in Malaysia - this is exactly how I interpreted the scanned letter that EastGear put up. If this hunch is true... I can also try to be a Singapore distributor for Brand XYZ, then I register a business in Malaysia, and sell my goods to other shops in Malaysia through my affiliated company, while all along I do NOT have the right to sell my Brand XYZ goods in Malaysia in the first place - if not, why one earth would Brand XYZ have their own Authorised Distributors in Malaysia!

To complicate the matter... the person claiming identity for EastGear says, "Our local stock is from the Authorised Garmin Distributor. There is no way we can get a large quantity of local version of Garmin if we are not an authorised dealer." Yes, I know the stock is from the Authorised Distributor... may I ask, for WHICH COUNTRY? How come the "local version" of the nuvi 200W that I bought last year in June 2008 has USA as a map PRELOADED in the internal memory, while Navicom's has Singapore/Malaysia maps in the internal memory? How come my Jerome Wee maps are loaded on a card... it isn't called pre-loaded fairly what, right...??? *confused* Navicom's letter in page 3 of this thread spells their claim clearly - that EastGear is not an "Authorised Garmin Dealer in SINGAPORE". EastGear sure could sell back the stock to Malaysia, and get themselves in hot soup should the Malaysian Authorised Dealers be unhappy about it...

Another twist to the complex story is that apparently, someone (key person or not, I'm not sure) from Starlite or Allbright WAS from Navicom. How true this is, I don't know. I'm just kaypoh.

http://www8.garmin.com/cgi-bin/dealers.pl?country=Singapore&dealer_type=All&SUBMIT2=Show+Dealers+for+this+Country

In this above link, Navicom is the ONLY Distributor who has the licence for Recreational line of stuff - which I believe exclude Aviation GPSrs.

What I'm just writing is what I believe is to be my very first post in Malsingmaps ever since I first joined because I got my nuvi 200W (from EastGear, as mentioned above). Speaking of which... the apparent official Singapore batch of nuvi's (I didn't note the model number), have the City Navigator Singapore/Malaysia maps loaded in the GPSr itself (technically, "preloaded" in the factory - my own definition), and not like the set that I got from EastGear, which came with the City Navigator USA maps - and added Jerome's maps via a 1GB SD card - which was exactly what I got last year. I admit that a "FREE" 1GB SD card got the better of me too, though Jerome's maps are really great (and I'm still using it today!)

http://www.eastgear.com/comex2008/COMEX2008-Brochure.pdf

May I ask, what does the term, "Sole Distributor" appended to the bottom of EastGear's corporate logo mean in the PDF? I do think it was a bit of creative copywriting here... but the key words for Garmin in the brochure would be... "Authorised Dealer"... by whom? In light of the letter from Starlite, of course it's by Starlite in Malaysia. Interestingly, as of 14 Jan 2009... May I know where Starlite's http://www.sltsb.com domain/website went to? Supposed to be a DISTRIBUTOR, you know...

P.S. I give up on the Mapking R12 in my HTC TyTN II. Incredibly slow - which I believe the HTC Class Action Suit has a part to play too. Sucks my battery dry like vampire... and yes, I'm a cheapskate and don't want to buy into proprietary batteries for mobile phones... and speaking of copywriting, I don't know Raymond Toh, but putting him as "An accomplished photographer" is not doing him favours. If I were to be featured in anything... I'd be "THE Accomplished Photographer"... :-D

OK, just my 2 cents. Everything I wrote is of my PERSONAL opinion. Maybe things really took a change from Navicom not being listed as a Singapore Authorised Distributor to being listed now... as what clfai seems to mention in (http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=113422#p113422) all these I'm not in privy, so I may have made some errors here and there. But one thing for sure is... if Malaysian Authorised Distributorship covers Singapore, then we don't need Singapore Authorised Distributor already... funny, right?

hey gps guru!

thank u very much.

here's another newbie qn for u.

Ive got SD cards already loaded with maps from other countries.

Can I just load the Ozzie maps from the site you showed me into the same card with those other maps?

And then turn on the gps, go to tools, settings, map and just check the boxes for the Aust maps when I want to use them?

Or best to get another blank memory, create a garmin folder and load solely the Oz maps?

They go their own way.

the following is a repost of what i wrote in the malsingmaps forums on 15 jan 2009...

======================

Just bought a 60CSx today afternoon... and I was reading this thread at nearly 4am this morning... concussed until can add something in now....

