The front valve is easy to access and clean too. But the rear valve is more troublesome, always get my hand dirtied by the brake disc and rim, also must position the valve near to ground level then can pump.

What valves u use? Advise le...

i'm using the 2nd one (comes in many colours) in Scoobydoo's post.

and yes, point it towards the left side, slightly facing the back for super easy access.

Edited by bigcow

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

• Replies 22.2k

WTS Silverwing K&N Airfilter at $80. Use for 5mths only

:cheeky:My First Bike - phantom 150 - Dec 1999, CBR 400 RN - 2003, Honda Wave -2003, Super4 Spec II -2004, Fazer 6 S2 - May 2007, SilverWing 400 Euro - Feb 2010, BMW R1200ST - July 2010, R1200GS(LC) - Oct 2017:cool:

Where to get the colored valves? If point to left, can we still access it easily with the bike on side stand?

I didn't know such valves won't flex; the stock rear valve so easy to flex while pumping, air often escapes as a result.

Today was the most intense downpour I ever rode thru (visibility is the most 2 car lengths in front). I rode thru two or three waterponding at the expressway and the water thrown up is wah…….

With water ponding over the expressway and such, I was wondering is our bike prone to cut off or stall if we go thru the waterponding a few time in one single trip ?

22 August 2005 - August 2006 - Phantom TA 200

August 2006 - April 25 2007 - X9- Almafi

May 2007 - Feb 2008 - S4 Spec III

Feb 2008 - Dec 2012 - Silverwing Euro 400 (longest ride)

July 2009 - Oct 2012 OPC - Sold

Dec 2012 - Jun 2013- paggio x10

Jun 2013 -?????? - Silverwing SW-T400 ABS (Euro ver)

http://s46.photobucket.com/albums/f138/flamingangelz/th_DSC00702.jpg

this is what happens when messages are quote out of context... very misleading :lol:

"Swingers, like other groups with risk behaviours, need to be identified and treated as a risk group in STI (sexually transmitted infection) prevention and care," according to the study, headed by Nicole Dukers-Muijrers of the South Limburg Public Medical Health Service.

luckily the Swingers in the report and our Swingers are NOT referring to the same group of people... whahahaha :cheeky:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Today was the most intense downpour I ever rode thru (visibility is the most 2 car lengths in front). I rode thru two or three waterponding at the expressway and the water thrown up is wah…….

With water ponding over the expressway and such, I was wondering is our bike prone to cut off or stall if we go thru the waterponding a few time in one single trip ?

SW9000 and myself rode thru heavy rain over 2 hours from Penang to Singapore with no problems....

indeed, it was cats-n-dogs this morning and we're thinking whether orchard rd is going to become a pond road again.

as far as we know, the SW is not prone to cut offs in heavy or prolonged riding in the rain; most (if not all) water unfriendly parts are either sheltered by water friendly tupperware or located away from direct underbelly splashes (stock condition) :p

stalling isn't where the major concerns with water-ponds are, concerns are on safety. hydroplaning, potholes or slippery road markings beneath the threatless looking ponds, "e-braking", etc. are some common causes for tyres to loose their grip of the tarmac, causing undesirable outcomes :nono:

do exercise extreme caution in foul weather, better to take a break if rain gets too heavy :shades:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Where to get the colored valves? If point to left, can we still access it easily with the bike on side stand?

I didn't know such valves won't flex; the stock rear valve so easy to flex while pumping, air often escapes as a result.

y can't u put the bike on mainstand? everything would be much easier.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Hi, can someone teach me how to change the main light bulb, which are the parts to take out, cant seems to access the bulb area as its all concealed. thanks

this is what happens when messages are quote out of context... very misleading :lol:

luckily the Swingers in the report and our Swingers are NOT referring to the same group of people... whahahaha :cheeky:

Muahaha.

We are = SWingers = Rides bike

They are = Swingers = Rides other ppl's wife/husband

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Hi, can someone teach me how to change the main light bulb, which are the parts to take out, cant seems to access the bulb area as its all concealed. thanks

$10 I teach you. hehehe.

Just take out the front boomerang:

1. 2 crews near air vent left and right side of the dashboard.

2. 2 screws at the front of bike above the head light.

3. Slowly tap the boomerang downwards to release it.

4. Then can reach the hand into the opening and pull out the rubber thingy to replace the bulb.

Still blur? Must refer to bike manual already.

SW9000 and myself rode thru heavy rain over 2 hours from Penang to Singapore with no problems....

Haha. Bike no problem.

Only humans gone swimming because the raincoat gave up.

Btw... You ahhhh.... where's your bike?

Hiong hiong throw big $$ to secure the COE leh.

Next month got more money coming in liao.

Ipoh trip coming up in Sep waiting for you to join.

Water pond no problem.

Danger is your front tire will slide on the water.

Better play safe.

$10 I teach you. hehehe.

Just take out the front boomerang:

1. 2 crews near air vent left and right side of the dashboard.

2. 2 screws at the front of bike above the head light.

