• Replies 22.2k

check this out Nitrogen gas pumping service for motorcycle tyres

how true... dunno leh :D

Very interesting subject - Nitrogen gas in tyres. Been there, done that !! and only comment is that its ok for normal everyday commuting at sedate speeds. But when you need the best traction and cornering grip - like in mountain roads or race circuits you better have softer compound tyres. Otherwise the tyres cannot reach correct operating temperature. In any case all the tyres designed for super scooters were not designed with nitrogen in mind.

On the other hand if you did get a puncture or deflated tyre in a 'far away' location then you going to have to use normal air to reinflate.

Just one tip when checking tyre pressure with nitrogen gas - PLEASE WEAR SOME GLOVES - Seriously nitrogen gas can 'burn' your flesh with 'Frost Bite'.

btw, still waiting for the 2 bros to review the hyperpro fork springs. post review leh :cheeky:

My review:

Much firmer than stock, i.e. feels a bit heavier yet very stable in corners.

For ppl who loves cornering, this should be THE spring to use.

However, I realised that the sag is more than stock, meaning the front is now lower. How come? Let me explain:

Stock spring sag (with rider on bike) = 36mm *(max 128mm minus 92mm measured of the fork tube from top to the dust rubber).

Hyperpro sag = 41mm. * A reduction of 5mm.

Not much but I could feel riding posture leaning forward at rear setting 3.

Possibly that the Hyperpro was built for the standard rear setting of 2?

Anyway, I still prefer my own fork setting for softer cruising.

Will change back by tmr... haha. ichy hands again...

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

very interesting review... sounds heh heh heh

i tot firm pairs won't sag... hahahahaha :cheeky:

Suspension setting always very individual de.

Took me 10+ times then get the setting I want.

Think I just not fated for Hyperpro.

what saving?? I bidded $1500 to ensure I get the COE nia lah...

times are bad... cannot spend so much liao.... in the end maybe get a GTS 200...haha

never touch this bike.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

Very interesting subject - Nitrogen gas in tyres. Been there, done that !! and only comment is that its ok for normal everyday commuting at sedate speeds. But when you need the best traction and cornering grip - like in mountain roads or race circuits you better have softer compound tyres. Otherwise the tyres cannot reach correct operating temperature. In any case all the tyres designed for super scooters were not designed with nitrogen in mind.

On the other hand if you did get a puncture or deflated tyre in a 'far away' location then you going to have to use normal air to reinflate.

Just one tip when checking tyre pressure with nitrogen gas - PLEASE WEAR SOME GLOVES - Seriously nitrogen gas can 'burn' your flesh with 'Frost Bite'.

I dunno abt bikes but my car wheel are filled with N2. After 1 year of use, I feel that nothing changed in terms of FC and handling. The only thing that I can observe is that tire pressure does not seem to reduce at all.... and tire pressure will be pumped by someone from a cylinder. I dun think you can DIY

never touch this bike.

Rode my sw, notice the temperature is almost half range after 5 min ride...

Any abnormal? time to change coolant?:dot:

any comment from:sian: rest of SW?

Now: Silver Wing GT 400

2s: paggio hexagon 150, Honda helix 250, yamaha majesty250, Honda forza 250, paggio x9 500,Silverwing 400 JDM,Silverwing 400 euro, Silverwing GT400.

Think I just not fated for Hyperpro.

sounds like an ad for hyperpro is going to appear soon :cheeky:

btw, when u going to change?

i wanna try using more fork oil to stiffen up but TH quoted me $80 :faint:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Rode my sw, notice the temperature is almost half range after 5 min ride...

Any abnormal? time to change coolant?:dot:

any comment from:sian: rest of SW?

normal... mine's usually there too

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Where you guys normally service your bike other than Boon siew??? got any place to recommend at the North Area?:cheeky:

1997 - Honda Steed

1998 - Suzuki Bandit V

1999 - Honda Super 4

2003 - Fazer 1000

2004 - Citroen Berlingo / Honda XRV750

2005 - Nissan Sunny

2007 - Nissan Sunny / Silverwing 400

2009 - Honda Civic / Silverwing 400

Thanks for the reply fellow bikers.As for the Pirelli Diablo Scooter or Metzeler Feelfree tyres,i will look into the write up or ask around.Bro Kris Rider,thks for the tyre pressure info.Will set to tht pressure and see how.Bro Paithorn handed over a stock SW600 with almost perfect suspension..dun tink its tht problem.