Let me clarify my role here. I have been known to some notority on Clubsnap, the photography forum in Singapore - and I do have some personal acquaintances in EastGear, though I am not close to any one of them. Namely Daniel (until he left a few years ago), Derek, and Simon. I do NOT know anyone in Navicom. In fact, this is the first time I heard of them - when I was researching to purchase my 60CSx. I have two Garmin products - a nuvi 200W (bought from EastGear in June 2008 at a local computer fair) and a 60CSx (just bought yesterday - 14 Jan 2009, through Navicom's distribution channel). I also use a slew of stuff from EastGear - like my Maha AA charger sets (I have two), my Canon NP-E3 charger, many PowerEx AA batteries...

Let's take a look carefully at the whole situation, shall we?

First, let me clarify my understanding...

"Authorised Distributor"

- Authorised by a brand to bring in shipments from manufacturer to sell to Authorised Dealers, who will resell the goods to end-users.

"Authorised Dealer" -

- Described above. They are appointed officially by the Authorised Distributor.

"Sole Distributor"

- This company is the only one bringing in goods - and sells them to their internally appointed Dealers. The company does not need to have authority from a manufacturer to bring their goods into a country.

"Sole Agent/Dealer"

- That means this shop is the ONLY shop to sell goods - and they don't need authority to be able to sell things in a Territory.

"Territory"

- I personally take it to be the boundaries of a country. Hey, I'm not gonna define everything here in one post :D

If we peel our eyes, the letter for Starlite originates from their Malaysia office, and appoints EastGear to be their "Authorised Dealer" in Singapore (since EastGear is a Singapore company). One thing I don't understand... why would the letter head be originating from Starlite in Malaysia? If I'm not mistaken, this is because Starlite IS the Official Distributor in Malaysia.

===================================

The situation became more confusing yesterday morning as I called upon almost all the Garmin-selling shops in Singapore, to understand the sitation better - and check out the prices, too! *blush!*

Granted, there should be no fake Garmin GPSrs floating around, so some say it is not an issue whether a unit comes through parallel sources, or Authorised Distributors. Yes, I agree. Until one shop - Tecomart - was very candid with me on the phone and told me that they were selling parallel import units. Two other shops - STS and Blazer - told me "don't worry, we give you local warranty" and "warranty not important" respectively... may not have been exact words, but I was shocked the shops could tell me that. At least to their credit, the person from Tecomart did tell me the pros and cons of getting a parallel import set. This gesture, I greatly commend. For the other two shops... uh.... In any case, I did not ask with whom I was talking over the phone. But brushing off warranty, when I brought it up as a concern? Hey, I was greatly put off when I heard these answers from the two shops.

Some of you noted that Starlite (in Singapore) and Allbright had the same registered address in Singapore - and when I called yesterday, I was told it was the same company by a person over the phone when I asked - just that Allbright is the retail arm. My personal guess is that Starlite is a Malaysian business, but registered a separate local business entity of Allbright to do business in Singapore. So either Starlite or Allbright ships the units to EastGear to sell, when they are only appointed as Garmin distributors in Malaysia - this is exactly how I interpreted the scanned letter that EastGear put up. If this hunch is true... I can also try to be a Singapore distributor for Brand XYZ, then I register a business in Malaysia, and sell my goods to other shops in Malaysia through my affiliated company, while all along I do NOT have the right to sell my Brand XYZ goods in Malaysia in the first place - if not, why one earth would Brand XYZ have their own Authorised Distributors in Malaysia!

To complicate the matter... the person claiming identity for EastGear says, "Our local stock is from the Authorised Garmin Distributor. There is no way we can get a large quantity of local version of Garmin if we are not an authorised dealer." Yes, I know the stock is from the Authorised Distributor... may I ask, for WHICH COUNTRY? How come the "local version" of the nuvi 200W that I bought last year in June 2008 has USA as a map PRELOADED in the internal memory, while Navicom's has Singapore/Malaysia maps in the internal memory? How come my Jerome Wee maps are loaded on a card... it isn't called pre-loaded fairly what, right...??? *confused* Navicom's letter in page 3 of this thread spells their claim clearly - that EastGear is not an "Authorised Garmin Dealer in SINGAPORE". EastGear sure could sell back the stock to Malaysia, and get themselves in hot soup should the Malaysian Authorised Dealers be unhappy about it...

Another twist to the complex story is that apparently, someone (key person or not, I'm not sure) from Starlite or Allbright WAS from Navicom. How true this is, I don't know. I'm just kaypoh.

http://www8.garmin.com/cgi-bin/dealers.pl?country=Singapore&dealer_type=All&SUBMIT2=Show+Dealers+for+this+Country

In this above link, Navicom is the ONLY Distributor who has the licence for Recreational line of stuff - which I believe exclude Aviation GPSrs.

