Originally posted by FatiGuE@Jun 30 2005, 09:16 PM

Hey guys, how much do you spend on maintaining your Aprilia's every month?

Man, they should make a new topic. This is like reading those thick novels :giddy:

About $80 a month including a bottle of gear oil, a bottle of top-grade 2T and a spark plug.

Yes, this thread's a bit bloated, and we hope to move to a better format soon. As I said in my post above, stay tuned.

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Originally posted by muser@Jun 30 2005, 09:25 PM

About $80 a month including a bottle of gear oil, a bottle of top-grade 2T and a spark plug.

Yes, this thread's a bit bloated, and we hope to move to a better format soon. As I said in my post above, stay tuned.

Muser,

Is it coz you ride your bike alot u gotta change your 2T so often? And how come sparkplug you change once a month? I know it's cheap.. but i read somewhere you jus haf to change it every couple of months only... Sorry, i very blur! :confused:

And would you mind elaborating on watever you do for your bike every month?

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

Originally posted by Sub Zero@Jun 30 2005, 09:33 PM

Muser,

Is it coz you ride your bike alot u gotta change your 2T so often? And how come sparkplug you change once a month? I know it's cheap.. but i read somewhere you jus haf to change it every couple of months only... Sorry, i very blur! :confused:

And would you mind elaborating on watever you do for your bike every month?

Hi Viknesh! Yup, I ride my bike daily, clocking about 1000km a month.

2T gets used up at different rates by different riders, of course, though I think I probably fall in the "heavier users" group cuz I open my exhaust power valve in every gear except 1st, and our bikes use more 2T with the valve open than shut.

Spark plugs are a more complicated issue: technically, you can wait till your spark plug wears out before changing it, and if you don't ride that much and don't push the bike hard, it can last months (if you go track, wear out very fast). However, if your bike's carburetion is slightly rich (or very rich, for that matter), the spark plug tends to accumulate carbon and fuel deposits, and can even become too fouled to fire properly looong before the actual plug's worn out. So if you run rich, you gotta check/change more often.

Running slightly rich is not only a good idea because that's how to produce max power (see my sig), it's safer because it minimises the risk of our pistons jamming.

It's also a good idea to change your spark plug often because it's supposedly responsible for transferring heat from the engine to the coolant system/radiator, so keeping your plug fresh can help keep your bike cool.

Gear oil - I change it between 1000km and 1500km, after discovering that 2000km is too long.

And that's about it. Every few months flush coolant. Wash power valve every month. Check tyre pressure, coolant levels and 2T levels constantly.

Oh yah, I also try and get my carb tuned by a mech every month or two as well because carb settings can "drift". The larger the carb, the easier it is for settings to drift.

wah very chim man...later i go see see my idling is between 1.25k anot..if low idling means? choke must close fully...hmmm.... wad about the biting point? maybe its too near?personally i feel the biting point abit near.... :giddy: sigh.....this is wad happens if you are one bike "idiot" :mad:

Thanx alot Chris!!

Your reply answers quite afew questions but it opens up several more! Lol.. I am only starting to understand the workings of a motorcycle so pls bear with me.. The next time i see you, I'll be bombarding you with questions with a pen and notebook on hand.. lol I think best thing is just bring my bike for servicing at NTrust every month.. Then my heart will be in peace coz i know my baby will be in good hands..

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

Originally posted by speedkills+-->
QUOTE (speedkills)
wah very chim man...later i go see see my idling is between 1.25k anot..if low idling means? choke must close fully...hmmm.... wad about the biting point? maybe its too near?personally i feel the biting point abit near.... icon-giddy.gif sigh.....this is wad happens if you are one bike "idiot"[/b]

speedkills man, don't be so hard on yourself, none of us were born with spanners in our hands, and all of us are constantly learning.

Can you be a bit more specific about your problems? For instance, what do you mean the engine dies off? Does it immediately cut off or does it trail off, sputtering? If you blip (rev slightly by twisting then releasing) the throttle at the very same moment you kick the gear into 1st, does it still die?

