http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg
  • Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

rite guys..

anyone interested in a 34mm Del'orto carb? comes with the manifold and 148 main jet. I'll throw in a tong milo pipe in exchange for a stock milo pipe. I'm looking anything above 150$. :cheer:

Originally posted by muser@Mar 14 2005, 05:36 PM

1st-ever Aprila Owners' Club Gearing Survey

1. muser '04 RS125 (front sprocket: 17, rear sprocket: 38, chain: not sure yet)

2. kink '04 RS125 (front sprocket: 17, rear sprocket: 40, chain: not sure yet)

P.S. If you have no idea what I'm talking about, please PM me.

i've no idea what sizing is it..

will go check the rear sprocket.. as for the front.. how can i check?

Originally posted by eyz@Mar 14 2005, 10:59 PM

i've no idea what sizing is it..

will go check the rear sprocket.. as for the front.. how can i check?

Actually, no real need to check the front sprocket, cuz can safely assume that it's the stock 17 teeth; if not the rear sprocket size would vary by many teeth (ie, something like 46, or 34).

I just included the info in case some Aprilians out there have been extra hard core with their gearing experiments.

Thanks for the trouble eyz, much appreciated.

This situation has probably already been covered somewhere in this forum, but I'll mention it in case someone finds my particular variation useful:

1) Wash bike very thoroughly with fairing removed. Spray water from hose like nobody's business.

2) After drying and re-assembly, bike cannot start, regardless of choke or throttle fiddling.

3) Leave bike for 5 hours.

4) Try again: Bike starts with choke fully on, but dies if allowed to idle. Throttle must keep at 2.5k. More smoke than normal. Turning choke off causes bike to immediately die. Engine sounds funny (lower pitch, stuttering). After 2 minutes, no longer dies when allowed to idle, but still sounds weird.

5) After 5 minutes, can turn off choke, engine sounds better. After 8 minutes, and reaching 80+ degrees, engine sound and amount of smoke both back to normal.

6) Move off with no problem, performance is as good as ever.

Self-diagnosis: Water in carb

wahaha.. ya actually see the time at different stages uh?

Originally posted by muser@Mar 14 2005, 11:31 PM

This situation has probably already been covered somewhere in this forum, but I'll mention it in case someone finds my particular variation useful:

1) Wash bike very thoroughly with fairing removed. Spray water from hose like nobody's business.

2) After drying and re-assembly, bike cannot start, regardless of choke or throttle fiddling.

3) Leave bike for 5 hours.

4) Try again: Bike starts with choke fully on, but dies if allowed to idle. Throttle must keep at 2.5k. More smoke than normal. Turning choke off causes bike to immediately die. Engine sounds funny (lower pitch, stuttering). After 2 minutes, no longer dies when allowed to idle, but still sounds weird.

5) After 5 minutes, can turn off choke, engine sounds better. After 8 minutes, and reaching 80+ degrees, engine sound and amount of smoke both back to normal.

6) Move off with no problem, performance is as good as ever.

Self-diagnosis: Water in carb

water very easy settled..

option 1

change plug or wipe dry,start engine, blow a while, ram ram a bit can liao... water will dry off..

option 2

pust start till the water kena dried out, very very tiring.... :giddy: :giddy:

everytime rain,option 1 is my standard operation procedure ...

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry

Originally posted by xxes123@Mar 15 2005, 12:44 AM

option 1

change plug or wipe dry,start engine, blow a while, ram ram a bit can liao... water will dry off..

option 2

Edwin, your super dry-weather bike has made you very experienced :smile: But this kind of SOP very xian, K&N air filter benefits must really be worth it! :giddy:

Dear Aprilia riders,

I am considering to buy an Aprilia 250 as my 2nd bike, for fun only, because Aprilia really my dream bike since young...

I am totally new to Aprilia bike and the feedbacks I got from friends and shops are:- Aprilia no value, Aprilia expensive spare parts and etc...

Of course I would like to hear from all bros here who owned Aprilia, then can give a neutral feedback. :smile:

(1) I am looking for RS250 (the one with 2 pipes, right?), with limited budget.. roughly how much is the selling price for second hand say 3 years, 5 years ?

(2) The spare parts really very expensive?

(3) Many problems on the bike? (beside wear and tear)

(4) How much is a new bike OTR? (so i can estimate how much on the budget to buy second hand)

(5) Heard that insurance (Fire and Theft and 3rd party) very expensive, is it true?

(6) Which shop has most second hand Aprilia .. Mah?

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

Warcraft 3 Singapore Clan BALA homepage

Warcraft 3 Singapore Clan BALA Forum

My Computer

My Photo Album

http://www.geocities.com/sean_toh/signature1.JPG

Originally posted by xxes123@Mar 15 2005, 12:44 AM

option 1

option 2

cannot be spark plug la

it is your air filter dirty + water = clogged

or if u use cone filter + water = clogged

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

Originally posted by Dragstar@Mar 15 2005, 02:28 PM

Dear Aprilia riders,

I am considering to buy an Aprilia 250 as my 2nd bike, for fun only, because Aprilia really my dream bike since young...

I am totally new to Aprilia bike and the feedbacks I got from friends and shops are:- Aprilia no value, Aprilia expensive spare parts and etc...

Of course I would like to hear from all bros here who owned Aprilia, then can give a neutral feedback. :smile:

(1) I am looking for RS250 (the one with 2 pipes, right?), with limited budget.. roughly how much is the selling price for second hand say 3 years, 5 years ?

(4) How much is a new bike OTR? (so i can estimate how much on the budget to buy second hand)

(5) Heard that insurance (Fire and Theft and 3rd party) very expensive, is it true?

Believe kyoichi is selling his 250. PM him lor.

3rd party, fire, and theft insurance really very expensive! I'm guessing you're under 25. Prepare for something like $800 for insurance man... Maybe you got more experience, might be cheaper... Give xxes123 a call or PM, he can give you a rough quote.

Argh! Not another one coming and asking if Aprilia is full of problems! :giddy: Read what everyone has been saying the past 50 pages! Every bike got wear and tear parts to change what... Even bicycle... Just that parts from Italy, obviously more expensive than Thailand right? One cent money, one part goods. My mandarin not bad right? hiak hiak hiak!

For fun, you say? Then get the 250, no doubt about it. I haven't stopped feeling the rush from the last time i opened the valveSsss! Strange how some dumbass car trying to squeeze you off the road suddenly looks so small in the rear view mirror...

Originally posted by Dragstar@Mar 15 2005, 02:28 PM

Dear Aprilia riders,

yes the rs250 has 2 pipes.. think market rate now around 4k but got people selling at 3 depending on condition and year...

spare parts r available at a slightly higher price den jap bikes...

after all its an italian machine... parts r all imported.. nothing too ridiculous though...

problems will depend on how u care for your machine... i have had zero since i got mine... well that is after i changed from racing block back to stock... =)

my insurance is at 550 a year... i'm 22.... its cheap to me...

new bike is like 16k machine price i heard...

well u can buy from shops if u wan... but instead of letting the bike shop earn... might as well buy from any one of us in this forum... think we can be pretty much trusted...

n mine is up for sale... i tink... looking for a new toy... if interested... can drop me a call... 97570644...

Originally posted by Divine^ponytailz@Mar 15 2005, 04:11 PM

Believe kyoichi is selling his 250. PM him lor.

3rd party, fire, and theft insurance really very expensive! I'm guessing you're under 25. Prepare for something like $800 for insurance man... Maybe you got more experience, might be cheaper... Give xxes123 a call or PM, he can give you a rough quote.

Argh! Not another one coming and asking if Aprilia is full of problems! :giddy: Read what everyone has been saying the past 50 pages! Every bike got wear and tear parts to change what... Even bicycle... Just that parts from Italy, obviously more expensive than Thailand right? One cent money, one part goods. My mandarin not bad right? hiak hiak hiak!

For fun, you say? Then get the 250, no doubt about it. I haven't stopped feeling the rush from the last time i opened the valveSsss! Strange how some dumbass car trying to squeeze you off the road suddenly looks so small in the rear view mirror...

thanks for info. I am 33 yrs old. understand your statement, appreciated.

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

Warcraft 3 Singapore Clan BALA homepage

Warcraft 3 Singapore Clan BALA Forum

My Computer

My Photo Album

http://www.geocities.com/sean_toh/signature1.JPG

Hey Dragstar, don't worry too much about the poor resale value.

After all, you're getting a used 250. You'll buy it cheap, and you'll sell it cheap. The $$ loss won't be too significant.

Just remember that the Aprilia is an Italian bike, and you'll have to bear with the price of the parts. No choice. It costs that much cos the agents bring it in and can sell at that price. Using chiong parts (if any) is asking for trouble.