What I'm just writing is what I believe is to be my very first post in Malsingmaps ever since I first joined because I got my nuvi 200W (from EastGear, as mentioned above). Speaking of which... the apparent official Singapore batch of nuvi's (I didn't note the model number), have the City Navigator Singapore/Malaysia maps loaded in the GPSr itself (technically, "preloaded" in the factory - my own definition), and not like the set that I got from EastGear, which came with the City Navigator USA maps - and added Jerome's maps via a 1GB SD card - which was exactly what I got last year. I admit that a "FREE" 1GB SD card got the better of me too, though Jerome's maps are really great (and I'm still using it today!)

http://www.eastgear.com/comex2008/COMEX2008-Brochure.pdf

May I ask, what does the term, "Sole Distributor" appended to the bottom of EastGear's corporate logo mean in the PDF? I do think it was a bit of creative copywriting here... but the key words for Garmin in the brochure would be... "Authorised Dealer"... by whom? In light of the letter from Starlite, of course it's by Starlite in Malaysia. Interestingly, as of 14 Jan 2009... May I know where Starlite's http://www.sltsb.com domain/website went to? Supposed to be a DISTRIBUTOR, you know...

P.S. I give up on the Mapking R12 in my HTC TyTN II. Incredibly slow - which I believe the HTC Class Action Suit has a part to play too. Sucks my battery dry like vampire... and yes, I'm a cheapskate and don't want to buy into proprietary batteries for mobile phones... and speaking of copywriting, I don't know Raymond Toh, but putting him as "An accomplished photographer" is not doing him favours. If I were to be featured in anything... I'd be "THE Accomplished Photographer"... :-D

OK, just my 2 cents. Everything I wrote is of my PERSONAL opinion. Maybe things really took a change from Navicom not being listed as a Singapore Authorised Distributor to being listed now... as what clfai seems to mention in (http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=113422#p113422) all these I'm not in privy, so I may have made some errors here and there. But one thing for sure is... if Malaysian Authorised Distributorship covers Singapore, then we don't need Singapore Authorised Distributor already... funny, right?

i read ur whole thread and i dun understand what you talking. pardon me.

NaviCom is the 1 of the distributor. from my knowledge, perfect watch are the authorize reseller of garmin products. Their products come from navicom. for allbright, i understand it is also register under Garmin, but i have no dealings with allbright. when i call navicom to check the pricing, they told me to contact perfect watch becos they are the authorize garmin seller.

i only deal with perfect watch. the rest i have no idea at. and what the usage of ur post are for?

http://www8.garmin.com/cgi-bin/dealers.pl?country=Singapore&dealer_type=All&SUBMIT2=Show+Dealers+for+this+Country.

25 Nov 2003 - 24 Nov 2004 (FS6087P) (NSR SP)

24 Nov 2004 - 28 Feb 2006 (FJ7457X & FJ*5**) (Hurricane & Vespa PX200)

01 Mar 2006 - 04 Jul 2006 (FS9367L, FJ7457X & FJ*5**)(CBR 919 RRW, Hurricane &Vespa PX200)

04 Jul 2006 - 13 Jun 2011 (FV8507R & FJ*5**)(Suzuki K2 & Vespa PX200)

13 Jun 2011 - Till Now (X1)

15 Jan 2013 - 10 Sept 2015 (FBG9588B)(GTR1400 2013)

i read ur whole thread and i dun understand what you talking. pardon me.

NaviCom is the 1 of the distributor. from my knowledge, perfect watch are the authorize reseller of garmin products. Their products come from navicom. for allbright, i understand it is also register under Garmin, but i have no dealings with allbright. when i call navicom to check the pricing, they told me to contact perfect watch becos they are the authorize garmin seller.

i only deal with perfect watch. the rest i have no idea at. and what the usage of ur post are for?

http://www8.garmin.com/cgi-bin/dealers.pl?country=Singapore&dealer_type=All&SUBMIT2=Show+Dealers+for+this+Country.

The idea of the whole post, was to share my learning experience reading the earlier 28+++ pages (that's where I stopped initially) of this page, as well as other information about who are the authorised distributors for Garmin in Singapore.

Essentially it was a sharing session that includes clarifying the position of Allbright/Starlite as the authorised Malaysia distributor and that Eastgear distributes Malaysian bound units to Singapore - which means you get zero warranty, other than implied by Eastgear who would send it back to Malaysia and back to Taiwan, probably.

I've read quite a few posts by you Murphy, you seem to either really love the Zumi 550, and not recommend anything else to anyone asking. Is there a particular reason? I can't help but have this odd feeling that you're encouraging people to buy it just because you have it.

Edit: Navicom is the SOLE distributor for recreational/consumer grade GPSr in Singapore, although the other listed distributors could get it for a customer if so needed.

For reference, this is the URL for the discussion that I brought over, that I believe will benefit the local riders.

http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=12080&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

Edited by sehsuan
where do u work?

if its nearby we can do it lunchtime, I got the maps with me now.