Originally posted by eyz@Jun 30 2005, 08:30 PM

rite... gonggong is stranded at home rite now with no food to eat...

we're meeting at yasinn @ upper serangoon (near to ASPhoon bike shop) for a dinner..

anyone interesetd?? most probably meeting @ 9.~~

anyone?

Thanks for coming out guys. Really appreaciate it since its so last minute. Next time buy you all kopi. :cheer::thumb: :thumb:

Haha..eyz....you pharse the sentence until like i very poor thing like dat. I not at home, but was in office. Maybe shld have ask Andre along, he mentioned that he works till 830 every night and he working just next building to my workplace.

I am not a mechanic, I might be wrong. So, please check with others!

yeah! bike prob solved....it was because of the freeplay of the clutch...biting point too near....for lacers...not for me..haha...

anyway, thanks macan putih for coming down all the way...you steady pom bi bi!!! :cheer:

hahaha...anyway thanks for the help guys....heh

must meet up with the rest of you soon! :lovestruck:

I hate to say this, but chris is one of our online Aprilia Troubleshoot Assistant and Test dummy for new products.

For that chris, i have to give u a thumbs up

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Always be prepared.

hi........can any kind soul advise on tis aprilia sellin in classified?thanx........http://www.singaporebikes.com/classifieds/detail.php?siteid=13505

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y279/tIrAmIsU14/GIFAvatar.gif

Aug 05 - July 06 (Honda SP - FR 41?9)

July 06 - March 08 (Honda Wave - FX 93?4)

Nov 07 - Present (Class 3)

Just because I've decided not to show my claws for the last few months doesnt mean I've lost my voice. muhahahahahahaaa....

I've been nagged at time and again by servoprax (Iswan), kink (Galen), Visor (Benjamin), and muser (Christopher) for being too harsh on forumers (occasionally), hence I try to take on a more passive and peaceful stance. I believe that if you're smart enough to use the internet, you should be mature enough to understand why we need to follow some unwritten guidelines, simple etiquette, if you may. You do not have to be a phucking genius to know it, its not goddamn rocket science.

There is nothing more demeaning than to have everyone take you for a fool, so try to post good content.

Like muser (Christopher), I try to say only what's needed, nothing more.

This is a public forum. Yes, delusions of free speech is rampant. Everyone thinks they're free to say anything. They're not. Spew anti-gahment propaganda and you'll probably have ISD tapping your phone in the following week.

So there's no real freedom of speech anywhere. But since everyone's having a ball thinking they do, let's just roll with it. Sure, no one's got the power to do jackschitt about anyone posting about how long their nails grew in the past hour, or how many hairballs their cats coughed up. But until we get our own forum to talk c0ck in, keep that senseless banter out. In half a year, the number of pages in the Aprilia's thread almost doubled the initial number of pages that took over a year to build up. Those of you conscientious enough to follow it from page one, like I did when it was still at page 100, will realise that many posts in this thread are junk posts by post clockers, who post simply for the sake of posting or for the sake of chalking up mileage.

Christopher and I have been seriously discussing about this forum thing and I'm pleased with the recent developments. We will be liasing with external parties to provide the hardware and software for it.

It will be ready as early as late August or mid-September. Please bear in mind that this is no longer just in discussion. Lots of money will be spent on this and you'll be happy to hear that you can post anything you want there. Post clockers will be given exotic titles like Ultimate Knight of the Blab, or King Smilies, whatever cooks your noodle, aye?

I hope this thread will continue to grow in quality, and not quantity. Share knowledge the way lau-jiaos servoprax and eyz have done. And share what you've read in books like our favourite bookworm Christopher. He's like the coolest nerd I've ever known, and I know what I've just said actually cooks HIS noodle. Go figure.

Its the only way to learn more from one another about the machine we've all spent a part of our lives and hard-earned money on. Alright, people?