Next, the Aprilia is NOT a problematic bike if you treat it good. Don't expect to thrash it and not maintain it, and still have it running fine. But nvm, I think you're experienced enough to know that already.

The problem is that a lot of the riders WILL thrash the bike. Whack it!! That's what the bike is meant for. Just remember that when you ride it like you race it, you will also pay for it like you're racing. Racing costs $$ and hence you can't run away from it.

When I owned an Aprilia 5 yrs back, I took really good care of it. Always in top condition, but I also spent lots of it... mainly on crash repairs and blown balancer gears and 2 pistons! :p

That's cos I really thrashed the mother... I rode her like I stole her. :lol:

But I maintained her strictly every month. And though she had some downtime, her uptime was always 110%.

I have sold my bike already, I think the new owner will report to this thread very soon.

Sorry for losing contact with you all, hope Aprilia Club getting better and better!

The problem is not you can afford it or not, is how are you going to make yourself able to afford it.

Would like to thank all those who came on the gathering. Apologize if there is any shortcoming as we r still in the early stage..will plan up for better things for the next meet.....thanks again hope to c u all again.........soon.:smile:

there is no fast bikes...only fast riders...

any1 still wan to sell rs 125 can pm me... thz

2002-2003 aprillia rs125

2003-2008 Honda SP

2005-2006 Yahama 125z

2006-2006 Yahama R1 2001

2006-2011 Suzuki Gxsr1000 K6

2007-2007 Aprillia RS250

2008-2011 Suzuki Gxsr1000 K8

2011-2013 aprillia RSV4

2011-now ktm 525sm

2013-now husquvana 510 sm

HAHa den so the most expensive repair is piston ? dunno leh my fren's TZM's piston die alreayd. MEch say 700 bucks to repair haha cus he told me piston spoil very ex leh so tell me dun buy aprillia haha. Cus i considerin a RS125 lar. Tp on april 14th. So insurance for 18 yr old is roughly how much ?

Super Motard ----> Sports Tourer

Support The Yellow Ribbon Project And Help Unlock The Second Prison :p

Originally posted by angeldogleslie@Mar 15 2005, 08:07 PM

HAHa den so the most expensive repair is piston ? dunno leh my fren's TZM's piston die alreayd. MEch say 700 bucks to repair haha cus he told me piston spoil very ex leh so tell me dun buy aprillia haha. Cus i considerin a RS125 lar. Tp on april 14th. So insurance for 18 yr old is roughly how much ?

dun buy bike lah... buy car better... car higher resale value den aprilia bike... car spare parts also quite cheap (relatively to the cost of the car, ha!)... dun need to worry about adding who as your sub-rider, anybody also can drive the car, so insurrance in comparision also cheaper....drive car is metal cover flesh, ride bike is flesh cover metal... so dangerous.... My mandarin not too bad also eh, jude? hahahaah.... car safer lah, just ask safetycar :cheeky:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=13389&dateline=1217487583&type=profile

Dec 04 - Apr 07 : APRILIA EXTREMA RS125 FN 3690 T

Sept 05 - 07 : VESPA ET8 125 FQ 1422Z

Oct 05 - CURRENT : CAGIVA MITO EVO II 125 FS----R

Apr 07 - Stolen in JB on Sept 09 : GILERA RUNNER VXR 200 FX 8573 M

thanks for info. I am 33 yrs old. understand your statement, appreciated.

dragstar - at 33, finally there is someone who can beats me in the age group!!!(no offends hor).... my insurance 2 years back is $270 and last year i am paying $190(age 28.5)...have 2 x 250 under my name , the other one is my friend's which should be up for sale...mine??? will never be for sale('hear' to believe!)...try the ntuc website coz i believe they should be able to provide you with the price somewhere...

spare parts no worries coz i have loads from a previously scrap 250(anyway 'problem bike' is just a hear say)...none of the 4 that i had owned had ever given me major headache and it all depends on your luck also...my advice is get the new shape rs at 9k+ 2nd hand coz they are the better one with the fully adjustable showa fork and sachs rear shock

AN650L3 (current): All mod transferred.

SW-T400 (till oct 13): voltmeter, safety features disabled. coocase v36+remote. Adjustable, folding Brake levers. Givi AF318 windshield. on-off switch(pilot light, head light, hazard light), electrical seat unlatch,Dr pulley.

AN400K6 (apr07-dec11): side deflectors, J Costa variator, Dr pulley slider + HiT clutch.

YP250, RVF400/RS250, NSF125.