3. Slowly tap the boomerang downwards to release it.

4. Then can reach the hand into the opening and pull out the rubber thingy to replace the bulb.

Still blur? Must refer to bike manual already.

i have tried that, but can only reach the high beam bulb, the low beam is higher, anyone could direct me to the manual please. much appreciated.

Praying for nice nice weather tomorrow for my Kuantan ah.

and... give me luck for 4D too!

i have tried that, but can only reach the high beam bulb, the low beam is higher, anyone could direct me to the manual please. much appreciated.

ehh... you tried top down after removing the front cover (boomerang-shaped panel) or bottom up from the front wheel?

Praying for nice nice weather tomorrow for my Kuantan ah.

and... give me luck for 4D too!

Ride safe, come back kopi and share share info! :D

TA200 > Silverwing 400 > F800GS > R1200GSA > Tmax500

Back safe and sound.

Kuantan... not a bad place to go.

Chinese population quite a lot there too.

SG Pandan Waterfall - Nice.

Big pool to swim and small fishes to clean some dead skinz..

SG Lembing Town - really a sleepy town.

Nothing much there but got many Guest Houses.

I think many illegal couples go there for secret meeting.

Satay Zul - wah, the gravy is fantastic.

Only got chicken and beef.

Chicken quite alreight but the beff better.

Turtle Sanctuary - small little place but good to visit.

Just a short 45km from Kuantan. Got some cute turtles swimming in the pool.

Shopping

Visited Berjaya Mall. Very big. Many shops selling movie/song dvd/cd.

Most shops close at 9.30pm.

Movie

Watched 'Knight and Day'. Lousy show but lucky only rm9 each.

The cinema sux big time. The seat cushion got big holes and don't expect carpet flooring.

Riding

On the way there using Route 1 then 12 was good. Managed 100-110km/h constant. Not much traffic.

Took Route 3 (East Coast) for the return leg. Many corners and lots of slow vehicles. Stressful to constantly speed up and slow down.

Got some unfinished business there. hehehe. Might make a point to stay a night when I plan for a round peninsula trip.

anybody install bike alarm before? Is it going to screw up the electronics?

know how to do it or get an experience mech to do it then everything will be fine.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

anybody install bike alarm before? Is it going to screw up the electronics?

Ever ask yourself what you want from the fitted alarm?

Riders fit alarms for many reasons... the look good sound good "tiik tiik" thingy; plainly for convenience; stock bike has no security features, etc.

Common desirable features of a good bike alarm include:

+ long distance 2-way system

+ waterproof & shock resistant unit

+ immobilizer

+ visual & loud audio siren

+ shock sensor

+ tilt sensor

+ perimeter sensor (user can set sensitivity)

+ GPS tracking (available for cars but dunno about bikes)

Some of us had a good tot over these features but later decided to reallocate the resources to improving the ride’s handling and safety...

. SW already has immobilizer (HISS).

. Most workshops strongly discouraged the use of remote start on bikes with HISS, while some will simply say it can’t be done for convenience (or they really don't know how). I’ve read that remote start is still possible using a bypass but risk shorting the ECU.

. Shock and tilt sensors sound really attractive. Deciding where to fit the shock sensor is a tricky decision. I'ld probably fit it to the handlebar (below the tupperware) as it is among the first thing pp touch when messing around a bike.

. Perimeter sensors could be a headache considering where we usually park; it is normal for other riders to be in close proximity to our bike when parked at HDB, shopping centres, office building car parks, etc. It'll be a different story if we have our personal "keep out" private lots.

. Siren or no siren, many would agree that the most effective security measure (especially when touring) is physical security; e.g. steering lock, disc locks (with or without alarm), thick motorbike chain locks, etc. Thieves are less likely to try when the bike looks troublesome to steal; deterrence is a better strategy.

. The SW is one big fat “grandmother” of scooter that isn’t easy to carry up the truck/van. Not only that it weighs approx. ¼ ton, there’re very few grip spots without damaging the Tupperware (compared to naked bikes like S4). Its another story if thieves use cranes.

. Last but not least, the SW is not a "hot" bike which is in demand (bike or for parts) in our neighboring countries, unlike the super hot super 4. Thieves would be better off stealing other "marketable" bikes.

Thus, fitting an alarm becomes somewhat for the tilt/shock sensors and notification buzz (for 2-way). Pay so much for a 2-way system just for those? Hmmm... cost-benefit says there're other more "profitable" investments for the limited resources. IMHO :lol:

Other than the steering lock, I’m using a disc lock (with alarm; $25 from LAB) for the front and a thick motorbike chain lock ($14+ from Mustafa) for the rear when I go touring. A little troublesome but it certainly makes stealing my SW (at least in looks) a lot more troublesome.

Just sharing some tots :angel:

~

Trips:

I using Xena from Chiong Aik ^_^

Stainless steel version

My group has personal bad experience with LAB disc lock.

It was so solid that it broke and cannot open @ Sunway lagoon

Luck it was LAB quality. We mange to saw it open in 20mins time

Thats 1 helluva experience bro!

Any swinger's using Oxford disc lock from motoworld?

David , what unfinished biz? Missed 1 pair of ping pong head count? :cheeky:

TA200 > Silverwing 400 > F800GS > R1200GSA > Tmax500