Now not good time. :sian: I'm rushing a project and the hours are crazy ... meet you lunch time you might just end up seeing me with a pissed off look when I should be happily buying you lunch instead. How about sometime after CNY?

Work very very near NUH.

2) WP riding pants

6) Arai Helmet

MY - SG - TH - LAO - CAMBO

combine

total size about 260MB

but cannot route cross border...

can only route till border, but after u cross the border can u continues with the routing...

eg MY and TH

only when u reach sadao from johor than can use auto route for thailand side..

Edited by Ones_Co

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q207/ones_co/Kg%20Tg%20Buai%2007%20sept%202008/DSC00225-1.jpg

2005 R1(BYE BYE, Miss U) Ones_Co +65 97100565

2008 DRZ (Running) 2008 Busa Cleared.

http://onesco.blogspot.com/

Now not good time. :sian: I'm rushing a project and the hours are crazy ... meet you lunch time you might just end up seeing me with a pissed off look when I should be happily buying you lunch instead. How about sometime after CNY?

Work very very near NUH.

No problem!

just give me some advance notice.

BTW, does anyone know where I check what ram mount fits my bike?

The former RAM MOUNT WIZARD on the official ram mount site used to work.

All you need to do is input your bike details and the device its for and it will come up with a list of ram mount parts to fit your bike.

Ive been trying that wizard for a few weeks now on a couple of pcs at home and work but I keep getting an error page after it tries to search for a minute.

Anyone with alternatives?

GPScity and similar sites, I didnt see such a search function, please advice.

tks in advance!:)

They go their own way.

The idea of the whole post, was to share my learning experience reading the earlier 28+++ pages (that's where I stopped initially) of this page, as well as other information about who are the authorised distributors for Garmin in Singapore.

Essentially it was a sharing session that includes clarifying the position of Allbright/Starlite as the authorised Malaysia distributor and that Eastgear distributes Malaysian bound units to Singapore - which means you get zero warranty, other than implied by Eastgear who would send it back to Malaysia and back to Taiwan, probably.

I've read quite a few posts by you Murphy, you seem to either really love the Zumi 550, and not recommend anything else to anyone asking. Is there a particular reason? I can't help but have this odd feeling that you're encouraging people to buy it just because you have it.

Edit: Navicom is the SOLE distributor for recreational/consumer grade GPSr in Singapore, although the other listed distributors could get it for a customer if so needed.

For reference, this is the URL for the discussion that I brought over, that I believe will benefit the local riders.

http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=12080&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

it is not because i have it n recommended to otehr ppl. I have been looking around reading reviews. and many other stuff. Would rather buy some brands and have a map issue. Map issue is as in u can't use malsing maps. u have to buy the map from the brand itself. why i say zumo is recommend is becos of the built is really meant for bikers. go see other brand and u will understand why liao.

01 Mar 2006 - 04 Jul 2006 (FS9367L, FJ7457X & FJ*5**)(CBR 919 RRW, Hurricane &Vespa PX200)

Yo Seh Suan,

By 'bikers', we mean motorcyclists, not cyclists. heh heh....

And tho I havent personally used a Zumo, I have read many reviews on them, and they do have good features for bikers.

Thanks for the enlightening post. Abit worrying if it's all true.

I can't afford a Zumo, so got an Oregon 300 instead.

Btw, do you still hit Coastal Road? If you see me on my white Pinarello Prince, just wave hi.

- Lawrence

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

Yo Seh Suan,

By 'bikers', we mean motorcyclists, not cyclists. heh heh....

And tho I havent personally used a Zumo, I have read many reviews on them, and they do have good features for bikers.

Thanks for the enlightening post. Abit worrying if it's all true.

I can't afford a Zumo, so got an Oregon 300 instead.

Btw, do you still hit Coastal Road? If you see me on my white Pinarello Prince, just wave hi.

- Lawrence

i think we should organise a gps gathering. location i will input longitude and latitude

No problem!

just give me some advance notice.

BTW, does anyone know where I check what ram mount fits my bike?

The former RAM MOUNT WIZARD on the official ram mount site used to work.

All you need to do is input your bike details and the device its for and it will come up with a list of ram mount parts to fit your bike.

Ive been trying that wizard for a few weeks now on a couple of pcs at home and work but I keep getting an error page after it tries to search for a minute.

Anyone with alternatives?

GPScity and similar sites, I didnt see such a search function, please advice.

tks in advance!:)

may be i can help u...gimme ur bike model and gps model, i help click tillt he page where it display the mounts, i will paste it here

tks murphy!

triumph tiger 1050

Yr model: 2008

nuvi 205w

They go their own way.