Will follow all advice given here with a pinch of salt...ultimately..tink two legs come down paddle is the best method for countering wet flooring conditions.drifting can cause heart attack hahaha....

Hope can meet you all SWingers in the near future for kopi session or ogling session at G**lang.......jus suggesting..will be nice to see 6-8 SW parked at kopitiam and enjoying the oohhs and aahhhss from the opposite sex.haha..

normal... mine's usually there too

ok,thank info...

how to know that bike coolant need to change or top up.?

any coolant will do..?

2s: paggio hexagon 150, Honda helix 250, yamaha majesty250, Honda forza 250, paggio x9 500,Silverwing 400 JDM,Silverwing 400 euro, Silverwing GT400.

I am using Feelfree now... It is much better than the original Bridgestone Hoop during the weather..

You may want to check your rear suspension, it may play a part to your skidding if your suspension is leaking etc on one side, causing the imbalance.

how much u got feelfree? where?:dot:

currently using bridgestone:cheers:

check out page 76 http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4166126&highlight=coolant#post4166126

there's some talk about coolant change

basically, SW dun need to change coolant so often; honda manual says check at 12k/24k kms, change at 36k kms

~

Trips:

check out page 76 http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4166126&highlight=coolant#post4166126

there's some talk about coolant change

basically, SW dun need to change coolant so often; honda manual says check at 12k/24k kms, change at 36k kms

got your roller replaced?

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

Where you guys normally service your bike other than Boon siew??? got any place to recommend at the North Area?:cheeky:

In the North maybe Yishun Industrial Park A - there are a few there and one in particular does a lot of Honda Scooters & sports bikes.

Thanks for the reply fellow bikers.As for the Pirelli Diablo Scooter or Metzeler Feelfree tyres,i will look into the write up or ask around.Bro Kris Rider,thks for the tyre pressure info.Will set to tht pressure and see how.Bro Paithorn handed over a stock SW600 with almost perfect suspension..dun tink its tht problem.

Will follow all advice given here with a pinch of salt...ultimately..tink two legs come down paddle is the best method for countering wet flooring conditions.drifting can cause heart attack hahaha....

Hope can meet you all SWingers in the near future for kopi session or ogling session at G**lang.......jus suggesting..will be nice to see 6-8 SW parked at kopitiam and enjoying the oohhs and aahhhss from the opposite sex.haha..

Agree that its not a suspension problem - just a basic 'no traction' problem with Long Wheel base CVT scooters. That is why you need to apply the left brake slightly whilst you increase RPM to engage some DRIVE (say around 3K RPM) that gives your rear wheel some grip.

Using the Legs down method is ok but be prepared to jump if it does tip over as there is no way in heaven that an average guy can use leg on one side to prevent the bike from falling or to lift it up again - Result one leg broken or crushed. Believe Me OK it happened to me and also my son - lucky for me at the last instant i pull my leg into the void space between the seat and front panel. My son injured his back.

Sounds good!!!

You organise lah....

sounds like an ad for hyperpro is going to appear soon :cheeky:

btw, when u going to change?

i wanna try using more fork oil to stiffen up but TH quoted me $80 :faint:

Will post some write-up about suspension at the tech thread.

You can check with Motoworld about fork oil change. They have equipment to measure air level in the tubes.

Most bike shops will charge about $50 for 2 forks, inclusive of fork oil.

I've changed mine this morning.

Will keep the Hyperpro for future change when my stock spring no longer can do the job or when I crazy/hand ichy again. haha.

Wooo.

Someone changed his belt at 18k and found that it was still in reasonably good condition. Gave it to me so I can use as spare for my overseas trip. Nice guy.