Oh, by the way, while I was walking towards the overhead bridge near Bukit Gombak MRT Station, I saw a girl walking towards the same overhead bridge with a grain of rice sitting comfortably on the right corner of her lips, just about 3mm away from what technically is her cheek. That's the exact same position of my grain of rice who found a warm home at the corner of MY lips too! WOW! That's really fate, as many would call it. Is the girl here in this RiceOnLips.com/forum/westside/gombak/fatalattraction thread? If you are, dont be tao. Reply to me ASAP. I want to meet you because you're my soulmate.

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

oh no...

lawrence lack of sleep again...

poor lawry, quick go to sleep...

ok serious stuffs...

chris, can i borrow ya Sportbike Performance Handbook and "take some notes"?

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

Muser, you impressed me with your knowledge on Aprilia's bikes. I am in serious need to talk to someone who know his stuffs, so may I have your MSN? I would really appreciate it!

hi guys...

ermmm..

guess this is for ur infos..

a group of "design" is finding fault with another "design" on saturday 2 july 2005..

so be careful on the road guys this few days..

expect a bloodbath...

hehehe..

PM me for more details..

:sweat: :sweat:

When you have walked my path of pain and suffering

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

sometimes the forum is like a archive.. wateva technical stuffs tat we chatted, it'll be stored here, and ppl can look for it when they need it...

tat's the reasons why some of us are a bit upset when sometimes us are posting non aprilia related stuffs, chalking up the pages for tis thread, making it a chatbox, hence making the retrieval difficult..

it's good to see the thread is moving at such a fast pace.. on the other we need to think about valuable information missing amidst the long thread.. and the trouble of diggin up infomation when ya need it...

Originally posted by Sub Zero@Jun 22 2005, 11:50 PM

Ok guys... Got instructions from big Boss :cheeky:

There will be a DIY session coming up soon.. I'm sure the regulars know what will be going on.. For the newbies(like myself), basically there'll be light servicing of bikes etc. going on.. After that, maybe lunch or kopi session... Please add your name to the list if you're coming.. All are welcome.. Even if you dont have a bike, you can come down and learn stuff!!

Date: 03 July 05

Time: 10am to 2pm

Venue: 10 Ang Mo Kio Ind Park 2A, # 05-28 AMK Autopoint S568047

(in a nutshell, Lawerence's shop)

Attendance:

1)lacrimosae

2)Sub-Zero

3)Matrix

Hope to see alot of ppl!

bump to top guys pls cmon man more enthusiastic pls!

eh as for venus its not a law's shop change it to sumwhere else as he still has a business to run ya noe aint tt gd =p so any1 got places to suggest?

Character is doing the right thing when no one is watching..

2005 - 2005 Aprilia RS125 FR6755A

2005 - 2006 Honda Wave S FW5450J

2006 - 2007 Honda CBR 400 RR FQ6676A

2007 - 2008 Suzuki GSX-R600 K5 FZ414G

2008 - 200? Yamaha YZF R1 A* 86 *

2008 - 2009 Honda CB400 Vtec 1 FR8377U

2009 - 2009 Honda Wave S FX4974R

i wonder if any1 remembers dat i hav post a custom project moulded rs125 long time...work is slow but now itz even more stylo...look at the whole head crowl n "belly pan" n tank

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

yah.. i think it's owned by Super Modern, the famous bodykit moulder~

Originally posted by spy622@Jul 1 2005, 09:31 PM

i wonder if any1 remembers dat i hav post a custom project moulded rs125 long time...work is slow but now itz even more stylo...look at the whole head crowl n "belly pan" n tank

I vaguely remembering seeing this bike outside some shop when a couple of us wearing walking down frmo Ah Boy.. Quite sure it's the same one.. I remember it's quite low and dirty though.. :cheeky:

hey guys,

Anyone of the old timers free to help follow DNAdevil(Vincent) go down to Sin Boon Motors to view Aprilia RS125? He's a guy who's very keen on getting Aprilia, currentmly riding a Magma..

Details of the bike : FU plate.. asking for 4.5K.. willing to take in his Magma and give him 400.. That's all I know.. Please post here if you can help him or contact him at 98456865...

Sin Boon Motors is at Northlink building near Sebawang MRT.. I'd follow him down myself.. except that I'm quite useless! So pls help out! thanks alot! :thumb: